Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Women and Trade: Breaking Down the Gender Barrier
Helena Guergis, MP

International trade is equivalent to over 71 per cent of Canada’s Gross Domestic Product. It is the driving force behind one in every five Canadian jobs, and represents the foundation of our social programs and quality of life. Clearly, our economy and society depend heavily on our businesses and investors reaching out to the markets of the world. Global commerce presents unlimited opportunities for entrepreneurs, workers and consumers around the world to prosper, thrive and raise their living standards. As trade barriers continue to fall, and the nations of the world embrace an increasingly liberalized global economy, these opportunities will grow apace for large and small economies alike. This article looks at how Canadian women are increasingly taking advantage of foreign business opportunities. 

Over the last 20 years, Canada has seen a 200 per cent increase in the number of women-owned firms. With over 800,000 women-owned businesses in Canada, contributing $18 billion to the Canadian economy each year, women are playing a growing role in Canada’s economy, boosting our performance at home and in the markets of the world. 

Small businesses are a case in point. As a former small business owner, I know that these businesses are nothing short of an economic engine, leading the country in job creation, and playing an essential role in Canada’s domestic and international economic performance. And women are starting up these businesses at twice the rate of men, particularly in the services industry. 

The fact is, these businesses stand a greater chance of succeeding if they participate in the export market, rather than in the domestic market alone. Thankfully, Canadian businesswomen have wholeheartedly accepted this challenge, and are exporting all over the world: mostly to the United States, but also to Asia, Europe and beyond. 

In most cases, women entrepreneurs face many of the same challenges that men face. For instance, one study1 shows that women exporters found that international marketing posed the greatest obstacle. The cost of developing new markets, obtaining the right information and finding local partners and distribution channels were all cited as key challenges. But are women also facing unique, gender-based challenges in their pursuit of trade opportunities? It seems that when it comes to exporting, gender does indeed matter. 

As a member of both the Standing Committee on International Trade and the Standing Committee on the Status of Women, I hear about the challenges often. Cultural differences — such as those faced by businesswomen in the Middle East, South Africa, India and South America — and not being taken seriously as business owners are two such challenges. A study2 found that 75 per cent of female business owners believe that their gender has an influence on their ability to export. Among this percentage, many find that their gender is a disadvantage, citing lack of respect from male business owners, and a perceived bias against women on the part of financial institutions as key challenges. 

A 2005 report3 found that some women-owned firms are not performing as well as male-owned firms, finding possible explanations in the lack of mentors and role models, smaller professional networks, and even a lack of spousal or peer support. 

The challenges become even more acute for women in developing countries. At a Canadian-sponsored roundtable discussion on Women Entrepreneurs and International Development held on the margins of the World Trade Organization’s 6th Ministerial Conference in Hong Kong last December, delegates heard about the challenges faced by women in developing countries, like accessing credit, capital and information. These challenges are exacerbated by poor education and training, and a lack of knowledge of international trade regulations. 

As an open, trading nation, and an active supporter of women’s rights around the world, Canada has been at the forefront of the movement to address gender imbalances in international trade, in developed and developing countries alike. 

Our commitment is part of our broader international dedication to eliminating violence against women, ensuring full and equal participation of women in decision-making, and working with our international partners to strengthen women’s rights and gender equality. 

A number of federal organizations — including Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT), the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Status of Women Canada (SWC) and Industry Canada (IC) — actively participate in national, regional and international initiatives aimed at building a greater understanding of the relationship between gender and trade, and developing programs that break down barriers faced by female entrepreneurs.  

In fact, Canada played a key role in the first-ever session on gender equality and trade at the 2003 WTO Public Symposium — a session that drew attention to the significant contribution women make to the global economy, and the special challenges they face. 

