Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Equal Voice: Electing More Women in Canada
Raylene Lang-Dion; Ann Wicks

Canada's international ranking on the Inter-Parliamentary Union, “List of Women in National Parliaments,” has recently slipped to 47th in the world. Despite enjoying economic prosperity and political stability, Canada now has fewer women in parliament than many less developed countries such as Mauritania, Uganda, Rwanda, Afghanistan and Iraq. How long will it take for Canada to catch up – thirty years, perhaps forty years? This article aims to unravel the causes of Canada's under-representation of women in politics and outlines Equal Voice's action plan to address this inequality. 

The under-representation of women in the Canadian political system has been well documented by academics, parliament and the media.1  Despite a 2004 poll conducted by the Centre for Research and Information on Canada, stating that 90 per cent of Canadians want more women elected,2 the representation of women in the House of Commons has reached a plateau of 20.8 per cent with only 64 women sitting as Members of Parliaments.3 Similarly, the glass ceiling for women in municipal4 and provincial governments hovers around 21 per cent.5 Equal Voice is a non-profit organization which aims to change the face of Canadian politics by facilitating the election of more women at all levels of government. 

Former journalist Rosemary Speirs and a small group of like-minded women, such as pollster Donna Dasko and Canadian feminist icon Dorothy Anderson, formed Equal Voice in 2001. The mission was to create a national, multi-partisan, volunteer based organization with the goal of increasing awareness of the under-representation of women in Canadian politics. It would be the first multi-partisan action group to bring together women and men of all political stripes to pressure political parties into electing more women. Equal Voice's Advisory Board includes many women who have played a prominent role on Canada's political scene such as:  former Progressive Conservative Prime Minister Kim Campbell, former Liberal Deputy Prime Minister Sheila Copps, and former New Democratic Party leader Alexa McDonough. 

Equal Voice continues its advocacy work today by interacting with the media, political parties, Members of Parliament, and Senators to encourage the nomination of more women candidates and to facilitate the participation of women at all levels of political activity. With over 1100 members nation wide, Equal Voice has grown from a small group of men and women in Ontario, to a national, non-profit organization with chapters being developed in every province and territory. 

Why only Twenty Percent of Women? 

In Canada, women comprise over 52 per cent of the population and yet, only 20.8 per cent of our Members of Parliament are women. Why is this fact important and why must we elect more women in Canada? First, the lack of significant numbers of women represented in positions of public authority generates a “democratic deficit”6 violating basic principles of fairness required for a truly representative democracy. Secondly, Canada's international ranking in terms of women's representation, continues to slip. As a vast number of countries surpass Canada and become more successful in electing women, Canada risks falling further behind. 

What we want to accomplish is so simple and so just. How can anything so sensible take so long to accomplish? 
Doris Anderson
Author, journalist, women's rights activist and
Equal Voice founding member 

The under-representation of women in Canada creates a democratic deficit leaving over half of the population without an adequate voice in political decision making processes. According to the United Nations, a threshold of at least 30 per cent of female legislators is required to ensure that public policy reflects the needs of women.7 The lack of women elected or appointed to top political jobs also serves a visible indication of how women are undervalued in Canadian society.8 Despite the low levels of women holding elected office, Statistics Canada indicates that majority of students graduating from post-secondary institutions are women.9 Given that there is no shortage of talented and educated women, why are they not represented in the House of Commons? 

