Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranÁais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Nineteenth Canadian Regional Seminar

The Nineteenth Regional Seminar of the Canadian Region was held in Toronto from November 24-26, 1995. Parliamentarians (including a number of Speakers) from every province, , as well as representatives from the Senate, the House of Commons and Yukon attended the seminar which was held at Queenís Park.

Delegates were welcomed by Speaker Allan McLean of Ontario who also hosted a reception and dinner for the visiting members.

The first session was on the "Role of Independent Commissions in Determining Membersí Remuneration". The opening speaker was Herman Rolfes of Saskatchewan. A number of factors that should be taken into account when fixing salaries were discussed including the very high rate of turnover among Canadian legislators.

The second session looked at "Information Systems, Modern Technology and the Chamber". The lead-off speaker was Denis Heard of Alberta. This session gave members a chance to compare notes about where their respective legislatures were going in this rapidly changing area.

The third session dealt with "Improving the Public Image of Politicians". The opener was Bert Johnson of Ontario. The fourth session dealt with the "Role of the Backbench in a Downsized Legislature". Nancy Guptill, Speaker of the Prince Edward Island was the opener.

The last session dealt with "Constitutional Renewal in Canada after the Referendum". The opener was Don Boudria from the House of Commons. A wide range of views were expressed and there seemed general agreement that changes, both administrative or constitutional, were needed.

This was the first time the seminar was reduced in length to one and one half days and held on a week-end but judging from the level of discussion and participation the format seemed to be appreciated by the delegates.

New Speakers

There are new Speakers in New Brunswick and Newfoundland, the former as a result of a recent provincial election, the latter following a resignation

The new Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly is Donald (Danny) Gay.

Mr. Gay was born on December 12, 1950 in Chatham, New Brunswick. He received his early education in the public schools of Neguac, and graduated from St. Michaelís School in Alma, Quebec. He has a Bachelor of Arts degree from St. Francis Xavier University and a Bachelor of Education degree from Mount St. Vincents. He completed additional courses at the University of Ottawa.

Mr. Gay has a broad range of work experience. He was a labourer in the Gold Mines in Yellowknife, NWT; an officer with the Canadian Armed Forces; a course facilitator with Native peoples at the New Brunswick Community College. He was employed by School District No. 8 as a teacher at Harkins Junior High School in Newcastle before entering politics.

Mr. Gay was first elected to the Legislative Assembly on October 13, 1987. A Liberal, he was re-elected in 1991 and 1995 for the constituency of Miramichi Bay. He has served on the Legislative Assemblyís Special Committee on Social Policy Development; the Select Committee on Land Use and the Rural Environment, and on several Standing Committees including Public Accounts and Crown Corporations, Estimates, Private Bills, Public Accounts, Procedure, and Law Amendments. During the 52nd Legislature he served as Party Whip.

Mr. Gay is active in community affairs. He is a former chairman of an anti-vandalism program, secretary, and president of the Miramichi Jaycees. In 1986 he won the Jayceesí Atlantic Region Effective Speaking Contest.

On October 16, 1995, Lloyd Snow became Speaker of the House of Assembly of Newfoundland. He was born in Victoria, Conception Bay, in 1943. Subsequent to completing high school at E.J. Pratt Memorial in Brownsdale, he went on to attend Memorial University. There, he earned Bachelorís degrees in both Science and Arts (Education). With 25 years teaching experience, Mr. Snow taught in numerous communities, including Brownsdale, where he held the position of Vice Principal.

He entered politics when he became Deputy Mayor and later Mayor of Hantís Harbour. He held a position on the Joint Mayorís Association, was a president of the Hantís Harbour Lionís Club, and was on the founding committee of an Air Cadet Squadron in the Hantís Harbour area.

In April 1989, Mr. Snow was elected MHA for the District of Trinity-Bay de Verde. Upon entering the House of Assembly, he was appointed Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees, a position which he held following his re-election in 1993.

New Regional Representative

During the 41st Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference held in Colombo, Sri Lanka, last fall Stanley S. Schumacher, Speaker of the Alberta Legislative Assembly was elected Canadian Regional Representative to the Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 18 no 4
1995






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


19e colloque régional canadien

Le 19e colloque régional de la Région canadienne a eu lieu à Toronto, du 24 au 26 novembre 1995. Des parlementaires de toutes les provinces, dont plusieurs présidents et des représentants du Sénat, de la Chambre des communes et du Yukon, ont participé aux discussions qui se sont déroulées à Queen’s Park. Le président Allan McLean de l’Ontario a souhaité la bienvenue aux délégués et donné une réception et un dîner en leur honneur.

