Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Thirty-Fourth Canadian Regional Conference

The 34th Conference of the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association was held in Halifax, Nova Scotia from July 23 to 28, 1995.

The Conference brought together about 100 delegates and observers from the Senate, the House of Commons as well as all the provinces and territories. Included among the delegates were special guests from the British House of Commons, and the legislatures of The Bahamas, St. Vincent and the Isle of Man. The Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Arthur Donahoe, was also in attendance.

The Seminar was opened by the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia, John James Kinley. The Premier of Nova Scotia, John Savage, and the Speaker of the House of Assembly, Paul MacEwan, welcomed the delegates to Nova Scotia.

The First Session, chaired by Bruce Holland (Nova Scotia) dealt with the Future of the CPA and the Commonwealth. The Secretary-General briefed delegates about some of the recent developments in the Commonwealth and relations between the CPA Secretariat and the Commonwealth Secretariat. The Chairman of the CPA Executive Committee, Colin Shepard, discussed the role of CPA and mentioned the advantages of belonging to an organization that gives members a window on so many countries in the world. The Chairman of the Federal Branch of CPA, Bob Speller, also addressed the Conference and pointed out the many activities open to Canadian legislators.

The Second Session, chaired by Ross Young, (Prince Edward Island) dealt with Sexual Harassment: Process and Judgement in Cases of Alleged Harassment. The opening Speakers were Dale Lovick, (British Columbia) and Mary Clancy, MP. Both speakers made the point that power not sex was the issue and women were vulnerable to sexual harassment because they were usually not in positions of power in government, business, or labour unions. The topic stimulated vigorous discussion with some members pointing out the difficulties in developing fair process and objective standards. Others raised the issue of the backlash against women who made an issue out of sexual harassment.

The Third Session, chaired by Speaker Emery Barnes (British Columbia) dealt with the "Rules of Debate: Democracy or Dictatorship". Two of the presenters were from the Nova Scotia House of Assembly, Speaker Paul MacEwan and Robert Chisholm. The other presenter was Nick Hawkins, MP from the British House of Commons. Much of the discussion dealt with recent developments including rule changes in the Nova Scotia Legislature. Different views were expressed as to how far a government should go in ensuring that its programme is adopted by the legislature. Others gave examples from their own jurisdictions on issues such as the powers and role of the Speaker, the role of party discipline and the influence of the media on legislative politics.

The Fourth Session was chaired by Richard Nerysoo of the Northwest Territories. It dealt with the topic of Health Care Reform and featured presentations by Eric Cline, MLA of Saskatchewan and Speaker Stan Schumacher of Alberta. There was general support for sustaining a public health system which had to be rationalized and reformed where necessary. There were differing views expressed over the direction of reform and the degree of private sector involvement that was desirable in the heath care industry. Other issues such as development of alternative services in non hospital surroundings were mentioned by several speakers.

The Fifth Session dealt with Government of the 90s: Privatization and Public/Private Sector Partnerships. It was chaired by Quebec MNA David Payne and featured opening Speakers Dr. Larry Kennedy, (New Brunswick), Denis Rocan (Manitoba) and David Marshall, of the United Kingdom. Dr. Kennedy noted that some measure of downsizing and privatization was inevitable but he said it was important to remember that Canada was not the United States or New Zealand and the approach to these issues would necessarily be different than in other countries. Mr. Marshall suggested that privatization has as it principal effect the widening of the gap between the rich and the poor. Mr. Rocan gave examples of how the Manitoba government was working with the private sector.

The Sixth Session dealt with the Future of the Fishery and the Evolving Law of the Sea. It was chaired by Trevor Harding, (Yukon) and featured presentations by Walter Carter, (Newfoundland) and Roger Soloman, (Prince Edward Island). Mr. Carter gave an account of how the loss of the cod fisheries has affected the Newfoundland economy. He called for more local involvement in decisions relating to the fisheries in the future. Mr. Solomon pointed out a number of international dimension to the problem on the Atlantic while several other delegates raised problems relating to the salmon fishery on the west coast.

In addition to the working sessions delegates enjoyed numerous examples of Nova Scotia hospitality including a reception by the Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the House of Assembly, a harbor cruise and a traditional lobster dinner at Hubbards. Delegates also had a choice of a number of excursions, at their own expense, including a cruise on the Bluenose, a tour of Peggy's Cove, or a Salt Water Fishing Tour.