Canada has had two Royal Commissions over the past 4 decades which have documented the barriers women encounter in seeking public office:  the 1970 Royal Commission on the Status of Women and the 1992 Royal Commission on Electoral Reform and Party Financing. In 1970, Royal Commission Chairperson Florence Bird found: 

a number of impediments to women seeking candidature; in particular prejudice in the constituency associations, inadequate financial resources and limited mobility…Women who have been successful at the polls confirm that winning the nomination is a more formidable hurdle than winning the election.10 

Many of the hurdles identified by Bird in 1970 were still apparent in the recommendations of the 1992 Royal Commission report, suggesting that more work remains to done to address the causes of under-representation. Academics have identified the main causes of women's under-representation in politics as a failure on the part of political parties to “adequately bolster female candidacies; the masculine political environment; media imbalances in the treatment of women politicians; and the role conflict that can result from juggling a political career with social and family commitments.”11 Additionally, the power of incumbency can also be a barrier to women. Incumbent Members of Parliament have a better chance at seeking re-election and given that few seats change hands in any given election, the power of incumbency can serve to reinforce parliament's current composition. 

Yet, here we are 37 years following the first Royal Commission on the Status of Women and Canada is not even half way towards achieving equal representation; let alone the 30 per cent threshold needed for women to have a voice in the creation of public policy. In fact, during the past four elections the representation of women has not experienced substantial growth and in 2006 the number of women in the House of Commons even declined.12 

A Call for Action 

In order to achieve equal representation, more women need to run for public office and "since parties are the gatekeepers to legislative office [they] have the potential to address the problems of women's under representation."13 During the 2006 election, Equal Voice tracked the number of women candidates nominated by each political party. As shown in the following table, the numbers indicate that the percentage of women elected by each party in the House of Commons closely reflects the number of women candidates nominated by the political parties. 

This suggests that when presented with the choice, Canadians are more than willing to vote for women candidates. This combined with strong polling numbers indicating that Canadians want more women to hold elected positions and the large pool of educated women to draw from, provides the opportunity for political parties to make a difference. All that is required is political will on the part of the leaders and their political parties to nominate more women candidates. The political parties need to be proactive in recruiting and supporting women candidates to run in winnable ridings; all parties need to make the decision on how to address this inequality; and all parties have to identify processes that work for them. 

Equal Voice offers a variety of programming and initiatives to support women involved in politics including: our on-line campaign school called Getting to the Gate; a developing national Speakers Bureau comprised of past and present parliamentarians; our National Awareness Campaign entitled Changing the Face of Politics, the Ontario Challenge: Getting More Women to Queen's Park; our growing Youth Chapter and our efforts on electoral reform. 

Equal Voice launched a national public awareness campaign in January 2007, funded by Status of Women Canada, with the goal of increasing the number of women in elected office at all levels of government across Canada. The national public awareness campaign aims to achieve the following four objectives during an eighteen month period: 

  • Meeting with key media outlets to increase the awareness of the lack of women in politics and raise awareness of gender bias in the media. 
  • Providing direct support to women interested in politics by encouraging increased participation in Equal Voice's Getting to the Gate Online Campaign School – which is free of charge and bilingual. 
  • Assessing and monitoring the level of female participation in Canadian political parties and in political office through surveys at the federal level and in two selected provinces. 
  • Promoting the incorporation of gender sensitive courses in high school social studies curriculums in at least two provinces. 

While proceeding with the national public awareness campaign, Equal Voice chapters across Canada will focus on their own initiatives to increase women's representation in politics, including the encouragement of electoral reform. 

Equal Voice Past-Chair Rosemary Speirs issued the Ontario Challenge in 2006 in a letter to the leaders of the Ontario Liberal, Progressive Conservative and New Democratic Parties, asking them to jointly commit to the goal of nominating more women candidates. Equal Voice sought out assistance from women Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs) from all political parties who were instrumental in getting their leaders to pledge support to the Ontario Challenge. While Equal Voice did not ask the parties to meet specific targets, the goal is to increase the numbers of women elected to Queen's Park. The Ontario Legislature has just 24 women of its 103 MPPs. The three leaders of Ontario's major political parties: John Tory, Dalton McGuinty and Howard Hampton all agreed to take up the Ontario Challenge and committed to nominating more women candidates. With their statements, the leaders sent the message that they want more women in their elected ranks. Equal Voice will be tracking the number of women candidates selected and will be reporting to the media on the progress of all three political parties prior to the 2007 Ontario provincial election. 

