Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
A Charter Challenge to Force Electoral Reform
Heather MacIvor

Despite their intrinsically political nature, election laws which infringe the Charter are as susceptible to court review and remedy as any other type of statute. Recent events in several provinces and in Ottawa indicate that the executive and legislative branches of government are reluctant to proceed with meaningful electoral reform. The time has come for advocates of change to take their chances with the judicial branch. 

The most effective attack on the Single Member Plurality (SMP) system would be to challenge sections 68(1) and 313(1) of the Canada Election Act. Section 68(1) enshrines the single-member aspect of our electoral system, which is reinforced by the requirement in s.313(1) that only one candidate can be elected in a given constituency. The latter section also prescribes the plurality formula for determining the winner. Because these are the two defining characteristics of SMP, those sections are the logical targets of a Charter challenge. 

The strongest legal argument is that SMP infringes the guarantee of democratic rights in s.3 of the Charter. The Supreme Court of Canada has identified two purposes of the right to vote: (a) the right of each citizen to “effective representation” in the legislature, and (b) “the right of each citizen to play a meaningful role in the electoral process”. 

The guarantee of “effective representation” means the right to have “a voice in the deliberations of government” and “the right to bring one's grievances and concerns to the attention of one's government representative” – in other words, to have an elected “ombudsman” responsible for assisting constituents in their dealings with the federal government. 

“Effective representation” entails “relative parity of voting power”: “A system which dilutes one citizen's vote unduly as compared with another citizen's vote runs the risk of providing inadequate representation to the citizen whose vote is diluted.” Where the unequal weighting of votes is not required to ensure better government, “dilution of one citizen's vote as compared with another's should not be countenanced.” 

The guarantee of “a meaningful role in the selection of elected representatives” benefits both the individual citizen and the electorate as a whole. The process of collectively choosing the legislature “enhance[s] the quality of democracy in this country” and ensures that public policy “is sensitive to the needs and interests of a broad range of citizens.” This purpose also animates the second right guaranteed by s.3: “The right to run for office provides each citizen with the opportunity to present certain ideas and opinions to the electorate as a viable policy option; the right to vote provides each citizen with the opportunity to express support for the ideas and opinions that a particular candidate endorses.” 

The contextual approach explains why the guarantees in s.3, which refer only to individual voters and candidates, have also been applied to political parties. Parties provide the context within which most Canadians exercise their rights to vote and to run for public office. Consequently, a successful Charter challenge to SMP must go beyond the infringement of individual rights, and target the ways in which our electoral system benefits some political parties while harming others. 

We know that SMP benefits larger and more regionally-concentrated parties at the expense of smaller parties and those with regionally-dispersed support. In so doing, it infringes the rights of individual voters in three ways:  

  • It violates the guarantee of “effective representation” by denying the supporters of some parties “a voice in the deliberations of government”.  
  • It violates the requirement of “relative voter parity”. For example, “In the 1993 election, it took 34.36 times as many PC voters as Liberal voters to elect a candidate.” 
  • It deters some voters from casting ballots for their preferred party or candidate, because they know that their vote will not affect the outcome of the election. 

The infringements of s.3 caused by SMP are not confined to individual voters and candidates. A law which tilts the playing field in favour of some political parties at the expense of others – deliberately or otherwise - will also be found to infringe s.3. The majority ruling in Figueroa established that political parties, regardless of their size or vote share, “act as both a vehicle and outlet for the meaningful participation of individual citizens in the electoral process.” 

It follows that a law which penalizes smaller parties violates s.3, because “it undermines both the capacity of individual citizens to influence policy by introducing ideas and opinions into the public discourse and debate through participation in the electoral process, and the capacity of individual citizens to exercise their right to vote in a manner that accurately reflects their preferences.” 

A challenge under s.15(1) – the guarantee of equality rights – is also possible. The jurisprudence on equality rights, and the test for proving an infringement, are too lengthy and complex to be captured in a brief summary. There are, however, two main points: 

First, it is possible to demonstrate, on a balance of probabilities, that SMP makes it more difficult for female candidates and would-be candidates (relative to their male counterparts) to secure election to the House of Commons. Therefore, it is possible to argue that women suffer from systemic discrimination under SMP. Moreover, the Supreme Court has ruled that the interpretation of the Charter must be consistent with Canada's international human rights obligations. The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women, require member states to abolish all legal barriers to women's political participation on equal terms with men. 

Secondly, it is more difficult, but still possible, to prove that supporters of smaller parties (e.g. the Greens) and regionally-dispersed parties suffer discrimination relative to supporters of larger parties (e.g. the Liberals) and regionally-concentrated parties (e.g. the BQ). 