It was also a catalyst for the DFAIT-organized Roundtable on Gender Equality and Trade held during the WTO’s 5th Ministerial Conference in Cancun, Mexico in September 2003, and the Roundtable on Women Entrepreneurs and International Development at last year’s WTO Ministerial Meeting in Hong Kong. Reports from these sessions are available on the department’s website: www.international.gc.ca 

Thanks to the efforts of Canadian women like Adair Heuchan, who received the 2004 Woman of the Year Award from the Organization of Women in International Trade (OWIT) while working as Counsellor for Trade and Development at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the WTO and the UN, Canada is becoming widely recognized as a champion of gender equality in international trade policy at the WTO. The 2006 OWIT Award will be presented to another Canadian, entrepreneur Andrina Lever, President of Toronto-based Lever Enterprises, who has long been an advocate of women’s entrepreneurship in groups like the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum. As these awards prove, women from Canada’s public and private sectors are keeping this issue on the table around the world. 

DFAIT is also a proud champion of women exporters at the APEC forum. In fact, Canada led an APEC project called “Supporting Potential Women Exporters,” which led to a New Zealand-developed survey of APEC members’ practices to promote women exporters. This September, Vietnam will host a workshop to propose next steps in this area. Building on the work that’s been done to date, Canada is now working on a multi-year private sector development plan, which will help women exporters deal with the many trade-related challenges they face. 

DFAIT-sponsored trade missions provide an important vehicle for businesswomen to reach out to foreign markets. These missions often include events organized by local women’s business groups and associations to let our trading partners know what Canadian women can offer. Here in Canada, DFAIT and IC co-chair the interdepartmental Working Group on Women Entrepreneurs, dedicated to the subject of women and international trade. 

The department’s flagship publication for Canadian businesses, CanadExport, includes an annual supplement on women entrepreneurs in international trade, providing a showcase for women exporters and how they are using federal services to grow their businesses. DFAIT’s Businesswomen in Trade website outlines the full slate of government programs available for businesswomen, and provides a unique forum for them to network, learn about financing and insurance services, and identify foreign business opportunities. 

The department is one of many proud federal supporters of the JoAnna Townsend Award, named after a former DFAIT and Export Development Corporation employee who was a champion of women exporters, and who died after a courageous battle with cancer. 

CIDA is committed to integrating gender equality across all of its trade and capacity-building related policies and programs — the Agency’s ACCESS! for African Businesswomen in International Trade program, which helps African women entrepreneurs break into the export market, is an excellent example.  

Indeed, Canada’s new government recognizes the important role played by women in trade, and in sustaining our national prosperity, quality of life and competitive position in the world. We are committed to building a better understanding of the opportunities and challenges of trade liberalization, and supporting research and analysis of specific areas of trade policy and their impacts on women. We take very seriously the UN’s Millennium Development Goals, including the third goal, which seeks to “promote gender equality and empower women.” Clearly, this goal must include trade. 

Increasingly, women are bringing their energy, creativity and entrepreneurial spirit to bear throughout Canada’s business world. From small and medium-sized businesses to large, multinational firms, Canadian businesswomen — and indeed, businesswomen from around the world — deserve the same access to financing, benefits, and market assistance and access that their male counterparts enjoy. They deserve to be treated with the dignity and respect their role in the world commands. 

This Government looks forward to working with Canadian women to help them capture these opportunities, and continue making such an important contribution to the fabric of Canadian life. 

Notes 

1. Beyond Borders: Canadian Businesswomen in International Trade, pg. 15, summary report prepared by Ruth Rayman, (Rayman & Associates), based on a complete report by the Trade Research Coalition, Dr. Barbara Orser (Equinox Management Consultants Ltd.), Dr. Eileen Fischer (York University), Dr. Rebecca Reuber (University of Toronto), Ms. Sue Hooper (The Asia-Pacific Foundation of Canada) and Dr. Allan Riding (Carleton University), 1999. 

2. “Exporting as a Means of Growth for Women-owned Firms” by Dr. Barbara Orser, Dr. Allan Riding and JoAnna Townsend in The Journal of Small Business and Entrepreneurship, vol. 17, no. 4, Summer 2004. 

