Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
The Politician and the Actor – Learning to Communicate on Television
Kimberley Mullins

Television has become a pervasive form of communication in our world and its encompassing nature ensures that any political leader unable or unwilling to use it as a means of communication will be at a distinct disadvantage in getting their message across. In Canada, most politicians will still experience the majority of their public speaking in parliament or other live venues. But, as more parliaments across Canada broadcast their proceedings, and television increasingly becomes the primary medium for receiving information, the ability to communicate on camera takes on added importance. When a politician is unsuccessful at communicating in the television medium, it is common to blame the media for shallow or biased representation, but the reality is far more complex. 

The television media cannot be dismissed as simply a means of communication. It is not a benign force transmitting information. It plays an active role in the political process on many levels. In order to best communicate with the audience the politician must have as much knowledge as possible about the practical and cultural aspects of television performance. Yet despite the participation of communications directors, press secretaries and media consultants, relatively little attention is paid to the specific requirements of a televised public performance. In this regard, politicians could learn from professional television actors – fellow performers who have studied the requirements of the television medium. 

For a politician, understanding performance from the perspective of a professional television actor makes sense because that is also how the audience will understand television performance. Since television has been primarily a medium of entertainment, it has created a society familiar with and possibly expectant of a similar style of information delivery. The audience’s ability to interpret or judge a politician’s performance on television will come, in part, from their experiences in watching professional performers in that same medium. Members of the public, of all socio-economic classes, now have access to performance of all kinds on a scale that is historically unprecedented. This has had a tremendous effect on the very cognitive skills of our society. Exposure to regular mediated performance has given the audience a basis for understanding and interpreting what they see. It is rare, however, for the audience to consciously question how they came by this awareness, or what role it plays in their decisions regarding a performer.  

The television audience learns to look for and assign meaning to the significance of camera movements, editing and other visual effects of television just as they interpret the actions and behaviours of those characters that fill television screens. The audience watching a political performance is interpreting it with those tools of analysis learned from television, but without any adaptation for the nature of the political performance. They are still drawing upon their knowledge of the format; a format largely comprised of entertainment-oriented performances. 

There are, however, things to be learned from these performers. Actors and entertainment producers know that there are several distinct differences between communicating on television and communicating in a live performance. Actor’s manuals for television performance often describe the difference between live oratory and televised communication as a difference in proximity. When speaking in parliament, a town hall or other live performance space, the audience is at some distance from the performer, and it is anticipated that the performer will accommodate those furthest from the stage. Therefore even those in the front row will anticipate a heightened level of performance. The voice will need to be louder, the gestures bigger, and diction clearer. The performer’s primary emphasis is not on the subtleties of eye movement or small gestures as they would be imperceptible to all but the closest audience members. 

On television the audience is only as distant as the camera, which in most instances is at a close proximity to the performer. In this case, the same subtleties used in one on one communication are highly visible and often magnified. A journalist or editor can focus the audience’s attention on a specific gesture or expression, thereby giving it particular significance. A common mistake made by politicians uncomfortable with the television camera is to increase their physical expressiveness. With the camera in such close proximity, it is often necessary to tone down action, and keep eye movements at the level one would use during a close one-on-one conversation. The camera’s gaze brings the audience members so close that added movement can have the same impact of screaming in someone’s face. The seasoned performer will respond to the camera as they would respond to a colleague standing next to them on an elevator. 

The issue of proximity is also an issue of intimacy and formality. When the audience is at a physical distance, there is a naturally assumed formality to even the most uneventful communication. The physical separation between audience and performer will encourage a more structured presentation. The camera eliminates that distance and therefore encourages a more intimate approach to communication. 

Professional actors and television producers also know that on television, images have as much meaning as words. Once the performer enters the performance area, all of his or her actions, however unconscious or unintentional, are interpreted as some sort of sign. Whether this sign is directly related to the content of the presentation, or is interpreted as a spontaneous act, it nonetheless assumes a far greater significance because the politician has been framed as a performer. 

The audience is directed in their gaze by the camera. They do not have the option of looking at the whole picture, or taking their time to interpret the details of what is being said. The average news clip lasts only 30 seconds, making it imperative that the message is given as succinctly as possible. That means that messages have to be communicated visually as well as verbally. When a politician speaks to television media, their non-verbal communication must match their verbal message. Otherwise, the story will be about the presentation, and not about the information. That means that their actions, their clothing, their tone of voice, and even their physical environment must support their message. Everything included in the communication has to be part of the communication. 

