Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book Shelf
Line Gravel

Québécoises et représentation parlementaire by Manon Tremblay. Presses de l'Université Laval, 2005.

This work is the fruit of exhaustive research on the representation of Quebec women in the National Assembly, the House of Commons and the Senate of Canada. The author adopts an approach that draws from both history and political science. Her study is a timely one, because statistics show that Canada is losing ground in this area internationally. In fact, according to the Inter-Parliamentary Union's figures on the proportion of women in the legislative assemblies of some 180 countries, Canada fell from 16th in 1998 to 31st at the end of 2004. 

In the first chapter, the author traces the history of voting rights and eligibility. She relates the various moments that shaped the political citizenship of Quebec women and their access to parliamentary representation. She then turns to the ideas that animated the debates on women's suffrage in Quebec. She centres the great debate around five speeches: the specificity of the sexes, democratic modernity, substantial representation of women, constitutional jurisdictions and the practice of suffrage. These speeches were given in the House of Commons in 1885, 1917 and 1918, and in Quebec's Legislative Assembly in 1940. What the author brings out in this historical overview puts the primary emphasis on the historically difficult relationship of democratic principles faced with the difference, the relationship between federalism, nationalism and women's rights, and the evolution of women's political citizenship in terms of representation. 

The second chapter seeks to understand why women, while a slight majority in the population, are still, after so many years, a minority in legislative arenas. According to the author, for whom inclusion does not imply representation, there are a number of hypotheses that might explain this anomaly, including the process for appointing elected Members of Parliament. After analyzing the eligibility, recruitment, selection and election criteria, the author notes that, since 1921, only 134 Quebec women have been chosen to represent a riding in the House of Commons or Quebec's National Assembly. Turning then to the process for appointing unelected Members of Parliament, she notes that, since 1929, only sixteen Quebec women have been named to the Senate. 

The third chapter explores the identity and ideas of Quebec's female MPs and senators. The author concedes that women transform the descriptive representation of parliamentary governance by their very presence. After all, these female parliamentarians are often part of an elite that is more educated and politicized and that occupies more desirable positions than the average Quebec woman. During her research, the author often heard them say that they felt that they had a responsibility to represent women. This cause requires these parliamentarians to expand their mandate beyond the boundaries of their electoral districts. The author believes, however, that this expansion remains modest, since she thinks that certain factors of a personal and, more especially institutional, order, such as respect for the party line, greatly diminish the freedom to speak and act that these parliamentarians have. The author feels that before they can really think about representing other women, they will have to begin by increasing their ranks. In order to be able to influence and contribute to the deliberations and debates, numbers matter a great deal. 

In her fourth and final chapter, the author examines what could be done to increase the number of Quebec women in politics. The solutions are quite familiar and some more controversial than others. Beginning with quotas in the legislative assemblies, the author lists the arguments of proponents and opponents before declaring herself against this option, which she deems ineffective. She supports mixed voting systems in which quotas could be applied. According to her, a balance between a plurality system and a proportional system would be much more effective. 

The author then examines the motivations of the feminist movement with respect to the descriptive representation of Quebec women in the legislative assemblies. She feels that, essentially, two great philosophies, rejection and investment, characterize women's groups' attitude to political power. While the first school of thought rejects power for women in the name of tradition, the second wants to invest in political power by adapting women to it or changing it from inside. 

The author concludes with a study of the proposals put forward by the federal and provincial governments to increase the representation of Quebec women in the House of Commons and the National Assembly. Citing the prevailing indifference to women's representation in both Ottawa and Quebec, and even though a parity act seems promising, the author feels that the "nepotism" of the political parties remains a fundamental obstacle to the parliamentary equality of women. 

This work is a grand historical and political analysis of the parliamentary representation of Quebec women in the two federal Houses and the provincial House. The book begins with a disturbing finding: not only have women gained little ground in sixty years, they have faced setbacks in recent years.  