When a government seeks to justify a Charter infringement, it must identify one or more “pressing and substantial” objectives which are served by the impugned law. This requirement has proved tricky in previous challenges. Identifying the objective of SMP will be especially problematic for the federal Department of Justice (DOJ), because our electoral system appears to have been inherited from Britain without any formal debate – and hence, without a clear statement of its intended purpose. 

A recent study by the Institute for Democratic Education and Assistance (IDEA) lists nine benefits which are commonly attributed to SMP. All but two are empirically unfounded, at least in Canada. The exceptions are “promoting a link between constituents and their representatives”, and being “simple to use and understand”. Only the former is likely to qualify as “pressing and substantial” since most MPs perceive constituency “casework” as the most important part of their job. 

The central question at this stage of a challenge to SMP can be formulated as follows: do the harmful effects of SMP – including but not limited to the Charter infringements – outweigh its beneficial effects on Canadian politics and government? If the answer is yes, the challenge succeeds and a remedy must be imposed. 

In assessing the “objectives” attributed to SMP most of the “beneficial effects” often associated with that system have little if any empirical basis. At this stage, the Government is likely to refer to one particular passage from the majority ruling in the Saskatchewan Boundaries case: “only those deviations [from relative voter parity] should be admitted which can be justified on the ground that they contribute to better government of the populace as a whole, giving due weight to regional issues within the populace and geographic factors within the territory governed.” The claim that the denial of “effective representation” is justified by the provision of “better government” can be rebutted in any number of ways, depending on the interpretation of the latter phrase. 

If “better government” is taken to mean more stable and long-lasting Cabinets, one could compare the average longevity and stability of coalition governments in Germany, Sweden, and other PR countries to the average longevity of majority and minority governments in Canada (both national and provincial).  

If “better government” means that the Cabinet is held directly accountable to the voters, the New Zealand experience suggests that MMP performs just about as well on this score as SMP – once allowances are made for the necessary political adjustments to a new system. 

If “better government” means the creation of public policy which reflects the priorities and preferences of a majority of electors, PR – more precisely, the coalition governments which it often requires – outperforms SMP. 

If a court finds that an impugned law infringes the Charter, and the infringements cannot be justified under s.1, it will impose a remedy. 

In a case involving election law, the most likely remedy is a suspended nullification. The court would declare the impugned provisions to be unconstitutional, and set a date on which that declaration would take effect (likely between twelve and twenty-four months from the date of the ruling). If Parliament did not remedy the infringement before the deadline, the provisions would lapse. 

A blueprint for electoral reform already exists. The Law Commission of Canada has completed an extensive report on electoral systems, which makes any further investigation (e.g. a Royal Commission) unnecessary. In June 2005, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs advised the former Liberal Government to establish a two-track procedure for achieving electoral reform: a Special Committee of the House of Commons combined with a “citizens' consultation group”. The October 2005 “Government Response” endorsed the substance of the recommendations, although it rejected the Committee's demand that the two tracks be completed by early 2006. (In the event, of course, the process would have been disrupted by the general election earlier this year.) In the same document, the Liberal Government claimed to have taken steps to establish “a deliberative citizen consultation process”. I am unaware of any evidence to substantiate that claim. 

In its recent Throne Speech, the new Conservative Government promised to “build on” the Committee's report. If a Charter challenge to SMP were to succeed to any degree, even in a lower court, that would almost certainly provide the impetus needed to force the government to honour the Throne Speech promise. In the absence of such an impetus, electoral reform is unlikely at best. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 3
2006






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Une contestation fondée sur la Charte pour forcer la réforme électorale
Heather MacIvor

Malgré leur nature intrinsèquement politiques, les lois électorales qui violent la Charte peuvent faire l'objet d'une révision et d'une réparation judiciaires comme toute autre loi. Des événements survenus récemment dans certaines provinces et à Ottawa indiquent que les pouvoirs exécutif et législatif hésitent à entreprendre une véritable réforme électorale. Le moment est venu pour les partisans du changement de tenter leur chance du côté du pouvoir judiciaire. 

L'attaque la plus efficace contre le système majoritaire uninominal à un tour (SMU) consisterait à contester les paragraphes 68(1) et 313(1) de la Loi électorale du Canada. Le paragraphe 68(1) garantit la formule uninominale de notre système électoral, qui est renforcée par le paragraphe 313(1), qui prévoit l'élection d'un seul candidat par circonscription, soit celui qui a obtenu le plus grand nombre de votes. Comme il s'agit des fondements du SMU, il est logique de cibler ces deux paragraphes dans une contestation fondée sur la Charte

L'argument juridique le plus percutant est que le SMU viole les droits démocratiques garantis par l'article 3 de la Charte. La Cour suprême du Canada a établi que le droit de vote avait un double but : a) le droit de tout citoyen à la « représentation effective » au Parlement et b) « le droit du citoyen de jouer un rôle important dans le processus électoral ». 