The more female role models that people see, that young women see in politics – people who look like them and sound like them – the better it is to try and encourage more women to get involved. 
Janet Ecker
Former Ontario Progressive Conservative cabinet minister
to the Select Committee on Electoral Reform, September 1, 2005 

Equal Voice has created a National Youth Chapter which encourages young women to get involved in politics and raises awareness about the need for young women to vote. We are looking to expand the number of Equal Voice University and College campus clubs in order to provide a venue for young women to get involved and stay involved in politics; as well as providing mentorship opportunities for young women and other women who have been successfully involved in all aspects of political life. 

Equal Voice has made presentations to both the British Columbia and Ontario Citizens' Assemblies on Electoral Reform. Rosemary Speirs, the Past-Chair, has lead the initiative advocating for the adoption of electoral reform models favourable to the election of more women. Typically, countries that use some form of a list system of proportional representation (List PR) elect the most female representatives.14 This system pressures political parties to develop candidate lists that are more reflective of the population; inclusive of women and visible minorities. Finland elects 38 per cent women using the “List PR” method; likewise, Sweden has achieved 47.3 per cent female representation.15  Similarly, mixed member proportional systems (MMP), which combine single member plurality with a list system of proportional representation, fair well in electing more women. New Zealand uses MMP and elects 32.3 per cent women in their national parliament; Germany also uses MMP and elects 31.6 per cent female representatives.16  Regardless of the precise method, countries utilizing some form of proportional representation deliver more women representatives than those employing first past the post systems, such as Canada and the United States. While the benefits of electoral reform are numerous, it alone is not enough to address the inequality facing women. Political will still needs to be demonstrated by all political parties and their leaders to select women for the candidate lists and to ensure the success of electing women. 

Candidates Nominated and Elected by  Political Parties – 2006 Election 

Political Party 

Total Candidates 

Male Candidates 

Female Candidates 

%  Female Candidates 

 

Nominated 

Elected 

Nominated 

Elected 

Nominated 

Elected 

Nominated 

Elected 

Bloc Québécois 

75 

51 

52 

34 

23 

17 

30.6% 

33% 

Conservatives 

308 

125 

270 

111 

38 

14 

12.3% 

11% 

Liberals 

308 

101 

229 

80 

79 

21 

25.6% 

21% 

NDP 

308 

29 

200 

17 

108 

12 

35% 

41% 

Green Party 

308 

236 

72 

23% 

0% 

 

When we look around the world, we notice that those jurisdictions that have proportional representation elect far more women. 
Howard Hampton
Ontario New Democrat Leader
Ontario Legislature, June 14, 2006 

Conclusion 

According to Ann MacLean, Mayor of New Glasgow, Nova Scotia and Past President of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, “Canada is a progressive country and a world leader in many things. Unfortunately, women's participation in political life is not one of them.”17 

With Equal Voice raising awareness with the key political decision makers, party supporters, and the general public, and assisting women who want to run for elected office, Canada has for the first time in history an advocacy group solely focused on getting more women elected. This important fact is the catalyst for making changes. Canada is falling behind on the international stage and needs to address this democratic deficit. Political parties need to undertake decisive action and demonstrate political will to change this inequality. Equal Voice will be working with our committed volunteers and supporters to tackle this important goal of changing the face of Canadian politics. 