In her conclusion, the author proposes a partial solution that is not completely satisfactory. According to her, the remedy, indeed the panacea, to the limited presence of women in politics lies in the proposal to reform the voting system in Quebec tabled in the National Assembly on December 15, 2004, more particularly in two provisions of this project. The first is designed to increase the allowance given to a party based on the percentage of candidates who are women or members of ethnocultural minorities. The second increases the refund to a candidate who is a woman or member of an ethnocultural minority. The author says that while the mixed proportional system proposed by then-Quebec minister Jacques Dupuis is encouraging, it still leaves room for improvement. Since the solution is addressed specifically to Quebec, the author remains mute in her conclusion on possible solutions for the House of Commons and Senate. 

Overall, this work looks at every aspect of the representation of Quebec women in provincial and federal politics. It is an important reference document and makes us aware of how difficult it is for women to carve out a place on the political scene. This book also makes the reader aware of just how much Quebec women currently in politics remain pioneers, and the immense amount of work still to be done. The book's weak point is its conclusion, which limits itself to Quebec's National Assembly and ignores the House of Commons and Senate, a dichotomy that is all the more surprising since almost the entire book looks equally at all three Houses. This last-minute change is rather confusing. 

Line Gravel, Ph.D. (History)
Ottawa 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 2
2006






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayons
Line Gravel

Québécoises et représentation parlementaire par Manon Tremblay. Presses de l'Université Laval, 2005.

Cet ouvrage est le fruit d’un travail de recherche exhaustif sur la représentation féminine québécoise à l’Assemblée nationale, à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat du Canada. L’auteure adopte une approche qui relève à la fois de l’histoire et de la science politique. Son étude est d’actualité, car les statistiques démontrent bien que le Canada perd du terrain dans ce domaine à l’échelle mondiale. En effet, selon les chiffres de l’Union interparlementaire sur la proportion des femmes dans les assemblées législatives de quelque 180 pays, le Canada est passé du 16e rang en janvier 1998 au 31e à la fin de 2004.

Dans le premier chapitre, l’auteure présente l’historique des droits de vote et d’éligibilité. Elle relate les différents moments qui ont façonné la citoyenneté politique des Québécoises et leur accès à la représentation parlementaire de 1791 à 2004. En second lieu, elle se consacre aux idées qui ont animé les débats relatifs au suffrage des femmes du Québec. Elle circonscrit le grand débat autour de cinq discours ou rationalités : la spécificité des sexes, la modernité démocratique, la représentation substantielle des femmes, les compétences constitutionnelles et la pratique du suffrage. Ces discours ont eu lieu à la Chambre des communes en 1885, en 1917 et en 1918, et à l’Assemblée législative du Québec en 1940. Ce que l’auteure fait ressortir de ce survol historique met surtout l’accent sur la relation historiquement difficile des principes démocratiques face à la différence, le rapport entre fédéralisme, nationalisme et droits des femmes, et l’évolution de la citoyenneté politique des femmes au chapitre de la représentation.

Le second chapitre cherche à comprendre pourquoi les femmes, pourtant légèrement majoritaires dans la population, sont toujours, après tant d’années, minoritaires dans les arènes législatives. Selon l’auteure, pour qui inclusion n’implique pas représentation, plusieurs hypothèses peuvent expliquer cette anomalie, dont le processus de désignation des parlementaires élues. Après avoir analysé les critères d’éligibilité, de recrutement, de sélection et d’élection, l’auteure constate que, depuis 1921, seulement 134 Québécoises ont été mandatées pour représenter une circonscription à la Chambre des communes ou à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec. Passant ensuite au processus de désignation des parlementaires non élues, soit les sénatrices, elle remarque que, depuis 1929, seulement 16 Québécoises ont été nommées au Sénat.

Le troisième chapitre explore l’identité et les idées des députées et des sénatrices du Québec. L’auteure concède que les femmes transforment la représentation descriptive de la gouverne parlementaire de par leur seule présence. Après tout, ces femmes parlementaires font souvent partie d’une élite plus instruite, plus politisée et qui occupe des postes plus prisés que la moyenne des Québécoises. Lors de son enquête, l’auteure les a souvent entendu avouer ressentir une responsabilité de représenter les femmes. Cette cause implique que ces parlementaires élargissent leur mandat à l’extérieur des frontières de leurs circonscriptions électorales. L’auteure croit toutefois que cet élargissement demeure modeste, étant d’avis que certains facteurs d’ordre personnel et, plus particulièrement, institutionnel, comme le respect de la discipline de parti, diminue de beaucoup la liberté de parler et d’agir de ces parlementaires. Avant qu’elles ne puissent vraiment songer à représenter les autres femmes, elles devront, selon l’auteure, commencer par augmenter leurs rangs. En effet, pour être en mesure d’influencer la réflexion et les débats et d’y contribuer, le nombre importe beaucoup.