Actors know that there is no such thing as unbiased television. Television does not reflect reality; it recreates it. Just as language provides a means of interpreting our reality, and of forming our understanding of it, so does television interpret and alter our perception of the world. Even when images of a parliamentary debate are broadcast without interpretation or comment by a host, there are still plenty of factors that could influence the images that the audience will see. Lighting, room colour and room design will likely be altered to accommodate television cameras. Decisions must be made on what proceedings will receive coverage, as well as what shots and angles will be used. Where will the camera be positioned? Will empty seats be shown on camera? Will the gallery be shown? Will it focus on the person who is speaking or the reaction of those listening? Will the shots be cut to show both, and if so, at what point? These and many other questions must be answered by those in charge of producing this supposedly unaltered documentation of public affairs, and yet it is clear that the answer to any one of those could impact the audience’s perception of events. Taking this into consideration, as well as the very fact of the politician’s awareness of a potentially increased audience, and the concept of the unobtrusive ‘fly-on-the-wall’ coverage is no longer a simplistic possibility. In other words, the old axiom that the camera does not lie is not entirely correct. Although the images caught on camera may be irrefutable, the context of the footage can seriously alter interpretation. Television coverage can be, by its very nature, confusing, as it provides images that have been taken out of context. The belief that television has created a world of instant information and irrefutable truth is far from accurate. It is this very pretence of absolute honesty that generates such confusion. It ensures that the audience does not go to any great lengths to evaluate the context of the images they see. They accept the images of television as factual and honest. 

It is not because of the media that performance is inherent in political communication, but it has certainly played a crucial role in increasing awareness of performance in political communication, and demanding additional skills on the part of the politician. Yet the proliferation of television has many potential benefits to the public and the politician. Television offers a much broader audience base than any live rally or gathering could hope to achieve and has the added advantage of being broadcast to those who would perhaps not readily attend such a gathering. Television, through news programs, political specials, parliamentary broadcasts and other coverage, has the ability to introduce a more diverse information base to a more diverse audience. 

Yet political performers remain at a disadvantage in this area. This is due in part to a continued cultural reluctance to acknowledge that performance skills are needed by the politician. It is also due to the television audience’s misunderstanding of the nature of political performance in many contexts. Without proper understanding of political performance, the very nature of the media can give false impressions, create unrealistic expectations, and change how information is processed and discussed. It is essential that the political performer understand the significance and the requirements of communication through media. It is equally important that the audience receiving that communication be aware of those same factors. A good first step is to acknowledge the necessity of performance in television communication. And, just as professional actors would, take the time to really know what it takes to communicate your message.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Le politicien et l'acteur – Apprendre à communiquer à la télévision
Kimberley Mullins

La télévision est devenue un mode de communication universel et, en raison de son importance, tout dirigeant politique qui ne peut pas ou ne veut pas s’en servir pour communiquer sera nettement désavantagé lorsqu’il voudra faire passer son message. Au Canada, la plupart des politiciens prononcent encore la majorité de leurs discours au Parlement ou dans d’autres lieux publics. Cependant, puisque davantage de Parlements canadiens diffusent leurs séances et que la télévision constitue la principale source d’information, il devient d’autant plus important de savoir s’exprimer devant une caméra. Lorsqu’un politicien ne réussit pas à communiquer efficacement à la télévision, les médias sont souvent accusés de présenter une image tendancieuse ou superficielle de cette personne. La réalité est pourtant bien plus complexe. 

La télévision ne peut pas être uniquement considérée comme un moyen de communication. Elle ne transmet pas l’information de façon anodine et elle tient un rôle important dans le système politique, et ce, sur beaucoup de plans. Afin de communiquer efficacement avec son public, le politicien doit posséder une connaissance profonde des aspects pratiques et culturels de la prestation télévisée. Pourtant, malgré le concours de directeurs des communications, d’attachés de presse et de conseillers-médias, les exigences particulières d’une prestation télévisée sont négligées. Les politiciens auraient intérêt à se faire conseiller par des acteurs de télévision professionnels, qui exercent un métier apparenté et qui connaissent bien les exigences de la télévision. 