Notes 

1. Interparliamentary Union, “Women in National Parliaments,” available at:
http://www.ipu.org/wmn-e/classif.htm 

2. Canadian Research and Information Canada, New Release, “Canadians Want More Women in Elected Office,” November 4, 2004.  Available at:
http://www.cric.ca/pdf/cric_poll/portraits/portraits_2004/eng_dem_reform_2004.pdf 

3. Julie Cool, “Women in Parliament,” Library of Parliament, February 20, 2006.  Available at:
http://www.parl.gc.ca/information/library/PRBpubs/prb0562-e.pdf 

4. Federation of Canadian Municipalities, “Getting to 30% by 2026,” p. 1.  Available at:
http://www.fcm.ca/english/policy/wreport.pdf 

5. Linda Trimble and Jane Arscott, Still Counting, Broadview: 2003, p. 43. 

6. Linda Trimble and Jane Arscott p. 4. 

7. Federation of Canadian Municipalities, “Getting to 30% by 2026,” p. 2. 

8. Linda Trimble and Jane Arscott, p. 161. 

9. Statistics Canada, “Education Matters:  The gap in achievement between boys and girls,” Available at:
http://www.statcan.ca/english/freepub/81-004-XIE/200410/mafe.htm#d 

10. Royal Commission on the Status of Women 1970, p. 349. 

11. Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant, Canadian Journal of Political Science (2004), 37: 1029-1030 Cambridge University Press. 

12. University of Ottawa, “Research Centre on Women and Politics.”  

13. Manon Tremblay and Linda Trimble. Women and Electoral Politics in Canada. Oxford, 2003, p. 11. 

14. Equal Voice, “Submission to the Ontario Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform,” p. 7.  Available at:
http://www.equalvoice.ca/uploads/107_45c0b0a1cae1a.pdf 

15. Equal Voice: Submission to the Ontario Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform, p. 16. 

16. Ibid. 

17. Federation of Canadian Municipalities, “Getting to 30% by 2026,” p. 2.  Available at:
http://www.fcm.ca/english/policy/wreport.pdf 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 1
2007






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
À voix égales : élire plus de femmes au Canada
Raylene Lang-Dion; Ann Wicks

Le Canada vient de glisser au 47e rang sur la liste de l’Union interparlementaire des femmes élues dans les parlements nationaux. Malgré sa prospérité économique et sa stabilité politique, le Canada compte aujourd’hui moins de femmes parlementaires que de nombreux pays moins développés, comme la Mauritanie, l’Ouganda, le Rwanda, l’Afghanistan et l’Irak. Combien de temps lui faudra-t-il pour se rattraper : trente ans, quarante, peut-être? Dans le présent article, nous cherchons à comprendre les causes de la sous-représentation des femmes sur la scène politique canadienne et présentons le plan d’action d’À voix égales visant à corriger cette inégalité. 

La sous-représentation des femmes dans le système politique canadien a été bien documentée par des universitaires, le Parlement et les médias1. Même si un sondage effectué en 2004 par le Centre de recherche et d’information sur le Canada révèle que 90 p. 100 des Canadiens et Canadiennes souhaitent l’élection de plus de femmes2, la représentation de ces dernières à la Chambre des communes plafonne à 20,8 p. 100, avec seulement 64 sièges occupés par elles3. De la même manière, le plafond de verre au sein des administrations municipales4 et des gouvernements provinciaux se situe autour des 21 p. 1005. À voix égales est une organisation sans but lucratif qui cherche à changer le visage de la politique canadienne en favorisant l’élection de plus de femmes à tous les paliers de gouvernement. 

À voix égales a été créée en 2001 par l’ancienne journaliste Rosemary Speirs et un petit groupe de femmes ayant une optique commune, notamment la sondeuse Donna Dasko et Dorothy Anderson, figure emblématique du féminisme au Canada. Leur mission consistait à mettre sur pied une organisation nationale multipartite et bénévole afin de mieux sensibiliser le public à la sous-représentation des femmes dans le milieu politique canadien. Il s’agissait du premier groupe d’action multipartite à réunir des femmes et des hommes de toutes les allégeances politiques dans le but d’exercer des pressions sur les partis pour les inciter à élire plus de femmes. Le comité consultatif d’À voix égales compte de nombreuses femmes qui ont joué un rôle prédominant sur la scène politique canadienne : Kim Campbell, ancienne première ministre progressiste-conservatrice, Sheila Copps, ancienne vice-première ministre libérale, et Alexa McDonough, ancienne chef du Nouveau Parti démocratique.  

