Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Canadian Regional Conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association  

The 45th CPA Regional Conference was held in Winnipeg from July 23-29, 2007. Approximately 80 delegates from every Canadian legislature except Ontario were in attendance. Among the special guests were Dr. William Shija, Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Edna Moyle, Speaker of the Cayman Islands, and two members of the British House of Commons, Michael Connarty and Greg Knight. A number of provincial and territorial Speakers were also in attendance including Ken Kowalski (Alberta), Bill Barisoff, (British Columbia), Eugene McGinley (New Brunswick) Harvey Hodder (Newfoundland and Labrador), Paul Delorey (Northwest Territories), Cecil Clarke (Nova Scotia) Kathleen Casey (Prince Edward Island) Myron Kowalsky (Saskatchewan) and Ted Staffen (Yukon). The Conference was hosted by the Speaker of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly, George Hickes

Following the official opening Secretary General Shija gave a presentation on the work of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. The first business session, chaired by Speaker Delorey, featured a presentation by Erin Selby MLA of Manitoba on Dealing with the Media. As a former journalist and a newly elected MLA she was able to give delegates an in depth view of how news rooms work and some valuable tips to facilitate dealing with the media. 

The second session, chaired by Don Toth MLA (Saskatchewan), consisted of a presentation by Hunter Tootoo MLA of Nunavut who described the Reporting Relationship between the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut and its independent officers. He also pointed out a number of unique features of the consensus style government that is used in Canada's newest territory. 

The third session, chaired by Myrna Driedger MLA (Manitoba) featured Professor David Docherty of Sir Wilfrid Laurier University. He presented some findings from an ongoing research project on Members of Parliament Who Cross the Floor. 

The fourth session chaired by Mary Anne Jablonski MLA (Alberta) featured a presentation by Grahman Steele MLA of Nova Scotia. He spoke about an important but frequently misunderstood topic – the sub judice convention in a paper entitled Reconciling Free Speech and Fair Trials: What to do when a matter is Before the Courts. 

The fifth session chaired by Speaker Hodder, featured a presentation by Geoffrey Kelley MNA. He outlined a recent initiative by the Quebec National Assembly, Creation of a Special Research Chair on Parliamentary Government and Democracy. 

The sixth session, chaired by Speaker Hickes, was presented by Jenny Kwan MLA of British Columbia. She spoke on Seeing Beyond the Political Horizon:  Standards of Care in the Inner City. 

The seventh session, chaired by Bonnie Korzeniowski (Manitoba) featured a presentation on Women and Politics by Jennifer Howard MLA of Manitoba. 

The final session on Youth Voter and Political Apathy was chaired by Speaker Staffen. It consisted of a presentation by Dr. Kim Peers on the University of Manitoba and a panel of university students. 

The conference included a number of social events designed to give delegates an opportunity to sample Manitoba society and hospitality. These included a reception hosted by the Lieutenant Governor, John Harvard; a dinner and Red River cruise on a paddlewheel boat, dinner at the Manitoba Museum with entertainment provided by the Aboriginal Walking Woof Hoop Dancer, the French Canadian folk singing group La Bardasse and the Rozmai Ukrainian Dance Company. Among optional excursions offered to delegates were a Prairie Grassland and Bison Herd tour, a visit to the Mennonite Heritage Village, a round of golf at The Meadows or a morning of fishing on the Red River. 

The Conference concluded with a traditional Manitoba Social and Dinner including entertainment and a silent auction. Proceeds from the auction will go to support research into fighting breast cancer. 

Delegates were unanimous in their congratulations to Speaker Hickes and the legislative staff led by Patricia Chaychuk, for hosting such a successful conference. Next year the Regional Conference will be held in Nova Scotia. 

Meeting of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians 

Following a precedent established last year in Ottawa the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians held a one day Conference immediately preceding the opening of the Canadian Regional Conference. About two dozen female legislators from Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Yukon and the federal Parliament attended as did Edna Moyle, Speaker of the Cayman Islands. The Conference was chaired by Charlotte L'Écuyer, Chair of the CWP. 

There were three presentations. The first was by Susan Thompson, former Mayor on Winnipeg who spoke on Beyond the Glass Ceiling – an Independent’s Perspective. The session was chaired by Sandy Lee MLA of the Northwest Territories. 

The next session was on First Nations Women in Leadership:  Challenges and Opportunities. The presenters were Chief Betsy Kennedy from the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs First Nations Women’s Committee and Keely Ten Fingers, a Policy Analyst specialising in Women’s Issues. The session was chaired by Myrna Dreidger, MLA of Manitoba. 

The topic for the third session was Adjusting to Parliamentary Life and featured a presentation by Myrna Phillips, former Speaker of the Manitoba Legislature. This session was chaired by Carolyn Bolivar-Getson MHA of Nova Scotia. 

