Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
100th Anniversary of the Opening of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly
Margaret A. Woods

On March 29, 1906, in Regina representatives of the Legislature, the Executive and the Judiciary gathered to hear Lieutenant Governor Amédée Forget of Saskatchewan acknowledge the expressions of welcome into the Canadian Federation that were received from Ottawa and the other provincial Legislatures.  He then noted that the continued and rapid settlement of Western Canada was “most gratifying” and that his government would “encourage and assist in every way possible those who are seeking homes in our midst”. No reference was made to the First Nations who had previously lived on the land nor to the treaties that made land available for settlement. By contrast the ceremony that marked the 100th anniversary of the first session was replete with references to the contribution of aboriginals to the history and development of Saskatchewan. This article outlines some of the highlights of the recent ceremony. 

With the traditional Cree word for welcome, “Tansi”, Speaker Myron Kowalsky welcomed guests to the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly to mark the 100th anniversary of the first opening. The Speaker's choice of language reflected the central theme of the ceremony to honour the relationship between the Legislature and the First Nations of the prairies. 

The day's events began with a sweet grass pipe ceremony on the floor of the Chamber attended by the Speaker and other invited guests. This event was intended to sanctify the Chamber in anticipation of the celebration taking place later that morning. The pipe ceremony itself followed the ceremonial practices of the Cree Elder who led it. Pipe ceremonies are observed in many First Nations cultures and, while there are elements common in all, each ceremony will reflect the individual preferences, practices and heritage of the Elder leading it. 

Participants in the ceremony were seated in a circle on the floor of the Chamber. Men occupied the inner circle while women sat in the outer circle. This reflected the belief of the Cree that women are as powerful as the pipe and that their presence in the outer circle enables them to act as supporters of the pipe and the ceremony. Additionally, the Cree believe that a woman's power exceeds that of a man due to their power to give life. Accordingly men must raise themselves to meet a woman's position by sitting in the inner circle, offering prayers and smoking a pipe. 

During the ceremony, the pipe was passed around the circle four times while participants offered prayers and personal stories. Everyone in the circle was smudged with sweetgrass. Throughout the ceremony, a drumming group located in a corner of the Chamber floor performed. 

The mace runner presentation ceremony began with the grand entry of the official party and special guests. The entrance of each guest was announced by Chief Helen Ben of the Meadow Lake Tribal Council and Legislative Assembly Clerk Gwenn Ronyk, who shared master of ceremony duties. 

The procession was led by Lieutenant Governor Lynda Haverstock and her husband, Harley Olsen. Speaker Kowalsky and Chief Alphonse Bird of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN) entered next side by side, preceded by the Sergeant at Arms carrying the mace and the Staff Carrier with the Eagle Staff. Premier Lorne Calvert, Leader of the Official Opposition Brad Wall and Treaty Commissioner Judge David Arnot completed the official party. 

The grand entry continued with First Nations elders, veterans, chiefs, the artist Florence Highway, representatives of the Judiciary and Members of the Legislative Assembly entering the Chamber and greeting the official party. Each guest then joined the receiving line and greeted subsequent guests as they passed by. Throughout the procession, drummers played the Grand Entry Song. 

The presentation ceremony commenced with greetings from the Crown, the FSIN and the Treaty Commissioner. Lieutenant Governor Haverstock spoke on the role played by the Crown in bringing the three elements of state – the Legislative, the Executive and the Judiciary – together with the First Nations. The Crown plays a further role as an enduring symbol of constancy and of the ideals enshrined in the treaties. In illustrating the longevity of these roles, Ms. Haverstock recalled the words spoken by a predecessor, Lieutenant Governor Alexander Morris, who in 1874 as the Crown's representative to the treaty negotiations stated: 

The promises we have to make to you are not for to-day only, but for tomorrow. … and the promises we make will be carried out as long as the sun shines and the water flows in the ocean.1 

Chief Bird addressed the importance of having a symbol of the First Nations in the Chamber of the Assembly. Referring to the mace runner and the cushion, Chief Bird reminded the audience that they were  “… meant to represent a foundation upon which the Crown's authority, as represented by the mace, is able to be exercised.”2  He then noted that while symbols were important reminders of the spirit and intent of the treaties, they could not replace the need to implement the treaty provisions. The Treaties were the basis upon which the First Nations and the settlers established a shared society on the land in which both could live in harmony and with prosperity. Chief Bird encouraged the Members of the Assembly to keep the obligations and duties established by the treaties in mind when debating issues and passing laws and to consider new ways to address the disparities that face the people of the province. 