Regional Council Meeting

In conjuction with the Regional Conference the Executive of the Association held two meetings in Halifax. It marked the final Regional Council meeting for Speakers, Herman Rolfes of Saskatchewan and Denis Rocan of Manitoba. The Chair of the meeting Speaker Paul MacEwan of Nova Scotia introduced the newest Member Louise Dacquay of Manitoba. Speaker Dacquay confirmed that Manitoba will be the host of the 1996 Regional Conference.

Toronto was confirmed as the site of the next Regional Seminar which will be held on November 24-26, 1995.

The next meeting of the Council will take place in conjuction with the meeting of presiding officers in Whitehorse Yukon in January 1996. Stan Schumacher was selected as Regional Representative on the International CPA, a position he will take up following the next meeting of CPA in Sri Lanka this fall.

New Members of the Canadian Regional Council

As a result of recent elections in Manitoba and Ontario, there are new Speakers in both legislatures.

The new Speaker in Manitoba is Louise Dacquay. She held the office of Deputy Speaker and chairperson of Committees of the Whole House since 1990, the beginning of her provincial political career. Prior to provincial politics, Mrs. Dacquay served as a Winnipeg City Councillor from 1986 to 1989.

In Ontario the new Speaker is Allan K. McLean. Mr. McLean is a dairy farmer in Oro Township and served in municipal politics for 17 years, from 1963 to 1980. He was Deputy Reeve and Reeve of Oro Township and Warden of Simcoe County. He was elected to the Legislature in 1981 and re-elected in 1985, 1987, 1990 and 1995. He served as Deputy Whip and Chief Government Whip and as Minister without portfolio attached to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing. He also served on the Standing Committee on General Government, Chair of the Standing Committee on Government Agencies and General Government, critic for Tourism and Recreation, deputy critic for Agriculture and Food, critic for Natural Resources and Mines and critic for Municipal Affairs. He was elected Speaker of the House in a secret ballot on September 26, 1995.

New Commissioner of the Yukon

Judy Gingell is the new Commissioner of the Yukon. Born in the Yuon, Mrs. Gingell took on the position as manager of the Kwanlin Dun First Nation in 1969. Later she moved into the finance department of the Council for Yukon Indians. She also became a founding director of the Yukon Indian Brotherhood and the only woman on the Executive Council where she served as secretary-treasurer.

In 1973, Mrs. Gingell travelled to Ottawa with a team of leaders that included Elijah Smith, President of the Yukon Native Brotherhood, to hand to the then Prime Minister Pierre Elliot Trudeau a document entitled "Together Today for Our Children Tomorrow". This historic document contained a statement of grievances from all Yukon First Nations that launched comprehensive land claims negotiations in the Yukon.

During the 1970s and 1980s, Mrs. Gingell served on the Executive Council of the Yukon Indian Women's Association and then became a founding director of Northern Native Broadcasting, Yukon. She served as the President of the Yukon Indian Development Corporation from 1980 until she won a by-election in 1989 for the Chair of the Council for Yukon Indians, a position she occupied until May, 1995.

Under Mrs. Gingell's leadership, the Umbrella and four First Nations Final Land Claim and Self-Government Agreements passed into legislation in 1993 and became law on February 14, 1995. Judy Gingell was installed as Commissioner of the Yukon on June 12, 1995.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 18 no 3
1995






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Trente-quatrième conférence régionale canadienne

La 34e conférence de la section canadienne de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth s'est déroulée à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, du 23 au 28 juillet 1995.

Cette conférence a réuni environ 100 délégués et observateurs du Sénat, de la Chambre des communes, ainsi que de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires, à l'exception de l'Ontario, où des élections provinciales avaient lieu en juin. Au nombre des délégués, on retrouvait des invités spéciaux de la Chambre des communes de Grande-Bretagne et des assemblées législatives des Bahamas, de Saint-Vincent et de l'île de Man. Le secrétaire-général de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, Arthur Donahoe, était également présent.

L'allocution d'ouverture a été prononcée par le lieutenant- gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Écosse, l'honorable John James Kinley. Le premier ministre de la Nouvelle- Écosse, l'honorable John Savage, et le président de la l'Assemblée législative, l'honorable Paul MacEwan, ont souhaité la bienvenue aux délégués en Nouvelle-Écosse.

