Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
The Impact of Senate Reform on the Functioning of Committees
Gary O'Brien

In May 2006, the Government introduced Bill S-4 to limit the tenure of Senators to eight years instead of to age 75. A Special Senate Committee considered the subject matter of this bill and presented its report in October 2006. In December the Senate Appointments Consultations Act (Bill C-43) was introduced in the House of Commons. It provides an opportunity for voters to indicate a preference during federal elections for who they would like to see appointed to the Senate. Although neither law has yet been adopted, this article considers the impact of the proposed changes on the functioning of committees of the Upper House. 

The work of Senate committees is often explained through use of a constitutional model. Under this model, the Senate has three essential characteristics: (1) senators are not elected: therefore any claim by Senate committees to political authority is weak; (2) the Senate is not a confidence chamber and the government is not accountable to it: therefore Senate committees focus on policy studies not partisan politics; and (3) the financial initiative is legally awarded to the House of Commons: therefore Senate committees usually restrict themselves to technical as opposed to substantial amendments to bills. One should expect if the constitutional model of the Senate is altered in any significant way either formally or informally, it will have an impact on how committees function. 

It must be kept in mind that change to the committee system can come about without formal constitutional amendment. For example, in the early 1960s only two or three Senate committees had regular meetings and called only a few hundred witnesses each year mostly public servants. Today there are approximately 20 active Senate committees which call on average 1200 witnesses each year, over two thirds being from the non-governmental sector. These differences resulted not from constitutional amendment but from changes to Senate practice and attitude toward the importance of committee work. 

However, our legislative history reminds us that altering the constitutional model can have an impact on committees. Before the coming of responsible government, both Upper and Lower Canada had an elaborate system of committees. In the 1820-21 session, the House of Assembly of Lower Canada created 100 select committees. In 1825, the legislature of Upper Canada established 58. One of the first actions taken by the United Province of Canada in 1841 was to abolish the previous system of standing committees. The Attorney General of the day said “that he looked upon the appointment of standing committees as an absolute departure from the practice of what the house chose to call responsible government. Committees of privilege and contingencies, ministers did not object to – but if ministers were to carry out the principles of responsible government then the important objects of trade and commerce should be submitted to them”. A backbencher (Mr. Durand) in a response that captured the dilemma of parliamentary government for many years to come replied that “from what had fallen from the honourable and learned gentlemen, he would suppose that it is the intention of the Attorney General to monopolize the whole business of the House. If this was going to be the case, he was convinced that the system of responsible government would not work well”.1 

As is described in the literature on the Senate2, the defining characteristics of Senate committees are the following. Many senators are quite knowledgeable about their work. They are not just policy generalists but experts in their fields and can recognize the potential impact of legislation. For most, committee work is their first priority. Senators come from diverse backgrounds and are very active representing minority interests which is demonstrated in the questioning of witnesses and the choice of orders of reference.  Their ‘workways’ are efficient  because (1) they have more time to devote to committee studies (2) they do not adopt restrictive procedures and (3) the Senate has only two recognized parties allowing greater flexibility in arranging committee business. Senators as well have an independent mind set and a history of more voting against their party than is the case in the House of Commons. Finally, based on their track record, committees have a good reputation: the Beaudoin-Dobbie Joint Committee on the proposed 1991 constitutional amendments applauded the Senate’s investigative role and proposed its continuation in a reformed institution. 

On May 30, 2006 the Leader of the Government in the Senate introduced Bill S-4, An Act to amend the Constitution Act, 1867 (Senate tenure), a bill designed to change the term senators could serve to 8 years. At present, senators can hold their seats until the age of 75. The legislation was silent as to whether the term limits would be renewable. On December 13, 2006, the government introduced Bill C-43, An Act to provide for consultations with electors on their preferences for appointments to the Senate. The bill specified that the consultation would be held concurrently with elections under the Canada Elections Act and that a preferential voting system would be used.  In his appearance on September 7, 2006 before the Special Committee on Senate Reform, Prime Minister Stephen Harper indicated that any consultations with the public would be permissive in nature and it will allow the government to evaluate how that is affecting the system and what is happening over a period of time.3 

Before either measure is adopted, it may be worthwhile to pause and identify some of the variables which may or may not be impacted upon by these attempts to reform the Senate. Under S-4 there is very little change to the constitutional model.  Senators would vacate their seats after 8 years, not a great change since under the present system senators serve on average 12 years. There is however a risk that important corporate knowledge will be lost as it will no longer be possible for senators to serve twenty or thirty years. Long-serving senators who later in their careers often occupied leadership positions brought invaluable experience to the legislative process and this will be missed. On the other hand, Senate membership will be renewed more often and hence be better attuned to the issues of the day. If the term limit is not renewable, the independent mindset which senators exhibit is less likely to change. It is doubtful if their methods of operating would be much different either. Senators most likely will still make committee work their first priority and the good reputation of Senate committees should continue if not improve. 

