Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
The Case Against Proportional Representation
Jim Nielsen

Electing members of a Parliament is not an end in itself. These persons chosen in some manner may assemble and offer their opinions at chosen times but the purpose of choosing members is to permit the formation of a government from amongst those MLAs supported by the voters.

Debate in the legislative assembly may be entertaining, enlightening and important but unless someone is listening and in authority to act on the matters discussed and decided then there is little purpose of having members. 

Therefore a government must be created from among the members chosen.  The best manner for a government to be chosen is for a party to have a majority of seats in the house and be called upon to form a government and then provide the needed leadership required to conduct public business.  

Proportional representation tends to foster minority government and history would suggest most citizens do not want minority government.  British Columbia elections have been held along party lines since 1903 and there have been only three instances of a minority government resulting from a general election — in 1924, 1941 and 1952.  If the voters of British Columbia believed minority government was the preferred option then the results of those elections would reflect that opinion.  Of the 28 governments elected since 1903 twenty five have been majorities. 

Coalition governments leave much to be desired.  Too often a small faction can hold the balance of power and use that to secure objectives considered important or urgent by a small number of people but not always in the best interest of the general public. 

Since 1903 about 800 British Columbians have been successful in their quest for a seat in the legislative assembly of our province.  An examination of those chosen shows a record of community involvement, elected or otherwise, for the most part.  Traditionally, among the more established political parties, successful candidates must submit to a rigorous process beginning with the recruitment of supporters within the constituency organization then to the nomination meeting and from there to the election itself.  Often the process may require commitment for a couple of years before the election.  During that time these hopeful residents of British Columbia will submit to close scrutiny by their peers the media and ultimately the voter.  Only those with a desire to serve all of the people in the riding are most often successful.  The process soon eliminates those that might be involved as a lark or a sudden impulse.  While not infallible it is a good test to determine sincerity and commitment of candidates. 

In a democratic society it is important to avoid either the tyranny of the majority or the tyranny of the minority.  Population numbers provide the Greater Vancouver area with the majority of seats in any provincial legislature.  That population and its power should be restricted to the greater Vancouver area.  Any residual voter’s preference should not find its way into outlying constituencies where the preference of residents may not be consistent with those within a major metropolitan area. 

It is important for residents to have a sense of community and control over the results of an election within their riding.  The determination of a representative should be in the hands of the voters within their electoral boundaries.  British Columbia is made up of communities, large or small, and the attitudes vary greater depending upon their choice of location.  Do not impose an outside influence on our choice of choosing our representative. 

There always will be those that choose to march to the beat of their own drummer.  Just because these extreme attitudes exist does mean we should be subjected to their inclusion as part of our government system.  Our tradition suggests minority points of view and extreme attitudes often can find a place within established political parties. Should others choose to believe only they have the answers then they are destined to be apart and for the most part alone. 

Some jurisdictions have opted for different methods of choosing their representatives for a myriad of reasons over time. Their experiences are relative to their needs but not to the needs of British Columbia.  Our system has served us well for more than a century. Those that participated in the political world of our province over those years were not without knowledge and wisdom.  

Citizens of British Columbia have been choosing their representatives for the most part over 133 years by permitting the candidate with the greatest support in a riding to represent the residents in Victoria. 

The system was adopted from our federal system of choosing MPs and before than the traditional method of elected members in the United Kingdom.  Over the centuries many minds have considered the process and while a multitude of changes have occurred relating to the details of the election laws the concept of having a winner as chosen by the people within a geographical area has remained constant. 

Would a system that incorporates the requirement of a majority of votes cast in a riding before a candidate is said to be elected improve our system?  We have experienced the results of such an experiment under the alternative voting system method in 1952 and again in 1953. It was discarded. 

If we are to maintain confidence in our system and government then the people of the province must accept the election results.  There will always be those wishing to keep the political wars on fire between elections and they have the right so to do.  It is important that citizens of British Columbia, potential investors to our province and those with whom the province does business including the public service have a period of time during which there is stability and predictability.  When an election campaign is over it should be over and the chosen government must get on with the job. 

