Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


The Forty-fourth Canadian Regional Conference 

The 44th Canadian Regional Conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was held in Gatineau and Ottawa from July 8 to 14, 2006.  The Conference included the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians, Canadian Region who met on July 9 and 10 on the theme of “Transition and Balance”.  Their Conference consisted of three sessions with presentations by Sue Barnes MP on The Transition from Government to Opposition; by Marion Dewar former Mayor of Ottawa and MP on Transition from Town Hall to the House of Commons and by Suzanne Tremblay former MP on Maintaining Balance throughout a Political Career. 

The CWP delegates also considered and approved a constitution and a budget to be presented to the Canadian Regional Council later in the week. 

The Regional Conference started on July 11 with approximately 100 delegates from all federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions.  Delegates were welcomed to the National Capital by Russ Hiebert MP, Chair of the Canadian Branch of CPA.  The other speakers during the official opening were Noël A. Kinsella, Speaker of the Senate of Canada, Charlotte L'Écuyer, MNA, Chair of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians, Canadian Region, and Denis Marshall, Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. 

The theme of the first business session was “Electoral Reform” with presentations by Harry Bloy, Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, David McKenna and Richard Brown, Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island and Mme L'Écuyer and Martin Lemay of the Quebec National Assembly. 

The second business session was a panel on the Western Hemisphere Travel initiative with three Ontario MLAs, Ted Arnott, Bruce Crozier, and Michael Prue. The topic for the third session was the “Communications Plan of the Québec National Assembly” and featured a presentation by Quebec Speaker Michel Bissonnet

The theme of the fourth session was “Challenges of Women in Canadian Politics: Responsibilities of Political Parties, Legislators and the Public” The presenters were: Sue Barnes, MP, Olive Crane MLA, Prince Edward Island, Nicole Demers, MP, Judy Junor MLA, Saskatchewan and Mme L'Écuyer MNA, Quebec. 

The theme of the fifth session was “Politics and Family Balance” with a presentation by John Betts, Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick. The sixth session was on Privacy in the Age of Technology – the Need to Protect Personal Information.  The speaker was Mavis Taillieu, MLA Manitoba. 

The seventh session consisted of a film by CTV journalist Lisa Laflamme entitled, “Outside the Wire”.  It dealt with the Canadian mission in Afghanistan.  The ensuing discussion was moderated by Senator Raynell Andreychuk. The eighth and final business session consisted of a presentation on “Making Government Accountable” by John Baird, President of the Treasury Board of Canada. 

Aside from the business sessions delegates and observers were treated to a number of other events including a reception and dinner hosted by Speaker Kinsella in the Parliament Buildings and a reception and dinner hosted by Speaker Peter Milliken at the Canadian War Museum. There was also an excursion by boat to Montebello and a visit to Manoir Papineau National Historic Site and to Parc Oméga. The farewell dinner was hosted by Gord Brown, MP, Acting Chair of the Canadian Branch CPA. 

Regional Council Meeting 

On July 13, 2006 the Canadian Regional Council held its annual meeting to consider the business of the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.  The meeting was chaired by Speaker George Hickes of Manitoba since Manitoba will be hosting the Regional Conference next year. Other Speakers in attendance were:  Ken Kowalski, (Alberta), Bill Barisoff (British Columbia), Michael Malley (New Brunswick), Harvey Hodder (Newfoundland and Labrador), Paul Delorey (Northwest Territories), Peter Kilabuk (Nunavut), Michael Brown (Ontario), Gregory Deighan (Prince Edward Island), Michel Bissonnet (Quebec), Myron Kowalsky (Saskatchewan) and Ted Staffen (Yukon).  Also in attendance were Deputy Speaker Wayne Gaudet of Nova Scotia, Sue Barnes, Gord Brown, and Charlotte L'Écuyer. 

The main item on the agenda was consideration of the constitution and budget of the newly formed Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians, Canadian Section.  After discussion it was agreed to amend the rules of the Canadian Region to add the CWP and to provide funds in the budget for its activities. 

Sites for several future meetings and conferences were confirmed including the next Council meeting which will be held in Winnipeg in July 2007.  Finally the Council considered a request by the Parliamentary Centre to nominate a representative to the Board of Directors of the Centre and Speaker Kowalski of Alberta agreed to serve in this capacity. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 3
2006






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


La 44e Conférence régionale canadienne 

La 44e Conférence régionale canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a eu lieu à Gatineau et à Ottawa, du 8 au 14 juillet 2006. Elle a été l’occasion pour les membres de la Section canadienne des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth de se réunir les 9 et 10 juillet sur le thème « Transition et équilibre ». Trois séances avaient été organisées à l’intention des participantes, qui ont ainsi pu assister à des exposés présentés par la députée Sue Barnes sur la transition du gouvernement à l’opposition, par l’ex-maire d’Ottawa et ex-députée Marion Dewar sur la transition de l’hôtel de ville à la Chambre des communes, et par l’ex-députée Suzanne Tremblay sur le maintien de l’équilibre dans la vie politique. 

