Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Gilbert Parent

The Designation of Party Status,  Gilbert Parent, House of Commons, June 16, 1994

Background: Following the point of order raised on June 1, 1994 by Bill Blaikie (see previous article) the Speaker of the House of Commons made the following ruling on June 16.

The Ruling (Speaker Gilbert Parent): First, let me deal with the question of what constitutes a party for procedural purposes, a question which has long preoccupied the House. The hon. member argued at length that the definition of "recognized party" in the Parliament of Canada Act and the Board of Internal Economy bylaws applies only to certain matters of money and allowances. He maintained that the definition should not be used to define the meaning of "party" or "recognized party" in our standing orders or our practice.

He noted, for example, that Section 50(3) of the Act which sets the composition of the Board of Internal Economy makes specific reference to a caucus which "does not have a recognized membership of 12 or more". That reference, he claimed, implies the possibility of a caucus without 12 members, yet identified as such.

The hon. member presented detailed accounts of the situations which existed in the House of Commons in 1963, 1966 and 1979 when smaller parties were recognized in various ways for purposes of procedure and practice. He also argued that the same rights should be extended to members of the New Democratic Party today.

Having studied the circumstances of each of these cases and having reviewed the rulings referred to by the hon. member as well as others touching on this matter, the conclusions I draw are quite different.

The status granted to minor parties for procedural purposes in certain of these cases was the result of the political exigencies of the time. In none of these instances did the Chair act unilaterally.

In his ruling of September 30, 1963, Speaker Macnaughton, while dealing with the status of a New Democratic Party in the House, pointed out that the status of a party in the House was for the House itself to decide.

Speaker Macnaughton also made two comments which I feel are very important and which I would like to quote to the House. He said:

It is in consequence among the duties of the Speaker to see that the Standing Orders of the House are followed in the course of its procedures and that the privileges of the House, once they have been defined and recognized, are protected. It is also the duty of the Speaker to be impartial and removed from politics, which has already been my aim since, honourable members, you did me the honour to elect me as your Speaker.... It seems to me that having in mind the authorities from Sir Erskine May to Lord Campion, from Bourinot to Beauchesne, and from Anson to McGregor Dawson and many others, a situation such as that now facing the House must be resolved by the House itself. It is not one where the Speaker ought by himself to take a position where any group of members might feel that their interests as a group or a party have been prejudiced. Nor should the Speaker be put in the position where he must decide, to the advantage or to the disadvantage of any group or party, matters affecting the character of existences of a party, for this surely would signify that the Speaker has taken what is almost a political decision, a decision where the question involves the rights and privileges of the House itself.

On February 18, 1966 Speaker Lamoureux, in the ruling on ministerial statements referred to by the hon. member for Winnipeg–Transcona, was loath to institute any change in the practices of the House at that time and indicated that he would not veer from the contemporary practice until such time as the House amended the Standing Orders to do otherwise.

In October 1979, when the issue of party status was again raised, Speaker Jerome returned to the 1963 ruling of Speaker Macnaughton to reiterate that this matter is not the responsibility of the Speaker to decide but rather, a matter for the House. I would draw attention of member to the words of Speaker Jerome on October 11, 1979.

In his presentation, the hon. member for Winnipeg–Transcona quoted from a subsequent ruling of Speaker Jerome given on November 6, 1979. This ruling concerned the Chair's responsibility to protect the rights of members of small parties.

One of the portions of the ruling quoted only in part by the hon. member is worth repeating:

The House will recognize in what I have tried to do, I think both representing the spirit of the protection of minorities in the House and also, I think the generosity of the House, that what those members are entitled to can be given to them with a generosity and a recognition that respects the fact that they are members of a political party, so long as it does not give them an advantage that they would not otherwise enjoy as five members and, secondly, so long as it does not deprive other members of their right to participate in some way.

Yet again, Speaker Jerome declined to go beyond the contemporary practices of the House while ensuring that the rights of the individual member were protected.

This important theme was once again taken up in a ruling by Speaker Fraser given on December 13, 1990. At that time the Speaker declared in very strong terms that the basic rights and privileges of individual members of whatever political persuasion are fully protected by the Chair. "The Chair pledges to do its utmost to continue to serve this House in as even-handed and impartial a manner as possible".