À voix égales poursuit son travail de promotion auprès des médias, des partis politiques, des députés et des sénateurs afin d’encourager la nomination de plus de femmes à tous les paliers de l’activité politique. Avec plus de 1 100 membres à la grandeur du pays, À voix égales est passé d’un petit groupe d’Ontariens et d’Ontariennes à une organisation nationale sans but lucratif qui commence à ouvrir des sections dans chaque province et chaque territoire. 

Pourquoi seulement 20 p. 100 de femmes? 

Au Canada, les femmes représentent plus de 52 p. 100 de la population, mais seulement 20,8 p. 100 de l’ensemble des députés fédéraux. Pourquoi ce fait est-il important et pourquoi faut-il élire plus de femmes au Canada? Premièrement, l’absence marquée des femmes à des postes de commande dans l’administration publique engendre un « déficit démocratique »6, ce qui va à l’encontre du principe fondamental d’équité, élément essentiel d’une démocratie vraiment représentative. Deuxièmement, le Canada ne cesse de glisser dans le classement international pour ce qui est de la représentation des femmes. Comme de nombreux pays dépassent le Canada et réussissent mieux à faire élire celles-ci, notre pays risque de se retrouver encore plus bas dans la liste. 

Notre objectif est si simple et si juste. Pourquoi faut-il tant de temps pour réaliser un objectif aussi raisonnable?
Doris Anderson
Auteure, journaliste, militante des droits des femmes et membre fondatrice d’À voix égales 

La sous-représentation des femmes au Canada crée un déficit démocratique, ce qui laisse plus de la moitié de la population sans voix adéquate dans les processus de prise de décisions politiques. Selon les Nations Unies, les femmes doivent représenter au moins 30 p. 100 du nombre total de législateurs pour que la politique gouvernementale reflète les besoins des femmes7. Le manque de femmes élues ou nommées à des postes politiques de haut niveau constitue également un signe tangible de la sous-évaluation des femmes dans la société canadienne8. Malgré leur faible nombre à des charges électives, Statistique Canada indique que la majorité des diplômés du niveau postsecondaire sont des femmes9. Comme le Canada ne manque pas de femmes talentueuses et instruites, pourquoi ne sont-elles pas représentées à la Chambre des communes? 

Au cours des quatre dernières décennies, le Canada a créé deux commissions royales qui ont rendu compte des obstacles que doivent surmonter les femmes pour accéder à des charges publiques : la Commission royale d’enquête de 1970 sur la situation de la femme au Canada et la Commission royale de 1992 sur la réforme électorale et le financement des partis. La présidente de la Commission royale de 1970, Florence Bird, a constaté ce qui suit : 

il [existe] un certain nombre d’obstacles pour les femmes qui cherchent à être élues, entre autres les préjugés dans les associations au niveau de la circonscription, le manque de ressources suffisantes et la difficulté à se déplacer. […] Les femmes qui ont été victorieuses confirment que c’est beaucoup plus difficile d’obtenir la nomination du parti comme candidate que de remporter la victoire aux élections10

Bon nombre des obstacles mentionnés par Mme Bird en 1970 étaient toujours manifestes dans les recommandations de la Commission royale de 1992, ce qui porte à croire qu’il y avait encore beaucoup de travail à faire pour supprimer les causes de la sous-représentation des femmes en politique. Selon certains chercheurs, les principales sont l’incapacité des partis à appuyer efficacement les candidates, le milieu politique masculin, le déséquilibre dans la couverture médiatique des politiciennes et les conflits de rôles qui risquent de découler des tentatives de conciliation d’une carrière politique et des obligations sociales et familiales11. En outre, le pouvoir conféré par l’exercice d’une charge peut également constituer un obstacle pour les femmes. Comme les députés ont une meilleure chance de se faire réélire et comme si peu de sièges changent de titulaires au cours d’une élection donnée, il peut servir à pérenniser la composition actuelle d’un parlement. 