Pour les électeurs, la garantie de « représentation effective » est le droit d'avoir « voix aux délibérations du gouvernement » et « le droit d'attirer l'attention de leur député sur leurs griefs et leurs préoccupations», autrement dit d'avoir un « ombudsman » élu chargé de les aider dans leurs rapports avec le gouvernement fédéral. 

La « représentation effective » suppose « la parité relative du pouvoir électoral » : « Le système qui dilue indûment le vote d'un citoyen comparativement à celui d'un autre, [sic] court le risque d'offrir une représentation inadéquate au citoyen dont le vote a été affaibli. » La pondération inégale des votes n'est pas nécessaire pour mieux gouverner, mais « l'affaiblissement du vote d'un citoyen comparativement à celui d'un autre ne devrait pas être toléré ». 

La garantie d'un « rôle important dans l'élection des députés » est profitable tant pour le citoyen individuel que pour l'électorat en général. Le processus d'élection populaire du Parlement renforce « la qualité de la démocratie dans notre pays » et garantit que la politique gouvernementale » tient compte des besoins et des intérêts d'un large éventail de citoyens ». C'est aussi le fondement du deuxième droit garanti par l'article 3 : « Le droit de briguer les suffrages des électeurs offre à tout citoyen la possibilité de présenter certaines idées et opinions et d'offrir à l'électorat une option politique viable. Le droit de vote permet à tout citoyen de manifester son appui à l'égard des idées et opinions auxquelles souscrit un candidat donné. » 

Vu en contexte, cela permet de comprendre pourquoi les garanties de l'article 3, qui ne visent que les électeurs et les candidats, s'appliquent aussi aux partis politiques. C'est par rapport à un parti que la plupart des Canadiens exercent leur droit de voter ou de briguer les suffrages. Donc, pour parvenir à contester le SMU en se fondant sur la Charte, il faut aller au-delà de la violation des droits individuels pour s'attaquer à ce qui fait en sorte que notre système électoral favorise certains partis et nuit à d'autres. 

Nous savons que le SMU profite aux grands partis concentrés dans une région au détriment des petits partis et de ceux dont les partisans sont dispersés. Il viole le droit de chaque électeur de trois façons: 

  • Il viole la garantie de « représentation effective » en refusant aux partisans de certains partis une « voix aux délibérations du gouvernement ». 
  • Il viole l'impératif de « parité relative du nombre des électeurs ». Par exemple, aux élections de 1993, il a fallu 34,36 fois plus d'électeurs conservateurs que de libéraux pour élire un candidat. 
  • Il dissuade des électeurs de voter pour leur parti ou candidat préféré, parce qu'ils savent que leur vote ne changera pas l'issue des élections. 

Les violations de l'article 3 qui sont imputables au SMU ne se limitent pas aux électeurs et aux candidats. Une loi qui crée des conditions favorables à certains partis politiques au détriment des autres - délibérément ou autrement - viole également l'article 3. La décision majoritaire de l'arrêt Figueroa établit que les partis politiques, sans distinction de taille ou de part des suffrages, « constituent à la fois un véhicule et une tribune permettant aux citoyens de participer utilement au processus électoral ». 

Par conséquent, une loi qui pénalise les petits partis viole l'article 3 parce qu'elle « réduit la capacité des citoyens d'influencer la politique sociale en introduisant leurs idées et leurs opinions dans le débat public par leur participation au processus électoral. Elle mine aussi la capacité des citoyens d'exercer leur droit de vote d'une manière qui reflète exactement leurs préférences ». 

Une contestation en vertu du paragraphe 15(1) – la garantie du droit à l'égalité – est aussi possible. La jurisprudence en la matière, et le critère de détermination de la violation, sont trop longs et complexes pour être résumés. Cependant, il faut retenir deux points : 

Premièrement, il est possible de démontrer, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le SMU désavantage les candidates (même éventuelles), par rapport aux candidats, à la Chambre des communes. Il est donc possible de plaider que les femmes sont victimes de discrimination systémique à cause du SMU. À cet égard, la Cour suprême a jugé que l'interprétation de la Charte doit être cohérente avec les obligations internationales du Canada en matière de droits de la personne. La Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes demande aux États membres d'abolir tous les obstacles juridiques empêchant les femmes de participer à la vie politique au même titre que les hommes. 

Deuxièmement, il est plus difficile, mais toujours possible, de prouver que les partisans dispersés ou des petits partis (comme les Verts) sont victimes de discrimination par rapport à ceux des grands (comme les libéraux) et des partis concentrés dans une région (le Bloc). 