In the current circumstances, the existence of the New Democratic Party caucus has not been denied and the Chair will continue to ensure that each member of the House is treated fairly by the rules.

In arguing his case, the hon. member acknowledged that his party's situation could not be resolved without, what he called, "an appropriate will to discern the difference between some previous situations and the situation we find ourselves in at the moment".

I find myself agreeing with the hon. member up to a point. In my view, what he called "an appropriate will" to resolve the situation must be found not in your Speaker acting alone but in the House acting as a whole.

The status of minority parties in the House has always been determined in general by the political make-up of the House.

If the hon. member's argument persuades his colleagues to the solutions he seeks, then the House will have to give new guidance to the Chair.

As your Speaker and the guardian of the rights of minorities and each individual member, I remain fully aware of the grave responsibilities of the Chair in this regard. Indeed, an analysis of the last two months shows that a member not belonging to a recognized party has participated almost every day during the period reserved for members' statements and, on the average, every other day during question period. The House may be assured that I and my deputies pledge to continue to do everything we can to facilitate the fair and active participation of each member in the work of the House.

In my view unilateral action by the Chair would mark a significant departure from the interpretation of our rules and practices as they have evolved over the last decade. As your Speaker and the servant of the House, I believe that I cannot arbitrarily impose a new interpretation but must wait until the House as it is now constituted indicates to me what, if any, action it wishes the Chair to take.

Let me now address the two other matters: the designation of members as members of the New Democratic Party and their wish to be seated together.

The hon. member for Winnipeg–Transcona complained that his party is not designated, as it should be, as a caucus on the seating plan of the Chamber. He presented copies of seating plans from previous parliaments to support his view. He did, however, acknowledge that his party is clearly designated as the New Democratic Party in the Debates.

Let us review the current situation. The Members of Parliament belonging to the New Democratic Party are identified as such in the Debates and on the televised proceedings of the House. They are designated as "others" in the back row to the left of the Speaker on the seating plan of the Chamber.

Seating arrangements in the House have traditionally been decided following negotiations among the recognized parties.

The Chief Government Whip places members of the government in seats to the right of the Chair and, when there is not enough room on the right to accommodate all government members, some may also be placed to the left of the Chair.

Of the remaining places, the Whip of the Official Opposition assigns seats to the members of that party and the whip of the third party then assigns seats to members of that party. The responsibility for assigning to other members the seats that remain vacant has traditionally fallen to the Speaker.

To determine the seating arrangements for those members who do not belong to a recognized party, the Chair follows the order of their seniority as elected members.

In considering the NDP's request, the New Democrats' request that they be seated together and that their leader be granted the rank due her as a Privy Councillor, I was struck by a phrase of the hon. member for Winnipeg–Transcona. Explaining the timing of his point of order he stated:

I thought it was appropriate for the House to become acquainted with itself after the unprecedented upheaval of the last election.

I applaud the wisdom of that comment. The Chair has made every effort to accommodate members fairly in the present situation. Having now been your Speaker for some five months, I have received various representations from members of Parliament and their constituents on this matter and I have carefully reviewed the precedents. For example, on September 24, 1990, Speaker Fraser noted on a ruling dealing with seating arrangements that the Speaker can exercise some discretion on these matters. He stated:

I also think members should understand that as your Speaker, I have some discretion in dealing with the rights of every person in this House who is in a minority position. I think we have a great tradition of protecting the rights of minorities, and I can assure the hon. member that the rights of minorities will be protected by the Speaker in a way that is fair and equitable for all other members.

Having concluded that some remedy does lie within the purview of the Speaker, I have therefore asked my officials to modify the seating plan as of the return of the House on September 19 to implement the following changes in the seats that the Speaker assigns:

The hon. members for Sherbrooke and Saint John will be seated together and identified as the Progressive Conservative caucus on the seating plan.

The hon. members of the New Democratic caucus will also be seated together and be identified as such on the plan.

The hon. member for Beauce will identified as Independent and the hon. member for Markham– Whitchurch–Stouffville will be identified as Independent Liberal.