Les déléguées des FPC ont aussi examiné et approuvé les statuts et le budget qui devaient être soumis à l’approbation du Conseil régional canadien plus tard dans la semaine. 

La Conférence régionale a débuté le 11 juillet en présence d’une centaine de délégués des ordres fédéral, provincial et territorial. Les délégués ont été accueillis dans la capitale nationale par Russ Hiebert, député et président de la Section canadienne de l’APC. Les autres conférenciers invités à prendre la parole à l’occasion de l’ouverture officielle ont été Noël A. Kinsella, président du Sénat du Canada, Charlotte L’Écuyer, MAN et présidente de la Région canadienne des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth, et Denis Marshall, secrétaire général de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. 

La première séance de travail, qui avait pour thème « La réforme électorale », a donné lieu à des exposés de Harry Bloy, de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, de David McKenna et Richard Brown, de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ainsi que de Mme L’Écuyer et Martin Lemay, de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. 

La deuxième séance de travail a été consacrée à un groupe de discussion sur l’Initiative relative aux voyages dans l’hémisphère occidental. Elle a réuni trois députés provinciaux de l’Ontario, en l’occurrence Ted Arnott, Bruce Crozier, et Michael Prue. La troisième séance, qui portait sur le plan de communication de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, a donné lieu à un exposé du président de celle-ci, Michel Bissonnet. 

La quatrième séance avait pour thème : « Défis des femmes en politique au Canada : responsabilité des partis politiques, des législateurs et du public ». Les conférencières ont été Mme Barnes, députée fédérale, Olive Crane, MAL, Île-du- Prince-Édouard, Nicole Demers, députée fédérale, Judy Junor, MAL, Saskatchewan, et Mme L’Écuyer, MAN, Québec. 

Consacrée à la politique et à la famille, la cinquième séance a donné lieu à un exposé de John Betts, vice-président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. La sixième séance a abordé le thème « La protection des renseignements personnels à l’ère des technologies : nécessité de protéger nos renseignements personnels ». La conférencière a été Mavis Taillieu, MAL, Manitoba. 

La septième séance a été consacrée au visionnement du film Outside the Wire, réalisé par une journaliste du réseau CTV, Lisa Laflamme. Ce film porte sur le travail de la mission canadienne en Afghanistan. La discussion qui a suivi a été animée par la sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk. La huitième et dernière séance de travail a permis d’entendre un exposé de John Baird, président du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, sur les moyens pris pour rendre le gouvernement responsable. 

En plus d’assister aux séances de travail, les délégués et les observateurs ont aussi été conviés à d’autres activités, notamment à une réception et à un dîner offerts par le président Kinsella dans les édifices du Parlement, de même qu’à une réception et à un dîner offert par le président Peter Milliken au Musée canadien de la guerre. Il y a également eu une croisière en bateau jusqu’à Montebello ainsi que des visites au lieu historique national du Manoir-Papineau et au parc Oméga. Le dîner d’adieu a été offert par Gord Brown, député fédéral et président suppléant de la Section canadienne de l’APC. 

Réunion du Conseil régional 

Le 13 juillet 2006, le Conseil régional canadien a tenu son assemblée annuelle, afin de se pencher sur les affaires intéressant la Région canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. L’assemblée s’est déroulée sous la présidence du président George Hickes du Manitoba, étant donné que cette province sera l’hôte de la conférence régionale l’an prochain. Les autres présidents présents étaient Ken Kowalski, (Alberta), Bill Barisoff (Colombie-Britannique), Michael Malley (Nouveau- Brunswick), Harvey Hodder (Terre-Neuve- et-Labrador), Paul Delorey (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), Peter Kilabuk (Nunavut), Michael Brown (Ontario), Gregory Deighan (Île-du-Prince-Édouard), Michel Bissonnet (Québec), Myron Kowalsky (Saskatchewan) et Ted Staffen (Yukon). Le vice-président Wayne Gaudet, de la Nouvelle- Écosse, Mme Barnes, représentante régionale, M. Brown et Mme L’Écuyer étaient également présents. 

Le principal point à l’ordre du jour a porté sur l’examen des statuts et du budget des Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth nouvellement constituées. Après discussion, il a été convenu de modifier les règlements de la Région canadienne pour y ajouter les FPC et de prévoir des fonds dans le budget pour financer les activités de cette nouvelle entité. 

Les endroits où doivent se tenir les prochaines réunions et conférences ont été confirmés, notamment la tenue de la prochaine réunion du Conseil régional à Winnipeg, en juillet 2007. Enfin, le Conseil s’est penché sur une demande du Centre parlementaire, qui souhaite qu’un représentant soit désigné pour faire partie de son conseil d’administration. Le président Kowalski, de l’Alberta, a accepté d’agir à ce titre. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 3
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15