Voilà où nous en sommes au Canada, 37 ans après la Commission royale d’enquête sur la situation de la femme. Le pays n’a même pas encore fait la moitié du chemin vers une représentation égale, sans parler du seuil de 30 p. 100 requis pour donner aux femmes une voix dans l’élaboration des politiques gouvernementales. De fait, au cours des quatre dernières élections, la représentation des femmes n’a pas augmenté de façon notable et, en 2006, le nombre de femmes à la Chambre des communes était même en baisse12

Un appel à l’action 

Pour parvenir à une représentation égale, les femmes doivent être plus nombreuses à se porter candidates à des charges publiques. Comme les partis sont les gardiens du pouvoir législatif, ils peuvent régler le problème de la sous-représentation des femmes13. Au cours de l’élection de 2006, À voix égales a compté le nombre de candidates choisies par chacun des partis. Le tableau ci-dessous indique que le pourcentage de femmes élues de chaque parti à la Chambre des communes correspond sensiblement au nombre de candidates désignées par celui-ci. 

Ces chiffres indiquent que, lorsqu’ils ont le choix, les Canadiens et Canadiennes sont davantage enclins à voter pour des femmes. En outre, les résultats des sondages indiquent sans équivoque que la population du pays souhaite que plus de femmes occupent des charges électives. Grâce au vaste bassin de femmes instruites dans lequel ils peuvent puiser, les partis politiques ont la possibilité de changer les choses. Tout ce qu’il faut, c’est la volonté politique des dirigeants et de leurs partis de désigner un nombre accru de candidates. Les partis doivent être proactifs dans le recrutement et le soutien de candidates dans des comtés gagnables. Il leur faut tous trouver des moyens de corriger cette inégalité et concevoir des mécanismes pour y arriver. 

Candidats designés par les partis politiques et élus – Élection de 2006
 

Parti politique 

Nombre total de candidats 

Nombre de candidats (hommes) 

Nombre de candidats (femmes) 

%  Candidats femmes 

 

Désignés 

Élus 

Désignés 

Élus 

Désignés 

Élus 

Désignés 

Élus 

Bloc québécois 

75 

51 

52 

34 

23 

17 

30,6 % 

33 % 

Parti conservateur 

308 

125 

270 

111 

38 

14 

12,3 % 

11 % 

Parti libéral 

308 

101 

229 

80 

79 

21 

25,6 % 

21 % 

NPD 

308 

29 

200 

17 

108 

12 

35 % 

41 % 

Parti vert 

308 

236 

72 

23% 

0% 

À voix égales offre une diversité de programmes et d’initiatives pour soutenir les femmes qui se lancent en politique. En voici des exemples : le cours en direct Osez vous lancer, sur l’organisation d’une campagne, un réseau national croissant de conférenciers qui regroupe des parlementaires anciens et actuels, la campagne nationale de sensibilisation intitulée Changeons le visage de la politique, le Défi Ontario, qui vise à faire élire plus de femmes à Queen’s Park; la section jeunesse, qui ne cesse de s’agrandir; les efforts de promotion de la réforme électorale. 

En janvier 2007, À voix égales a lancé une campagne de sensibilisation du public, financée par Condition féminine Canada, afin d’accroître le nombre d’élues au Canada, à tous les paliers de gouvernement. Cette initiative nationale, d’une durée de 18 mois, vise les quatre objectifs suivants : 

  • rencontrer des grands médias d’information pour sensibiliser à leur sexisme et au manque de femmes en politique; 
  • offrir un soutien direct aux femmes intéressées à se lancer en politique en les encourageant à participer au cours Osez vous lancer d’À voix égales, qui est gratuit et bilingue; 
  • évaluer et surveiller le degré de participation des femmes dans les instances et les partis politiques canadiens, en menant des enquêtes au niveau fédéral et dans deux provinces; 
  • promouvoir l’intégration de cours attentifs aux différences de traitement entre les sexes dans les programmes d’études sociales du niveau secondaire dans au moins deux provinces. 