The importance of the First Nation Treaties was also the subject of Judge Arnot's remarks. The entire province of Saskatchewan is covered by Treaties 4, 5, 6, 8 and 10. Judge Arnot stressed that all citizens are treaty people. The ability of immigrants to settle on the land, and exercise their treaty right to do so, was made possible by negotiating treaties with the First Nations who previously occupied the territory.  Judge Arnot also spoke of hope – the hope expressed by the signatories to the treaties on what the future might hold and the hope he had as a treaty commissioner that the First Nations, the treaties and the treaty relationship would take their rightful place in the Canadian state. 

Unveiling of Mace Runner and Cushion 

Florence Highway was then invited to unveil the mace runner and cushion with Chief Bird.3 Together they presented the articles to the Lieutenant Governor who accepted them on behalf of the Crown. She transmitted them to the Speaker who placed them at the end of the Table with the assistance of Premier Calvert and Mr. Wall. The Sergeant-at-Arms then placed the mace on the runner and cushion for the first time. 

The gift of a runner and cushion upon which the mace will rest during all sittings of the Assembly will serve as a permanent reminder of the on-going role played by First Nations in the history of the province. 

The beaded moose hide runner is entitled  “Treaties Forever” and incorporates traditional symbols, craftsmanship and materials. In aboriginal teachings, the Creator gave gifts to man for his nourishment and sustenance. These gifts are represented by the sun, grass and river.  The everlasting presence of the sun, grass and flowing river are also representative of the eternal commitment made in the treaties that their provisions would be forever honoured. 

The use of moose hide material as the backing of the runner is indicative of the importance played by the moose in the daily life of the northern First Nations peoples. Similar to the sustenance provided by the bison in the south, the moose provided food, clothing, shelter, tools and crafts to northern aboriginals. 

The head of the mace will rest upon a cushion made of beaver pelt backed by moose hide. The use of a beaver pelt is symbolic of the important role played by the trading of furs in forging a relationship between First Nations and European settlers and in the expansion of settlement westward. The beaver symbol can also be found in the carved moldings over the Members' entrances to the Chamber and on the Mace itself. A braid of moose hide surrounds the cushion to symbolize a braid of sweetgrass. In the culture of the prairie First Nations, sweetgrass is ceremonially burned to establish a connection with the Creator. Traditional teachings on the brotherhood of man are represented by the beaded tassels attached to the four corners of the cushion and in the intermixing of red, black, yellow and white beads in each tassel. 

Premier Calvert was the first to express his appreciation of the gifts on the occasion of the Legislature's first opening. He acknowledged the contribution of Joan Beatty, the first aboriginal woman to sit in the provincial cabinet and the individual who first highlighted the need for First Nations symbolism in the Chamber. Describing the treaties as foundational agreements, he stated that the presence of the runner and cushion would forever serve as a reminder to all who work in or visit the Assembly of the historic role First Nations people and the treaties have played in the creation of the province. In concluding his remarks, Premier Calvert noted the significance of the river and sun on the runner – the name Saskatchewan was taken from the Cree word for swift flowing waters while the sun was the everlasting symbol of life. It was his hope that the  “sun continue to shine on the province and the people of Saskatchewan, and may this land of swift-flowing waters be a land for all.” 

The Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Wall, spoke next. He summarized some of the themes of the first Throne Speech – praise for the 26 million bushels of wheat threshed the previous fall, grants of railway charters, the starting of public libraries and other issues of the day. He then lamented the absence of any mention of the First Nations, or the treaties that forged the ties between the crown, settlers and the original inhabitants of the land. Mr. Wall drew upon a statement by Bono that claimed that every age has its moral blind spots when he described the treatment afforded the First Nations over the province's first century. The acceptance of the runner and cushion, in his view, would serve as a reminder of the need to respect those who have too often been overlooked and to formally address the moral blind spot in the province's history. 

Speaker Kowalsky concluded the ceremony by thanking those able to attend. He drew special attention to the representatives from the Manitoba, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut Assemblies, areas that with Alberta were at one time part of the Northwest Territories.4 

Notes 

1. Quote taken from the verbatim transcript of the ceremony prepared by the Hansard Branch of the Legislative Assembly. 

2. Quote taken from the verbatim transcript of the ceremony prepared by the Hansard Branch of the Legislative Assembly. 

3. The mace runner and cushion were designed and created by Florence Highway of Pelican Narrows. Ms. Highway is a member of the Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation of Northern Saskatchewan and was immersed in her aboriginal heritage through her mother, Maggie.  Ms. Highway learned the Cree language and the arts of beading and birch bark biting as a child and has returned to re-explore these crafts as an adult. 

