Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

Real Power to the People: A Novel Approach to Electoral Reform in British Columbia

Real Power to the People:  A Novel Approach to Electoral Reform in British Columbia by R. B. Herath, University Press of America, Lanham Maryland, 2007 

This book adds to the growing literature on the British Columbia Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform. The recommendation of the Assembly favouring adoption of the Single Transferable Vote system was narrowly defeated when it failed to reach the 60% threshold for success imposed by the government. 

Much of the book is devoted to the background and setting up the assembly, the random selection process, the learning phase, the public hearing phase, and the deliberation phase all of which are readily available in other publications and on the website of the assembly.  The detailed discussion of arguments for and against proportional representation and the advantages and disadvantages of the various systems are also well known. 

What makes this book unique is that the author was a member of the Citizens' Assembly.  He is even more unique in that he is one of only two Assembly members who had been active in politics having led a political party in his native country, Sri Lanka. He is also a poet, a dramatist and holds a Ph.D in organizational behaviour.  He admits he was an outspoken proponent of the Multi Member Proportional system but for the most part does not allow his personal preference to colour his analysis. 

Not surprisingly the author is a great supporter of the Citizens' Assembly process but in the last two chapters he identifies several shortcomings with the process as it was used in BC. These have all be noted by others but his perspective as a former member of the Assembly, is particularly useful. 

These problems can be described as follows: 

  • Mandate restrictions:  The Assembly was prevented from recommending a larger size for the legislature or making any changes other than the way members are elected.  The Assembly was also forced to recommend only one alternative to the status quo. 
  • External Influences:  He thought there was an over dependence on external academic experts and an unwillingness to listen to individuals with experience in practical politics. 
  • Insufficient attention to public opinion.  During the consultations phase the vast majority of individuals and groups who made representations to the Assembly favoured MMP but they were often dismissed as interest groups who would benefit from the system they were proposing. 
  • Incomplete analysis of the options:  During the deliberation phase the MMP model was not developed or considered to the same extent as the STV model, mainly due to time restrictions. 
  • Combining the referendum with the general election: This may have saved money but it meant the electoral debate was overshadowed by the election.  It also encouraged politicians to avoid taking a position a which might alienate one group or the other. 
  • Inadequate public funding:  No money was allocated for informing the electorate about recommendations of the CA before the referendum 

Despite these problems the author hopes that other jurisdictions use Citizens' Assemblies to consider electoral and indeed other difficult policy matters that elected politicians are loath to tackle. 

The author does not consider one rather dubious aspect of the Citizens' Assembly process that was present from the very outset.  This was the idea that the choice of an electoral system is a question of "values".  Of course different electoral systems that have different characteristics but these are not values in any meaningful sense of that term. 

We would be much better advised to think of an electoral system as simply the plumbing, not the heart and soul, of our democracy. Given the right conventions, the right institutions, and a proper sense of honesty and probity there are half a dozen electoral systems that are perfectly satisfactory.  An obsession with values undermines one of the real virtues of democratic politics, an openness to comp- romise. 

It should not take a Citizens' Assembly, a referendum and years of debate to decide the kind of plumbing we need in our house. What we need is political leadership that would make use of existing Citizens' Assemblies, commonly known as parliament and legislatures, to deal with the issue of electoral reform. 

Gary Levy 
Editor 
Canadian Parliamentary Review 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

Real Power to the People: A Novel Approach to Electoral Reform in British Columbia

Ce livre s'ajoute à l'abondante documentation déjà parue sur l'Assemblée des citoyens pour la réforme électorale de la Colombie- Britannique. La recommandation qu'avait formulée l'Assemblée des citoyens en vue d'adopter le vote unique transférable comme mode de scrutin a été rejetée de peu, le seuil minimal de 60 % imposé par le gouvernement n'ayant pas été atteint.

Une bonne partie du livre porte sur le contexte entourant la création de l'Assemblée, son mode de sélection au hasard, sa phase d'apprentissage ainsi que les audiences publiques et les délibérations qu'elle a tenues, autant d'aspects déjà décrits dans d'autres publications et sur le site Web de l'Assemblée des citoyens. Les tenants et aboutissants de la représentation proportionnelle, tout comme les avantages et désavantages des divers modes de scrutin étudiés, sont aussi bien connus. 

