Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
How to Organize an Effective Constituency Office
Peter MacLeod

In contrast to the prestige of working on Parliament Hill, life in a constituency office takes place far from the media spotlight and away from the power of high politics. However, these unique and often overlooked institutions not only help to put a human face on government but have the potential to address the huge disconnect between Canadian and their politicians. This article is drawn from information gathered during the course of a two year research study which included visits to nearly one hundred constituency offices in all parts of Canada. 

It is an unusual feature of contemporary political life that members of parliament are expected to be in two places at once. Prior to the proliferation of cheap air travel, an MP could comfortably expect to spend a short winter session in Ottawa and return to their riding through the spring, summer and early fall. Parliamentary life was keyed to agricultural cycle. Today, like the modern election campaign, it's keyed to the capacity of jetliners to cross time zones and the expectations of citizens to see their MP perform local duties as evidence that they have not yet lost touch. In this light, operating a constituency office provides not only a home base; it allows the MP to maintain a presence and keep the pulse of local affairs. 

But few newly elected MPs pause to consider that winning their seat also entails opening and managing what amounts to a small business. Though they may keep standard office hours, an MP's staff can be expected to respond to an urgent request whether day or night. Annual revenues from Ottawa easily exceed a quarter of a million dollars, necessitating careful bookkeeping while elaborate rules complicate how the money can be spent.   Each office employs two, three and sometimes four staffers, serves 100,000 citizen-clients and typically opens well over a thousand new files each year.1 To cope with demand and keep their personal touch, an increasing number of MPs in remote and rural-urban ridings choose to open additional branches, as constituency boundaries shift to absorb several small towns and communities.  

Still, in spite of their complexity and growing importance very little attention has been afforded to the work of these offices. A relatively recent addition to Canada's parliamentary infrastructure – funding was increased without debate in 1972 permitting all MPs to open local offices – surprisingly little is known about the impact and relevance of what deservedly can be called 'the root system of parliament'. 

Most constituency offices are scruffy, useful, modest places. They are often tucked away in former medical clinics and legal chambers. There is no standard template; no government approved floor plan. Constituency offices come in every size and shape: occupying nondescript corporate buildings, stuck between pizza shops in strip malls, occupying first floors of homes, or gamely hanging a shingle in a storefront along Main Street. 

In this way, they are connected to but stand apart from the grandeur and pretense of parliament. They are front-line – all interface – doing the messy, remedial business of cleaning up bureaucratic misfires when programs fail to align neatly with needs of real people and settling local scores. 

The staffers themselves divide easily between lifers and flyers: those who diligently ensure the continuity of operations on the ground and those young and ambitious junior staffers who see the constituency office as a short track to a political life in Ottawa.2  The best offices tend to be staffed by the former – citizens are rightfully wary of the latter – and over time a dedicated constituency assistant will become a kind of public service sage, a general practitioner capable of parsing application forms and knowing the ins and outs of every department and program, all the while keeping a finger to the wind of public opinion. Predictably, this sustained exposure leads to their developing an acute sensitivity to local need. It's across their desk and over their phones that the most delicate personal details pass: from the plight of a veteran, to the university prospects of a recent high school graduate. 

Simultaneously the backstop and side door to every government service, the tremendous public value created by the constituency system goes uncounted by the planning departments that map out the paths of public service delivery. And yet, these offices, offering personable, detailed and efficient service, have plenty to teach the public service about how to earn the trust and confidence of the citizens they serve. 

Moreover, because public service reform and democratic reform can or should be inextricably bound together, the constituency system deserves to be studied as a potential site for helping to address Canada's alleged 'democratic deficit'.3 Successful constituency offices neatly illustrate an adage which deserves to be taken to heart by anyone genuinely committed to improving public confidence in government and democratic participation: public service reform and democratic reform are flip sides of the same civic coin. Together they constitute a seamless experience of the state that political theorists and service delivery managers have been too quick to disassociate. 

Among Canada's political institutions, constituency offices stand alone as a kind of local infrastructure for encounter, recognition and engagement, connecting citizen to representative, and citizen to state during the 1400-odd days between elections. 