This appears to the Chair to be a fair response to competing claims. Members of the same party will be identified and seated together, with the precedence of their respective leaders determining their place in the sequence. The two other members will be assigned the two remaining seats according to their seniority and designated according to their express wishes.

I hope the steps I have taken to solve matters within my discretion will go some way to remedy the situation. The hon. member for Winnipeg–Transcona and his caucus colleagues may be assured that if the House indicates to me that it has been persuaded by his arguments I stand ready to be guided accordingly.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 17 no 3
1994






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
Gilbert Parent

L’Attribution du statut de parti , Chambre des communes, 16 juin 1994.

Contexte : Après que Bill Blaikie eut invoqué le Règlement le 1er juin 1994 (voir l'article précédent), le Président de la Chambre des communes a rendu la décision suivante le 16 juin.

Décision du Président Gilbert Parent : D'abord, je vais examiner ce qui constitue un parti pour les fins de la procédure, question qui préoccupe la Chambre depuis longtemps. Le député de Winnipeg–Transcona a présenté une longue argumentation voulant que la définition de «parti reconnu» dans la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada et les règlements du Bureau de régie interne ne s'applique qu'à certaines affaires relatives aux questions financières et aux indemnités. Il a soutenu qu'on ne devrait pas se servir de cette définition pour déterminer le sens de « parti » ou de « parti reconnu » dans le Règlement et notre pratique.

Il souligne, par exemple, que le paragraphe 50(3) de la Loi, qui établit la composition du Bureau de régie interne mentionne expressément un groupe parlementaire qui « ne compte pas officiellement au moins douze députés ». Cette mention, soutient-il, fait conclure à la possibilité qu'il existe un groupe parlementaire de moins de douze députés, qui soit quand même reconnu comme tel.

L'honorable député a exposé en détail les situations qui se sont présentées à la Chambre des communes en 1963, 1966 et 1979, quand de petits partis ont été reconnus de différentes manières pour les fins de la procédure et de la pratique. Il a aussi soutenu que les mêmes droits devraient être accordés aux députés du Nouveau Parti démocratique aujourd'hui.

Après avoir étudié les circonstances propres à chacun de ces cas et avoir revu les décisions mentionnées par le député et d'autres décisions sur le même sujet, j'arrive à des conclusions très différentes.

Le statut accordé à des petits partis pour les fins de procédure dans certains de ces cas a été le résultat des exigences politiques du temps. Dans aucun de ces cas, la présidence n'a agi de façon unilatérale.

Dans sa décision du 30 septembre 1963, le Président Macnaughton, qui parlait du statut du Nouveau Parti démocratique à la Chambre, souligne qu'il appartient à la Chambre elle-même de décider du statut d'un parti politique à la Chambre.

Le Président Macnaughton a aussi formulé deux commentaires que je trouve très importants et que je désire citer à la Chambre. Il a dit :

« Le Président a donc pour mission, notamment de faire respecter le Règlement de la Chambre pendant les délibérations et d'en maintenir les privilèges tels qu'ils sont établis et reconnus. Le Président doit aussi faire preuve d'impartialité et s'abstenir de toute politique; telle est la ligne de conduite que je me suis toujours efforcé de suivre, honorables députés, depuis que vous m'avez élevé au poste que j'ai l'honneur d'occuper en ce moment. [...] Après avoir consulté les autorités comme sir Erskine May et lord Campion, Bourinot et Beauchesne, Anson et McGregor Dawson, et bien d'autres, j'ai l'impression que la solution des problèmes dont nous sommes saisis relève de la Chambre elle-même. Il n'appartient pas au Président de prendre, de son propre chef, une décision qui pourrait sembler, aux yeux de certains députés, léser les intérêts de leur groupe ou parti. Le Président ne devrait pas davantage être placé dans une situation où il lui faut trancher, au bénéfice ou au détriment d'un groupe ou d'un parti, des questions qui touchent à l'existence ou à la nature d'un parti, et prendre ainsi ce qu'on tiendrait sûrement pour une décision d'un caractère politique, alors qu'ils s'agit d'une décision dont l'enjeu est les droits et les privilèges de la Chambre elle-même ».