4. This historic event was broadcast live on the Saskatchewan Legislative Network. The proceedings will be used in educational material by the Office of the Treaty Commissioner. Further information may be viewed on the website of the Legislative Assembly, at:
www.legassembly.sk.ca/news/default.htm 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 2
2006






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Centenaire de l'inauguration de l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan
Margaret A. Woods

Le 29 mars 1906, des représentants des pouvoirs législatif, exécutif et judiciaire se sont réunis à Regina pour entendre Amédée Forget, lieutenant-gouverneur de la Saskatchewan, répondre aux mots de bienvenue au sein de la fédération canadienne qui avaient été reçus d’Ottawa et des autres assemblées législatives provinciales. Il a ensuite souligné que la colonisation continue et rapide de l’Ouest canadien était « très gratifiante » et que son gouvernement « encouragerait et aiderait de toutes les manières possibles les gens qui souhaitaient s’établir parmi nous ». Il n’a alors mentionné ni les Premières nations qui vivaient auparavant sur ce territoire, ni les traités qui avaient rendu ces terres disponibles pour la colonisation. Par contre, la cérémonie soulignant le 100e anniversaire de la première session était truffée de références à l’apport des Autochtones dans l’histoire et le développement de la Saskatchewan. Le présent article rend compte de certains points saillants de cette cérémonie tenue récemment. 

Le mot « Tansi » : C’est en lançant le traditionnel « bienvenue » des Cris que le président Myron Kowalsky a accueilli les invités venus célébrer le 100e anniversaire de la première ouverture de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Le choix linguistique du président témoignait bien du thème central de la cérémonie : souligner la relation entre l’Assemblée législative et les Premières nations des Prairies. 

La journée a commencé par une cérémonie du calumet sur le parquet de la Chambre, à laquelle ont participé le président et d’autres invités. Cette cérémonie visait à sanctifier la Chambre en vue de la célébration qui y aurait lieu au cours de la matinée. La cérémonie du calumet elle-même avait été précédée des pratiques cérémoniales de l’aîné cri qui la dirigeait. Ces cérémonies du calumet existent dans les cultures de nombreuses Premières nations et, même si des éléments sont communs à toutes les cérémonies, chacune reflète les préférences, les usages et le patrimoine de l’aîné qui la dirige. 

Les participants étaient assis en cercle sur le parquet de la Chambre, les hommes composant le cercle intérieur et les femmes, le cercle extérieur. Cette disposition s’explique par la croyance des Cris selon laquelle les femmes sont aussi puissantes que le calumet et que leur présence dans le cercle extérieur leur permet de soutenir le calumet et la cérémonie. Les Cris croient, en outre, que les pouvoirs des femmes sont supérieurs à ceux des hommes parce qu’elles peuvent donner la vie. Les hommes doivent donc s’élever à la hauteur des femmes en s’assoyant dans le cercle intérieur, en priant et en fumant le calumet. 

Durant la cérémonie, le calumet a fait le tour du cercle à quatre reprises, pendant que les participants priaient et racontaient des histoires personnelles. Tous les gens assis autour du cercle ont été purifiés à l’aide du foin d’odeur. Tout au long de la cérémonie, un groupe situé dans un coin de la Chambre a joué du tambour. 

La cérémonie de présentation du jeté de la masse a commencé par l’entrée solennelle de la suite officielle et des invités spéciaux. L’entrée de chaque invité était annoncée par Helen Ben, chef du conseil tribal de Meadow Lake, et la greffière de l’Assemblée législative, Gwenn Ronyk, qui ont coprésidé la cérémonie. 

Le défilé a été dirigé par la représentante de la Couronne, la lieutenante-gouverneure Lynda Haverstock et son mari, Harley Olsen. Le président Kowalsky et le chef Alphonse Bird, de la Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN), sont ensuite entrés côte à côte, précédés du sergent d’armes portant la masse et du porteur du bâton à exploits. Le premier ministre, Lorne Calvert, le chef de l’opposition officielle, Brad Wall, et le commissaire aux traités, le juge David Arnot, complétaient la suite officielle. 

