Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities:  The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speaker in British Columbia 

On September 12, 2005, Bill Barisoff, Member for Penticton- Okanagan Valley, was elected as the 36th Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. 

Mr. Barisoff served as Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection and Minister of Provincial Revenue in the previous BC Liberal government.  Earlier, Mr. Barisoff also held a variety of critic roles for the Official Opposition, including agriculture, transportation and highways and aboriginal affairs. He served on the province's Motor Carrier Commission and was a member of the Select Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and the Select Standing Committee on Agriculture and Fisheries. 

First elected in 1996 to represent the riding of Okanagan-Boundary, Mr. Barisoff was re-elected in 2001 for Penticton-Okanagan Valley. Mr. Barisoff, who was born and raised in Oliver, owned a trucking firm before his election to the Legislative Assembly. He served also as a school trustee for 18 years, including eight as chair of the Southern Okanagan school board; was a volunteer firefighter in Oliver for over 25 years; and sat on the Okanagan Labour Relations Council. He was also chair of the Oliver Recreation Commission for one year. 

New Speaker in Ontario 

The new Speaker of the Ontario Legislative Assembly is Michael A. Brown. He represents the riding of Algoma-Manitoulin. 

Born in Sarnia, he is a graduate from Humber College of Applied Arts and Technologies and the University of Western Ontario. Prior to entering provincial politics he was the deputy mayor of Gore Bay and President of the Manitoulin Municipal Association. He managed a small business and worked as a funeral director on Manitoulin Island from 1974-1987. First elected in 1987, he was re-elected in 1990, 1995, 1999 and 2003. 

Mike Brown has held numerous key posts both in government and opposition. He was Deputy Speaker of the Ontario Legislature in 1999. In opposition, he was the Liberal critic for Seniors Issues, Natural Resources, and Northern Development and Mines. In government he is a former Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Natural Resources. He also chaired the Cabinet Committee on Education Policy, and is a former member of the Legislative Committee on Justice Policy. 

Twenty-Seventh Canadian Regional Parliamentary Seminar 

Prince Edward Island was host of the 27th Canadian Regional Parliamentary Seminar from October 20-23, 2005. Approximately forty five delegates and observers from all jurisdictions except the Northwest Territories were represented. Speaker Greg Deighan of Prince Edward Island was the host and several other Speakers attended including Harvey Hodder of Newfoundland and Labrador, George Hicks of Manitoba, Jobie Nutarak of Nunavut and Ted Staffer of Yukon. 

Sessions were held at the Loyalist Lodge in Summerside PEI. The following were the topics and the presenters. 

  • Water Stewardship in Manitoba
    Tom Nevakshonoff, MLA Manitoba 
  • Electoral Reform in Prince Edward Island
    Leonard Russell, Chair of the Commission of PEI’s Electoral Future 
  • Women in Politics
    Charlotte L’Écuyer, MNA, Quebec 
  • The Role of the Opposition during Question Period
    Len Derkach, MLA, Manitoba 
  • The Changing Role of the MLA
    Wally Stiles, MLA, New Brunswick 

Aside from the business session delegates were offered an opportunity to visit the Atlantic Wind Test Site at North Cape or visit one of PEI’s potato farms. 

Speaker Deighan and staff headed by Charles Mackay did everything to make this a memorable visit to one of Canada’s most picturesque and interesting provinces. 

Fourth Canadian Parliamentary Seminar 

From November 20-26, 2005 some twenty-one individuals from all parts of the Commonwealth attended a seminar hosted by the Canadian Branch of CPA. 

The first session dealt with the Commonwealth and the Role of the CPA.  The Speakers were Sarmite Bulte, Chair of the Canadian Branch and Andrew Imlach from CPA Headquarters in London.  The Clerk of the House of Commons, Audrey O'Brien and the Deputy Clerk of the Senate, Gary O'Brien, provided the delegates with an overview of the operation of the Canadian Parliament. 

The following sessions were also held: 

  • The Canadian Political Scene
    Senator David Smith and Gary Lunn MP 
  • Getting There: Political Recruiting and Women in the Political Process
    Anita Neville MP and Judy Wasylycia-Leis MP 
  • The Parliamentary Presence of Political Parties: The Role of Party Caucuses
    Senator Terry Stratton and Andy Savoy MP 
  • Parliament and Civil Society
    Paddy Torsney MP, Derek Lee MP, Alexa McDonough MP 
  • How an MP’s Office Works
    John Maloney MP and Gurmant Grewal MP 
  • Have the Media Taken Over the Representational Job of Parliamentarians?
    Senator Joan Fraser and Paul Wells, Maclean's Magazine 
  • Parliamentary Committees:  What Works and What Doesn't
    Bill Blaikie MP and John Williams MP 
  • Engaging Citizens:  Resources and Tools
    Don Boudria MP and Gurmant Grewal MP 
  • Connecting with Constituents: Representing Pluralistic Constituencies
    Derek Lee MP 
  • Influencing Governments and Regulating Influence
    Don Boudria, MP and Sean Moore, Policy Advisor, Gowling Lafleur Henderson 

A number of social events were arranged for the visiting parliamentarians including a lunch hosted by Senate Speaker Dan Hays, a dinner hosted by Speaker Peter Milliken and a dinner hosted by the Canadian Branch of CPA. 