Some of the earliest offices, created by enterprising MPs like the young Ed Broadbent and Flora Macdonald, took their mandate to be exactly this. They were places to “keep in touch”, to open up a space for a sustained conversation about the community's priorities and the intentions of the federal government.4 It is only more recently as cutbacks diminished the frontline capacity of federal ministries and citizens themselves became less deferential in demanding better treatment that the advocacy and assistance functions of constituency offices grew. 

Today, constituency offices attempt to balance seven core functions: to provide service and assistance in dealing with government departments, to engage the public, maintain a presence in the community, provide informal counseling on personal and professional matters, act as brokers and mediators between interests, collate local opinion, and advocate to each level of government and their party on matters concerning specific individuals and their community-at-large. 

But to outline these functions is not to suggest their equivalency.  Most constituency offices are demand-driven and calls for specific services seriously reduce the amount of staff time that can be dedicated to community consultation or other activities. For instance, metropolitan ridings routinely report spending upwards of 85% of their time on immigration files. Rural ridings assume the role of one-stop shop to government services.  Disappointing turnout at town hall meetings and community discussions do little to encourage MPs to innovate. Instead, they hone their skills as local fix-its and trust that their efforts will be rewarded on election day. It is not surprising that many MPs wish they could spend more time on constituency work: it is the one place where they truly feel they are making a difference. 

The Low Road to Democratic Reform 

It remains to be seen whether the new parliament will have much appetite for meaningful democratic reform. Securing changes to any of the big three – electoral, parliamentary or constitutional reform – will require considerable political capital that the governing party may simply choose not to afford. These 'high road' reforms may ultimately serve the wider democratic interests of the country, but less clear is whether reforming the senate, adopting proportional representation or bringing Quebec into the constitutional fold will actually produce the revitalization in public confidence and renewed energy for politics that Canada sorely needs. 

By contrast, the 'low road to democratic reform' invites its travelers along a different path. If electoral systems are to political theorists what cathedrals and skyscrapers are to architects, then the triplicate form, the telephone query, and the public meeting are the truck and trade of the low road thinker. Their concern is the everyday experience of government. To the low road thinker, genuine engagement and perhaps the rekindling of a more animated relationship between citizens and their state can only be achieved through participatory experiences, not simply more accurately representative assemblies. This means that the trust gap that has widened within almost every western democracy cannot be wholly addressed through high road reforms alone. Creating a more representative portrayal of political opinion in our legislative assemblies is a worthwhile and laudable goal, but so too is the enrichment of whatever means we have to deepen and sustain an ongoing political conversation. 

The opening of the 39th Parliament and the creation of Service Canada – a federal agency that promises to streamline and improve service delivery and, perhaps, consequently reduce demand on constituency offices – is rare opportunity to begin reconceptualizing the role and relevance of parliament's root system. At the very least it offers new and re-elected MPs alike an occasion to rethink their local operations. 

Parliament at the Periphery 

All constituency offices necessarily reflect the interests and personality of their MP. But other than a few posters or professional or honorary certificates, few MPs take the time to see that their office speaks clearly and positively about their work and their commitment. Nor do they create a space that is functionally appropriate. Staffers typically lament not having enough privacy for sensitive telephone calls. Citizens either feel exposed in poorly furnished offices or are asked to find a seat in narrow waiting areas squeezed between filing cabinets. 

The varied and conflicting operational roles of a constituency office translate awkwardly into a spatial plan. Rushed from the campaign trail to Ottawa, most MPs opt to do little more than rent the first available space that meets a minimum of criteria. Furniture is either ordered new or inherited from the defeated incumbent's office and, jumbled together, many offices never shake the campaign sensibility of stacking chairs, old coffee pots and poor lighting. 

The most successful offices begin with an idea – a sense of purpose – and design their space accordingly. Is the office to be a service bureau, a space for civic engagement, a local incubator for public organizations and events, a community showcase, a publishing house, a coffee klatch or meeting point? Is it to be an enclave or an open door? 

Implicit in each of these choices is a sensibility about the role of the MP: her responsibilities, relationship and stature in the community. The subsequent design choices an MP makes conveys this understanding. Is she accessible or a step removed? Is her local office a priority or an inconvenient duty? Does she take a formal or informal approach to dealing with her constituents? 