Dans son quatrième et dernier chapitre, l’auteure examine ce qui pourrait être fait pour augmenter le nombre de Québécoises qui œuvrent en politique. Les solutions sont plutôt connues et plus ou moins controversées. Débutant par les quotas dans les assemblées législatives, l’auteure énumère les arguments des tenants et des opposants avant de se prononcer plutôt contre cette option, qu’elle juge inefficace. Elle favorise les modes de scrutin mixte où les quotas pourraient être appliqués. Selon elle, un juste milieu entre un scrutin majoritaire et un scrutin proportionnel serait beaucoup plus efficace.

L’auteure examine ensuite les motivations de la mouvance féministe en matière de représentation descriptive des Québécoises dans les assemblées législatives. Essentiellement, deux grandes philosophies, le rejet et l’investissement, caractérisent, à son avis, l’attitude des mouvements de femmes face au pouvoir politique. Alors que la première école de pensée réfère au rejet du pouvoir pour les femmes au nom de la tradition, la seconde vise à investir le pouvoir politique en y adaptant les femmes ou en le changeant de l’intérieur.

L’auteure conclut par une étude des propositions mises de l’avant par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial pour augmenter la représentation féminine du Québec à la Chambre des communes et à l’Assemblée nationale. Soulevant la prévalence d’un laisser-faire en matière de représentation des femmes tant à Ottawa qu’à Québec, et bien qu’une loi sur la parité semble prometteuse, l’auteure estime que le « népotisme » des partis politiques demeure l’obstacle fondamental à l’égalité parlementaire des femmes.

Cet ouvrage est une grande analyse historique et politique de la représentation parlementaire des Québécoises à la fois dans les deux chambres fédérales et à la chambre provinciale. Le livre débute sur un constat déconcertant : non seulement les femmes n’ont-elles gagné que très peu de terrain en soixante ans, elles ont, en fait, pris du recul ces dernières années.

Dans sa conclusion, l’auteure propose une solution partielle qui n’est pas tout à fait satisfaisante. Selon elle, le remède, voire la panacée, à la faible présence des femmes en politique se trouve dans la proposition de réforme du mode de scrutin au Québec qui a été présentée à l’Assemblée nationale le 15 décembre 2004, plus particulièrement dans deux dispositions du projet. La première vise à majorer l’allocation accordée à un parti en fonction du pourcentage de candidatures de femmes ou de membres de minorités ethnoculturelles. La deuxième bonifie le remboursement dû à une femme candidate ou à une candidate ou un candidat d’une minorité ethnoculturelle. L’auteure affirme que, si le mode proportionnel mixte proposé par Jacques Dupuis, ministre québécois responsable du dossier à l’époque, s’avère encourageant, il reste perfectible. Cette solution s’adressant plus particulièrement au Québec, l’auteure demeure cependant muette dans sa conclusion sur les solutions possibles pour la Chambre des communes et le Sénat.

Dans l’ensemble, cet ouvrage fait un tour exhaustif de la question de la représentation des femmes du Québec en politique provinciale et fédérale. Il constitue un important document de référence et nous fait prendre conscience de la difficulté qu’ont les femmes à se tailler une place sur l’échiquier politique. Ce livre permet également au lecteur de se rendre compte à quel point les Québécoises actuellement en politique demeurent des pionnières, ainsi que de l’énorme travail qu’il reste à accomplir. La faiblesse de cet ouvrage pourrait résider dans sa conclusion, laquelle se limite à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec et ignore la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, une dichotomie d’autant plus surprenante que la quasi-totalité du livre se penche équitablement sur les trois chambres. Ce revirement de dernière minute peut laisser perplexe.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 2
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03