The seminar took place during the very hectic final week of the 37th Parliament and delegates, many of who were from tropical climates, were also exposed to the first snowstorm of the winter. 

New Clerk of the House 

On October 7, 2005 Audrey O’Brien was appointed Clerk of the House of Commons replacing William Corbett who retired. She had been Acting Clerk since May 2005 and Interim Head of Parliamentary Precinct Services since March 2005. 

A native of Quebec, Ms O’Brien studied at Mount Saint Vincent University, Carleton University and Queens University before joining the House of Commons as a Committee Clerk in 1976. Over the years she has held a number of positions in the House including: Executive Assistant to the Clerk of the House and Principal Clerk of the Table Research Branch. She was named Clerk Assistant (Corporate Resources) in 1999 and Deputy Clerk in July 2000. 

She has served on attachments in the United Kingdom and Australia. Since 1996 she has been Secretary to the Conference of Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers. 

New Parliamentary Librarian 

William R. (Bill) Young was appointed Parliamentary Librarian in November 2005. He rejoins the Library of Parliament after a two-year secondment to the Department of Social Development as Departmental Assistant to the Deputy Minister. Previously, he held the position of Director, Political and Social Affairs Division, at the Library.  

As a professional historian, Dr. Young is the author of various books as well as academic and popular articles. He has also written many parliamentary reports. He has taught senior courses and seminars at McGill, Simon Fraser and York universities. Last year, he held an appointment as Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of Toronto. After receiving a B.A., Dr. Young went on to earn his M.A. and Ph.D. at the University of British Columbia.  


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 28 no 4
2005






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
APC:  La scène canadienneAPC: La scène canadienne


Nouveau président en Colombie-Britannique 

Le 12 septembre 2005, Bill Barisoff, député de Penticton-Okanagan Valley, a été élu président de l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie- Britannique. 

M. Barisoff a été ministre de la Protection de l'eau, des terres et de l'air et ministre du Revenu provincial dans le gouvernement libéral précédent. Auparavant, il a été porte-parole de l'opposition dans divers domaines, notamment l'agriculture, les transports et le réseau routier, et les affaires autochtones. Il a siégé à la Commission des transporteurs routiers ainsi qu'aux comités permanents des affaires autochtones et de l'agriculture et des pêches. 

Élu la première fois en 1996 pour représenter la circonscription d'Okanagan-Boundary, M. Barisoff a été réélu, en 2001, dans Penticton-Okanagan Valley. Natif d'Oliver, où il a grandi, il a été propriétaire d'une société de camionnage avant son élection à l'Assemblée législative. Par ailleurs, il a été commissaire d'école pendant 18 ans, dont 8 à titre de président du conseil scolaire Southern Okanagan. Il a aussi été pompier volontaire à Oliver pendant plus de 25 ans et membre du Conseil des relations de travail de l'Okanagan. Il a également présidé la Commission des loisirs d'Oliver pendant un an. 

Nouveau président en Ontario 

Le nouveau président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario est Michael A. Brown. Il représente la circonscription d'Algoma-Manitoulin. 

Né à Sarnia, il est diplômé du Humber College of Applied Arts and Technologies et de l'Université de Western Ontario. Avant de se lancer en politique provinciale, il a été maire suppléant de Gore Bay et président de l'Association municipale de Manitoulin. Il a géré une petite entreprise et travaillé comme entrepreneur de pompes funèbres sur l'île Manitoulin, de 1974 à 1987. Élu pour la première fois en 1987, il a été réélu en 1990, 1995, 1999 et 2003. 

M. Brown a occupé de nombreux postes importants au sein du gouvernement et dans l'opposition. Il a été vice-président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario en 1999. Dans l'opposition, il a été porte-parole libéral en matière d'aînés, de ressources naturelles et de développement du Nord et des mines. Au sein du gouvernement, il a été adjoint parlementaire du ministre des Ressources naturelles. Il a également présidé le Comité ministériel sur la politique de l'éducation, en plus d'avoir siégé au Comité législatif sur la politique de la justice. 

Vingt-septième Colloque parlementaire canadien 

L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a accueilli le 27e Colloque parlementaire canadien, du 20 au 23 octobre. Quelque 45 délégués et observateurs de toutes les administrations, sauf des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, étaient présents. Le président Greg Deighan, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, a été l'hôte et plusieurs autres présidents ont été de la partie, notamment Harvey Hodder, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, George Hicks, du Manitoba, Jobie Nutarak, du Nunavut, et Ted Staffer, du Yukon. 