3. “Sustaining the Momentum”, synopsis report of research and recommendations stemming from Sustaining the Momentum: An Economic Forum on Women Entrepreneurs, Industry Canada and Carleton University’s Sprott School of Business, 2005. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 3
2006






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Les femmes et le commerce – Renverser les obstacles fondés sur le sexe
Helena Guergis, députée

Le commerce international contribue pour plus de 71 % au produit intérieur brut du Canada. Il soutient un emploi sur cinq au Canada et, ainsi, sert d’assise à nos programmes sociaux et contribue à maintenir notre qualité de vie. De toute évidence, la prospérité de notre économie et de notre société dépend fortement de la mesure dans laquelle nos entreprises et nos investisseurs réussissent sur les marchés étrangers. Il ne fait aucun doute que le commerce mondial crée pour les entrepreneurs, les travailleurs et les consommateurs du monde entier d’infinies possibilités de prospérer, de s’épanouir et d’élever leur niveau de vie. À mesure que les obstacles au commerce tomberont les uns après les autres et que les nations du monde adhéreront à une économie mondiale de plus en plus libéralisée, ces possibilités s’étendront rapidement aussi bien pour les petites que pour les grandes économies. Cet article examine comment les femmes canadiennes tirent de plus en plus parti des occasions d'affaires à l'étranger. 

Ces vingt dernières années, le nombre d’entreprises canadiennes appartenant à des femmes a augmenté de 200 % pour s’établir à plus de 800 000. Ces entreprises injectant tous les ans 18 milliards de dollars dans l’économie canadienne, force est de constater que les femmes jouent un rôle de plus en plus important dans l’économie canadienne en améliorant nos résultats sur les marchés nationaux et internationaux. 

Les petites entreprises illustrent bien la situation. En tant qu’ancienne propriétaire d’une petite entreprise, je sais que celles-ci sont parmi les principaux artisans des résultats économiques du Canada à l’échelle nationale et à l’étranger. En outre, deux fois plus de femmes que d’hommes mettent sur pied de telles entreprises, notamment dans le secteur des services.  

En fait, ces entreprises ont de meilleures chances de prospérer si elles étendent leurs activités aux marchés d’exportation plutôt que de se limiter au marché canadien. Heureusement, les femmes d’affaires canadiennes ont accepté de relever ce défi et exportent sur tous les marchés du monde, aux États-Unis principalement, mais aussi en Asie, en Europe et ailleurs.  

Dans la plupart des cas, les femmes d’affaires se heurtent aux mêmes difficultés que les hommes. Par exemple, une étude1 a révélé que les exportatrices estiment que la mise en marché est l’aspect qui soulève les plus grandes difficultés à l’étranger. Pour elles, les coûts inhérents au développement d’un nouveau marché et la difficulté d’obtenir des renseignements sur les marchés cibles, de trouver des partenaires locaux et d’établir de bons canaux de distribution constituent des obstacles majeurs. Mais les femmes doivent-elles en plus affronter des obstacles fondés sur le sexe dans leur recherche d’occasions d’affaires? Il semblerait que, sur le marché de l'exportation, le sexe soit effectivement un facteur important. 

En ma qualité de membre du Comité permanent du commerce international et du Comité permanent de la condition féminine, j’entends souvent parler de ces obstacles. Les inégalités culturelles, telles celles que subissent les femmes d’affaires du Moyen-Orient, de l’Afrique du Sud, de l’Inde et de l’Amérique du Sud, et le fait de ne pas être prises au sérieux comme propriétaires d’entreprise sont deux de ces obstacles. Une autre étude2 a fait ressortir que 75 % des femmes propriétaires d’entreprise estimaient que leur appartenance au sexe féminin influait sur leur capacité d’exporter. Beaucoup d’entre elles considèrent que les femmes sont désavantagées et mentionnent à preuve que le peu de respect que leur témoignent les hommes propriétaires d’entreprise ainsi que les préjugés dont elles s’estiment faire l’objet de la part des établissements financiers représentent des obstacles majeurs. 

Un rapport3 publié en 2005 a révélé que les entreprises appartenant à des femmes ne réussissent pas aussi bien que les entreprises appartenant à des hommes; cette conclusion s’expliquerait par le manque de mentors et de modèles, les réseaux professionnels plus limités et même l’absence d’appui du conjoint ou des pairs. 