Dans le cadre de la campagne nationale de sensibilisation du public, les sections d’À voix égales de l’ensemble du Canada se concentreront sur leurs propres initiatives visant à accroître la représentation des femmes en politique, notamment sur la promotion de la réforme électorale. 

En 2006, l’ex-présidente d’À voix égales, Rosemary Speirs, a lancé le Défi Ontario dans une lettre adressée aux chefs des partis libéral, progressiste-conservateur et néo-démocrate de la province. Elle leur demandait de s’engager conjointement à nommer un plus grand nombre de candidates. À voix égales a demandé l’aide des députées provinciales de tous les partis politiques, leur rôle étant de convaincre leur chef respectif de soutenir le Défi Ontario. Sans toutefois imposer d’objectifs précis, l’exercice vise à faire élire plus de femmes à Queen’s Park. Le parlement ontarien ne compte que 24 femmes sur 103 députés. Les chefs des trois principaux partis politiques ontariens, John Tory, Dalton McGuinty et Howard Hampton, ont tous accepté de relever le Défi Ontario et se sont engagés à désigner un plus grand nombre de candidates. Par leur engagement, ils ont clairement indiqué qu’ils souhaitaient voir élire plus de femmes dans leurs rangs. À voix égales fera le compte des candidates choisies et informera les médias des progrès accomplis par les trois partis politiques avant l’élection provinciale de 2007 en Ontario. 

 Plus les gens, surtout les jeunes femmes, voient de modèles féminins en politique – des femmes qui leur ressemblent et qui parlent comme elles –, plus il faut essayer d’encourager davantage les femmes à participer.
Janet Ecker
Ancienne ministre progressiste-conservatrice ontarienne, au Comité spécial de la réforme électorale, 1
er septembre 2005

À voix égales a créé une section jeunesse nationale qui encourage les jeunes femmes à se lancer en politique et les sensibilise à la nécessité de voter. Nous envisageons l’accroissement du nombre de clubs d’À voix égales sur les campus des universités et des collèges, afin d’encourager les jeunes femmes à s’engager en politique et à y rester et d’offrir des possibilités de mentorat entre des étudiantes et des femmes qui ont participé avec succès à tous les aspects de la vie politique. 

À voix égales a présenté sa position sur la réforme électorale devant des assemblées de citoyens en Colombie-Britannique et en Ontario. Rosemary Speirs, notre ex-présidente, a mené la campagne pour l’adoption de modèles de réforme électorale favorables à l’élection d’un plus grand nombre de femmes. En général, les pays qui ont adopté un système de représentation proportionnelle à scrutin de liste élisent plus de femmes14. Ce système contraint les partis politiques à dresser des listes de candidats représentatifs de la population, notamment des femmes et des minorités visibles. La Finlande, qui a adopté un tel système, compte 38 p. 100 d’élues; en Suède, le taux de représentation des femmes est de 47, 3 p. 10015. De la même manière, les systèmes mixtes proportionnels (SMP), qui allient le système uninominal à un système de représentation proportionnelle, favorisent l’élection de plus de femmes. La Nouvelle-Zélande, qui recourt au SMP, a fait élire 32,3 p. 100 de femmes au parlement national; l’Allemagne, qui utilise également ce système, compte 31,6 p. 100 d’élues16. Quel que soit le mode exact de scrutin, les pays qui ont adopté une forme ou une autre de représentation proportionnelle font élire plus de femmes que les systèmes majoritaires uninominaux, comme ceux utilisés au Canada et aux États-Unis. Malgré les nombreux avantages qu’elle présente, la réforme électorale ne suffira pas à elle seule à réduire l’inégalité à l’encontre des femmes. Tous les partis politiques et leurs dirigeants devront faire preuve de volonté politique en choisissant plus de femmes comme candidates et en assurant le succès électoral de celles-ci.  