Le 18 février 1966, le Président Lamoureux, dans une décision sur des déclarations ministérielles mentionnée par l'honorable député de Winnipeg–Transcona, hésitait à apporter un changement quelconque à la pratique de la Chambre à ce moment-là et indiquait qu'il ne s'écarterait pas de la pratique en usage alors avant que la Chambre ne modifie le Règlement dans un autre sens.

En octobre 1979, quand la question du statut de parti a de nouveau été soulevée, le Président Jerome a invoqué la décision de 1963 du Président Macnaughton pour réaffirmer que cette question n'était pas du ressort du Président, mais de celui de la Chambre. J'attire l'attention des députés sur les paroles du Président Jerome, du 11 octobre 1979.

Dans son exposé, le député de Winnipeg–Transcona a cité une autre décision du Président Jerome rendue le 6 novembre 1979. Cette décision porte sur l'obligation qu'a la présidence de protéger les droits des députés de petits partis.

Il vaut la peine de citer en entier un passage de cette décision que l'honorable député n'a cité qu'en partie :

« La Chambre reconnaîtra que dans mes efforts j'ai tenté de tenir compte à la fois de la protection due aux minorités à la Chambre et aussi, je crois, de la générosité de la Chambre. Il me semble que l'on peut accorder à ces députés la participation à laquelle ils ont droit avec une générosité découlant de la reconnaissance de fait, pourvu qu'ils n'en tirent pas des avantages dont ne jouiraient pas cinq députés et, deuxièmement pourvu que cela ne porte atteinte en aucune façon au droit des autres députés de participer ».

Encore une fois, le Président Jerome a refusé de s'écarter de la pratique alors en vigueur à la Chambre tout en veillant à ce que les droits des députés individuels soient protégés.

Cet important thème revient dans une décision du Président Fraser rendue le 13 décembre 1990. Le Président a alors affirmé en termes non équivoques que la présidence protège pleinement les droits et privilèges fondamentaux des députés individuels, quelles que soient leurs convictions politiques. Il disait, « La Présidence promet de faire tout en son pouvoir pour servir cette Chambre d'une manière aussi équitable et impartiale que possible ».

Dans les circonstances présentes, l'existence du groupe parlementaire du Nouveau Parti démocratique n'a pas été méconnue et la présidence continuera de veiller à ce que chaque député de la Chambre soit traité avec équité, selon les règles.

Dans son argumentation, le député de Winnipeg–Transcona a reconnu que la situation de son parti ne pouvait être réglée sans ce qu'il a appelé « une volonté suffisante d'établir une distinction entre certaines situations passées et celle dans laquelle nous nous trouvons actuellement ».

Je suis d'accord avec le député jusqu'à un certain point. À mon avis, ce qu'il appelle « une volonté suffisante » de résoudre la situation doit venir non du Président agissant seul, mais de la Chambre agissant comme un tout.

Le statut des partis minoritaires à la Chambre a toujours été déterminé, de façon générale, par la composition de la Chambre.

Si l'argumentation de l'honorable député emporte l'adhésion de ses collègues aux solutions qu'il propose, alors la Chambre devra donner de nouvelles directives à la présidence.

En qualité de Président et de gardien des droits de minorités et de ceux de chaque député individuellement, je suis tout à fait conscient des devoirs impérieux qui incombent à la présidence à cet égard. En effet, une analyse des deux derniers mois révèle qu'un député d'un parti non reconnu a obtenu la parole pratiquement à tous les jours durant la période réservée aux déclarations de députés et, en moyenne, à tous les deux jours durant la période des questions orales. La Chambre peut être assurée que moi et mes adjoints nous engageons à faire tout en notre pouvoir pour favoriser une participation active et équitable de chaque député aux travaux de la Chambre.

À mon avis, une initiative unilatérale de la présidence constituerait une dérogation importante à l'interprétation des règles et à la pratique telles qu'elles ont évolué au cours des dix dernières années. En tant que Président et serviteur de la Chambre, je crois que je n'ai pas le droit d'imposer arbitrairement une nouvelle interprétation, mais que je dois attendre que la Chambre, composée comme elle l'est présentement, m'indique, le cas échéant, ce qu'elle souhaite que la présidence fasse.

Je vais maintenant aborder les deux autres sujets : la désignation des députés comme députés du Nouveau Parti démocratique, puis leur volonté de siéger comme groupe.

