Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


New Speaker in Alberta

On August 30, 1993, Stanley S. Schumacher, MLA for Drumheller was elected Speaker by a secret ballot of the members. He was born June 12, 1933 in Hanna, Alberta and received his education in Alberta and at the University of British Columbia.

He was first elected to the Legislature in 1986, re-elected in 1989 and appointed Deputy Speaker, and Vice-Chairman, Select Special Committee on Constitutional Reform. In December 1992, he was appointed Chairman, Standing Policy Committee on Community Services. Mr. Schumacher is a former Member of Parliament for the constituency of Palliser. He was elected to the House of Commons in 1968 and reelected in 1972 and 1974.

Mr. Schumacher is counsel for the firm of Schumacher, Cough and Pedersen in Drumheller. He is also a member of the Drumheller Chamber of Commerce, Drumheller K-40 Club, the Ranchmen's Club, Calgary, and Past Potentate Al Azhar Shrine Temple. He was a member of the Regional Advisory Committee of Big Country Education Consortium from 1980-85. He served on the Executive Committee of the Diocese of Calgary in 1985 and 1986. From 1955 to 1958, Mr. Schumacher served with the Canadian Officers Training Corps.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 16 no 4
1993






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Nouveau président en Alberta

Le 30 août 1993, les membres de l'Assemblée législative de l'Alberta ont élu par vote secret Stanley S. Schumacher, député de Drumheller, au poste de président de l'Assemblée législative M. Schumacher est né le 12 juin 1933 à Hanna, en Alberta. Il a fait ses études dans les écoles publiques de l'Alberta et à l'Université de la Colombie- Britannique.

Élu à l'assemblée de l'Alberta en 1986, M. Schumacher a été réélu en 1989 et nommé vice-président de l'assemblée et vice-président du comité spécial de la réforme constitutionnelle. En décembre 1992, il a été nommé président du comité permanent des services communautaires. Il a également été député de Palliser à la Chambre des communes de 1968 à 1974.

M. Schumacher est avocat pour l'étude Schumacher, Gough and Pedersen de Drumheller. En outre, il est membre de la Chambre de commerce de Drumheller, du club K-40 de Drumheller, du Ranchmen's Club de Calgary et ex-potentat du Al Azhar Shrine Temple. Il a siégé au comité consultatif régional du consortium éducatif du Big Country de 1980 à 1985 et au comité exécutif du diocèse de Calgary en 1985 et 1986. De 1955 à 1958, M. Schumacher a servi dans le Corps école d'officiers canadiens. Il a reçu le grade de sous-lieutenant au Corps blindé royal du Canada en 1957 et a servi dans le British Columbia Regiment et le King's Own Calgary Regiment.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 16 no 4
1993






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15