Some MPs go to great lengths to challenge their constituent's expectations. They remove their desks and opt instead for two or more comfortable chairs. They insist that people are welcomed into an inviting and well-lit space and offered either tea or coffee. They hang new works by local artists and plan well in advance a series of both political and non-political events that draw people to their space. They furnish boardrooms that local groups can book and create community and issue boards that detail recent successes as well as upcoming legislation and events.  They attempt to collocate with their provincial counterpart or a government bureau. In effect, they try and become a hub in their community and make reaching out to new groups and individuals a priority. 

These MPs are gradually expanding what it means to be an elected representative, instead conceiving of themselves as something akin to civic entrepreneurs, who extend and use their offices to generate new ideas and allegiances.  

In this way, the most innovative MPs are proving Trudeau's old adage that 'off the Hill, MPs are a bunch of “nobodies” to be completely wrong. All MPs, even ministers, know that once they leave the Hill and return to their constituency, they are once again their own boss. They can again enjoy the small pleasures and courtesies that accompany a local VIP, with neither the party whip, nor the leader's office spoiling the day. 

In fact, given the discontent that has long simmered along the backbench of every party, it is not surprising that this frustration is steadily being translated into new vitality at the local end of parliament. It is a subtle trend that will continue to grow as MPs make ever-greater use of communications technology and the media and become more adept and strategic in pursuing local objectives.  It is these innovators who recognize the constituency office as an important source of legitimacy and ideas that will most radically change the way parliament works, not from the centre, but increasingly from the periphery. 

Some Tips for New MPs 

  • Choose a location that is accessible, visible and inviting. Remember to consider bus routes and parking, but also try to encourage walk-in traffic.  
  • Consider whether your office space is sufficiently inviting. Does it make strangers feel welcome or guarded? 
  • Use your office space to communicate your commitment and progress made. 
  • Invest in good signage that is original, easily visible and appropriate. 
  • Make sure your office has cross-partisan appeal. Avoid party colours. 
  • If possible, co-locate in the same building as your provincial colleague.  
  • Plan a schedule of events, discussions and special occasions throughout the year. 
  • Make sure your staffers feel safe. Do they have good sight lines and a secondary exit? 
  • Ready yourself to be operational from the first day following the election. 
  • Hire experience over politics. The best constituency assistants love people, problem-solving and know their communities inside and out. 
  • Invest even modestly in custom software packages or databases to help track queries and files. 
  • Establish advisory councils and convene miniature citizens assemblies regularly. 
  • Create an internship position immediately. 
  • Consider offering your space to community groups for meetings or meetings between different groups. 


 

 

Notes 

1. See Peter MacLeod, “The High Cost of Constituency Politics”, Globe and Mail, November 24, 2004. 

2. Peter MacLeod. Low Road to Democratic Reform: Constituency Offices, Public Service Provision and Citizen Engagement. Report to the Democratic Reform Secretariat, Privy Council Office, Ottawa, 2005. 

3. Peter MacLeod. “Governance at the periphery”, Opinion Canada, January 27, 2005. 

4. Bea Vongdouangchanh, “The Constituency Project”, The Hill Times, November 8, 2004. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 1
2006






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Comment organiser efficacement son bureau de circonscription
Peter MacLeod

Si le travail sur la colline du Parlement est auréolé d’un certain prestige, les activités du bureau de circonscription se déroulent loin des feux de l’actualité et des jeux de coulisse de la haute politique. Or, cette institution unique et souvent négligée non seulement contribue à donner un visage humain au gouvernement, mais elle peut aussi rapprocher la population canadienne et ses élus. Le présent article est le fruit de plus de deux ans de recherche, au cours desquels une centaine de bureaux de circonscription de tout le Canada ont fait l’objet d’une visite. 