La première séance, présidée par Bruce Holland, de l'Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse, portait sur l'avenir de l'APC et du Commonwealth. Le secrétaire-général a informé les délégués de faits nouveaux concernant le Commonwealth et les relations entre le Secrétariat de l'APC et le Secrétariat du Commonwealth. Le président du comité exécutif de l'APC, le député Colin Shepard, a parlé du rôle de l'APC et a souligné les avantages de faire partie d'une organisation qui donne à ses membres une fenêtre sur autant de pays. Le président de la section fédérale de l'APC, Bob Speller, a également pris la parole et a souligné les nombreuses activités offertes aux législateurs canadiens.

La deuxième séance, qui était présidée par Ross Young, de l'Assemblée législative de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, s'est déroulée sous le thème «Le harcèlement sexuel: procédures et jugement dans les cas d'allégations de harcèlement». Les conférenciers ont été Dale Lovick, de l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie- Britannique, et Mary Clancy, députée. Les deux conférenciers ont soutenu qu'il ne s'agissait pas tant d'une question de sexe que de pouvoir et que les femmes sont susceptibles d'être victimes de harcèlement sexuel parce qu'elles n'occupent habituellement pas des postes de pouvoir au gouvernement, dans les entreprises ou dans les syndicats. La question a donné lieu à une discussion animée, et certains participants ont souligné qu'il était difficile de mettre en place un processus juste et des normes objectives et justes. D'autres ont parlé des représailles dont sont victimes les femmes qui dénoncent le harcèlement sexuel.

La troisième séance, qui était présidée par le conférencier Emery Barnes, de la Colombie- Britannique, avait pour thème : «Les règles du débat : démocratie ou dictature». Deux des personnes qui ont fait des exposés venaient de l'Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il s'agit du président de l'Assemblée législative, Paul McEwan, et de Robert Chisholm. Nick Hawkins, député de la Chambre des communes de la Colombie-Britannique, a également pris la parole. La discussion a surtout porté sur les faits nouveaux à ce sujet, y compris les modifications apportées aux règles en vigueur à l'Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Différents points de vue ont été exprimés sur la mesure dans laquelle un gouvernement devrait vérifier si son programme est adopté par l'assemblée législative. D'autres personnes ont parlé de l'expérience qu'elles ont vécue dans leur territoire en ce qui concerne des questions telles que les pouvoirs et le rôle du président, le rôle de la discipline de parti, l'influence des médias sur les politiques législatives, etc.

La quatrième séance était présidée par Richard Nerysoo, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et portait sur la réforme des soins de santé. Eric Cline, de l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan, et Stan Schumacher, président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Alberta, ont pris la parole. On s'est dit généralement en faveur d'un système de santé publique, en précisant toutefois qu'il fallait le rationaliser et le réformer, au besoin. Des points de vue différents ont été exprimés quant à l'orientation que devrait prendre la réforme et la mesure dans laquelle le secteur privé devait participer à l'industrie des soins de santé. Plusieurs personnes ont également parlé de la prestation de services à l'extérieur des hôpitaux.

la cinquième séance, qui était présidée par David Payne, de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec, s'est déroulée sous le thème «Le gouvernement des années 90 : la privatisation et les partenariats entre les secteurs public et privé». Larry Kennedy, de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, Denis Rocan, du Manitoba, et David Marshall, député du Royaume-Uni, ont présenté des exposés. M. Kennedy a dit qu'une certaine réduction des effectifs et une certaine privatisation étaient inévitables, mais qu'il était important de se rappeler que le Canada n'était pas les États-Unis ni la Nouvelle- Zélande et que l'approche à adopter face à ces questions devait nécessairement être différente de celle adoptée dans d'autres pays. M. Marshall a dit que la privatisation avait principalement pour effet d'élargir l'écart entre les riches et les pauvres. M. Rocan a donné des exemples de la façon dont le gouvernement du Manitoba travaille avec le secteur privé.

La sixième séance, qui était présidée par Trevor Harding, de l'Assemblée législative du Yukon, a porté sur l'avenir des pêches et l'évolution du droit de la mer. Walter Carter, de l'Assemblée législative de Terre-Neuve, et Roger Soloman, de l'Assemblée législative de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ont pris la parole. M. Carter a expliqué comment la disparition de la pêche à la morue a nui à l'économie de Terre-Neuve. Il a réclamé une plus grande participation locale aux décisions futures concernant les pêches. M. Solomon a parlé de la dimension internationale du problème dans l'Atlantique, tandis que plusieurs autres délégués ont fait état de problèmes concernant la pêche au saumon sur la côte ouest.

