Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


e-056528

Speaker of the House of Commons re-elected 

On April 3, 2006 Peter Milliken was elected to a third term as Speaker. Mr. Milliken was born and raised in Kingston, Ontario. He was educated at Queen’s, Oxford, and Dalhousie Universities. In 1973, he was called to the bar of Ontario and enrolled as a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Ontario. Mr. Milliken was a partner in a Kingston law firm from 1973 until his election to Parliament. 

Mr. Milliken was first elected to the House of Commons in 1988 as the Liberal Member of Parliament for Kingston and the Islands and was re-elected in 1993, 1997, 2000 and 2004. He held several positions including, in opposition, Party Critic for Election Reform and Associate Critic for Seniors, Assistant Party House Leader (House Business), Vice-Chairman of the Special Committee on Electoral Reform and Member of the Standing Committee on House Management. In govemment, Mr. Milliken served as Parliamentary Secretary to the Govemment House Leader, Chairman of the Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs and Co-Chair of the Special Joint Committee on a Code of Conduct. In 1996, he was named Deputy Chairman of Committees of the Whole House. In 1997, Mr. Milliken was appointed Deputy Speaker of the House and Chairman of the Committees of the Whole House. On January 29th, 2001, he was elected 34th Speaker of the House of Commons and in October 2004, he was reelected Speaker by acclamation. 

He became only the third person in Canadian history to be elected Speaker of the House of Commons three times —  the others being Rodolphe Lemieux (1922,1925 and 1926) and Lucien Lamoureux (1966, 1968 and 1972). 

New Speakers in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick 

The new Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly is Cecil Clarke. Mr. Clark is a graduate of Mount Allison University.  After working in the Northwest Territories with NWT Housing and later Baffin Tourism and Commerce he returned to Nova Scotia where he was project manager for Sydney Mines Renewal Association. 

A former federal PC candidate in 1997 for Sydney Victoria; he was first elected to the House of Assembly in March 2001, and re-elected in 2003. He served in the Cabinet as Minister of Energy, Minister of Economic Development, Minister responsible for the supervision and management of the Nova Scotia Business Incorporated Act and Minister Responsible for the Innovation Corporation Act; the NS Film Development Corporation; the Water Development Corporation and the World Trade and Convention Centre. He was elected Speaker on March 3, 2006 replacing  Murray Scott who was named to Cabinet. 

Speaker Clark has been active on the Board of Directors of the Cape Breton YMCA, Chair of the YMCA children’s camp Barrachois; an active member of the United Church Board and a member of Mount Allison Federated Alumni. 

The new Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly is Michael Malley. Mr. Malley studied at New Brunswick Community College during 1980 and 1981.  He has been active role in the community as a volunteer fire fighter at the Chatham Fire Department and, for 14 years, as an ambulance driver/attendant. He also served on St. Michael’s Parish Council for two terms. 

For 12 years, he was a school bus driver with School District 16 and he also worked for the Department of Tourism from 1979 to 1986. He served as Chatham Town Councillor from May 1992 until December 1994. With the formation of Miramichi City in 1995, he then became a Miramichi City Councillor, a position he held from February 1995 until his election to the Legislative Assembly in June 1999. He was elected Deputy Mayor of Miramichi City in May 1998. While on the Chatham Town Council and the Miramichi City Council, he was a member of several committees, including those for transportation, police, fire, finance and recreation. 

As a member of the Progressive Conservative Party, Mr. Malley was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick in the provincial general election held June 7, 1999, to represent the constituency of Miramichi-Bay du Vin. He served on the Standing Committee on Public Accounts and the Select Committee on Education. 

He was re-elected in the provincial general election held June 9, 2003. He was a member of the Standing Committees on Public Accounts, Private Bills, Crown Corporations, Education and Health Care. He formerly chaired the Standing Committee on Ombudsman and served on the Select Committees on Wood Supply and Public Automobile Insurance. On February 21, 2006, Mr. Malley announced his intention to sit as an Independent Member of the Legislative Assembly. 

On March 28, 2006, Mr. Malley was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly replacing Bev Harrison who as named to the Cabinet. On April 13, he decided to rejoin the Government Caucus. 

New Chair of Canadian Branch of CPA 

On May 17, 2006 the Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association held its first meeting since the general election in January 2006 for the purpose of choosing a new Executive and a Chairman for the Canadian Branch. 

The new Chair is Russ Hiebert who represents South Surrey-White Rock-Cloverdale in the House of Commons. Originally from Steinbach, Manitoba, he first studied Engineering at the University of Manitoba. He later graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications from Biola University in California and then went to the University of British Columbia where he earned both his Bachelor of Laws degree and his Masters in Business Administration. 