With respect to C-43, it would appear that while there is no formal amendment to the constitutional model, there is a chance that committee operations could undergo profound change if the government is committed to recommending for appointment those who win the elections. It is not clear if the expert knowledge factor would be affected although it is reasonable to speculate that senators would revert to being more policy generalists like most members of the House of Commons as opposed to experts. Nor is it clear if the present diversity of the Senate would be threatened: it is hoped that the committee charged with studying C-43 would focus on this question. Preliminary views are that preferential voting systems are merely variations of the first-past-the-post systems. If so, it is doubtful if special attention would be given to minority representation as is presently the case with Senate appointments. Since the Senate would still not be a confidence chamber, the independent mindset of senators most likely would be strengthened resulting in important changes to the party system. 

What is perhaps the most significant change concerns the workways of senators.  If they have greater representational obligations, senators may not have as much time to devote to normal committee business. Since the demands on their time will increase, the flexibility of committee operations may be restricted and more formal procedures adopted. Committees will have to sit while the Senate is sitting. Quorums may be a problem and the need for substitutions greater. There will be less diffidence shown to the other place. If through public consultation on appointments the legitimacy of the Senate increases so will the political utility of committees. They will become even more of an access point for those disaffected groups who were unsuccessful in the House of Commons. They may bargain much more vigorously with the cabinet and the Commons showing more propensity to fight, more desire to take risks and more willingness to wait. As the experience with bargaining models show, the "bargainer who is willing to wait longer…will be more successful…Very often the strategic essence of negotiating is…a waiting game."4 

Under S-4, one should expect little change from the way committees function since the constitutional model will remain basically the same assuming that the terms are not renewable.  Senate committees should still be defenders of minority interests and continue to carry out their independent investigative and policy studies as they will have the time and expert knowledge to do so. Under the Senate Appointment Consultations Act (C-43), the constitutional model will undergo informal change which may have significant impact on the behaviour of committees. Senators may not be able to represent minority interests as effectively, they may not have the same amount of time to devote to committee work and their workways will change. They most likely will exhibit more political independence from their parties. Committees may shift their focus from policy studies to partisan politics and become more encouraged to assume bargaining positions which will bring them into conflict with the House of Commons. 

This is not to say that consultation will engulf the Canadian parliament into hopeless deadlock or bring on divided government. Barring any constitutional amendment to the powers of the Senate with respect to legislation, there are practices which presently exist which if used effectively could diffuse tensions within the parliamentary system. As has been the experience in the United States Congress, conference committees have been found to be a useful practice in managing disagreements in bicameral institutions, particularly those where the legislative power is pretty much co-equal. Free conferences which are meetings of managers appointed by each house separately who attempt by discussion to reach an agreement on a bill, already exist in the recognized procedures of the Senate and House of Commons. Since most congressional conference committees do reach agreement, it is not impossible that Canadian conference committees would do the same. There may be a need to clarify the procedural rules for conference committees in more detail, but they do offer an effective mechanism to achieve stability on important legislation. 

Notes 

1. Parliamentary Debates, 1841, United Province of Canada, pp. 144-5. 

2. See C.E.S. Franks, The Parliament of Canada (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1987), pp. 168-9; Serge Joyal (ed.), Protecting Canadian Democracy: The Senate You Never Knew (Canadian Centre for Management Development, 2003); Samuel Patterson and Anthony Mughan, Senates: Bicameralism in the Contemporary World (Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 1999), pp. 120-161. 

3. See Proceedings of the Special Senate Committee on Senate Reform September 7, 2006. 

4. Howard Rauffa, The Art and Science of Negotiating (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1982), p. 78. See also Gary O’Brien, Legislative Influence of Parliamentary Committees: The Case of the Senate of Canada, 1984-91. Paper Presented to the Annual Meeting of the Canadian Political Science Association, 1994. 