Le député de Winnipeg–Transcona se plaint que son parti n'est pas désigné comme il devrait l'être, comme groupe parlementaire au plan de la Chambre. Il a soumis des copies des plans de législatures antérieures pour étayer son point. Il a cependant reconnu que son parti est clairement désigné comme Nouveau Parti démocratique dans les Débats.

Examinons la situation présente. Les députés appartenant au Nouveau Parti démocratique sont identifiés sous ce nom dans les Débats et dans les délibérations télévisées de la Chambre. Ils sont désignés « autres » dans les banquettes du fond, à gauche du Président, sur le plan de la Chambre.

L'attribution des sièges à la Chambre est, par tradition, décidée après des négociations entre les partis reconnus.

Le whip en chef du gouvernement assigne les sièges aux députés du gouvernement dans les banquettes à la droite du fauteuil et, s'il n'y a pas assez de place à droite pour asseoir tous les députés ministériels, certains d'entre eux peuvent être placés à la gauche du fauteuil.

Parmi les banquettes qui restent, le whip de l'opposition officielle attribue les sièges aux députés de son parti et le whip du troisième parti attribue les banquettes aux députés de son parti. La responsabilité d'attribuer les places qui restent aux autres députés appartient, par tradition, au Président.

Pour déterminer les places de ces députés qui n'appartiennent pas à un parti reconnu, le Président suit l'ordre d'ancienneté d'élection des députés.

En examinant la demande du NPD de siéger comme groupe et celle que soit reconnu à leur leader le rang qui lui est dû à titre de membre du Conseil privé, j'ai été frappé par une phrase prononcée par le député de Winnipeg–Transcona. Pour expliquer le moment de son rappel au Règlement, il dit :

« Je pensais que les députés devaient plutôt se familiariser avec les rôles que leur a valus le branle-bas sans précédent causé par les dernières élections ».

Je reconnais la sagesse que révèle ce commentaire. La présidence a fait tout ce qui lui était possible de faire pour être juste envers les députés dans la situation actuelle. Ayant été Président maintenant depuis environ cinq mois, j'ai reçu les doléances de nombreux députés et de leurs électeurs à ce sujet et j'ai soigneusement étudié les précédents. Le 24 septembre 1990, le Président Fraser notait, dans une décision au sujet du plan de la Chambre, que le Président pouvait exercer un certain pouvoir discrétionnaire relativement à ces questions. Il a dit :

« De plus, c'est très important de bien comprendre que j'ai comme Président une certaine discrétion concernant les droits de chaque personne dans cette Chambre qui est en minorité. Nous avons, je pense, une grande tradition de protéger les droits des minorités, et je peux assurer le député que, dans une approche juste et égale pour tous les autres députés, les droits des minorités seront protégés par le Président ».

Ayant conclu que le Président dispose d'un certain pouvoir de redressement, j'ai demandé à mes administrateurs de modifier l'attribution des banquettes pour la reprise des travaux de la Chambre, le 19 septembre, afin qu'ils apportent les changements suivants dans l'attribution des banquettes faite par le Président :

Les députés de Sherbrooke et Saint John siégeront ensemble et seront identifiés comme le groupe du Parti conservateur sur le plan.

Les députés du Nouveau Parti démocratique siégeront aussi ensemble et seront identifiés comme tels sur le plan.

Le député de Beauce sera identifié comme indépendant et le député de Markham–Whitchurch–Stouffville sera identifié comme libéral indépendant.

Il semble à la présidence que ce soit une solution équitable à des revendications concurrentes. Les députés de chaque parti seront identifiés comme groupe et siégeront ensemble, la préséance de leur leader respectif déterminant leur place dans l'ordre. Les deux autres députés se verront attribuer les deux banquettes restantes selon leur préséance et seront désignés selon leurs indications.

J'espère que les mesures que j'ai prises selon la latitude que je possède contribueront à régler la situation. Le député de Winnipeg–Transcona et les députés de son groupe parlementaire peuvent compter que, s'il a réussi à convaincre la Chambre par ses arguments, je suis prêt à agir selon les indications de cette dernière.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 17 no 3
1994






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29