En comprenant la prestation télévisée du point de vue d’un acteur professionnel, le politicien se donne un atout, car c’est sous ce même angle que le public comprend la prestation télévisée. Puisque la télévision est essentiellement un média consacré au divertissement, la société s’est habituée à un style de prestation semblable à celui des acteurs, auquel elle s’attend de la part des politiciens. La capacité des téléspectateurs d’interpréter ou de juger la prestation d’un politicien à la télévision vient, en partie, de ce qu’ils ont appris en regardant des interprètes professionnels. Toutes classes socioéconomiques confondues, la population a maintenant accès à des prestations télévisées de tout genre, à un niveau jusqu’ici inconnu. Ce phénomène a eu une très grande incidence sur les aptitudes cognitives des membres de notre société. En regardant régulièrement des prestations à la télévision, le public a assimilé des principes de base qui lui servent de référence pour comprendre et interpréter ce qu’il voit. Toutefois, il est rare que les téléspectateurs remettent consciemment en question comment ils ont acquis ces connaissances ou quel rôle elles jouent lorsqu’ils jaugent un interprète. 

Lorsque le public interprète les actions et les comportements des personnages qu’il retrouve dans les émissions de télévision, il apprend à donner une signification aux mouvements de caméra, au montage et aux autres effets visuels. En regardant un politicien s’exprimer à la télévision, les téléspectateurs comprennent ce qu’ils voient en se référant aux outils d’analyse qu’ils ont appris, mais sans les adapter à la nature politique de la prestation. Ils s’appuient sur ce qu’ils connaissent de la télévision, qui diffuse essentiellement des émissions à caractère divertissant. 

Ces interprètes peuvent toutefois servir de modèle. Les acteurs et les producteurs d’émissions de divertissement savent qu’il existe des différences claires entre le jeu à la télévision et les prestations en direct. Les manuels dont se servent les acteurs du petit écran pour apprendre leur métier affirment souvent que la différence entre le discours en direct et le jeu à la télévision en est une de proximité. Lorsqu’une personne s’exprime au Parlement, à l’hôtel de ville ou dans un autre lieu public, l’auditoire se trouve à une certaine distance de l’orateur, qui devrait donc adapter sa prestation aux personnes situées loin de la scène. Par conséquent, même les spectateurs situés dans les premiers rangs s’attendent à une prestation plus dynamique. L’orateur parle plus fort, accentue ses mouvements et articule davantage. Les mouvements subtils des yeux ou les gestes furtifs prennent moins d’importance, car seuls les spectateurs situés à l’avant peuvent les voir. 

Lorsque le public regarde la télévision, il est aussi proche de l’image que la caméra, qui est généralement située très près de l’interprète. Les mêmes subtilités qui apparaissent au cours d’un entretien en tête à tête sont, dans ce cas, très visibles et même plus évidentes. Un journaliste ou un monteur peut faire en sorte que l’auditoire dirige son attention vers une expression ou un geste particuliers et, de ce fait, donner une signification précise à ces signes. Les politiciens qui ne sont pas à l’aise devant une caméra commettent souvent l’erreur d’exagérer leurs expressions gestuelles. Puisque la caméra se trouve si près, il est souvent nécessaire de modérer ses mouvements et d’adopter un regard qui est propre aux conversations en tête à tête. La caméra rapproche le téléspectateur à un tel point qu’un mouvement trop prononcé produit le même effet que de crier devant quelqu’un. L’acteur d’expérience agirait devant la caméra comme il se comporterait avec un collègue dans un ascenseur. 

La question de la proximité est également liée à l’intimité et aux formalités. Lorsque le public se trouve à une certaine distance, même le discours le plus ordinaire est naturellement empreint de formalités. La séparation physique entre les spectateurs et l’orateur donne lieu à une présentation plus structurée. La caméra élimine cette distance et, donc, favorise une technique de  communication plus intime. 

Les acteurs professionnels et les producteurs de télévision savent également que les images sont aussi importantes que les mots à la télévision. Une fois que l’acteur est devant la caméra, toutes ses actions, qu’elles soient conscientes ou non, sont reçues comme un genre de signe. Que ce signe soit directement lié au contenu de la présentation ou qu’il soit interprété comme une action spontanée, sa signification est ici bien plus importante, car le politicien est perçu de la même manière qu’un acteur. 