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 1
2007






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Incidence de la réforme du Sénat sur le fonctionnement des comités
Gary O'Brien

En mai 2006, le gouvernement a présenté le projet de loi S-4, afin de limiter à 8 ans la durée du mandat des sénateurs, qui prend actuellement fin à l’âge de 75 ans. Un comité sénatorial spécial l’a examiné et a présenté un rapport en octobre dernier. En décembre, le projet de Loi sur les consultations concernant la nomination des sénateurs (projet de loi C-43) a été présenté à la Chambre des communes. En vertu de cette mesure, les électeurs pourraient, aux élections générales fédérales, dire qui ils voudraient voir nommer au Sénat. Aucun des deux projets de loi n’a encore été adopté, mais le présent article décrit l’incidence que les modifications proposées auraient sur le fonctionnement des comités de la Chambre haute. 

On a souvent recours à un modèle constitutionnel pour expliquer le travail des comités sénatoriaux. Suivant ce modèle, le Sénat possède trois caractéristiques essentielles : (1) les sénateurs n’étant pas élus, les comités sénatoriaux ne peuvent revendiquer le moindre pouvoir politique de façon péremptoire; (2) comme le Sénat n’est pas une chambre habilitée à voter ou à refuser la confiance et que le gouvernement n’a pas de comptes à lui rendre, ses comités étudient les orientations stratégiques du gouvernement, à l’exclusion des sujets relevant de la politique partisane; (3) l’initiative financière étant légalement conférée à la Chambre des communes, les comités sénatoriaux se bornent habituellement à apporter aux projets de loi des amendements de forme plutôt que de fond. Il y a donc fort à parier que la moindre modification – officielle ou officieuse – autre que de pure forme au modèle constitutionnel du Sénat se répercuterait sur le fonctionnement des comités. 

Il ne faut pas oublier qu’on peut modifier le système des comités sans devoir, au préalable, modifier officiellement la Constitution. Par exemple, au début des années 1960, seuls deux ou trois comités sénatoriaux siégeaient régulièrement, et ils convoquaient tout au plus quelques centaines de témoins par année, la plupart du temps des fonctionnaires. De nos jours, le Sénat compte une vingtaine de comités sénatoriaux actifs qui entendent en moyenne chaque année 1 200 témoins, dont plus des deux tiers représentent le secteur non gouvernemental. Cette évolution résulte non de modifications à la Constitution, mais de changements aux usages du Sénat et de l’importance acquise avec le temps par le travail en comité. 

Notre histoire législative nous rappelle toutefois que la modification du modèle constitutionnel peut se répercuter sur les comités. Avant même l’avènement du gouvernement responsable, le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada avaient tous deux mis sur pied un système de comités complexe. En effet, au cours de la session de 1820-1821, la Chambre d’assemblée du Bas-Canada a créé 100 comités spéciaux. En 1825, la législature du Haut-Canada en a établi 58. En 1841, l’une des premières mesures prises par la Province unie du Canada a été d’abolir le système précédent de comités permanents. Selon le procureur général de l’époque, « l’établissement de comités permanents déroge absolument à l’usage que la Chambre a choisi d’appeler le gouvernement responsable. Les ministres ne s’opposent pas à ce qu’on institue des comités pour étudier les questions de privilège et les crédits pour éventualités, mais, pour que les principes du gouvernement responsable soient respectés, il faut que les questions relatives à l’important dossier du commerce leur soient soumises ». Dans une réponse qui traduisait bien le dilemme devant lequel le gouvernement parlementaire allait se trouver pendant des années, un simple député (M. Durand) a répondu en substance que « d’après ce qu’avaient décidé ces honorables et érudits messieurs, il supposait que le procureur général entendait monopoliser les travaux de la Chambre et que, si tel devait être le cas, il était convaincu que le système fondé sur le gouvernement responsable ne fonctionnerait pas bien »1

Selon la description qu’en font certains ouvrages sur le Sénat2, les comités sénatoriaux possèdent les caractéristiques suivantes. Beaucoup de sénateurs sont des érudits dans leur domaine. Ils n’ont pas qu’une connaissance généraliste des politiques, ce sont des spécialistes de leur domaine de compétence qui peuvent pressentir les incidences possibles de la législation. Pour la plupart, rien n’est plus important que les travaux de leur comité. Les sénateurs ont des antécédents fort divers et défendent très activement les intérêts des minorités, comme en témoignent leurs questions aux témoins et les sujets des ordres de renvoi du Sénat. Leurs modes de travail sont efficients parce qu’ils ont plus de temps à consacrer aux études de leurs comités, qu’ils n’adoptent pas de règles de procédure restrictives et que le Sénat ne compte que deux partis reconnus, ce qui confère une plus grande souplesse dans l’ordonnancement des travaux des comités. De plus, les sénateurs ont un esprit indépendant et sont connus pour voter plus souvent contre leur parti que ce n’est le cas à la Chambre des communes. Enfin, à en juger par leur feuille de route, les comités jouissent d’une bonne réputation. Ainsi, la Comité mixte Beaudoin-Dobbie chargé d’examiner les modifications constitutionnelles proposées en 1991 a applaudi au rôle d’enquête du Sénat et proposé de le maintenir dans un sénat réformé. 