La première séance portait sur les commissions indépendantes chargées de fixer la rémunération des députés. Herman Rolfes de la Saskatchewan a prononcé l’allocution d’ouverture. Il a été question des divers facteurs dont il faut tenir compte, y compris le taux de roulement très élevé des législateurs canadiens.

La deuxième séance traitait de l’usage par les assemblées des systèmes d’information et de la technologie moderne. Denis Heard de l’Alberta a prononcé l’allocution d’ouverture. Les délégués ont pu comparer les progrès de leurs assemblées respectives à cet égard.

La troisième séance portait sur l’amélioration de l’image des politiciens. Bert Johnson de l’Ontario a prononcé l’allocution d’ouverture. La quatrième séance traitait du rôle du simple député dans une assemblée en décroissance. Nancy Guptill, présidente de l’assemblée de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, a prononcé l’allocution d’ouverture.

La dernière séance traitait du renouvellement constitutionnel au Canada après le référendum. Don Boudria de la Chambre des communes a prononcé l’allocution d’ouverture. Les délégués ont exprimé une large gamme d’opinions, mais tous semblaient s’entendre pour dire que des changements administratifs ou constitutionnels étaient souhaitables.

C’était la première fois que le colloque durait une journée et demie seulement et qu’il avait lieu pendant le week-end. Cependant, à en juger par le niveau de la discussion et de la participation, la nouvelle formule semblait plaire aux délégués.

Nouveaux présidents

De nouveaux président sont entrés en fonction au Nouveau-Brunswick et à Terre-Neuve, le premier à la suite d’élections générales, le second à la suite d’une démission. Le nouveau président de l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick est Donald (Danny) Gay.

Il est né le 12 décembre 1950 à Chatham (Nouveau-Brunswick). Il a fréquenté les écoles publiques de Neguac (N.-B.) et a obtenu son diplôme de l’école St. Michael’s, à Alma (Québec). Il détient un baccalauréat tient un baccalauréat ès arts de la St. Francis Xavier University et un baccalauréat en éducation de Mount St. Vincent. Il a suivi des cours supplémentaires à l’Université d’Ottawa.

M. Gay a une vaste expérience de travail. Il a travaillé dans les mines d’or de Yellowknife (T.N.-O.), il a été officier dans les Forces armées canadiennes et animateur-formateur auprès des autochtones au Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick. Avant de se lancer en politique, il était au service du conseil scolaire 8 à titre d’enseignant à l’école secondaire 1er cycle Harkins.

M. Gay a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick le 13 octobre 1987. À titre de député libéral, il a été réélu le 23 septembre 1991 et le 11 septembre 1995. Il représente la circonscription de Baie-de-Miramichi. Il a été membre du Comité spécial d’élaboration de la politique sociale de l’Assemblée législative, qui a étudié l’intégration et la Loi sur le conditionnement des boissons. Il a également été membre du Comité spécial sur l’utilisation des terres et l’environnement rural et de plusieurs comités permanents : Comité des comptes publics, Comité des corporations de la Couronne, Comité des prévisions budgétaires, Comité des projets de loi d’intérêt privé, Comité de la procédure et Comité de modification des lois. Au cours de la 52e législature, il a rempli la fonction de whip de parti.

Actif au chapitre des activités communautaires, M. Gay a été président d’un programme de lutte contre le vandalisme, ainsi que secrétaire et président des Jaycees de la Miramichi. En 1986, il a gagné le concours d’art oratoire des Jaycees dans la région de l’Atlantique.

Le 16 octobre 1995, Lloyd Snow est devenu président de l’Assemblée législative de Terre-Neuve. Il est né à Victoria, Conception Bay, en 1943. Après avoir terminé son école secondaire à la E.J. Pratt Memorial de Brownsdale, il a obtenu de Memorial University un baccalauréat ès sciences et un baccalauréat ès arts (éducation). Pendant 25 ans, il a enseigné à plusieurs endroits, dont Brownsdale, où il a occupé le poste de directeur adjoint.

Il s’est lancé en politique en devenant maire adjoint, puis maire de Hant’s Harbour. Il a occupé un poste dans la Joint Mayor’s Association et a été président du Lions’ Club de Hant’s Harbour et membre du comité fondateur de l’escadron des cadets de l’air dans la région de Hant’s Harbour.

En avril 1989, M. Snow a été élu député de la circonscription de Trinity-Bay de Verde. Dès son entrée à l’Assemblée législative, il a été nommé vice-président et président des comités, poste qu’il a conservé après sa réélection en 1993.

41e conférence parlementaire de l’APC

À la 41e conférence parlementaire du Commonwealth à Colombo, au Sri Lanka, Stanley S. Schumacher, président de l’Assemblée législative, a été élu représentant régional canadien au comité exécutif de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 18 no 4
1995






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15