For all these reasons I support the present first past the post system and oppose any change to proportional representation. 

Jim Nielsen served for eleven years as MLA for Richmond in the British Columbia Legislature. He is a former Minister of the Environment, Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Minister of Health and Minister of Social Services. A journalist and member of the Peachland Council he addressed the British Columbia Citizens’ Assembly at its regional hearings in Kelowna on June 24, 2004 and was one of nine persons selected to return and address the entire Assembly. This article is a slightly revised version of his address to the Citizens' Assembly on September 11, 2004. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 4
2004






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Plaidoyer à l'encontre de la représentation proportionnelle
Jim Nielsen

L'élection des députés n'est pas une fin en soi. Les personnes choisies d'une manière ou d'une autre peuvent se rassembler et exprimer leur opinion à des moments particuliers, mais le but de l'élection est de permettre la formation d'un gouvernement à même le groupe de députés qui ont reçu l'appui des électeurs. 

Les débats au sein d'une assemblée législative peuvent être divertissants, éclairants et importants, mais, à moins que quelqu'un ne soit à l'écoute et n'ait le pouvoir de donner suite aux discussions et décisions, la présence des députés n'a guère d'utilité. 

Il faut donc créer un gouvernement formé de députés élus. Le choix d'un gouvernement se fait le plus facilement lorsqu'un parti dispose d'une majorité de sièges à la Chambre et qu'on lui demande de former ce gouvernement, après quoi il est aux leviers de commande pour diriger les affaires publiques. 

La représentation proportionnelle tend à favoriser la mise en place de gouvernements minoritaires, et l'histoire donne à penser que la plupart des citoyens ne veulent pas de ce type de gouvernements. En Colombie-Britannique, où des campagnes électorales sont  menées par des partis politiques depuis 1903, il n'y a eu que trois gouvernements minoritaires issus d'élections générales : en 1924, en 1941 et en 1952. Si les électeurs de la province avaient préféré des gouvernements minoritaires, le résultat des élections aurait fait écho à ce point de vue. Sur les 28 gouvernements élus depuis 1902, 25 ont été majoritaires. 

Les gouvernements de coalition laissent beaucoup à désirer. Trop souvent, un groupe restreint d'élus peut détenir la balance du pouvoir et l'utiliser pour concrétiser des objectifs jugés importants ou urgents par un petit groupe de personnes, mais qui ne sont pas toujours au mieux des intérêts du grand public. 

Depuis 1903, environ 800 personnes ont réussi à se faire élire à l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique. Lorsqu'on examine le dossier des candidats victorieux, on constate que la plupart avaient des états de service au sein de la collectivité, dans des postes élus ou non. Au sein des partis politiques établis de longue date, les candidats retenus doivent habituellement avoir franchi les étapes d'un processus rigoureux débutant par le recrutement de partisans au sein de l'organisation de circonscription; l'assemblée de mise en candidature vient ensuite, puis l'élection elle-même. Souvent, le processus exige un engagement de quelques années avant l'élection. Les résidants de la province qui veulent briguer les suffrages se soumettent alors à un examen rigoureux de la part de leurs pairs, des médias et, en fin de compte, des électeurs. La plupart du temps, seuls ceux qui désirent travailler pour tous les électeurs de la circonscription sont victorieux. En effet, le processus permet d'éliminer rapidement ceux qui veulent faire une bonne blague ou qui décident de participer sur un coup de tête. Quoique faillible, le système est efficace pour déterminer la sincérité et l'engagement des candidats. 