Pour justifier une violation de la Charte, le gouvernement doit indiquer en quoi la loi contestée lui est utile en déterminant au moins un besoin « urgent et réel », ce qu'il a eu du mal à faire lors de contestations précédentes. Le ministère fédéral de la Justice aura bien de la difficulté à déterminer le besoin du SMU. En effet, notre système électoral semble avoir été hérité de la Grande-Bretagne sans avoir fait l'objet d'un débat, donc sans la présentation d'un énoncé clair du but visé. 

Dans une étude récente, l'Institut International pour la Démocratie et l'Assistance Électorale (IDEA) énonce neuf avantages généralement associés au système majoritaire uninominal à un tour. Mis à part deux d'entre eux, soit le développement d'un lien entre les électeurs et les députés, et la simplicité d'utilisation et de compréhension, ils sont sans fondement empirique, du moins au Canada. Seul le premier pourrait être « urgent et réel », la majorité des députés estimant que les « dossiers » de leurs circonscriptions constituent la part la plus importante de leur travail. 

La question principale d'une contestation du système pourrait être formulée ainsi : les effets négatifs du SMU – notamment les violations de la Charte – l'emportent-ils sur les avantages pour le gouvernement et la politique au Canada? Si la réponse est oui, c'est le succès de la contestation et un changement s'impose. 

L'évaluation des « objectifs » du SMU permet de constater que la plupart des « effets positifs » sont infondés. Le gouvernement pourrait alors invoquer un passage de la décision majoritaire rendue dans l'arrêt Circonscriptions électorales provinciales (Saskatchewan) : « ne devraient être permis que des écarts [de la parité relative du nombre des électeurs] qui se justifient parce qu'ils permettent de mieux gouverner l'ensemble de la population, en donnant aux questions régionales et aux facteurs géographiques le poids qu'ils méritent ». L'argument selon lequel le refus d'une « représentation effective » est justifié par le fait de « mieux gouverner » peut être réfuté de plusieurs façons, selon la manière d'interpréter cette expression. 

Si « mieux gouverner » signifie des Cabinets plus stables et plus durables, on pourrait alors comparer la longévité et la stabilité moyennes des gouvernements de coalition de l'Allemagne, de la Suède et d'autres pays à représentation proportionnelle, à la longévité moyenne des gouvernements majoritaires et minoritaires du Canada (tant à l'échelon national que provincial). 

Si « mieux gouverner » signifie que le Cabinet est tenu de rendre des comptes directement aux électeurs, le cas de la Nouvelle-Zélande permet de croire que le système mixte proportionnel est tout aussi efficace que le SMU – lorsque les nécessaires adaptations au nouveau système auront été faites. 

Si « mieux gouverner» signifie l'élaboration de politiques gouvernementales qui tiennent compte des priorités et des préférences d'une majorité d'électeurs, la représentation proportionnelle – soit les gouvernements de coalition qui en résultent souvent – dame le pion au SMU. 

Si un tribunal estime qu'une loi contestée viole la Charte, et que cette violation n'est pas justifiée au sens de l'article 1er, il imposera une solution. 

Dans le cas d'une loi électorale, la mesure la plus probable est l'annulation avec sursis. Le tribunal déclarerait inconstitutionnelles les dispositions contestées, et fixerait une date de prise d'effet de sa décision (probablement un délai de 12 à 24 mois). Si le Parlement ne prend pas de mesures correctives avant la date limite, les dispositions deviennent caduques. 

Il existe déjà un projet de réforme électorale. Un rapport exhaustif sur les systèmes électoraux, préparé par la Commission du droit du Canada, rend inutile tout autre examen (p. ex., une Commission royale). En juin 2005, le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre de communes a recommandé au gouvernement libéral de l'époque d'adopter une formule à deux volets pour réaliser la réforme électorale : la création d'un comité spécial de la Chambre des communes et d'un « groupe de consultation des citoyens ». Dans sa « Réponse » d'octobre 2005, le gouvernement a approuvé la teneur des recommandations, mais rejeté la demande que les deux volets soient terminés au plus tard au début de 2006. (En l'occurrence, le processus aurait, bien entendu, été interrompu par les élections générales tenues plus tôt cette année.) Le gouvernement libéral y affirmait aussi avoir pris des mesures pour l'établissement « d'un processus délibératif de consultation des citoyens ». À ma connaissance, rien ne vient appuyer cette affirmation. 

Dans son récent discours du Trône, le nouveau gouvernement conservateur a promis de «  s'inspirer » du rapport du Comité. Si une contestation du SMU fondée sur la Charte devait être acceptée d'une quelconque façon, même par un tribunal inférieur, cela donnerait très certainement l'élan nécessaire pour forcer le gouvernement à tenir sa promesse. Sans ce coup de pouce, il semble peu probable que la réforme électorale se réalise. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 3
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15