Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Fixed Election Dates and the Governor General's Power to Grant Dissolution
Edward McWhinney

An Amendment to the Canada Elections Act assented to by the Governor General on May 3, 2007, establishes a new, four-year term limit for the House of Commons with its stipulation that federal general elections are to be “held on the third Monday of October in the fourth calendar year following polling day for the last general election”. This article considers whether the new law has any effect on the traditional powers of the Governor General to dissolve Parliament for an election. 

The previous five year ceiling limit for the term of a Parliament had been constitutionally entrenched in s.4 [1] of the Constitution Act of 1982.  There is no constitutional reason why the new, four year limit should not be established now by statute, even if it may appear somewhat inelegant from the legislative drafting viewpoint to join it to the provision of a fixed date (the third Monday of October) for the holding of future general elections. 

The junction of the new ceiling limit for the House with a fixed election date every four years may explain the suggestion in some quarters that the recent Amendment to the Canada Elections Act may have, intentionally or otherwise, created by legal indirection limitations on the Reserve, Prerogative powers of the Governor General as to the granting or refusal of a Dissolution. That this is not so is put beyond legal doubt by the express, “saving” declaration to the Amendment itself: 

S.56.1.[1]: “Nothing in this section affects the powers of the Governor General, including the power to dissolve Parliament at the Governor General's discretion”. 

The decision by Governor General Romeo LeBlanc in 1997, and then by Governor General Adrienne Clarkson in 2000, to accede to Prime Minister Chrétien's requests for Dissolution in each case after only three and a half years of the then five year term and without any prior defeat of his government brought some public criticisms of a claimed “democratic deficit”, and may have contributed politically to the eventual adoption of the Elections Act Amendment of 2007.  Certainly one did not hear any very persuasive constitutional grounds put forward by the government to support otherwise premature Dissolutions in 1997 and 2000.  In the first case, the facetious comment was offered that an early, June election would allow a summer free to play golf; in the second, more seriously, that the existing political rules of the game allowed a government to go to the polls early to profit from the political inexperience of a newly chosen Opposition leader, Stockwell Day. 

Mr. Chrétien has taken the opportunity of restating, in his memoirs, the traditional post 1926 view of the constitutional relationship between elected Prime Minister and non-elected Governor General that there is “nothing under our rules and traditions to prevent a Canadian prime minister from holding a snap election at any time, except the risk of being punished for political opportunism”.1 That, of course, was Prime Minister Mackenzie King's position on his confrontation with Governor General Lord Byng in 1926.  This particular constitutional interpretation of a Prime Minister's powers vis-à-vis the Governor General persisted for very long after the events of 1926, in spite of the very strong contrary arguments of the eminent constitutional historian, the late Eugene Forsey. 

Contemporary re-examination of its claims as constitutional precedent for today, however, might see King-Byng as rooted in its own historical time dimension as a political power contest of the mid-1920s between an Imperial agent or representative still effectively chosen and appointed by the British government of the day, and an unusually astute Canadian politician who was fully prepared to make political capital against a British official in the climate of local, Canadian nationalism of the period that would lead on, within a few years, to Dominion Status and sovereignty as recognized in the Statute of Westminster of 1931. 

Governor General Clarkson, in her own post-retirement memoirs published in 2006, chooses to embrace a latter-day approach to King-Byng claims to status as contemporary precedent for contemporary constitutional conflicts or differences between Prime Minister and Governor General. She accepts the Forsey thesis that Governor General Lord Byng was perfectly correct constitutionally in refusing to grant the dissolution requested by King, but that Lord Byng was simply, as a “British Governor General”, out-manoeuvred politically by King in the subsequent general elections when King's hapless successor as Prime Minister, Arthur Meighen, who had been mandated by Byng after he had refused a Dissolution to King, was defeated in general elections fought in part on the issue of Byng's decision.2 

Since 1952, with Vincent Massey's appointment, Canadian Governors General have all been Canadian citizens and, as such, part of the internal, Canadian, system of constitutional checks and balances. Political inhibitions, supposedly stemming from the past Imperial connection, as to the exercise of the Governor General's constitutional role today in relation to the Prime Minister and other, coordinate federal governmental institutions, have no relevance in contemporary constitutional terms. In this context, former Governor General Clarkson now looks back on a question that, she says, arose during the Paul Martin minority government after the 2004 general elections: whether, if requested by the Prime Minister for a Dissolution in his government's early, post-elections difficulties, she should grant the Dissolution. Her conclusion, under constitutional advisement, on the then hypothetical question: certainly not immediately, but only after the government should have lasted at least six months. In her words: “To put the Canadian people through an election before six months would have been irresponsible, and in that case I would have decided in favour of the good of the Canadian people and denied dissolution.”3  

