Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speaker of the Senate 

Noël A. Kinsella was named Speaker of the Senate on February 7, 2006. Senator Kinsella was a senior public servant serving as Associate Under-Secretary of State of Canada when he was summoned to the Senate of Canada on September 12, 1990. 

Since his appointment Dr. Kinsella has served as Opposition Whip, Deputy Leader of the Opposition and most recently as the elected Leader of the Opposition. He also has been a member of Senate Standing Committees, including Human Rights; Social Affairs, Science and Technology; and National Finance. 

Prior to his appointment as a Senator, Dr. Kinsella served as Chairperson of the New Brunswick Human Rights Commission for 22 years, beginning in 1967 and is well-known nationally and internationally as a human rights advocate and academic. 

Dr. Kinsella earned several university degrees, including doctorates in philosophy, theology and psychology. He has had a successful career as an academic, psychologist and labour arbitrator, with three books, several monographs and more than 50 articles published in the fields of psychology and human rights. 

In 1984, he was made a Knight of the Order of Malta. 

23rd Canadian Presiding Officers Conference 

The 23rd Canadian Presiding Officers Conference took place in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories from January 19-22, 2006. The conference was attended by Speakers, Deputy Speakers, Chairs of Committee of the Whole and Clerks-at- the-Table from Legislatures across Canada.  In all, 43 delegates and five accompanying persons attended the meetings. 

The conference began with an excursion to the Diavik Diamond Mine some 300 kilometres northeast of Yellowknife.  Diavik is Canada’s second diamond mine and was constructed at a capital cost of $1.3 billion.  Peak annual production at the mine is approximately 8 million carats, the vast majority of which are of gem quality.  The two and soon to be four operating diamond mines in the NWT will make Canada the second largest producer of diamonds in the world.  The ability of the Northwest Territories to retain a fair proportion of the resource royalties generated by this non-renewable resource extraction is a significant priority for the Government of the Northwest Territories. 

The conference got underway in the Chamber of the NWT Assembly on January 20. Speaker Paul Delorey welcomed all delegates to the conference. A special welcome was extended to Speaker Bill Barisoff of British Columbia and Speaker Michael Brown of Ontario who were attending their first Presiding Officers conference since being elected to the Speaker’s Chair. 

Tim Mercer, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories, used the first business session to provided the delegates with an overview of the unique style of consensus government that exists in the Northwest Territories. Other business sessions included: 

  • Providing a Parliamentary Dimension to the Work of the United Nations:  The Declaration of the World Conference of Speakers
    Presenter: Gary O’Brien, Deputy Clerk, Senate of Canada 
  • Contested Elections
    Presenter: David McNeil, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, Alberta 
  • Managing Parliament with Civility
    Presenter: Craig James, Clerk of Committees and Clerk Assistant, British Columbia 
  • The Jean-Charles-Bonenfant Foundation
    Presenter:  Diane Leblanc, Deputy Speaker, Québec 
  • Challenging the Chair
    Presenter: Tim Mercer, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, Northwest Territories 

On the evening of January 20, 2006, the delegates attended a reception at the Northern Frontier Visitors’ Centre hosted by former Speaker and now Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, Anthony W.J. Whitford. Commissioner Whitford chose this reunion with many of his former colleagues for the official unveiling of his Speaker’s portrait which will be permanently displayed in the Legislature. Later that evening, the delegates were addressed by Joseph Handley, Premier of the Northwest Territories. Premier Handley outlined many of the unique challenges and opportunities facing the Northwest Territories in the face of unprecedented economic growth. 

After a brief excursion to the outskirts of Yellowknife for some dog sledding, hot tea and tube rides, the delegates assembled for one last time before returning to their home jurisdictions. At dinner, the conference heard a presentation from Major Kevin Tyler of Canadian Forces Northern Area Headquarters on the increasing importance of northern sovereignty in Canada’s Arctic. Speaker Delorey later provided each of the delegates with as North of 60 Explorer’s Certificate and thanked them for traveling so far to see one of Canada’s most unique and diverse regions up close. 

Of special note, Speaker Harvey Hodder of Newfoundland and Labrador took advantage of the conference to announce the upcoming retirement of that jurisdiction’s Clerk, A. John Noel. All delegates rose to give John a warm round of applause in appreciation for his many years of service to the House of Assembly and indeed to development and understanding of parliamentary democracy in Canada. 

All delegates are looking forward to next year’s conference to be held in Prince Edward Island. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 1
2006






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC : La scène canadienneAPC : La scène canadienne


Nouveau président du Sénat 

Noël A. Kinsella a été nommé président du Sénat le 7 février 2006. Il était sous-secrétaire d’État associé du Canada, et donc haut fonctionnaire, lorsqu’il a été nommé au Sénat le 12 septembre 1990. 

Depuis sa nomination, le sénateur Kinsella a été whip de l’opposition et leader adjoint de l’opposition. Plus récemment, il avait été élu leader de l’opposition au Sénat. Il a été membre de divers comités sénatoriaux permanents, y compris celui des droits de la personne, celui des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie, et celui des finances nationales. 