Les séances de travail avaient lieu au Loyalist Lodge de Summerside. Voici les différents sujets abordés et les conférenciers : 

  • L'administration de l'eau au Manitoba
    Tom Nevakshonoff, député provincial du Manitoba 
  • La réforme électorale à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
    Leonard Russell, président de la Commission sur le futur électoral de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard 
  • Les femmes en politique
    Charlotte L'Écuyer, membre de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec 
  • Le rôle de l'opposition pendant la période des questions
    Len Derkach, député provincial du Manitoba 
  • L'évolution du rôle du député provincial
    Wally Stiles, député provincial du Nouveau-Brunswick. 

En plus des séances de travail, les délégués ont pu soit visiter le Terrain d'essais éoliens de l'Atlantique, à North Cape, soit visiter une exploitation de pommes de terre de l'Île. 

Le président Deighan et son personnel, dirigé par Charles Mackay, ont fait tout en leur pouvoir pour rendre mémorable ce séjour dans l'une des provinces les plus pittoresques et fascinantes du Canada. 

Quatrième Colloque parlementaire canadien 

Du 20 au 26 novembre, une vingtaine de participants de toutes les régions du Commonwealth ont assisté à un colloque organisé par la section canadienne de l'APC. 

La première séance a porté sur le Commonwealth et le rôle de l'APC. Sarmite Bulte, présidente de la section canadienne de l'APC, et Andrew Imlach, du siège de l'APC à Londres, ont présidé cette séance. La greffière de la Chambre des communes, Audrey O'Brien, et le sous-greffier du Sénat, Gary O'Brien, ont présenté aux délégués un aperçu du fonctionnement du Parlement canadien. 

Voici les thèmes et les responsables des autres séances : 

  • La scène politique canadienne
    David Smith, sénateur, et Gary Lunn, député fédéral 
  • Le recrutement politique et la femme dans le processus politique
    Anita Neville et Judy Wasylycia-Leis, députées fédérales 
  • La présence des partis politiques au Parlement : le rôle des caucus des partis
    Terry Stratton, sénateur, et Andy Savoy, député fédéral 
  • Le Parlement et la société civile
    Paddy Torsney, Derek Lee et Alexa McDonough, députés fédéraux 
  • Le fonctionnement du bureau du député
    John Maloney et Gurmant Grewal, députés fédéraux 
  • Les médias assument-ils le mandat représentatif des parlementaires?
    Joan Fraser, sénateur et Paul Wells, de la revue Maclean's 
  • Les comités parlementaires : forces et faiblesses
    Bill Blaikie et John Williams, députés fédéraux 
  • Favoriser la participation des citoyens : ressources et outils
    Don Boudria et Gurmant Grewal, député fédéraux 
  • Créer des liens avec les électeurs : les circonscriptions pluralistes
    Derek Lee, député fédéral 
  • Agir sur le gouvernement et contrôler cette action
    Don Boudria, député fédéral, et Sean Moore, conseiller en politiques, Gowling Lafleur Henderson 

Parmi les activités mondiales qui avaient été prévues pour les parlementaires invités, mentionnons un déjeuner offert par le président du Sénat, Dan Hays, un dîner organisé par le président de la Chambre des communes, Peter Milliken, ainsi qu'un dîner offert par la section canadienne de l'APC. 

Le colloque s'est déroulé durant la dernière semaine de la 37e législature, qui a été très mouvementée. 

Nouvelle greffière à la Chambre 

Le 7 octobre, Audrey O'Brien a été nommée greffière de la Chambre des communes, succédant ainsi à William Corbett, qui a pris sa retraite. Tout juste auparavant, elle avait été désignée greffière par intérim en mai 2005 et, deux mois plus tôt, chef par intérim des Services de la Cité parlementaire. 

Québécoise de naissance, Mme O'Brien a étudié aux universités Mount Saint Vincent, Carleton et Queen's avant d'entrer à l'emploi de la Chambre des communes à titre de greffière de comité, en 1976. Au fil des ans, elle a occupé divers postes à la Chambre, notamment celui d'adjointe de direction du greffier et celui de greffière principale à la Direction des recherches pour le Bureau. Elle a été nommé greffière adjointe (Ressources corporatives) en 1999 et sous-greffière en juillet 2000. 

Elle a été en affectation au Royaume-Uni et en Australie. Depuis 1996, elle est secrétaire de la Conférence des présidents des Parlements du Commonwealth 

Nouveau bibliothécaire parlementaire 

William R. (Bill) Young a été nommé bibliothécaire parlementaire en novembre 2005. Il revient à la Bibliothèque du Parlement après une affectation de deux ans à titre d'adjoint ministériel auprès du sous-ministre de Développement social Canada. Auparavant, il a occupé le poste de directeur de la Division des affaires politiques et sociales de la Bibliothèque. 

Historien professionnel, M. Young est l'auteur de plusieurs livres ainsi que d'articles de recherche et de vulgarisation. Il a aussi rédigé de nombreux rapports parlementaires. Il a donné des cours et des séminaires de cycles supérieurs aux universités McGill, Simon Fraser et York. L'an dernier, il a été professeur auxiliaire à la Faculté des études supérieures de l'Université de Toronto. Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts, M. Young a obtenu une maîtrise ès arts et un doctorat de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 28 no 4
2005






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03