Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
The Need for Codification of Parliamentary Privilege
Derek Lee, M.P.

The current adherence of our House of Commons and all other Canadian parliamentary assemblies to the body of law known as “Privilege” is neither convention nor happenstance. Privilege is an essential component of our parliamentary democracy. 

Since it is buried in the foundations of our complex modern government one could also say that it is only the “plumbers and engineers” who ever see it in operation or have to work with it. 

Nevertheless, privilege is certainly alive, since we could not operate a Parliament of the type we have now without it. Arguably it is just as important to Parliament as the Ten Commandments are to the Judeo-Christian faiths. However, privilege has not had the benefit of being written down on tablets as the Commandments were. The absence of a comprehensive codification of this legal construct has allowed for flexibility and adaptation to changing times. But, I would also argue that this circumstance has produced new challenges, including such effects as being misunderstood (perhaps the least worrisome), public ignorance, conflict with other laws and conflict with other institutions. By far the most troublesome, for a political institution in a democracy, is minimal awareness and uncertainty that it has support of the citizenry. 

In further exploring the current status of privilege, which remains firmly based on principles of institutional necessity and free speech, I would like to examine three areas in more detail: 

  • The lack of knowledge or understanding of privilege, not just on the part of the public, and not only among lawyers, but among legislators themselves. 
  • The term “privilege” itself which is an unfortunate “brand name” in modern times and is needlessly suggestive of elitism and special status for elected persons. 
  • The need for codification. 

The practice of parliamentary law and privilege might be commonplace for Speakers, Clerks and a few Parliamentarians, however it clearly  suffers from a lack of public understanding. Public knowledge, lawyerly knowledge and even judicial knowledge of the law and application of privilege are abysmally low. The level of awareness and knowledge of parliamentary privilege across the country is probably in about the same range as knowledge of Canon Law. The average lawyer probably knows more about meteorology. 

I am not aware of any law school in Canada which teaches parliamentary law. If I am wrong, my lack of awareness is just as telling. Surely there is a law school in this country capable of undertaking an attempt to modernize, codify or reform this area of privilege law. Such a project would be helpful to legislative houses across Canada. 

I attended law school in Ontario in 1970 and practiced law for about 15 years before being elected to the House of Commons. I do not remember ever hearing of privilege until I came to the House. Most Members of Parliament and MLAs would say something similar. So we have now, as we did at Confederation, parliamentarians entering legislatures and subject to a distinct legal construct of which they know almost nothing. 

This means a person can become a judge, go through half a career and then have to learn about it, sometimes from counsel who just learned about it two days before from a legal brief prepared by a law student four days earlier. This general ignorance of the law of privilege also means we lack a critical mass of citizens who accept and support it. Privilege is constitutional in nature and cannot change on a whim, but even constitutions can change if the people take a mind to do so. 

When there are instances of conflict or competition between laws, the absence of knowledge and of general support for a law could lead to difficulty in any of our courts or tribunals. Our goal should be to pre-empt conflicts where possible, ensure clarity and good legal decisions which respect the place and role of parliamentary assemblies. 

The very term parliamentary privilege I find unhelpful, and I believe inhibits public understanding. Firstly, the word “privilege” has a different meaning in modern language than it had centuries ago and no longer describes to the layman a body of law. Rather the public equates it with a bundle of special arrangements for an elite. This is perhaps ironic, given that it was originally created as a body of protections for the Commons, to protect those Members from the elites of that time. 

Secondly, the roots of privilege can be traced back to the beginnings of parliamentary government. It is an ancient concept, with freedom of speech for parliamentarians being codified in the United Kingdom Bill of Rights, 1689. In fact, there are roots going back to the Magna Carta of 1215. But for most of our legislatures there does not exist a codification in current or colloquial language. 

As a result, there are real barriers to public understanding. Even a simple newspaper editorial on the subject using this kind of language, runs the risk of putting the reader to sleep or making him angry. 

We need to change the term “privilege”. Perhaps call it Parliamentary Law. The laws governing parliamentary free speech could be broken down into “bite size” components and re-styled as confidentiality, immunity, compellability, subpoena, and so forth. 

One of the oddest characteristics of modern day privilege in this and perhaps other countries, is that even those who work it, seem to have fallen into a pattern of describing privilege by reference to quotes not from parliamentarians, but from judges even though Parliaments have historically prohibited Courts from tinkering with privilege. 

So modern benchmarks in this area of law are now found in Court judgments and not rulings of the Speakers. Shame on us. Parliamentarians should never allow this body of law to be turned over to Judges and the Courts. It seems to me that was the whole point of creating parliamentary law in the first place. This is a dangerous road to be traveling. The only way I see out of this is to attempt a modern codification. 