At the closing session a number of suggestions were considered for inclusion in the 2008 conference scheduled for Nova Scotia. 

New Speaker in Prince Edward Island 

The New Speaker of the Prince Edward Island Legislative Assembly is Kathleen Casey.  She was elected on July 6, 2007. 

Ms. Casey was born in New Waterford, Nova Scotia, where she received her early education, graduating from Breton Education Center in 1980. In 1984, she graduated from St. Francis Xavier University with a Bachelor of Science in Physical Education. She became an Islander by choice in 1986 when she was hired by the Community of West Royalty to be their Recreation Director, and in 1995 became the Superintendent of Parks for the City of Charlottetown. In 1997, Ms. Casey was elected to Charlottetown City Council and then re elected in 2000, where she served until 2003. 

Active in her community, Ms. Casey is the Past-chair of the United Way of P.E.I. Campaign. In 2004, she was appointed by Paul Martin to the Prime Minister's External Advisory Committee on Cities and Communities. Ms. Casey has also served on the Board of Directors of the Confederation Centre of the Arts, as well as the Four Neighborhoods Community Health Centre. She is also a volunteer with the Charlottetown Minor Hockey Association and Holy Redeemer Parish. 

When not serving in an elected or volunteer role, Ms Casey laces on her skates and takes to the ice as a member of the Charlottetown Hockey Mommas. This is a group of moms who raise money for initiatives to fight breast cancer on Prince Edward Island. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC: La scène canadienneAPC: La scène canadienne


Conférence régionale canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth 

Du 23 au 29 juillet 2007, a eu lieu à Winnipeg la 45e Conférence régionale canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. Environ 80 délégués de toutes les assemblées législatives du Canada, à l’exception de celle de l’Ontario, y ont participé. Parmi les invités spéciaux, on compte William Shija, secrétaire général de l’Association, Edna Moyle, présidente de l’Assemblée législative des îles Caïmans, et deux membres de la Chambre des communes britannique, Michael Connarty et Greg Knight. Les présidents de la plupart des provinces et des territoires ont aussi été présents, soit Ken Kowalski (Alberta), Bill Barisoff (Colombie-Britannique), Eugene McGinley (Nouveau-Brunswick), Harvey Hodder (Terre-Neuve- et-Labrador), Paul Delorey (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), Cecil Clarke (Nouvelle-Écosse) Kathleen Casey (Île-du-Prince-Édouard), Myron Kowalsky (Saskatchewan) et Ted Staffen (Yukon). Le président de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, George Hickes, avait été chargé d’organiser la Conférence. 

À la suite de l’ouverture officielle, le secrétaire général Shija a présenté un exposé sur les activités de l’Association. La première séance de travail, présidée par le président Delorey, comportait une communication d’Erin Selby, députée à l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, sur les relations avec les médias. En tant qu’ancienne journaliste et nouveau membre de l’Assemblée législative, elle a soulevé, à l’intention des délégués, une description détaillée du travail en salle de presse et elle leur a donné de précieux conseils pour les aider dans leurs rapports avec les médias. 

La deuxième séance, présidée par Don Toth, député provincial (Saskatchewan), comprenait une présentation par Hunter Tootoo, député du Nunavut, qui a décrit le rapport hiérarchique entre l’Assemblée législative du Nunavut et ses agents indépendants. Le député a aussi souligné quelques-unes des caractéristiques uniques du gouvernement de type consensuel dont est doté le plus jeune des territoires canadiens. 

La troisième séance, présidée par Myrna Driedger, députée provinciale (Manitoba), mettait en vedette le professeur David Docherty, de l’Université Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Celui-ci a présenté quelques résultats d’un projet de recherche en cours sur les députés qui traversent la Chambre. 

La quatrième séance, présidée par Mary Anne Jablonski, députée provinciale (Alberta), comportait un exposé de Graham Steele, député à l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Celui-ci a parlé d’un sujet important, mais souvent incompris, soit la convention relative aux affaires en instance, dans une communication intitulée « Liberté d’expression et procès équitable : que faire lorsque l’affaire est « devant les tribunaux ». 

Pendant la cinquième séance, présidée par le président Hodder, Geoffrey Kelley, député à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, a fait état d’une initiative récente de l’Assemblée nationale, la création d’une chaire de recherches spéciale sur la démocratie et le gouvernement parlementaire. 

Lors de la sixième séance, présidée par le président Hickes, Jenny Kwan, députée à l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, a présenté l’exposé « Au-delà de l’horizon politique : soins de santé dans les quartiers défavorisés ». 

Au cours de la septième séance, présidée par Bonnie Korzeniowski (Manitoba), Jennifer Howard, députée à l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, s’est exprimée sur les femmes et la politique. 