La vie politique contemporaine a ceci de curieux que l’on prête aux députés le don d’ubiquité. Avant l’avènement du transport aérien à prix modique, un député pouvait s’attendre à siéger à Ottawa, le temps d’une courte session d’hiver, pour ensuite aller passer le printemps, l’été et le début de l’automne dans sa circonscription. La vie parlementaire suivait le rythme des travaux agricoles. De nos jours cependant, à l’instar des campagnes électorales, elle reflète, d’une part, la capacité des avions de ligne d’enjamber les fuseaux horaires et, d’autre part, les attentes des administrés, pour qui la présence de leur député aux manifestations locales montre qu’il est encore un des leurs. Vu sous cet angle, un bureau de circonscription non seulement sert de base locale, mais il permet aussi au député de conserver une présence dans le comté et de se tenir au courant de ce qui se passe dans sa collectivité. 

Or, bien peu de nouveaux députés se rendent compte que leur victoire va les mettre à la tête d’une sorte de petite entreprise qu’ils devront d’abord établir, puis gérer. S’ils ont des heures de bureau normales en théorie, les employés d’un député peuvent néanmoins devoir répondre à des demandes urgentes à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit. Les revenus annuels en provenance d’Ottawa dépassent facilement le quart de million de dollars, ce qui exige une tenue de livre scrupuleuse, compliquée par des règles minutieuses sur la manière dont cet argent peut être dépensé. Chaque bureau compte deux, trois et parfois quatre employés, sert 100 000 citoyens-clients et ouvre, en général, plus d’un millier de dossiers par année1. En outre, pour répondre à la demande et demeurer personnellement au courant, de plus en plus de députés de circonscriptions éloignées ou mi-rurales, mi-urbaines, établissent des bureaux satellites pour servir de nouvelles petites villes et collectivités à représenter par suite des remaniements des limites des circonscriptions électorales. 

Pourtant, malgré la complexité et l’importance croissantes du travail de ces bureaux, on s’intéresse bien peu à eux. Le bureau de circonscription est un élément relativement récent de l’infrastructure parlementaire : en 1972, grâce à une augmentation de fonds accordée sans débat, tous les députés ont pu ouvrir un bureau dans leur circonscription. Fait étonnant, l’on connaît encore bien mal l’impact et la pertinence de ce que l’on pourrait qualifier, à juste titre, de « système racinaire » du Parlement. 

La plupart des bureaux de circonscription sont des lieux modestes, quand ils ne sont pas carrément miteux, et essentiellement utilitaires. Ils sont souvent installés dans d’anciennes cliniques ou d’anciennes études d’avocats. Ni modèle, ni schéma gouvernemental pour eux : il y en a de toutes les formes et de toutes les tailles, logés dans des immeubles à bureaux quelconques, coincés entre une pizzeria et un magasin à un dollar dans un mail linéaire, campés au rez-de-chaussée d’une maison ou établis dans un commerce vacant de la rue principale. 

Ils sont en rapport avec le Parlement, mais sont en même temps à l’écart de l’apparat et de l’ostentation qui y règnent. Ils sont la première ligne, le point de contact, où l’on tente de remédier aux ratés de l’administration quand les programmes publics sont mal adaptés aux besoins du vrai monde et aux réalités de la vie sur le terrain. 

Les employés se divisent d’emblée en deux groupes, les sédentaires et les nomades : les premiers assurent la permanence et la continuité des opérations locales et les seconds, en général de jeunes loups remplis d’ambition, ne voient dans le bureau de circonscription qu’un simple marchepied vers la vie politique à Ottawa2. Les meilleurs bureaux ont à leur service des sédentaires — les gens se méfient à juste titre des seconds. Les adjoints de circonscription dévoués deviennent, au fil des ans, des sortes de sages polyvalents qui peuvent décoder n’importe quel formulaire et qui connaissent sur le bout des doigts tous les ministères et programmes, tout en étant bien au fait de l’opinion publique. Bien entendu, grâce à cette exposition constante, ils en viennent à connaître les besoins locaux dans les moindres détails. Des détails des plus personnels leur passent entre les mains ou leur arrivent aux oreilles, des difficultés d’un ancien combattant aux chances d’admission à l’université d’un récent diplômé du secondaire. 