La caméra guide le regard du téléspectateur. Celui-ci n’a pas la possibilité de voir le lieu dans son ensemble ni de prendre son temps pour interpréter les détails du discours. Aux nouvelles, chaque séquence dure en moyenne seulement 30 secondes : le message doit donc être livré le plus brièvement possible et il doit être communiqué autant visuellement que verbalement. Lorsqu’un politicien parle à la télévision, son langage non verbal doit concorder avec ce qu’il dit. Sinon, la nouvelle portera davantage sur la présentation que sur l’information. Les gestes, les vêtements, le ton de voix et même l’environnement physique doivent donc appuyer le message. Tous les éléments de la prestation doivent faire partie du message. 

Les acteurs savent que la télévision ne constitue pas un média impartial. Elle ne reflète pas la réalité, elle la recrée. Tout comme la langue nous sert d’outil pour donner un sens à notre propre réalité et la comprendre, la télévision interprète et modifie notre perception du monde. Même lorsqu’un débat parlementaire est diffusé sans l’explication d’un commentateur, de multiples facteurs peuvent avoir une incidence sur les images que voient les téléspectateurs. L’éclairage ainsi que la couleur et l’apparence de la pièce sont des éléments qui seront probablement modifiés pour mieux paraître à la caméra. Il faut décider quelles séances seront couvertes, choisir les prises de vue et les angles de caméra. Comment la caméra sera-t-elle placée? Les sièges vides seront-ils montrés à l’écran? La tribune fera-t-elle partie des plans? La caméra se concentrera-t-elle sur l’orateur ou sur la réaction des spectateurs? Y aura-t-il des plans mixtes des deux et, dans l’affirmative, quand? Ce sont les personnes chargées de présenter les affaires publiques de façon prétendument neutre qui doivent répondre à ces questions et à bien d’autres. Pourtant, la réponse à n’importe laquelle de ces questions pourrait clairement influencer le point de vue des téléspectateurs à l’égard des événements. Compte tenu de cette observation et du fait que les politiciens savent que le nombre de téléspectateurs peut augmenter, l’option simpliste de tourner les événements sur le vif et de les présenter sobrement n’est plus valable. Autrement dit, l’ancienne maxime qui dit que la caméra ne ment pas n’est pas tout à fait vraie. Même si les images captées sont authentiques, le contexte dans lequel la séquence est filmée peut vraiment influencer l’interprétation. Par leur nature, les reportages télévisés peuvent prêter à confusion, car ils présentent des images qui ne sont plus dans leur contexte. Il est faux de penser que la télévision a créé un monde d’information instantanée et de vérité absolue. C’est cette allégation même de vérité absolue qui entraîne la confusion : elle empêche les téléspectateurs de faire des efforts pour déchiffrer le contexte dans lequel les images sont présentées. Le public accepte ce qu’il voit comme étant de l’information factuelle et objective. 

Ce ne sont pas les médias qui ont fait de la prestation un élément essentiel de la communication politique, mais ils ont certainement encouragé les politiciens à être plus conscients du rôle de la prestation dans ce type de communication, ce qui les incite à acquérir davantage de compétences dans ce domaine. La prolifération de la télévision procure de nombreux avantages possibles au public et au politicien. La télévision attire bien plus de spectateurs que n’importe quel rassemblement public et, en plus, elle est regardée par des gens qui n’assisteraient pas naturellement à ce genre de rencontre. Grâce à de nouvelles émissions, à des émissions spéciales consacrées à la politique et à la diffusion de débats parlementaires et d’autres événements, la télévision possède le pouvoir de présenter des informations variées à un public qui l’est tout autant. 

Cependant, les politiciens qui s’expriment devant le public demeurent désavantagés, en partie parce que, culturellement, on hésite toujours à reconnaître que les politiciens doivent avoir des compétences en matière de prestation. De plus, les téléspectateurs ne comprennent pas bien la nature des prestations politiques, et ce, dans un grand nombre de contextes. Si le public n’interprète pas bien ces prestations, le média lui-même peut communiquer de fausses impressions, créer des attentes irréalistes et changer la manière dont l’information est traitée et discutée. Les politiciens doivent comprendre l’importance de la communication à la télévision ainsi que les exigences qui y sont liées. De plus, les téléspectateurs à qui ils s’adressent doivent être conscients de ces mêmes facteurs. La première étape consiste à reconnaître l’importance du côté divertissant de ce type de communication. Et, à l’instar des acteurs, il faut prendre le temps de se doter des atouts nécessaires pour communiquer son message.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 2
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15