Les difficultés prennent une dimension encore plus grande dans les pays en voie de développement. Lors d’une table ronde sur les femmes entrepreneures et le développement international parrainée par le Canada qui s’est tenue à Hong Kong en décembre dernier en marge de la Sixième Conférence ministérielle de l’Organisation mondiale du Commerce, les délégués ont entendu des exposés sur les difficultés auxquelles se heurtent les femmes des pays en développement, comme celle de l’accès au crédit, aux capitaux et à l’information. Ces difficultés sont exacerbées par une instruction et une formation déficientes et une méconnaissance des règlements commerciaux internationaux. 

Nation commerçante et ouverte qui milite pour la défense des droits des femmes du monde entier, le Canada fait figure de proue dans la lutte contre les inégalités dont souffrent les femmes au plan du commerce international, dans les pays industrialisés comme dans les pays en développement. Notre détermination à cet égard s’inscrit dans le sens de l’engagement général que nous avons pris à l’échelle internationale afin d’éliminer la violence faite aux femmes, d’assurer la participation pleine et égale des femmes aux processus décisionnels et de collaborer avec nos partenaires commerciaux pour faire respecter les droits des femmes et l’égalité des sexes. 

Un certain nombre d’organismes fédéraux, dont Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI), l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), Condition féminine Canada (CFC) et Industrie Canada (IC), prennent une part active aux initiatives nationales, régionales et internationales de sensibilisation aux inégalités entre les sexes dans le domaine du commerce et s’emploient à mettre sur pied des programmes destinés à éliminer les obstacles auxquels se butent les femmes entrepreneures. 

De fait, le Canada a été un intervenant majeur à la toute première séance de discussions sur l’égalité des sexes et le commerce qui s’est tenue dans le cadre du Symposium public de l’OMC en 2003, séance qui a mis au jour l’importante contribution des femmes à l’économie mondiale ainsi que les difficultés particulières auxquelles elles se heurtent. 

Le Canada a également été un agent catalyseur à la Table ronde sur le commerce et l’égalité entre les sexes organisée par le MAECI à l’occasion de la Cinquième Conférence ministérielle de l’OMC qui a eu lieu à Cancún, au Mexique, en septembre 2003, et à la Table ronde sur les femmes entrepreneures et le développement international qui s’est tenue l’an dernier dans le cadre de la Sixième Conférence ministérielle de l’OMC à Hong Kong. On trouvera sur le Site Web du Ministère les comptes rendus de ces séances de discussion.  

Grâce aux efforts de Canadiennes exceptionnelles de la trempe d’Adair Heuchan, qui s’est vu décerner le prix Femme de l’année 2004 par l’Organisation des femmes dans le commerce international (OWIT – Organization of Women in International Trade) alors qu’elle était conseillère au commerce et au développement à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies et de l’OMC, le Canada est de mieux en mieux reconnu comme un champion de l’égalité des sexes dans le commerce international auprès de l’OMC. Cette année, l’OWIT remettra son prix à une autre Canadienne, l’entrepreneure Andrina Lever, présidente de la société torontoise Lever Enterprises, qui milite depuis longtemps auprès d’instances telles que l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et la Coopération économique de la zone Asie-Pacifique (APEC) pour la cause des femmes entrepreneures. Comme en témoignent ces récompenses, les femmes du Canada, du secteur public comme privé, veillent à tenir cette question à l’ordre du jour de toutes les tribunes du monde entier. 

Le MAECI est également un ardent défenseur des femmes exportatrices au sein de l’APEC. En fait, le Canada a été l’instigateur du projet de l’APEC « Appui au potentiel des femmes exportatrices » qui a donné lieu à la réalisation par la Nouvelle-Zélande d’une enquête sur les pratiques que les membres de l’APEC emploient pour aider les femmes à percer sur les marchés d’exportation. Au mois de septembre, le Vietnam sera l’hôte d’un atelier où seront envisagées les prochaines étapes à franchir dans ce sens. Prenant appui sur les progrès réalisés jusqu’ici, le Canada a entrepris de dresser un plan pluriannuel d’expansion du secteur privé qui aidera les exportatrices à faire face aux nombreux défis que leur pose le commerce international. 