Other Parliamentary democracies have moved to modernize privilege. Australia has taken the step of legislating privilege, with the Parliamentary Privilege Act of 1987. In my opinion, legislation is neither required nor desired. The United Kingdom on the other hand has taken steps to modernize and move toward codification as seen in the First Report of the Joint Committee on Parliamentary Privilege in 1999. We could take a similar approach here in Canada, but it would be a big project. 

I would propose we take steps towards a codification of the law of privilege (preferably under another name). This move could benefit all Houses in Canada and provide better understanding of the separate and individual elements of privilege law for the public, media and Members of Parliament themselves. 

Such an undertaking would have to be comprehensive and rigorous. Parliament would have to review the entire body of privilege, codifying in modern language the rights and immunities that allow parliament to work effectively, while possibly eliminating outdated terms or practices that are not applicable to current legal infrastructure, and are out of step with modern law, modern language and current concepts of citizen rights in Canada. Since the workings of Parliament are dependent on this body of law being comprehensive and firm, the boundaries of the applications of this law should also be clear and defined. Clear definition will allow privilege to function in a healthy robust way, while providing the public understanding necessary in these times of transparent and open democracy. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 28 no 1
2005






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
La nécessité de codifier le privilège parlementaire
Derek Lee, député

L'adhésion actuelle de notre chambre des communes et de toutes les autres assemblées parlementaires canadiennes à l'ensemble des principes juridiques qu'on appelle « privilège » n'est ni un usage ni un hasard. Le privilège forme un élément essentiel de notre démocratie parlementaire. 

D'aucuns pourraient aussi affirmer que, comme ces principes sont ancrés dans les fondations mêmes de notre gouvernement moderne complexe, seuls les spécialistes les voient en application ou doivent travailler avec eux.  

Quoi qu'il en soit, le privilège est bel et bien présent, puisqu'un parlement comme le nôtre ne pourrait fonctionner sans lui. On pourrait dire qu'il revêt autant d'importance pour le Parlement que les dix commandements pour les religions judéo-chrétiennes. Contrairement aux dix commandements, le privilège parlementaire n'a toutefois jamais été consigné par écrit. Si l'absence d'une codification complète de ces principes juridiques a permis une certaine flexibilité et une adaptation au fil des ans, elle a aussi été la source de nouvelles difficultés, comme le manque de compréhension de ces principes (sans doute l'aspect le moins inquiétant), leur méconnaissance de la part de la population, l'existence de conflits avec d'autres lois et d'autres institutions. Il reste que le plus préoccupant, pour une institution politique dans une démocratie, réside dans le peu de sensibilisation de l'ensemble des citoyens et l'incertitude quant au degré d'appui de ceux-ci. 

Afin d'explorer davantage l'état actuel du privilège, qui repose principalement sur des principes de nécessité institutionnelle et de liberté d'expression, j'aimerais m'attarder sur trois aspects en particulier :

  • La méconnaissance ou l'incompréhension du privilège, pas seulement de la part du public et des avocats, mais aussi des législateurs eux-mêmes. 
  • Le terme « privilège » en soi n'est pas bien perçu de nos jours et suggère malencontreusement une sorte d'élitisme et de statut spécial pour les élus. 
  • La nécessité d'une codification. 

L'application du droits et des privilèges parlementaires peut sembler simple pour les présidents, les greffiers et une poignée de parlementaires, mais elle souffre clairement de l'incompréhension de la population en général. Le public, les juristes et les tribunaux ont une compréhension vraiment très sommaire du privilège parlementaire et de son application. Le privilège parlementaire est à peu près aussi connu et compris dans l'ensemble du pays que le droit canon. L'avocat moyen en sait probablement plus sur la météorologie. 

À ma connaissance, aucune école de droit au Canada n'enseigne le droit parlementaire. Si jamais il en existe un, le seul fait que je ne sois pas au courant est assez éloquent. Il y a sûrement au pays une école de droit capable de s'attaquer à un projet de modernisation, de codification ou de réforme du privilège parlementaire, qui pourrait être très utile aux assemblées législatives de tout le Canada. 

J'ai moi-même étudié le droit en Ontario en 1970 et pratiqué pendant presque 15 ans avant d'être élu à la Chambre des communes, et je n'avais jamais entendu parlé du privilège parlementaire avant d'être député. Il en est probablement de même pour la plupart de nos collègues députés et homologues provinciaux. Nous nous retrouvons donc, comme au début de la Confédération, avec des parlementaires néophytes qui ne savent presque rien de ces principes juridiques particuliers. 

Ainsi, un juge peut passer la moitié de sa carrière sans savoir que ce privilège existe et en apprendre soudainement l'existence, parfois par l'entremise d'un avocat, qui en a lui-même pris connaissance deux jours auparavant dans un mémoire préparé par un étudiant en droit quatre jours plus tôt. Cette méconnaissance générale du privilège parlementaire suppose aussi qu'il n'y a pas de masse critique de citoyens qui l'acceptent et l'appuient. Le privilège est de nature constitutionnelle et ne peut être modifié pour un oui ou pour un non, mais il est possible de changer une constitution si tel est le vœu de la population. 