Le défilé solennel s’est poursuivi avec des aînés des Premières nations, des anciens combattants, des chefs, l’artiste Florence Highway, des représentants du pouvoir judiciaire et des députés de l’Assemblée législative entrant dans la Chambre et saluant la suite officielle. Chaque invité se joignait à la haie d’honneur et accueillait les invités suivants à leur arrivée. Tout au long du défilé, les joueurs de tambour ont joué l’hymne d’entrée solennel. 

La cérémonie de présentation comme telle a commencé par les salutations de la Couronne, de la FSIN et du commissaire aux traités. La lieutenante-gouverneure Haverstock a parlé du rôle joué par la Couronne pour unir les trois éléments de l’État — les pouvoirs législatif, exécutif et judiciaire — avec les Premières nations. La Couronne constitue, en outre, un symbole durable de constance et des idéaux consacrés dans les traités. Pour illustrer cette longévité, Mme Haverstock a rappelé les paroles prononcées par un de ses prédécesseurs, le lieutenant-gouverneur Alexander Morris, qui, en 1874, en tant que représentant de la Couronne dans la négociation des traités, a affirmé ce qui suit : 

Les promesses que nous devons vous faire ne valent pas que pour aujourd’hui, mais également pour demain. […] et ces promesses seront respectées aussi longtemps que le soleil brillera et que l’eau coulera dans l’océan1

Le chef Bird a souligné qu’il est important qu’un symbole des Premières nations soit présent dans la Chambre. Faisant allusion au jeté et au coussin de la masse, le chef Bird a rappelé à l’assistance qu’ils représentaient « les fondements de l’autorité de la Couronne, dont l’exercice est symbolisé par la masse »2. Il a ensuite indiqué que, bien que les symboles soient d’importants rappels de l’esprit et de l’objectif des traités, ils ne peuvent remplacer la nécessaire mise en œuvre des dispositions de ces derniers. Les traités ont permis aux Premières nations et aux colons de construire une société commune sur un territoire où ils pourraient tous vivre en harmonie et dans la prospérité. Le chef Bird a encouragé les députés de l’Assemblée à ne pas oublier les obligations et devoirs établis par les traités lorsqu’ils tiendront des débats et adopteront des lois, et à trouver de nouvelles façons de réduire les inégalités observées chez les habitants de la province. 

Le juge Arnot a également signalé l’importance des traités conclus avec les Premières nations. Toute la province de la Saskatchewan est visée par les traités nos 4, 5, 6, 8 et 10. Le juge Arnot a rappelé que tous les citoyens sont visés par ces textes. Les immigrants ont pu s’établir sur le territoire et exercer ce droit issu d’un traité grâce aux traités négociés avec les Premières nations qui occupaient auparavant le territoire. Le juge Arnot a aussi parlé despoir — l’espoir exprimé par les signataires des traités sur ce que l’avenir pouvait leur réserver et l’espoir qu’il avait lui, en tant que commissaire aux traités, que les Premières nations, les traités et les relations fondées sur eux occupent la place qui leur revient au sein de l’État canadien. 

Dévoilement du jeté et du coussin de la masse 

Florence Highway a ensuite été invitée à dévoiler le jeté et le coussin de la masse avec le chef Bird3. Ensemble, ils ont présenté les articles à la lieutenante-gouverneure, qui les a acceptés au nom de la Couronne. Elle les a remis au président, qui les a placés à l’extrémité du Bureau avec l’aide du premier ministre Calvert et de M. Wall. Le sergent d’armes a ensuite placé la masse sur le jeté et le coussin pour la première fois.  

Le don du jeté et du coussin sur lesquels reposera la masse pendant toutes les délibérations de l’Assemblée serviront de rappel permanent du rôle qu’ont toujours joué les Premières nations dans l’histoire de la province.  

Le jeté perlé en peau d’orignal est intitulé Treaties Forever et comprend des symboles, des objets artisanaux et des matériaux traditionnels. Selon les enseignements autochtones, le Créateur a donné des cadeaux aux humains pour leur alimentation et leur subsistance. Ces cadeaux sont représentés par le soleil, l’herbe et le cours d’eau. La présence éternelle du soleil, de l’herbe et du cours d’eau représentent également l’engagement éternel, pris dans les traités, que leurs dispositions seront honorées à jamais. 