Le 30 mai 2006, le leader du gouvernement au Sénat a présenté le projet de loi S-4, Loi modifiant la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 (durée du mandat des sénateurs), une mesure visant à limiter à 8 ans la durée maximale du mandat sénatorial. À l’heure actuelle, un sénateur peut garder son siège jusqu’à l’âge de 75 ans. Le projet de loi ne dit pas si ce mandat serait reconductible. Le 13 décembre dernier, le gouvernement a présenté le projet de loi C-43, Loi prévoyant la consultation des électeurs en ce qui touche leurs choix concernant la nomination des sénateurs. Le projet de loi précise que la consultation aurait lieu en même temps que les élections générales fédérales sous le régime de la Loi électorale du Canada et selon un mode de scrutin préférentiel. Lorsqu’il a comparu devant le Comité sénatorial spécial sur la réforme du Sénat, le 7 septembre 2006, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a dit que ce type de consultation populaire est « habilitant de nature. Il permet au gouvernement […] d’évaluer [son] incidence […] sur le système et ce qui se passe […] sur une certaine période »3

Avant que l’une ou l’autre mesure ne soit adoptée, il vaut peut-être la peine de s’arrêter et de définir certaines des variables que ces tentatives de réforme sénatoriale risquent de modifier. Le projet de loi S-4 ne changerait pas grand-chose au modèle constitutionnel. En effet, les sénateurs ne seraient plus nommés que pour 8 ans, un changement modeste, car, à l’heure actuelle, les sénateurs restent en poste, en moyenne, pendant 12 ans. Le projet de loi risquerait toutefois d’entraîner la perte d’une partie importante de la mémoire institutionnelle, car, s’il est adopté, aucun sénateur ne pourra plus rester en poste pendant vingt ou trente ans. Les sénateurs aux longs états de service, dont plusieurs ont occupé des postes de direction vers la fin de leur carrière, ont enrichi le processus législatif d’une expérience inestimable que l’on regrettera. Par contre, renouvelé plus souvent, l’effectif du Sénat sera plus apte à régler les problèmes d’actualité. Si le mandat à durée limitée n’est pas reconductible, les sénateurs risquent moins de perdre leur indépendance d’esprit. On peut douter aussi que leurs façons de travailler changent beaucoup. Selon toute vraisemblance, ils continueront d’accorder la priorité à leur travail en comité et ils maintiendront et même amélioreront la bonne réputation des comités sénatoriaux. 

Quant au projet de loi C-43, il semblerait que, même s’il ne changerait officiellement rien au modèle constitutionnel, il se pourrait que le fonctionnement des comités soit modifié en profondeur si le gouvernement s’engage à recommander la nomination des vainqueurs aux élections. Il n’est pas certain que cela ait des répercussions sur le facteur des connaissances spécialisées, mais on peut raisonnablement concevoir un Sénat de nouveau composé surtout de généralistes en matière d’orientations stratégiques, comme le sont la plupart des députés aux Communes, plutôt que d’experts. Il n’est pas acquis non plus  que l’actuelle diversité des sénateurs serait compromise : il est à espérer que le comité qui sera chargé d’examiner le projet de loi tire cette question au clair. Selon les avis préliminaires, les modes de scrutin préférentiels ne constituent que des variantes des systèmes majoritaires uninominaux. Si cela s’avère, on peut douter qu’on s’attache particulièrement à assurer la représentation des minorités, comme on le fait actuellement quand on nomme les sénateurs. Comme le Sénat ne serait toujours pas une chambre habilitée à voter ou à refuser la confiance, les sénateurs feraient preuve d’une indépendance d’esprit encore plus grande, ce qui entraînerait des changements importants au régime des partis. 