Simultanément mécanisme de soutien et porte arrière de tous les services gouvernementaux, le système de bureaux de circonscription rend des services inestimables qui ne sont pas pris en compte par les planificateurs des services publics. Pourtant, ces bureaux, qui offrent un service courtois, minutieux et efficace, pourraient donner des leçons à la fonction publique sur la manière de gagner la confiance des citoyens-clients. 

En outre, comme la réforme de la fonction publique et celle des institutions démocratiques sont inextricablement liées, ou devraient l’être, il importe de se demander dans quelle mesure le système des bureaux de circonscription pourrait contribuer à combler le supposé « déficit démocratique » au Canada3. Les bureaux de circonscription qui fonctionnent bien illustrent éloquemment une vérité que devrait méditer quiconque cherche vraiment à accroître la confiance de la population dans le gouvernement et à stimuler la participation aux institutions démocratiques : la réforme de la fonction publique et la réforme des institutions démocratiques sont, en fait, les deux faces de la même médaille civique. Par leur imbrication, elles actualisent la présence de l’État dans le quotidien, ce qu’oublient trop souvent les théoriciens de la politique et les gestionnaires des services, qui les dissocient. 

De toutes les institutions politiques du pays, les bureaux de circonscription se distinguent comme une sorte d’infrastructure locale, de point de contact entre les citoyens et leurs représentants élus, d’une part, et entre les citoyens et l’État, d’autre part, durant les quelque 1 400 jours qui séparent les campagnes électorales. 

Certains des premiers bureaux de circonscription, créés par des députés pleins d’initiative comme les jeunes Ed Broadbent et Flora Macdonald, étaient conçus justement dans cette optique : ils devaient, d’abord et avant, permettre de « garder le contact » et servir de lieux favorisant un échange constant sur les priorités de la population locale et les intentions du gouvernement fédéral 4. Ce n’est que plus récemment que les fonctions de défense des intérêts et d’assistance des bureaux de circonscription ont pris de l’ampleur. Ce phénomène a pris naissance alors que les compressions budgétaires réduisaient la capacité des services de première ligne des ministères fédéraux et que les citoyens eux-mêmes exigeaient un meilleur traitement, tout en faisant preuve d’un moins grand respect. 

De nos jours, le bureau de circonscription s’efforce de concilier sept fonctions fondamentales : servir et aider les citoyens dans leurs rapports avec les ministères, intéresser la population, maintenir une présence dans la collectivité, offrir des conseils officieux sur des questions personnelles et professionnelles, agir comme médiateur ou intermédiaire, prendre le pouls de l’opinion locale et défendre les intérêts de personnes et de groupes auprès du parti et des divers ordres de gouvernement. 

Ces fonctions ne sont pas toutes sur le même pied. La plupart des bureaux de circonscription fonctionnent à la demande, de sorte que si certains services sont très populaires, il reste beaucoup moins de temps à consacrer aux consultations populaires et aux autres activités. Par exemple, les bureaux de circonscriptions métropolitaines consacrent, en général, plus de 85 p. 100 de leur temps à des dossiers d’immigration. En revanche, les bureaux des régions rurales font souvent office de guichet unique pour les services publics. Une faible participation aux assemblées populaires et aux débats locaux n’incite pas les députés à innover. Ils perfectionnent plutôt leurs compétences de « réparateurs » locaux, en espérant que leurs efforts seront récompensés le jour des élections. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que de nombreux députés souhaiteraient pouvoir consacrer plus de temps à leur travail de circonscription : c’est le seul endroit où ils ont vraiment le sentiment de faire œuvre utile. 

La réforme des institutions démocratiques par la base 

Il reste à voir si la nouvelle législature s’intéressera suffisamment à la question pour réaliser une véritable réforme des institutions démocratiques. En effet, toute réforme électorale, parlementaire ou constitutionnelle exigera un investissement considérable de capital politique, investissement que le parti au pouvoir ne voudra peut-être pas consentir. De telles réformes de haut vol serviraient peut-être les intérêts démocratiques globaux du pays, mais il est loin d’être certain que la réforme du Sénat, l’adoption de la représentation proportionnelle ou le fait de ramener le Québec dans le giron constitutionnel produiraient le regain de confiance ou d’intérêt pour la politique dont le Canada a désespérément besoin. 