En-dehors des séances de travail, les délégués ont pu profiter de l'hospitalité de la Nouvelle-Écosse à l'occasion, entre autres, d'une réception organisée par le lieutenant-gouverneur et le président de l'Assemblée législative. Ils ont également eu droit à une croisière ainsi qu'à un souper traditionnel au homard, à Hubbards. Un certain nombre d'activités étaient également organisées à l'intention des délégués, à leurs propres frais, dont une croisière sur le Bluenose, une visite de Peggy's Cove, ainsi qu'une excursion de pêche en eau salée.

Réunion du Conseil régional

Le Conseil régional canadien a tenu deux réunions à Halifax, conjointement avec la Conférence régionale, qui ont marqué la fin du mandat des présidents Herman Rolfes de la Saskatchewan et Denis Rocan du Manitoba. Le président de la séance, le président Paul MacEwan de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a souhaité la bienvenue à la nouvelle membre, Louise Dacquay, présidente de l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba. Mme Dacquay a confirmé que le Manitoba accueillera la Conférence régionale de 1996.

Le colloque régional se tiendra à Toronto, du 24 au 26 novembre 1995.

La prochaine réunion du Conseil coïncidera avec la réunion des présidents de séance à Whitehorse, au Yukon, en janvier 1996. Stan Schumacher a été élu délégué régional au sein de l'APC International, un poste qu'il occupera après la réunion de l'APC au Sri Lanka cet automne.

Nouveau membres du Conseil régional canadien

Suite aux élections récentes au Manitoba et en Ontario, il y a un nouveau président dans chacune des législatures.

Le nouveau président au Manitoba est Louise Dacquay. Elle occupait le poste de vice-président et président des Comités pléniers depuis 1990, début de sa carrière politique. Auparavant, Madame Dacquay fut conseillère pour la ville de Winnipeg de 1986 à 1989.

Le nouveau président en Ontario est Allan K. McLean. Monsieur McLean est un éleveur laitier du canton d'Oro et a fait de la politique municipale pendant 17 ans, de 1963 à 1980. Il fut vice-président puis président du conseil municipal du canton d'Oro et conseiller du comté de Simcoe. Il fut élu député en 1980 et réélu en 1985, 1987, 1990 et 1995. Il a occupé les postes de whip adjoint et de whip en chef du gouvernement et de ministre sans portefeuille responsable du ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement. Il fut également membre du Comité permanent sur le gouvernement général, président du Comité permanent sur les agences gouvernementales et le gouvernement général, critique pour le tourisme et les loisirs, critique adjoint pour l'agriculture et l'alimentation, critique pour les ressources naturelles et les mines ainsi que pour les affaires municipales. Il fut élu président de l'Assemblée au scrutin secret le 26 septembre 1995.

Nouvelle commissaire du Yukon

Judy Gingell est née au Yukon le 26 novembre 1946. Elle est mariée à Don Gingell et le couple a deux enfants, Rick et Tina.

En 1969, Mme Gingell est devenue gestionnaire de la Première nation Kwanlin Dun. Elle a ensuite accepté un poste au service des finances du Conseil des Indiens du Yukon, dont elle a aussi été directrice-fondatrice. Elle était la seule femme à faire partie du conseil exécutif, en qualité de secrétaire-trésorière.

En 1973, Mme Gingell est venue à Ottawa en compagnie d'un groupe de leaders qui comprenait Elijah Smith, président du Conseil des Indiens du Yukon (alors la Yukon Native Brotherhood), pour remettre au premier ministre de l'époque, Pierre Elliot Trudeau, un document intitulé «Together Today for Our Children Tomorrow». Ce document historique contenait une liste de griefs formulés par toutes les premières nations du Yukon, et il a marqué le début des négociations au Yukon portant sur les revendications territoriales.

Durant les années 1970 et 1980, Mme Gingell a fait partie du conseil exécutif de l'Association des femmes indiennes du Yukon puis est devenue directrice-fondatrice du service Northern Native Broadcasting au Yukon. Elle a été présidente de la Yukon Indian Development Corporation de 1980 jusqu'à ce qu'elle remporte une élection partielle en 1989 à la présidence du Conseil des Indiens du Yukon, poste qu'elle a occupé jusqu'en mai 1995.

Sous le leadership de Mme Gingell, l'Entente-cadre finale avec les Indiens du Yukon et quatre accords de revendications territoriales et d'autonomie politique ont été déposés en 1993 et sont devenus lois le 14 février 1995.

Judy Gingell a été nommée commissaire du Yukon le 12 juin 1995.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 18 no 3
1995






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03