He practiced law for several years and has also owned a software company and worked in several public policy positions. In Ottawa, Mr. Hiebert worked as a Legislative Assistant. In Washington, he worked at the Canadian Embassy and at the International Trade Centre of Canada. 

First elected to the House of Commons in the summer of 2004 he was re-elected in January 2006. In his first term as Member of Parliament, he served on the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. He has also initiated and is a founding co-chair for the new Parliamentary Border Caucus which focuses on Canada/US border issues, trade and security. In August 2005 he was named co-chair of the Conservative Party Task Force on Safe Streets and Healthy Communities, In 2006 he was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of National Defence. 

Upcoming Activities 

The Forty-Fourth Canadian Regional Conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association will be held in Gatineau and Ottawa from July 8-14, 2006. 

Two other activities will be held in conjunction with the Conference. On Saturday and Sunday July 9-10 the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Women's Parliamentarians will hold their annual meeting. On Thursday July 13 the Canadian Regional Council, consisting of the Chairs of all branches, will hold its annual meeting. 

British Columbia will host the annual Canadian Regional Seminar from October 12-15, 2006 and in January 2007 Prince Edward Island will host the Canadian Conference of Presiding Officers. 

From October 21-28 the 5th Canadian Parliamentary Seminar hosted by the federal Branch will be held in Ottawa. 

At the international level the 52nd CPA Parliamentary Conference will be held in Abuja, Nigeria in September 2006.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 2
2006






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Réélection du président de la Chambre des communes 

Le 3 avril 2006, Peter Milliken a été élu pour un troisième mandat à titre de président. M. Milliken est né et a grandi à Kingston, en Ontario. Il a fait ses études à l’Université Queen’s, à l’Université d’Oxford, et à l’Université Dalhousie. En 1973, il a été admis au barreau de l’Ontario et il est devenu procureur de la Cour suprême de l’Ontario. Il a été associé au sein d’un cabinet d’avocats de Kingston de 1973 jusqu’à 1988, année de son élection au Parlement. 

M. Milliken a été élu pour la première fois à la Chambre des communes en 1988 comme député libéral de la circonscription de Kingston et les Îles. Il a été réélu en 1993, 1997, 2000 et 2004. Peter Milliken a assumé plusieurs fonctions au Parlement fédéral. Dans l’opposition, il a été porte-parole pour la réforme électorale, porte-parole adjoint pour les personnes âgées, leader adjoint à la Chambre (travaux de la Chambre), vice-président du Comité spécial sur la réforme électorale et membre du Comité permanent de la gestion de la Chambre des communes. Au gouvernement, M. Milliken a été secrétaire parlementaire du leader du gouvernement à la Chambre, président du Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre et coprésident du Comité mixte spécial sur un code de conduite. En 1996, il a été nommé vice-président des comités pléniers de la Chambre et en 1997, vice-président de la Chambre et président des comités pléniers de la Chambre. Le 29 janvier 2001, il est devenu le 34e président de la Chambre des communes et, en octobre 2004, il a été réélu par acclamation. 

M. Milliken est le troisième seulement dans l’histoire du Canada à avoir été élu trois fois président de la Chambre des communes, après Rodolphe Lemieux (1922, 1925 et 1926) et Lucien Lamoureux (1966, 1968 et 1972). 

Nouveaux présidents en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick 

Le nouveau président de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse est Cecil Clarke. M. Clarke est diplômé de l’Université Mount Allison.  Après un séjour à la Société d’habitation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et, plus tard, à Baffin Tourism and Commerce, il est revenu en Nouvelle-Écosse comme gestionnaire de projet pour la Sydney Mines Renewal Association. 

Ancien candidat progressiste-conservateur fédéral dans la circonscription de Sydney–Victoria en 1997, M. Clarke a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée en mars 2001, puis réélu en 2003. Il a fait partie du Cabinet à titre de ministre de l’Énergie, de ministre du Développement économique, de ministre responsable de l’application générale du Nova Scotia Business Incorporated Act, de ministre responsable de l’Innovation Corporation Act, de ministre responsable de la Nova Scotia Film Development Corporation, de la Water Development Corporation et du World Trade and Convention Centre. Élu président le 3 mars 2006, il succède à Murray Scott, qui a été nommé au Cabinet. 

Le président Clarke a siégé au conseil d’administration du Cape Breton YMCA, dont il a présidé le centre de vacances pour enfants, Camp Barrachois. Il est aussi membre actif du conseil de l’Église Unie et membre des Mount Allison Federated Alumni. 

