Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

Canadian Constitutionalism 1791-1991, Edited by Janet Ajzenstat, Canadian Study of Parliament Group, Ottawa, 1992. Dictionnaire des parlementaires du Québec, Les presses de l'Université Laval, 1993

These two books originated out of celebrations marking the bicentennial of the Constitutional Act, 1791. The collection edited by Professor Ajzenstat includes essays by a number of well known historians, lawyers and political scientists. Half the articles deal with historical aspects of Canada's constitutional development including a re- interpretation of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council by Paul Romney, a look at American Influences on Canadian Constitutionalism by Constance MacRae- Buchanan and an essay on the constitutionalism of Etienne Parent and Joseph Howe by Professor Ajzenstat.

She notes that there have always been two political ideologies among reformers in Canadian politics. The first exemplified by Papineau and William Lyon Mackenzie is the "democratic" stream while the second, exemplified by Parent and Howe she calls the "constitutionalist" stream. The story of Canadian politics, up to 1982 at least, is the triumph of "constitutionalists" over the "democrats". She makes the point that our present obsession with the need for "democracy" is neither new nor indeed a particularly effective formula for the successful governance of Canada.

The conference for which these papers were prepared took place in November 1991 in the midst of constitutional discussions that eventually led to the Charlottetown Accord. So it is not surprising that many contributors focused on contemporary aspects of Canadian constitutionalism. The usual themes were discussed. For example, Leslie Seidle examined the problem of Senate Reform, Alan Cairns looked at the impact of the Charter on Canadian politics, F.L. Morton and Rainer Knopff suggest that the Supreme Court has become the most important political institution in the country, David Bercuson and Barry Cooper call for recognition that the people not the Crown are now sovereign, Hugh Thorburn points out the danger of interest group politics.

In many respects the most practical contribution was by Douglas Verney who not only reviews the theoretical difficulty in merging British style responsible government and American style federalism but calls for a new constitutional doctrine to be known as "Responsible Federalism". The key institution would not be the elusive reformed Senate or the thrice discredited First Ministers Conference but a Federal-Provincial Council composed of Ministers of Intergovernmental Affairs supplemented by knowledgeable MPs and MLAs drawn from all parties. The Council would be a permanent body and it would not be chaired by the Prime Minister. Verney suggest the Governor-General and the Lieutenant-Governors as more appropriate officials to chair the Council. Before Canadians return to constitutional discussions, as they surely will one day, they should give serious thought to the issues raised and the proposals suggested in the Verney article.

The Dictionary of Quebec Parliamentarians is quite a different book. It is a collection of biographical sketches of every legislators who sat is the Lower Canadian House of Assembly from 1792-1838, every member from Canada East in the old Parliament of the United Province of Canada 1841-1867 and every Quebec legislator since 1867. The dictionary also contains biographies of members of the Legislative Council from 1792 until its abolition in 1968.

The Dictionary is a revised and updated version of a similar publication prepared in 1978 and revised in 1987. Quebecers have always taken their parliamentary tradition seriously and the new edition is the latest in a long line of useful research and reference books produced by the National Assembly.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 16 no 2
1993






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

Canadian Constitutionalism, 1791-1991, publié sous la direction de Louis Massicotte, Groupe canadien des études des questions parlementaires, Ottawa, 1992. Dictionnaire des parlementaires du Québec, Les presses de l'Université Laval, 1993

Ces deux ouvrages sont publiés en marge des activités entourant le bicentenaire de l'Acte constitutionnel de 1791. La collection dirigée par le professeur Massicotte comprend les essais de différents historiens, avocats et politicologues bien connus. La moitié des articles traitent d'aspects historiques de l'évolution constitutionnelle du Canada; on y retrouve notamment une nouvelle interprétation du Comité judiciaire du Conseil privé, par Paul Romney, ainsi qu'une évaluation des influences américaines sur le constitutionnalisme canadien, par Constance MacRae-Buchanan.

Dans un essai sur le constitutionnalisme d'Étienne Parent et de Joseph Howe, la professeure Janet Ajzenstat fait observer que deux idéologies ont toujours dominé parmi les réformateurs de la politique canadienne - la première, personnifiée par Papineau et William Lyon Mackenzie, est le courant « démocratique », tandis que la seconde, personnifiée par Parent et Howe, représente, selon elle, le courant « constitutionnaliste ». Jusqu'en 1982 au moins, l'histoire de la politique canadienne a marqué le triomphe des « constitutionnalistes » sur les « démocrates ». Elle soutient que l'obsession actuelle concernant la nécessité de la « démocratie » n'est pas nouvelle ni ne constitue de fait une formule assurant la gestion efficace du Canada.

C'est en novembre 1991, en plein cœur des discussions constitutionnelles qui ont mené à l'Accord de Charlottetown, qu'a eu lieu la conférence pour laquelle ces documents ont été préparés. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que plusieurs des collaborateurs se soient penchés sur des aspects contemporains du constitutionnalisme canadien. Bon nombre des éléments habituels sont passés en revue : Leslie Seidle examine le problème de la réforme du Sénat, Alan Cairns étudie l'incidence de la Charte sur la politique canadienne, F.L. Morton et Rainer Knopff avancent que la Cour suprême est devenue l'institution politique la plus importante du pays, David Bercuson et Barry Cooper souhaitent qu'on reconnaisse que la souveraineté appartient maintenant au peuple et non à la Couronne, et Hugh Thorburn signale les dangers inhérents à la politique axée sur les groupes d'intérêt.

À bien des égards, la contribution la plus pratique est celle de Douglas Verney, qui non seulement expose la difficulté théorique d'une fusion entre le gouvernement responsable de style britannique et le fédéralisme à l'américaine, mais préconise une nouvelle doctrine constitutionnelle qu'on appellerait le fédéralisme responsable. L'institution clé n'en serait pas l'illusoire Sénat réformé ni la Conférence des premiers ministres, complètement discréditée, mais un conseil fédéral-provincial composé des ministres des Affaires intergouvernementales, auquel contribueraient des députés fédéraux et provinciaux compétents de tous les partis. Il s'agirait d'un organisme permanent que ne présiderait pas le premier ministre du Canada. L'auteur indique qu'il serait préférable de confier cette fonction au gouverneur général et aux lieutenants- gouverneurs. Avant que les politiciens canadiens ne reviennent aux discussions constitutionnelles, ce qu'ils ne manqueront pas de faire un jour, ils devraient étudier sérieusement les questions et les propositions de M. Verney.

Le Dictionnaire des parlementaires du Québec est un ouvrage tout à fait différent. Il s'agit en effet d'un recueil de notices biographiques de tous les législateurs qui ont siégé à la Chambre d'assemblée du Bas-Canada de 1792 à 1838, de tous les députés de l'Est du Canada qui ont siégé à l'ancien Parlement du Canada-Uni de 1841 à 1867, ainsi que de tous les législateurs québécois depuis 1867. Le dictionnaire contient également les biographies de ceux qui ont fait partie du Conseil législatif de 1792 jusqu'à son abolition en 1968.

Le Dictionnaire est une version révisée et mise à jour d'une publication semblable établie en 1978 et révisée en 1987. Les Québécois ont toujours pris au sérieux leur tradition parlementaire, et cette nouvelle édition est le dernier-né d'une longue série d'ouvrages de recherche et de référence produits par l'Assemblée nationale.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 16 no 2
1993






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29