Avant sa nomination au Sénat, le sénateur Kinsella a été président de la Commission des droits de la personne du Nouveau-Brunswick pendant 22 ans, fonction qu’il a assumée à partir de 1967. Il jouit d’une réputation nationale et internationale à titre de défenseur des droits de la personne et à titre d’universitaire. 

Le sénateur est titulaire de plusieurs diplômes universitaires et détient notamment trois doctorats : en philosophie, en théologie et en psychologie. Il a connu une brillante carrière à titre d’universitaire, de psychologue et d’arbitre du travail. Il a publié trois ouvrages, plusieurs monographies et une cinquantaine d’articles portant sur la psychologie et les droits de la personne. 

En 1984, il a été fait chevalier de l’Ordre de Malte. 

23e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada 

La 23e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada a eu lieu à Yellowknife, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, du 19 au 22 janvier. Des présidents, des vice-présidents, des présidents des comités pléniers et des greffiers au Bureau des assemblées législatives du Canada y ont assisté. En tout, 43 délégués et 5 accompagnateurs ont pris part aux réunions. 

La Conférence a débuté par une visite de la mine de diamants Diavik, qui est située à environ 300 km au nord-est de Yellowknife. Diavik est la deuxième mine de diamants en importance au Canada et elle a nécessité un investissement total de 1,3 milliard de dollars. Sa production annuelle de pointe est de 8 millions de carats, majoritairement des diamants de joaillerie. Les mines de diamants en exploitation dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, qui passeront bientôt de deux à quatre, feront du Canada le deuxième producteur de diamants au monde. L’une des priorités du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est d’ailleurs de conserver une bonne part des redevances provenant de l’exploitation de cette ressource non renouvelable. 

C’est dans la chambre de l’Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest que la Conférence s’est amorcée le 20 janvier. Le président Paul Delorey a souhaité la bienvenue à tous les délégués et, de manière particulière, aux présidents Bill Barisoff, de la Colombie- Britannique, et Michael Brown, de l’Ontario, qui assistaient à leur première conférence des présidents d’assemblée depuis leur élection à leur charge. 

Tim Mercer, greffier de l’Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, a profité de la première séance de travail pour offrir aux délégués un aperçu du gouvernement par consensus, un type de gouvernance particulier aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Les autres séances de travail ont porté sur les sujets suivants : 

  • Donner une dimension parlementaire aux travaux des Nations Unies : Déclaration de la Conférence mondiale des présidents de parlement
    Présentateur : Gary O’Brien, sous-greffier, Sénat du Canada 
  • Les élections contestées
    Présentateur : David McNeil, greffier de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta 
  • Gérer le Parlement avec civilité
    Présentateur : Craig James, greffier des comités et greffier adjoint, Colombie-Britannique 
  • La Fondation Jean-Charles-Bonenfant
    Présentatrice : Diane Leblanc, vice-présidente, Québec 
  • Contester la présidence
    Présentateur : Tim Mercer, greffier de l’Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest 

Le 20 janvier en soirée, au Northern Frontier Visitors Centre, les délégués ont assisté à une réception offerte par Anthony WJ Whitford, ancien président et actuel commissaire des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. M. Whitford a choisi cette soirée, où nombre de ses anciens collègues se trouvaient réunis, pour dévoiler officiellement son portrait de président, qui sera exposé en permanence à l’Assemblée législative. Joseph Handley, premier ministre des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, a pris la parole plus tard en soirée. Il a fait ressortir les multiples défis et possibilités auxquels pourraient être confrontés le territoire devant la perspective d’une croissance économique sans précédent. 

Après une brève excursion aux abords de Yellowknife pour une randonnée en traîneau à chiens, un bon thé chaud et quelques glissades sur pneumatiques, les délégués se sont réunis une dernière fois avant de rentrer chez eux. Pendant le dîner, ils ont assisté à une présentation faite par le major Kevin Tyler, du Quartier général du Secteur du Nord des Forces canadiennes, sur l’importance grandissante de l’exercice de la souveraineté canadienne dans l’Arctique. Le président Delorey a ensuite remis à tous les délégués un certificat d’explorateur du nord du 60e parallèle, puis il les a remerciés d’avoir fait un si long voyage pour venir voir de plus près une région tout à fait unique qui figure parmi les plus diversifiées au Canada. 

Fait à noter, le président Harvey Hodder, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a profité de la Conférence pour annoncer la retraite prochaine de A. John Noel, greffier de la Chambre d’assemblée de cette province. Tous les délégués ont chaleureusement applaudi M. Noel en signe de gratitude pour ses nombreuses années de service à la Chambre d’assemblée et, bien sûr, pour avoir contribué au développement et à une meilleure compréhension de la démocratie parlementaire au Canada. 

Tous les délégués sont impatients d’assister à la prochaine conférence, qui aura lieu à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard l’an prochain. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 1
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29