The overall position expressed there is clear that the Governor General today is not constitutionally bound automatically to accept a Prime Minister's advice as to Dissolution: that the Governor General today does still retain a certain discretion constitutionally. The former Governor General's pragmatic summation, with its inbuilt counsel as to a prudent self-restraint in exercise of Reserve, discretionary powers: “I think only a very astute and politically conscious Governor General would be about to exercise this [Reserve] authority. And it would be justifiable only in the most exceptional of circumstances.  When all is said and done, the Governor General usually acts upon the advice of the prime minister.”4  

When coupled with the principle, accepted in the Westminster Parliament by the later 1920s, and applied in other former and present Commonwealth Countries that retain the Westminster-style constitutional system today, that not every defeat of a government in a House of Commons vote (and possibly only a defeat on a formal No-Confidence motion or on a vote on the Budget as a whole) constitutionally warrants a Prime Minister in requesting a Dissolution, or for that matter a Governor General calling a Prime Minister in for constitutional discussion, we reach a situation where minority government at the federal level is seen as a politically viable solution even perhaps to the limits of the new four year statutory ceiling term. A Prime Minister would still retain the right, according to the existing long-standing Constitutional Conventions, after suffering a succession of defeats in House votes on non-substantial legislative measures – a “death of a thousand cuts” – to approach the Governor General to request a Dissolution: the Governor General, under the same long-standing Conventions, would retain the right to consult with the Opposition as to the possibilities of forming an alternative government without the need for a Dissolution and fresh general elections. 

In the latter situation, existing well-established practice in Commonwealth constitutional Law and Conventions suggests that the Governor General, before acting to withdraw the mandate from an incumbent Prime Minister, is entitled to be satisfied, beyond reasonable doubt, of the political capacity of Opposition parties to be able to form, and then maintain for a sufficient time period, an alternative government that commands the support of a numerical majority of House members. The developed practice is to insist on formal commitments to that effect, in writing, which would include any conditions attached by Opposition forces to their support for a proposed new government, the time duration of such support, and also, crucially, the number of votes that are being committed sufficient to constitute a new, continuing majority in the House. 

Notes 

1. Jean Chrétien, My Years as Prime Minister, 2007, p. 199.
2. Adrienne Clarkson, Heart Matters, 2006,  pp, 191-2. 
3. Ibid., p. 192. 
4. Ibid


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 1
2008






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Les élections à date fixe et les pouvoirs du gouverneur général d'accorder la dissolution
Edward McWhinney

La Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada, qui a été sanctionnée par la gouverneure générale le 3 mai 2007, a eu pour effet d’établir une nouvelle limite à la durée du mandat de la Chambre des communes, puisqu’elle prévoit que les élections générales fédérales devront avoir lieu « le troisième lundi d’octobre de la quatrième année civile qui suit le jour du scrutin de la dernière élection générale ». Le présent article examine si cette nouvelle loi a une incidence sur les pouvoirs traditionnels du gouverneur général de dissoudre le Parlement en vue d’une élection générale. 

Le mandat maximal de la Chambre des communes, fixé précédemment à cinq ans, était prévu au paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Il n’y a donc rien sur le plan constitutionnel qui empêcherait d’établir maintenant par une loi la nouvelle limite de quatre ans, même si joindre cette mesure à la disposition qui prévoit une date fixe (le troisième lundi d’octobre) pour la tenue des futures élections générales pourrait sembler quelque peu inélégant sur le plan de la rédaction législative. 

La jonction du nouveau mandat maximal de la Chambre à une date fixe pour la tenue d’élections tous les quatre ans expliquerait peut-être pourquoi on a, dans certains milieux, avancé que les récentes modifications à la Loi électorale du Canada pourraient, de façon intentionnelle ou non, avoir créé, par faux-fuyants juridiques, des limites aux prérogatives et aux pouvoirs de réserve du gouverneur général quant à l’acceptation ou au refus d’accorder une dissolution. Ce raisonnement est toutefois rejeté sans équivoque sur le plan juridique par une disposition de « sauvegarde » incluse expressément dans la nouvelle loi elle-même : 

56.1 (1) Le présent article n’a pas pour effet de porter atteinte aux pouvoirs du gouverneur général, notamment celui de dissoudre le Parlement lorsqu’il le juge opportun. 