Les missions commerciales parrainées par le MAECI offrent aux femmes d’affaires un excellent moyen de pénétrer les marchés étrangers. Ces missions intègrent souvent des activités organisées par des groupes et associations de femmes d’affaires de l’endroit pour renseigner nos partenaires commerciaux sur les capacités des femmes d’affaires canadiennes. 

Au Canada, le MAECI et IC coprésident le Groupe de travail interministériel des femmes entrepreneures, qui se voue à la promotion des femmes dans le commerce international. 

CanadExport, la publication vedette du MAECI qui s’adresse aux entreprises canadiennes, contient chaque année un supplément qui met à l’honneur les exportatrices canadiennes et explique comment elles ont tiré parti des services fédéraux pour prendre leur essor. Le site Web du MAECI Les Femmes d’affaires et le commerce décrit tout l’éventail des programmes gouvernementaux dont peuvent se prévaloir les femmes d’affaires et leur offre un portail où elles peuvent créer des réseaux, s’informer sur les services de financement et d’assurance et cerner les occasions d’affaires à l’étranger. 

Le Ministère est aussi l’un des nombreux commanditaires fédéraux du Prix JoAnna Townsend, remis en mémoire d’une ancienne employée du MAECI et d’Exportation et développement Canada qui a défendu les intérêts des exportatrices et qui est décédée après avoir livré une courageuse lutte contre le cancer.  

L’ACDI aussi cherche à intégrer l’égalité des sexes dans toutes ses politiques et programmes de renforcement de la capacité et d’expansion du commerce. Son programme ACCES! au commerce international pour les femmes d’affaires africaines, qui a pour objectif d’aider les femmes d’affaires africaines à percer sur les marchés étrangers, en est un bon exemple. 

De fait, le nouveau gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l’importante contribution des femmes au commerce international ainsi qu’à notre prospérité nationale, notre qualité de vie et notre compétitivité sur tous les marchés étrangers. Il tient à mieux faire comprendre les possibilités et les défis que présente la libéralisation du commerce et à appuyer la recherche et l’analyse de certains aspects particuliers de la politique commerciale et de leur incidence sur les femmes. Il prend aussi très au sérieux les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement  établis par les Nations Unies, dont le troisième qui vise à « promouvoir l’égalité des sexes et l’autonomisation des femmes ». De toute évidence, cet objectif doit s’étendre au commerce. 

De plus en plus de femmes mettent leur énergie, leur créativité et leur esprit d’entreprise au service du monde des affaires canadien. Des petites et moyennes entreprises aux grandes sociétés multinationales, les femmes d’affaires canadiennes – et les femmes d’affaires du monde entier – doivent bénéficier du même accès aux marchés et aux sources de financement, des mêmes services et du même soutien sur le marché ciblé que leurs vis-à-vis masculins. Et elles méritent d’être traitées avec la dignité et le respect que commande leur rôle. 

Notre gouvernement se réjouit d’aider les femmes canadiennes à saisir ces possibilités et à continuer de renforcer le tissu social et économique de notre pays. 

Notes 

1. Par-delà les frontières – Les femmes d’affaires canadiennes et le commerce international, p. 15, rapport sommaire rédigé par Ruth Rayman, (Rayman & Associates), établi à partir du rapport de recherche complet préparé pour le compte de la Coalition pour la recherche commerciale par Barbara Orser (Equinox Management Consultants Ltd.) et son équipe de chercheurs, Eileen Fischer (Université York), Rebecca Reuber (Université de Toronto), Sue Hooper (Fondation Asie-Pacifique du Canada) et Allan Riding (Université Carleton), 1999. 

2. « Exporting as a Means of Growth for Women-owned Firms », Barbara Orser, Allan Riding et JoAnna Townsend, publié dans The Journal of Small Business and Entrepreneurship, vol. 17, no 4, été 2004. 

3. « Poursuivre sur notre lancée », rapport sommaire et recommandations découlant de Poursuivre sur notre lancée : un forum économique sur les femmes entrepreneures, Industrie Canada et Sprott School of Business de l’Université Carleton, 2005. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 3
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15