Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activites: The Canadian Scene


45th Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Conference 

The annual conference of the Canadian Region of the CPA will take place in Winnipeg, Manitoba in July 2007.  The first day of the conference, Tuesday July 24, will be devoted to sessions organized by the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians.  Eight Business sessions will be held in the Fairmont hotel on July 25, 27 and 28.  On July 25 delegates will have an opportunity to participate in one of four optional tours designed to acquaint them with various aspects of Manitoba.  The Regional Council meeting of CPA will be held on Friday, July 15. 

New Clerk in Ontario 

The new Clerk of the Ontario Legislative Assembly is Deborah Deller.  Her appointment was announced by Speaker Michael Brown and became effective on March 21, 2007. 

Ms Deller is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario.  She has worked for the Assembly in numerous capacities since 1979.  In the course of her career she has held many positions with the Assembly including Information Officer, Committee Clerk, Clerk Assistant, Deputy Clerk and Director of Legislative Services. 

In addition to her responsibilities at the Ontario Legislative Assembly, Ms Deller has been actively involved in several international advisory projects and missions. In February of 2006, Ms Deller was asked by the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association to be part of a team conducting a post election seminar in Tanzania.  This was an interactive training seminar aimed at sharing expertise with newly elected Tanzanian Members on certain key areas of Parliamentary roles and processes including the role of the Speaker, the role of the Opposition, privilege and financial oversight processes.  Ms Deller was the only Clerk on the team which otherwise consisted of the Speaker of the House from Kenya and the Leader of the Opposition from Ghana. 

Currently Ms Deller is the Team Leader for a CPA initiative for the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).  This Technical Assistance Program for the OECS involves the updating and harmonization of Standing Orders for 9 member states.  The project is expected to be completed in the spring with a workshop organized by the project team to follow. 

Ms Deller has been a presenter and participant in various forums including the Canadian Association of Clerks-at-the-Table, the American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries; Australia and New Zealand Society of Clerks-at-the- Table and the Association of Chief Clerks of Mexico's State Legislatures and the Federal District of Mexico. 

Ms Deller is a regular participant in an education program operated jointly by the Canadian Study of Parliament Group and the Association of Clerks-at-the-Table in Canada.  Under the auspices of this speaking tour program Ms Deller has undertaken speaking engagements at various universities including: Trent, Waterloo, McMaster; and Queen's. 

New Clerk in the Yukon 

The new Clerk of the Yukon Legislative Assembly is Floyd McCormick.  He replaces Patrick Michael, who retired at the end of March 2007. 

Dr. McCormick has been Deputy Clerk of the Legislative Assembly since August 15, 2001. He earned a Ph.D. in political science from the University of Alberta, and a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Arts, also in political science, from the University of Western Ontario. He is a member of the Society of Clerks-at-the-Table in Canada, having served on that organization’s technology and professional development committees. He is also a member of the Society of Clerks-at- the Table in Commonwealth Parliaments. Dr. McCormick has been a member of the Canadian Political Science Association and the Société québécoise de science politique since 1990. Prior to accepting the position of Deputy Clerk, Dr. McCormick was a political commentator for CBC Yukon and the Yukon News. He also taught a political science course on Yukon First Nations land claims and self-government at Yukon College. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
APC: La scène canadienne


45e Conférence de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth 

La conférence annuelle de la Région canadienne de l'APC aura lieu à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, en juillet 2007. Sa première journée, le mardi 24, sera consacrée à des séances organisées par le réseau des femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth. Huit ateliers auront lieu à l'hôtel Fairmont les 25, 27 et 28.  Le 25, les délégués pourront participer à l'une des quatre visites facultatives qui viseront à leur faire découvrir diverses facettes du Manitoba.  La réunion du Conseil régional de l'APC se tiendra le vendredi 15 juillet. 

Nouvelle greffière en Ontario 

La nouvelle greffière de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario est Deborah Deller. Sa nomination a été annoncée par le président Michael Brown et est entrée en vigueur le 21 mars 2007. 

Mme Deller est diplômée de l'Université Western Ontario. Elle a travaillé à l'Assemblée à de nombreux titres depuis 1979 : agente d'information, greffière de comité, greffière adjointe, sous-greffière et directrice des Services législatifs. 

Outre ses responsabilités à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario, Mme Deller a participé activement à plusieurs projets et missions à l'étranger à titre consultatif. En février 2006, l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC) lui a demandé de faire partie de l'équipe d'un séminaire postélectoral en Tanzanie. Il s'agissait d'un séminaire de formation interactive destiné à transmettre aux nouveaux députés tanzaniens des connaissances sur certains rôles et mécanismes parlementaires importants : le rôle du président et celui de l'opposition, le privilège et la surveillance des finances. Mme Deller était la seule greffière de l'équipe, les autres membres étant le président de la Chambre du Kenya et le chef de l'opposition du Ghana. 

En ce moment, Mme Deller est chef d'équipe d'une initiative de l'APC pour l'Organisation des États des Caraïbes orientales (OECO). Ce programme d'aide technique consiste à mettre à jour et à harmoniser le Règlement des neuf États membres. Le projet devrait prendre fin au printemps, après quoi aura lieu un atelier organisé par les responsables du projet. 

Mme Deller a présenté des exposés et participé à des rencontres de divers organismes, dont l'Association des greffiers parlementaires du Canada, l'American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries, l'Australia and New Zealand Association of Clerks-at-the-Table et l'Association des greffiers en chef des assemblées législatives des États du Mexique et du district fédéral de Mexico. 

Mme Deller participe régulièrement à un programme pédagogique organisé conjointement par le Groupe canadien d'étude des parlements et l'Association des greffiers parlementaires du Canada. Sous les auspices de ce programme de conférences, Mme Deller a pris la parole dans diverses universités, notamment les universités de Trent et de Waterloo ainsi que les universités McMaster et Queen's. 

Nouveau greffier au Yukon 

Floyd McCormick est le nouveau greffier de l'Assemblée législative du Yukon. Il remplace Patrick Michael, qui a pris sa retraite à la fin mars 2007. 

M. McCormick était greffier adjoint de l'Assemblée législative depuis le 15 août 2001. Il détient un doctorat en sciences politiques de l'Université de l'Alberta, ainsi qu'un baccalauréat et une maîtrise ès arts, également en sciences politiques, de l'Université Western Ontario. Membre de l'Association des greffiers parlementaires du Canada, il a fait partie de ses comités de la technologie et du perfectionnement professionnel. Il est membre de la Society of Clerks-at-the-Table in Commonwealth Parliaments. Il est aussi  membre de l'Association canadienne de science politique et de la Société québécoise de science politique depuis 1990. Avant d'accepter le poste de greffier adjoint, M. McCormick a été commentateur politique à la CBC du Yukon et au Yukon News. En outre, il a donné un cours de sciences politiques sur les revendications territoriales et l'autonomie gouvernementale des Premières Nations du Yukon au Collège du Yukon. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15