Lorsque nous regardons ce qui se passe dans le monde, nous constatons que les pays qui ont adopté un système de représentation proportionnelle élisent beaucoup plus de femmes.
Howard Hampton
Chef du Nouveau Parti démocratique de l’Ontario, au Parlement ontarien, le 14 juin 2006 

Conclusion 

Selon Ann MacLean, mairesse de New Glasgow, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et ex-présidente de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités, « le Canada est un pays progressiste et un chef de file mondial dans une foule de domaines. Malheureusement, la participation des femmes à la vie politique n’est pas un de ces domaines17. »  

Grâce aux efforts d’À voix égales pour sensibiliser les décideurs politiques clés, les partisans et la population en général, et grâce également au soutien qu’il offre aux femmes qui souhaitent se présenter à une charge élective, le Canada peut compter, pour la première fois de son histoire, sur un groupe de promotion des intérêts dont le seul objectif est de faire élire plus de femmes. Ce fait important constitue le catalyseur du changement. Le Canada accuse un retard sur la scène internationale et doit combler ce déficit démocratique. Les partis politiques doivent prendre des mesures vigoureuses et prouver leur volonté politique de mettre fin à cette inégalité. À voix égales travaillera de concert avec ses bénévoles et ses partisans déterminés afin de réaliser cet objectif majeur, à savoir changer le visage de la politique canadienne. 

Notes 

1. Union interparlementaire, Les femmes dans les parlements nationaux, disponible à l’adresse
www.ipu.org/wmn-f/classif.htm. 

2. Centre de recherche et d’information sur le Canada, Les Canadiens veulent plus de femmes parmi les dirigeants élus, 4 novembre 2004. Internet :
<www.cric.ca/pdf/cric_poll/portraits/portraits_2004/fr_sys_pol_2004.pdf>  

3. Julie Cool, Les femmes au Parlement, Bibliothèque du Parlement, 20 février 2006. Internet :
<www.parl.gc.ca/information/library/PRBpubs/prb0562-f.pdf> 

4. Fédération canadienne des municipalités, La cible : 30 pour cent d'ici à 2026, p. 1. Internet :
<www.fcm.ca/french/policy_f/wreport-f.pdf > 

5. Linda Trimble et Jane Arscott, Still counting: women in politics across Canada, Peterborough (Ontario), Broadview, 2003, p. 43. 

6. Ibid., p. 4. 

7. Fédération canadienne des municipalités, op. cit., p. 2. 

8. Linda Trimble et Jane Arscott, op. cit., p. 161. 

9. Statistique Canada, « Réussite scolaire : l’écart entre les garçons et les filles », Questions d’éducation, vol. 1, no 4 (octobre 2004). Internet :
<www.statcan.ca/francais/freepub/81-004-XIF/200410/mafe_f.htm> 

10. Rapport de la Commission royale d’enquête sur la situation de la femme, 1970, p. 392. 

11. Elizabeth Goodyear-Grant, Journal canadien de science politique, vol. 37, nº 4 (décembre 2004), p. 1029-1030. 

12. Université d’Ottawa, Centre de recherche sur les femmes et la politique. 

13. Manon Tremblay et Linda Trimble. Women and Electoral Politics in Canada, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2003, p. 11. 

14. À voix égales, Mémoire présenté à l’Assemblée des citoyens sur la réforme électorale de l’Ontario, p. 7. Internet :
<www.equalvoice.ca/uploads/107_45c0b0a1cae1a.pdf> (en anglais). 

15. Ibid., p. 16 

16. Ibid. 

17. Fédération canadienne des municipalités, op. cit., p. 2. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 1
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03