Les gouverneurs généraux Roméo LeBlanc (en 1997) et Adrienne Clarkson (en 2000) ont tous deux décidé d’accéder aux demandes de dissolution formulées par le premier ministre Chrétien après seulement trois ans et demi d’un mandat qui était à l’époque de cinq ans, et sans que son gouvernement n’ait été défait lors d’un vote à la Chambre. Ces décisions avaient alors été dénoncées publiquement parce qu’on y voyait un « déficit démocratique », et elles peuvent avoir contribué politiquement à l’adoption ultérieure de la Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada de 2007. Il est clair que le gouvernement n’a proposé aucun argument constitutionnel vraiment convaincant pour justifier ces dissolutions hâtives de 1997 et de 2000. Dans le premier cas, on a proposé le commentaire facétieux qu’une élection hâtive en juin permettrait d’avoir un congé estival pour jouer au golf et, dans le second cas, un argument, plus sérieux cette fois-ci, voulant que les règles du jeu en politique autorisaient un gouvernement à déclencher des élections afin de profiter de l’inexpérience politique d’un nouveau chef de l’opposition, en l’occurrence Stockwell Day. 

Dans ses mémoires publiés en 2007, M. Chrétien a profité de l’occasion pour réitérer la vision traditionnelle, découlant du conflit de 1926 entre MM. King et Byng, de la relation constitutionnelle entre un premier ministre élu et un gouverneur général qui ne l’est pas : « rien dans nos règles ou nos traditions n’interdit au premier ministre de déclencher des élections quand il le veut, sauf qu’il risque d’être puni pour excès d’opportunisme politique »1. Il s’agit là, bien sûr, de la position prise par le premier ministre Mackenzie King dans le différend qui l’opposait au gouverneur général Byng. Cette interprétation constitutionnelle particulière des pouvoirs d’un premier ministre vis-à-vis ceux du gouverneur général persista très longtemps après les événements de 1926, et ce, malgré les solides arguments contraires exposés par un éminent spécialiste de l’histoire de la Constitution, le regretté Eugene Forsey.  

Si on réexaminait aujourd’hui ces prétendus précédents constitutionnels, on pourrait toutefois prendre conscience que ce conflit entre MM. King et Byng s’explique autant par l’époque que par une lutte pour le pouvoir politique qui sévissait au milieu des années 1920 entre un représentant de l’Empire, qui était encore choisi et nommé par le gouvernement britannique d’alors, et un politicien canadien particulièrement astucieux et fin prêt à se faire du capital politique aux dépens d’un fonctionnaire britannique en cette ère de montée du nationalisme canadien, qui d’ailleurs mènera, quelques années plus tard, au statut de dominion et à la souveraineté aux termes du Statut de Westminster de 1931. 

Dans ses propres mémoires publiés après sa retraite en 2006, la gouverneure générale Adrienne Clarkson a choisi d’adopter une approche plus moderne face au recours à ces prétendus précédents, découlant du conflit entre MM. King et Byng, pour régler des conflits ou des différends constitutionnels actuels entre le premier ministre et le gouverneur général. Elle souscrit à la thèse de Forsey selon laquelle le gouverneur général Byng avait tout à fait le droit, sur le plan constitutionnel, de refuser la demande du premier ministre King de dissoudre le Parlement, mais que lord Byng, en sa qualité de « gouverneur général britannique », a tout simplement été déjoué sur le plan politique par le triomphe de M. King aux élections générales subséquentes. En effet, Arthur Meighen, l’infortuné successeur de Mackenzie King qui avait été nommé par lord Byng après que ce dernier a refusé de dissoudre le Parlement, a été défait lors des élections générales qui ont suivi et qui ont porté, en partie, sur la décision de lord Byng2