Ce qui changerait peut-être le plus, ce sont les modes de travail des sénateurs. S’ils ont des obligations de représentation accrues, ils pourraient ne plus pouvoir consacrer autant de temps aux affaires courantes de leurs comités. Ils seront de plus en plus occupés, ce qui aura peut-être pour effet de priver les comités d’une certaine liberté de mouvement et de les obliger à adopter une façon de procéder plus rigide. Les comités devront siéger en même temps que le Sénat. Ils pourraient avoir du mal à obtenir le quorum, ce qui les forcerait à nommer plus de membres substituts. Par ailleurs, ils manqueront moins d’assurance vis-à-vis de l’autre endroit. Si la consultation de la population sur les nominations au Sénat a pour effet de conférer une plus grande légitimité à celui-ci, ses comités auront une plus grande utilité politique. En effet, ils feront encore plus figure de point d’accès pour les groupes mécontents qui n’auront pas réussi à gagner l’attention de la Chambre des communes. Ils pourront négocier beaucoup plus vigoureusement avec le Cabinet et les Communes et ils seront plus disposés à se battre, à courir des risques et à attendre. Comme le montre l’expérience des modèles de négociation, « le négociateur qui peut attendre … a plus de succès. […] Très souvent, au plan stratégique, la négociation consiste essentiellement … à attendre »4

Le projet de loi S-4 ne changerait sans doute pas grand-chose au fonctionnement des comités sénatoriaux, car, dans l’hypothèse où les mandats ne seraient pas renouvelables, le modèle constitutionnel demeurerait essentiellement le même. Les comités devraient demeurer les défenseurs des intérêts des minorités et continuer de réaliser des enquêtes indépendantes et d’examiner les orientations stratégiques du gouvernement, car ils auraient le temps et les connaissances spécialisées que cela requiert. La Loi sur les consultations concernant la nomination des sénateurs (C-43) occasionnerait, en revanche, des changements officieux qui seraient susceptibles d’avoir une incidence marquée sur le comportement des comités. Il se pourrait que les sénateurs ne soient plus en mesure de représenter les minorités aussi efficacement, qu’ils n’aient plus autant de temps à consacrer au travail en comité et qu’ils doivent modifier leurs modes de travail. Selon toute vraisemblance, ils feraient preuve d’une plus grande indépendance politique vis-à-vis de leur parti. Il se pourrait que les comités consacrent moins de temps à l’examen des orientations stratégiques et plus à la politique partisane, ce qui les inciterait à adopter des positions de négociation de nature à les faire entrer en conflit avec la Chambre des communes. 

Il ne faut pas en conclure que la consultation populaire plongerait le Parlement dans une impasse sans issue ou diviserait le gouvernement. À défaut de modifier les pouvoirs législatifs du Sénat dans la Constitution, certains usages existants, utilisés judicieusement, pourraient dissiper les tensions auxquelles le système parlementaire est soumis. Comme on l’a vu au Congrès américain, les commissions mixtes sont utiles pour gérer les désaccords qui surgissent dans les institutions bicamérales, surtout lorsque les deux chambres disposent d’un pouvoir législatif quasi égal. La procédure établie au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes prévoit déjà des conférences libres, ces réunions de gestionnaires que chaque chambre nomme séparément dans l’espoir qu’ils arrivent, par la discussion, à s’entendre sur un projet de loi. Si la plupart des commissions mixtes du Congrès y parviennent, il est probable qu’il en soit de même pour les commissions mixtes canadiennes. Il faudrait peut-être préciser davantage les règles de procédure régissant ces commissions, mais le fait est qu’elles permettent vraiment d’éviter les impasses insolubles sur les mesures législatives importantes. 

Notes 

1. Province unie du Canada, Parliamentary Debates, 1841, p. 144-145. 

2. Voir C.E.S. Franks, The Parliament of Canada, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1987, p. 168-169; Serge Joyal (dir.), Protéger la démocratie canadienne : Le Sénat en vérité…, Montréal, McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2003; Samuel Patterson et Anthony Mughan, Senates: Bicameralism in the Contemporary World, Columbus, Ohio State University Press, 1999, p. 120-161. 

3. Délibérations du Comité sénatorial spécial sur la réforme du Sénat, 7 septembre 2006. 

4. Howard Rauffa, The Art and Science of Negotiating, Cambridge, Harvard University Press, 1982, p. 78. Voir aussi Gary O’Brien, L’influence législative des comités parlementaires : Le cas du Sénat du Canada, 1984-1992. Document  présenté à l’assemblée annuelle de l’Association canadienne de science politique, 1995. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 30 no 1
2007






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03