Le président Staffen a présidé la dernière séance, qui a porté sur la participation des jeunes aux élections et l’apathie politique. On y a entendu une communication de Kim Peers sur l’Université du Manitoba et un comité d’étudiants universitaires. 

La Conférence comportait des activités mondaines conçues pour permettre aux délégués de découvrir la société et l’hospitalité manitobaines. Au nombre de celles-ci, on trouve une réception offerte par le lieutenant- gouverneur de la province, John Harvard, un dîner-croisière sur la rivière Rouge à bord d’un vapeur à aubes et un dîner au Musée du Manitoba, avec divertissements par l’Aboriginal Walking Woof Hoop Dancer, le groupe de chansonniers folkloriques canadiens-français La Bardasse et la compagnie de danse ukrainienne Rozmai. Entre autres excursions optionnelles, les délégués pouvaient visiter des prairies herbeuses vallonnées, des troupeaux de bisons ou le Mennonite Heritage Village, faire une partie de golf au club Meadows ou passer une matinée à pêcher sur la rivière Rouge. 

La Conférence s’est terminée par un dîner manitobain traditionnel, avec divertissements et encan silencieux. Le produit de la vente aux enchères servira à soutenir la recherche sur le cancer du sein. 

Les délégués ont, sans exception, félicité le président Hickes et le personnel de l’Assemblée, dirigé par Patricia Chaychuk, du succès de la Conférence. L’an prochain, la Conférence régionale canadienne aura lieu en Nouvelle-Écosse.  

Réunion des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth 

Selon un précédent établi l’an dernier à Ottawa, les Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth (FPC) ont tenu une journée d’études tout juste avant l’ouverture de la Conférence régionale canadienne. Y ont assisté environ 25 législatrices de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique, du Manitoba, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, du Québec, de la Saskatchewan, du Yukon et du Parlement fédéral, de même qu’Edna Moyle, présidente de l’Assemblée législative des îles Caïmans. 

Charlotte L’Écuyer, présidente des FPC, a présidé cette journée d’étude, qui a comporté trois communications. La première, par Susan Thompson, ancienne mairesse de Winnipeg, s’intitulait « Au-delà du plafond de verre : point de vue d’un indépendant ». Sandy Lee, députée des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, a présidé la séance. 

L’exposé suivant a traité du thème « Les femmes autochtones à des postes de direction : défis et possibilités ». Les présentatrices ont été la chef Betsy Kennedy, du Comité des femmes des Premières nations de l’Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba, et Keely Ten Fingers, analyste des politiques spécialisée dans les questions féminines. Myrna Driedger, députée à l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, a présidé la séance. 

La troisième séance avait pour sujet l’ajustement à la vie parlementaire. Elle comportait un exposé de Myrna Phillips, ancienne présidente de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba. Carolyn Bolivar-Getson, députée à la Chambre d’assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a présidé cette séance. 

Lors de la séance de clôture, quelques suggestions ont été faites en vue de la Conférence de 2008, qui aura lieu en Nouvelle-Écosse. 

Nouvelle présidente à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard 

La nouvelle Présidente de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du- Prince-Édouard est Kathleen Casey. Elle a été élue le 6 juillet 2007. 

Mme Casey est née et a grandi à New Waterford, en Nouvelle-Écosse, où elle a reçu son diplôme du Breton 

Education Centre en 1980. En 1984, elle a obtenu un baccalauréat ès sciences en éducation physique de l’Université St. Francis Xavier. Elle a déménagé à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard en 1986, lorsqu’elle a accepté le poste de directrice des loisirs pour la collectivité de West Royalty. En 1995, elle est devenue surintendante des parcs pour la ville de Charlottetown. Élue au conseil municipal de Charlottetown en 1997, puis réélue en 2000, elle y a siégé jusqu’en 2003. 

Active dans sa collectivité, Mme Casey est présidente sortante de la campagne Centraide à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. En 2004, elle a été nommée par le premier ministre Paul Martin au Comité consultatif externe sur les villes et les collectivités, qu’il avait créé. Mme Casey a également siégé au conseil d’administration du Centre des arts dela Confédération, de même qu’au conseil du centre de santé communautaire Four Neighbourhoods. En outre, elle est bénévole pour l’association de hockey mineur de Charlottetown et pour la paroisse Holy Redeemer. 

Lorsqu’elle n’assume pas ses fonctions de représentante élue ou de bénévole, Mme Casey chausse ses patins et s’élance sur la glace en qualité de membre des Charlottetown Hockey Mommas. Il s’agit d’un groupe de mères qui recueille des fonds pour appuyer la lutte contre le cancer du sein à l’Île-du- Prince-Édouard.  


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 3
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15