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le nouveau président de l’Assemblée législative est Michael Malley. M. Malley a fait ses études au Collège communautaire du Nouveau- Brunswick en 1980 et 1981. Il a été actif dans la collectivité à titre de pompier volontaire au service des incendies de Chatham et, pendant 14 ans, à titre d’ambulancier. Il a, en outre, rempli deux mandats au sein de la fabrique de la paroisse St. Michael. 

Pendant 12 ans, M. Malley a été chauffeur d’autobus du district scolaire 16, et il a également travaillé pour le ministère du Tourisme de 1979 à 1986. De mai 1992 à décembre 1994, il a été conseiller municipal à Chatham. Après la création de la ville de Miramichi en 1995, il est devenu conseiller municipal au sein de cette agglomération, poste qu’il a occupé de février 1995 jusqu’à son élection à l’Assemblée, en juin 1999. En mai 1998, il a été élu adjoint au maire de la ville de Miramichi. À titre de conseiller à Chatham, puis à Miramichi, M. Malley a été membre de plusieurs comités, dont ceux des transports, des services de police, des incendies, des finances et des loisirs. 

Membre du Parti progressiste-conservateur, M. Malley s’est fait élire pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick aux élections générales provinciales générales du 7 juin 1999, dans la circonscription de Miramichi-Baie-du-Vin. Il a siégé au Comité permanent des comptes publics et au Comité spécial de l’éducation. 

M. Malley a été réélu aux élections générales provinciales générales tenues le 9 juin 2003. Il a été membre du Comité permanent des comptes publics, du Comité permanent des projets de loi d’intérêt privé, du Comité permanent des corporations de la Couronne, du Comité permanent de l’éducation et du Comité permanent des soins de santé. Il a présidé le Comité permanent de l’ombudsman et a siégé au Comité spécial de l’approvisionnement en bois et au Comité spécial de l’assurance automobile publique. Le 21 février 2006, M. Malley a annoncé son intention de siéger en tant que député indépendant à l’Assemblée législative. 

Le 28 mars 2006, M. Malley a été élu président de l’Assemblée législative. Il remplace Bev Harrison, qui a été nommé au Cabinet. Le 13 avril, il a décidé de réintégrer le caucus du gouvernement. 

Nouveau président de la Section canadienne de l’APC 

Le 17 mai 2006, la Section canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a tenu sa première réunion depuis les élections générales de janvier 2006, afin de choisir un nouveau conseil et un président. 

Le nouveau président est Russ Hiebert, député de Surrey-Sud — White Rock—Cloverdale à la Chambre des communes. Originaire de Steinbach, au Manitoba, il a d’abord étudié le génie à l’Université du Manitoba. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en communications de l’Université Biola en Californie. Il a reçu ensuite de l’Université de la Colombie- Britannique un baccalauréat en droit, puis une maîtrise en administration des affaires. 

Il a pratiqué le droit pendant plusieurs années, dirigé sa propre entreprise de logiciels et occupé plusieurs postes dans le secteur des politiques publiques. À Ottawa, il a été adjoint législatif. À Washington, il a travaillé à l’ambassade du Canada et au Centre du commerce international du Canada. 

Élu à la Chambre pour la première fois à l’été 2004, il a été réélu en janvier 2006. Au cours de son premier mandat, il a siégé au Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique. Il est fondateur et coprésident du nouveau caucus parlementaire de la frontière, responsable de diverses questions liées à la frontière canado-américaine, aux échanges commerciaux et à la sécurit. En août, il a été nommé coprésident du groupe de travail du Parti conservateur sur la sécurité dans les rues et des communautés saines. En 2006, il a été nommé secrétaire parlementaire du ministre de la Défense nationale. 

Activités à venir 

La 44e Conférence régionale canadienne de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth se tiendra à Gatineau et Ottawa du 8 au 14 juillet 2006. 

Deux autres réunions se tiendront durant la conférence. Les samedi et dimanche 9 et 10 juillet, la Région canadienne des Femmes parlementaire du Commonwealth tiendra son assemblée annuelle. Le jeudi 13 juillet, ce sera au tour du Conseil de la Région canadienne, composé des présidents de toutes les sections, de faire de même. 

La Colombie-Britannique accueillera le Colloque régional canadien annuel du 12 au 15 octobre. En janvier 2007, l’Île-du- Prince-Édouard sera l’hôtesse de la Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada. 

Du 21 au 28 octobre, la Section fédérale accueillera le 5e Colloque parlementaire canadien à Ottawa. 

Sur la scène internationale, la 52e Conférence parlementaire de l’APC se tiendra à Abuja, au Nigeria, en septembre. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 2
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03