Dans une société démocratique, il importe d'éviter aussi bien la tyrannie de la majorité que celle de la minorité. Les statistiques démographiques donnent à la région du Grand Vancouver une majorité des sièges à l'Assemblée législative provinciale. Le poids de cette population et son pouvoir devraient se limiter à la région métropolitaine de Vancouver. La préférence résiduelle des électeurs ne devrait pas avoir d'incidence jusque dans les circonscriptions périphériques d'une vaste région métropolitaine, où les résidents peuvent très bien avoir un point de vue divergent. 

Il importe que les résidants aient le sentiment d'appartenir à leur collectivité et de contrôler les résultats de l'élection au sein de leur circonscription. Le choix d'un représentant devrait relever des électeurs à l'intérieur des limites de la circonscription. La Colombie-Britannique est composée de petites et grandes collectivités, et les attitudes des gens varient grandement en fonction de leur lieu de résidence. Le choix d'un représentant ne doit pas être imposé de l'extérieur.

Il y a toujours des gens qui aiment à faire cavalier seul. Ce n'est pas parce que ces attitudes extrêmes existent que nous devons accepter de les intégrer dans notre système de gouvernement. Dans notre tradition, les points de vue minoritaires et les attitudes extrêmes peuvent souvent s'exprimer au sein des partis politiques établis. Ceux qui croient être les seuls à détenir les bonnes réponses sont destinés à demeurer à l'écart et, essentiellement, seuls. 

Avec le temps, et pour une myriade de raisons, certaines administrations ont opté pour des façons différentes de choisir leurs représentants. Leur expérience est fonction de leurs besoins, mais non de ceux de la Colombie-Britannique. Notre système nous rend de fiers services depuis plus d'un siècle. Ceux qui ont participé à la vie politique de notre province pendant toutes ces années n'étaient pas sans connaissances ni jugement. 

Depuis 133 ans, les citoyens de la Colombie-Britannique envoient le candidat qui bénéficie du meilleur appui au sein de leur circonscription les représenter à Victoria. 

Le système est issu de notre régime fédéral d'élection des députés et, auparavant, de la méthode traditionnelle utilisée à cet égard au Royaume-Uni. Au cours des siècles, de nombreux esprits se sont penchés sur le processus et, bien qu'une multitude de modifications aient été apportées aux détails des lois électorales, le concept d'un candidat victorieux choisi par la population d'un secteur géographique donné est demeuré inchangé. 

Serait-ce une amélioration que d'exiger une majorité des votes exprimés dans une circonscription pour déclarer un candidat élu? En 1952 et 1953, nous avons fait l'expérience d'un tel régime avec le mode de scrutin préférentiel, et il a été rejeté. 

Afin de préserver la confiance dans notre système et notre gouvernement, la population de la province doit souscrire aux résultats des élections. Il y en aura toujours pour souhaiter que les guerres politiques se poursuivent en dehors des périodes électorales, et c'est leur droit. Mais il importe que les citoyens de la Colombie-Britannique, les investisseurs éventuels dans notre province et ceux avec qui elle fait affaire, y compris la fonction publique, bénéficient d'une période de stabilité et de prévisibilité. Lorsqu'une campagne électorale est terminée, elle devrait l'être pour de bon et le gouvernement choisi devrait pouvoir se mettre à l'œuvre. 

Pour les raisons qui précèdent, je soutiens l'actuel système majoritaire uninominal et je m'oppose à tout changement en faveur de la représentation proportionnelle. 

Jim Nielsen a siégé pendant 11 ans comme député de Richmond à l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, où il a été ministre de l'Environnement, ministre de la Consommation et des Affaires commerciales, ministre de la Santé et ministre des Services sociaux. En tant que journaliste et membre du Peachland Council, il a pris la parole devant l'Assemblée de citoyens de la Colombie-Britannique lors des audiences régionales qu'elle a tenues à Kelowna le 24 juin 2004, puis a été l'une des neuf personnes retenues pour revenir présenter un exposé à l'ensemble des délégués. Le présent article est une version légèrement révisée de son allocution du 11 septembre 2004 devant l'Assemblée. 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 4
2004






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03