Il en va autrement de la réforme des institutions démocratiques au niveau de la base. Si les systèmes électoraux sont aux théoriciens politiques ce que les cathédrales et les gratte-ciel sont aux architectes, le formulaire en triple exemplaire, la demande de renseignement et l’assemblée publique sont les outils des gens de terrain. Ce qui les intéresse, c’est l’expérience du gouvernement dans le quotidien. Pour eux, c’est par une approche participative, et pas seulement au moyen d’assemblées plus représentatives, que l’on réussira à mobiliser véritablement les citoyens et à ranimer leurs rapports avec l’État. Il s’ensuit que les réformes de haut rang ne pourront pas, à elles seules, rétablir la confiance de la population dans l’État et le gouvernement qui s’est effritée dans presque toutes les démocraties occidentales. Il est, bien sûr, louable de chercher à rendre nos assemblées législatives plus représentatives de l’opinion politique, mais nous devrions aussi enrichir les moyens que nous possédons déjà d’approfondir et d’entretenir une conversation politique soutenue. 

L’ouverture de la 39e législature et la création de Service Canada — un organisme fédéral qui promet de rationaliser et d’améliorer la prestation des services et, peut-être, de réduire du même coup la demande dans les bureaux de circonscription — offrent une rare occasion de reconceptualiser le rôle et la pertinence du système racinaire du Parlement. Elles permettent à tout le moins aux nouveaux députés et aux députés réélus de repenser leurs activités locales. 

Un parlement à la périphérie 

Les bureaux de circonscription reflètent forcément les intérêts et la personnalité du député. Mais, en dehors de quelques affiches ou certificats professionnels ou honorifiques, peu de députés prennent le temps de voir à ce que leur bureau renvoie une image positive et claire de leur travail et de leur volonté de servir. Ils ne voient pas non plus à ce que celui-ci soit fonctionnellement adapté. Les employés sont nombreux à déplorer, par exemple, le manque d’espace privé où recevoir des appels téléphoniques délicats. Les citoyens soit se sentent exposés dans des bureaux pauvrement meublés, soit sont parqués dans une aire d’attente exiguë coincée entre deux classeurs. 

Le bureau de circonscription a des fonctions variées et parfois incompatibles qu’il est difficile d’intégrer dans un plan d’aménagement. Catapultés à Ottawa dès la fin de la campagne électorale, les députés se contentent le plus souvent de louer en toute hâte le premier local qui réponde à des conditions minimales. Les meubles, parfois neufs, parfois hérités du député précédent, composent souvent un ensemble hétéroclite qui rappelle un peu l’allure des bureaux de campagne avec leurs piles de chaises, leurs vieilles cafetières et leur mauvais éclairage. 

Pour qu’un bureau fonctionne, il doit être articulé autour d’une idée — d’une fonction dominante — et conçu en conséquence. Le bureau sera-t-il principalement un point de service? un incubateur local d’organisations et de manifestations? une vitrine sur la collectivité? une maison d’édition? un lieu de réunion ou un centre de rencontre informel? Sera-t-il enclavé ou ouvert au tout venant? 

Ces choix reposent implicitement sur la façon dont le député conçoit son rôle : ses responsabilités, la stature qu’il a dans la collectivité et les rapports qu’il entretient avec elle. Par ses choix, le député communique sa vision des choses. Est-il accessible ou en retrait? Son bureau local constitue-t-il une priorité ou un mal nécessaire? A-t-il une approche formelle ou informelle dans ses rapports avec les électeurs? 

Certains députés se donnent beaucoup de mal pour déjouer les idées reçues des électeurs. Au lieu d’un bureau de travail, ils optent pour deux ou trois fauteuils confortables. Ils tiennent à ce que les gens soient accueillis dans un espace invitant et bien éclairé où on leur offre thé ou café. Ils accrochent au mur des œuvres récentes d’artiste locaux et planifient bien à l’avance des manifestations politiques et non politiques qui attireront les gens dans leur bureau. Ils meublent une salle de réunion que les groupes locaux peuvent réserver et installent des panneaux d’affichage qui mettent en relief des réalisations ou des projets de loi ou événements à venir. Ils s’efforcent de partager leurs locaux avec leur homologue provincial ou des services gouvernementaux. Bref, ils cherchent à faire de leur bureau un point de ralliement dans leur collectivité et se donnent pour priorité d’établir le dialogue avec de nouveaux groupes et particuliers. 