Ce qui rend ce livre unique, c'est le fait que son auteur était membre de l'Assemblée des citoyens. Il est de surcroît l'un des deux seuls membres de l'Assemblée à avoir une expérience politique, car il avait dirigé un parti dans son pays natal, le Sri Lanka. L'auteur est également poète, dramaturge et titulaire d'un doctorat en comportement organisationnel. Il admet avoir été un ardent défenseur du système proportionnel plurinominal mais en général ne laisse pas ses préférences personnelles colorer son analyse. 

L'auteur, cela n'a rien de surprenant, penche résolument en faveur du processus de l'Assemblée des citoyens. Dans les deux derniers chapitres, il relève néanmoins plusieurs lacunes de ce processus, tel qu'il a été appliqué en Colombie-Britannique. Ces lacunes ont toutes été déjà signalées par d'autres observateurs mais la perspective de l'auteur, en sa qualité d'ancien membre de l'Assemblée des citoyens, est particulièrement utile. 

Voici quelques-uns des problèmes signalés : 

  • Restrictions du mandat. L'Assemblée ne pouvait pas recommander d'augmenter la taille du parlement ou de faire des changements autres que sur la façon dont les députés sont élus. L'Assemblée était également tenue de recommander une seule solution de rechange au statu quo. 
  • Influences externes. L'auteur estime que l'on dépendait dans une trop grande mesure de spécialistes externes et que l'on était très peu enclin à écouter les particuliers qui avaient de l'expérience en politique pratique. 
  • Trop peu d'attention à l'opinion publique. Pendant les consultations, la grande majorité des particuliers et des groupes qui ont témoigné devant l'Assemblée penchait pour le système proportionnel plurinominal. Or, on a souvent fait fi de leur opinion sous prétexte qu'ils étaient des groupes d'intérêts pouvant tirer avantage du système qu'ils préconisaient. 
  • Analyse incomplète des options. Pendant les délibérations, on n'a pas cherché à développer ou à analyser le modèle proportionnel plurinominal autant que le modèle à vote unique transférable, principalement en raison du manque de temps. 
  • Référendum et élections générales en même temps. Cela s'est peut-être avéré une solution économique mais, en fait, les élections ont éclipsé le débat sur le modèle électoral. Cela a aussi encouragé les politiciens à éviter de prendre une position risquant de leur aliéner le soutien d'un groupe ou d'un autre. 
  • Financement public inadéquat. Pas le moindre sou n'a été prévu pour informer l'électorat des recommandations formulées par l'Assemblée des citoyens avant le référendum. 

Malgré ces failles, l'auteur espère que d'autres compétences se serviront du processus des assemblée de citoyens pour examiner leur modèle électoral ainsi que d'autres questions stratégiques que les élus répugnent à aborder. 

Enfin, l'auteur ne fait aucune mention d'un aspect plutôt douteux du processus de l'Assemblée des citoyens, présent dès le début. Il s'agit de la présomption selon laquelle le choix d'un système électoral est une question de « valeurs ». Bien entendu, chaque système électoral présente ses propres caractéristiques mais il ne s'agit pas de « valeurs » dans le vrai sens du terme. 

Il serait plus exact de dire qu'un système électoral constitue simplement la « plomberie » et non le cœur de notre démocratie. Avec de bonnes conventions et de bonnes institutions, dans lesquelles transparaissent l'honnêteté et la probité, on pourrait facilement appliquer cinq ou six modèles électoraux différents qui fonctionneraient tous parfaitement bien. Notre obsession des « valeurs » sape l'une des vertus réelles de la démocratie : l'ouverture au compromis. 

On ne devrait pas avoir à compter sur une assemblée de citoyens, organiser un référendum ou débattre des options pendant des années pour décider du type de plomberie à installer dans sa maison. Ce dont nous avons besoin, c'est d'un leadership politique qui fera bon usage des assemblées de citoyens déjà en place, autrement connues sous le nom de « parlement », pour traiter de la question de la réforme électorale. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15