L’utilisation d’une peau d’orignal comme revers du jeté révèle l’importance de cet animal dans la vie quotidienne des membres des Premières nations du nord. Tout comme le bison au sud, l’orignal fournissait nourriture, vêtements, abris, outils et objets artisanaux aux Autochtones du nord. 

La tête de la masse reposera sur un coussin fait de peau de castor, doublé en peau d’orignal. L’utilisation d’une peau de castor est un symbole du rôle important joué par la traite des fourrures dans la création de liens entre les Premières nations et les colons européens, et dans l’expansion des établissements vers l’ouest. On peut également observer le symbole du castor dans les moulures sculptées au-dessus de l’entrée des députés à la Chambre et sur la masse elle-même. Une tresse en peau d’orignal entoure le coussin pour symboliser une tresse de foin d’odeur. Dans la culture des Premières nations des Prairies, on brûle du foin d’odeur pendant les cérémonies pour entrer en relation avec le Créateur. Les enseignements traditionnels sur la fraternité humaine sont représentés par des glands de perles fixés aux quatre coins du coussin et par le mélange de perles rouges, noires, jaunes et blanches dans chaque gland. 

Le premier ministre Calvert a été le premier à exprimer sa reconnaissance pour ces cadeaux offerts à l’occasion de l’anniversaire de la première ouverture de l’Assemblée législative. Il a souligné la contribution de Joan Beatty, la première femme autochtone à siéger au cabinet provincial et la première à souligner la nécessité de faire entrer le symbolisme des Premières nations à la Chambre. Décrivant les traités comme des ententes fondatrices, il a indiqué que la présence du jeté et du coussin rappellerait à jamais à tous ceux qui travaillent à l’Assemblée ou la visitent le rôle historique que les membres des Premières nations et les traités ont joué dans la création de la province. En terminant, le premier ministre Calvert a expliqué la signification du cours d’eau et du soleil sur le jeté – le nom Saskatchewan provient du mot cri désignant un cours d’eau à débit rapide, tandis que le soleil est le symbole éternel de la vie. Il a dit espérer que le « soleil continue à réchauffer la province et les habitants de la Saskatchewan, et que cette terre baignée par le cours d’eau à débit rapide se révèle un lieu d’accueil pour tous ». 

Le chef de l’opposition, M. Wall, a ensuite pris la parole. Il a résumé certains thèmes abordés dans le premier discours du Trône : les éloges pour les 26 millions de boisseaux de blé battus l’automne précédent, l’octroi de chartes à des compagnies de chemins de fer, la création de bibliothèques publiques et d’autres questions qui étaient alors d’actualité. Il a ensuite déploré que les Premières nations n’étaient pas mentionnées, ni d’ailleurs les traités qui ont permis de tisser des liens entre la Couronne, les colons et les premiers habitants du territoire. M. Wall a ensuite repris une déclaration de Bono, qui a soutenu que toutes les époques ont leurs propres « œillères morales », et il a décrit le sort réservé aux Premières nations pendant le premier siècle de la province. L’acceptation du jeté et du coussin servira, selon lui, à rappeler qu’il faut respecter ceux qui ont trop souvent été oubliés et abandonner officiellement l’utilisation de cette œillère dans l’histoire de la province. 

Le président Kowalsky a conclu la cérémonie en remerciant tous ceux qui y avaient participé. Il a mentionné, en particulier, les représentants des assemblées législatives du Manitoba, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut, des régions qui, comme l’Alberta, ont déjà fait partie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest4

Notes 

1. Citation provenant de la transcription littérale de la cérémonie préparée par la direction du hansard de l’Assemblée législative. 

2. Citation provenant de la transcription littérale de la cérémonie préparée par la direction du hansard de l’Assemblée législative. 

3. Le jeté et le coussin ont été conçus et créés par Florence Highway, de Pelican Narrows. Mme Highway est membre de la Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation, établie dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. C’est sa mère Maggie qui lui a fait connaître son patrimoine autochtone. Mme Highway a appris la langue crie et les arts de la broderie perlée et de l’écorce de bouleau en motif mordelé lorsqu’elle était enfant, puis a exploré de nouveau ces formes d’artisanat à l’âge adulte. 

4. Cet événement historique a été diffusé en direct sur le Saskatchewan Legislative Network. Les comptes rendus seront utilisés comme matériel didactique par le Bureau du commissaire aux traités. De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles sur le site Web de l’Assemblée législative, à l’adresse www.legassembly.sk.ca/news/default.htm. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 2
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03