Lorsqu'il y a conflit ou contradiction entre des lois, la méconnaissance d'une loi, ainsi que le manque d'appui général à son égard, risquent d'engendrer des situations difficiles dans n'importe quel des tribunaux. Nous devrions avoir pour but d'anticiper les conflits possibles et de veiller à clarifier le tout et à faciliter la prise de bonnes décisions juridiques dans le respect de la place et du rôle des assemblées législatives. 

À mon avis, l'expression « privilège parlementaire » induit elle-même le public en erreur. D'une part, le mot « privilège » n'a plus la même signification qu'il y a quelques siècles et ne désigne plus, pour les profanes, un ensemble de principes juridiques, mais plutôt un ensemble d'arrangements spéciaux destinés à l'élite. L'ironie, c'est que, à l'origine, le privilège constituait un ensemble de mesures visant à protéger les députés des Communes contre l'élite de l'époque. 

D'autre part, les racines du privilège remontent aux débuts du gouvernement parlementaire. Il s'agit d'un concept ancien; la reconnaissance de la liberté d'expression aux parlementaires a été codifiée dans la Déclaration des droits du Royaume-Uni, en 1689. En fait, certains concepts remontent même à la Magna Carta de 1215. Cependant, dans la plupart de nos assemblées législatives, il n'en existe aucune codification en langue courante. 

Les obstacles à la compréhension du public sont donc bien réels. Même un simple éditorial sur le sujet utilisant ce genre de langage risque d'endormir ou de mettre le lecteur en colère. 

Il serait peut-être préférable de parler de droit parlementaire plutôt que de privilège. Les principes régissant la liberté d'expression parlementaire pourraient être scindés en éléments plus simples dont les désignations feraient plutôt référence à des notions comme la confidentialité, l'immunité, la contraignabilité, l'assignation à comparaître, etc. 

L'un des aspects les plus bizarres du privilège parlementaire de nos jours, ici et peut-être dans d'autres pays, est que même ceux qui l'appliquent semblent avoir pris l'habitude de le décrire en se reportant aux propos non pas de parlementaires, mais de juges, et ce, même si, depuis toujours, les parlements ont toujours empêché les tribunaux de s'ingérer dans le privilège parlementaire. 

Il faut donc parfois se reporter aux jugements plutôt qu'aux décisions des présidents d'assemblée pour trouver des exemples d'application moderne de ces principes juridiques. Honte aux parlementaires, qui n'auraient jamais dû permettre que l'interprétation de cet ensemble de principes juridiques soit cédée aux juges et aux tribunaux! C'est là que réside, à mon avis, toute l'utilité d'un droit parlementaire, mais cette option n'est pas sans danger. Le seul moyen de s'en sortir serait de tenter une codification moderne. 

D'autres démocraties parlementaires ont pris des mesures pour moderniser les règles régissant le privilège. L'Australie a décidé de légiférer en créant la Parlementary Privilege Act, en 1987. Selon moi, il n'est ni nécessaire ni souhaitable d'adopter une loi. Au Royaume-Uni, on a plutôt tenté de moderniser le privilège en vue de le codifier, comme en témoigne le premier rapport du Comité mixte du privilège parlementaire publié en 1999. Nous pourrions faire de même ici, au Canada, mais le projet serait de taille. 

Je propose que nous entamions la codification du privilège parlementaire (de préférence, en utilisant une autre désignation). Ce projet pourrait être profitable à toutes les assemblées législatives du Canada et permettrait au public, aux médias et aux députés eux-mêmes d'acquérir une meilleure compréhension des différents éléments du privilège parlementaire. 

La réalisation d'un tel projet exigerait un grand souci du détail et de la rigueur. Il incomberait au Parlement de revoir tous les principes du privilège parlementaire et de codifier en langue moderne les droits et les immunités qui contribuent à son bon fonctionnement. Il lui faudrait, par ailleurs, chercher à éliminer les pratiques et les termes désuets qui ne s'appliquent pas à l'infrastructure juridique actuelle et qui sont déphasés par rapport au droit moderne, à la langue moderne et aux notions actuelles de droits des citoyens au Canada. Puisque que les travaux du Parlement dépendent de l'intégralité et de la solidité de cet ensemble de principes, il convient d'en définir et d'en établir clairement les limites d'application. Ainsi, le privilège sera appliqué d'une façon stricte et saine, et le public en saisira mieux l'importance aujourd'hui pour une démocratie ouverte et transparente. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 28 no 1
2005






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15