Ces députés sont en train de changer progressivement ce que cela veut dire d’être un représentant élu; ils se voient un peu comme des entrepreneurs civiques qui se servent de leur bureau pour engendrer des idées et des allégeances nouvelles. 

Ainsi, les députés les plus novateurs font mentir Pierre Trudeau, qui affirmait que, à quelques mètres du Parlement, les députés devenaient des moins-que-rien. Tous les députés, même les ministres, savent qu’une fois qu’ils quittent la Colline et rentrent dans leur circonscription, ils redeviennent leur propre patron. Ils peuvent de nouveau jouir des menus privilèges et des marques de courtoisie que l’on réserve aux personnalités locales, sans que le whip du parti ou le cabinet du chef ne viennent leur gâcher leur plaisir. 

En fait, vu le mécontentement qui fermente depuis longtemps à l’arrière-ban de tous les partis, il n’est guère étonnant que cette frustration ait fini par déboucher sur un regain de vitalité dans le volet local de l’activité parlementaire. C’est une tendance subtile qui ira en s’accentuant du fait que les députés exploitent de plus en plus les technologies des communications et les médias et qu’ils font montre d’un plus grand flair stratégique dans la concrétisation d’objectifs locaux. Ce sont ces innovateurs conscients de l’importance du travail de circonscription comme facteur de légitimité et comme source d’idées qui vont le plus radicalement transformer le fonctionnement du Parlement, non pas à partir du centre, mais de plus en plus depuis la périphérie.

Quelques tuyaux pour les nouveaux députés 


  • Choisissez un local facile d’accès, visible et invitant. Tenez compte des circuits d’autobus et des possibilités de stat 
  • ionnement, mais essayez aussi d’encourager les visites spontanées. 
  • Demandez-vous si votre bureau est suffisamment invitant. Est-ce qu’un étranger s’y sent bienvenu ou a l’impression d’être un intrus? 
  • Servez-vous de vos locaux pour faire connaître votre volonté de servir et vos réalisations. 
  • Investissez dans un affichage original, clairement visible et adapté. 
  • Rendez votre bureau attrayant pour les gens de toute allégeance politique. Évitez les couleurs associées aux partis politiques. 
  • Si possible, logez-vous au même endroit que votre homologue provincial.  
  • Prévoyez une série d’activités, de discussions et de manifestations spéciales tout au long de l’année. 
  • Veillez à ce que vos employés se sentent en sécurité. Ont-ils de bonnes lignes de vue et votre bureau comporte-t-il une sortie secondaire? 
  • Organisez-vous pour être prêt à agir le lendemain même des élections. 
  • Misez sur l’expérience plutôt que sur le politique. Un bon adjoint de circonscription possède une nature sociable, aime résoudre des problèmes et connaît sa collectivité comme le fond de sa poche. 
  • Faites la dépense de logiciels ou de bases de données personnalisés pour faciliter le suivi des demandes de renseignements et des dossiers. 
  • Constituez des conseils consultatifs et convoquez des mini-assemblées populaires régulièrement. 
  • Créez immédiatement un poste de stagiaire. 
  • Envisagez d’offrir l’usage de vos locaux aux groupes communautaires pour leurs réunions ou pour la rencontre de groupes différents. 

 

Notes 

1. Voir Peter MacLeod, « The High Cost of Constituency Politics », Globe and Mail, 24 novembre 2004. 

2. Peter MacLeod, Low Road to Democratic Reform: Constituency Offices, Public Service Provision and Citizen Engagement. Rapport au Secrétariat du renouveau démocratique, Bureau du Conseil privé, Ottawa, 2005. 

3. Peter MacLeod, « La gouvernance en périphérie », Opinion Canada, vol. 7, no 3  (27 janvier 2005), p. 2. 

4. Bea Vongdouangchanh, « The Constituency Project », The Hill Times, 8 novembre 2004. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 29 no 1
2006






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29