Depuis 1952 toutefois, année de la nomination de Vincent Massey, les gouverneurs généraux ont tous été des citoyens canadiens et font donc tous partie intégrante du système canadien de freins et contrepoids constitutionnels. Ces inhibitions politiques, qui découlaient apparemment des rapports passés avec l’Empire, concernant les responsabilités constitutionnelles actuelles du gouverneur général par rapport à celles du premier ministre et d’autres institutions gouvernementales aussi importantes, ne sont plus pertinentes dans le contexte constitutionnel contemporain. Ainsi, l’ex-gouverneure générale, Mme Clarkson, s’est de nouveau penchée sur une question qui, précise-t-elle, était posée sous le gouvernement minoritaire de Paul Martin après les élections générales de 2004 : est-ce que la gouverneure générale devrait accorder la dissolution si le premier ministre lui en fait la demande parce que son gouvernement est aux prises avec ses premières difficultés postélectorales? À la suite de consultations auprès de constitutionnalistes, Mme Clarkson en est venue à la conclusion qu’elle ne devrait certainement pas accéder immédiatement à cette demande – toujours hypothétique – mais plutôt accorder la dissolution seulement après que le gouvernement aurait duré au moins six mois. Elle écrit : « Imposer des élections à la population canadienne avant six mois aurait été irresponsable et, si la demande m’en avait été faite, j’aurais décidé pour le bien du peuple canadien et j’aurais refusé la dissolution3. » 

Cette position générale exprimée par Mme Clarkson indique clairement que le gouverneur général n’est pas aujourd’hui constitutionnellement tenu d’accepter l’avis du premier ministre concernant la dissolution et que le gouverneur général dispose, encore de nos jours, d’un certain pouvoir discrétionnaire en vertu de la Constitution. À cet égard, l’ex-gouverneure générale propose des conclusions pragmatiques qui recommandent de faire preuve de prudence et de modération dans l’exercice de ces pouvoirs discrétionnaires de réserve : « Il faut un gouverneur général ingénieux, aux réflexes politiques très affûtés, pour que cette autorité soit exercée. Ce pouvoir [de réserve] ne serait justifié que dans les circonstances les plus exceptionnelles. Ce qui est bien clair, c’est que le gouverneur général n’agit habituellement que selon l’avis du premier ministre4. » 

Ajoutons à cela un principe qui a été adopté au Parlement de Westminster à la fin des années 1920 et appliqué dans d’autres pays appartenant ou ayant appartenu au Commonwealth et conservant encore un système constitutionnel de style britannique. Ce ne sont pas toutes les défaites subies par un gouvernement lors d’un vote à la Chambre (mais vraisemblablement seulement celles sur une motion de censure officielle ou sur un vote sur le budget dans son ensemble) qui peuvent justifier sur le plan constitutionnel qu’un premier ministre demande une dissolution, ou encore qu’un gouverneur général convoque le premier ministre pour une discussion constitutionnelle. Nous nous retrouvons dans une situation où un gouvernement fédéral minoritaire peut être considéré comme une solution politiquement viable, peut-être même pendant toute la durée du nouveau mandat légal de quatre ans. Après avoir subi une série de défaites lors de votes à la Chambre sur des mesures législatives de moindre importance – ce qu’on pourrait appeler « une mort lente » –, le premier ministre conserverait toujours le droit, en vertu des conventions constitutionnelles qui existent de longue date, de s’adresser au gouverneur général pour demander une dissolution. De même, le gouverneur général, en vertu de ces mêmes conventions de longue date, conserverait le droit de consulter l’opposition sur la possibilité de former un autre gouvernement sans dissoudre le Parlement et déclencher des élections générales.  

Dans ce dernier cas, selon une pratique bien établie en droit constitutionnel et dans les conventions du Commonwealth, le gouverneur général, avant de prendre des mesures pour relever de ses fonctions le premier ministre, doit être convaincu, hors de tout doute raisonnable, de la capacité politique des partis de l’opposition de former un autre gouvernement et de le maintenir en poste pendant une période de temps suffisante, ce qui exige nécessairement le soutien d’une majorité de députés. La pratique instituée dans ce cas est d’insister sur des engagements formels et par écrit, qui indiqueraient toutes les conditions posées par les forces de l’opposition pour soutenir le nouveau gouvernement proposé, la durée de ce soutien, et, impérativement, le nombre de voix que l’on engage et qui sont suffisantes pour constituer une nouvelle majorité durable à la Chambre. 

Notes 

1. Jean Chrétien, Passion politique, 2007, p. 221. 

2. Adrienne Clarkson, Le cœur au poing, 2006, p. 258 et 259. 

3. Ibid., p. 260. 

4. Ibid., p. 259. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 31 no 1
2008






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03