Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Interview: Arthur Donahoe, Secretary General of CPA


On January 1, 1993 Arthur Donahoe became Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, the first Canadian to hold this position. Mr. Donahoe was first elected to the Nova Scotia House of Assembly in 1978. He served as Deputy Speaker for three years before becoming Speaker in 1981, a position he held for more than ten years. Arthur Donahoe is a former Canadian Regional Representative of CPA and a participant in many Canadian and international activities of the Association. He replaces David Tonkin, former Premier of South Australia as Secretary-General. He was interviewed in Quebec City in September 1992 during the Symposium on Parliamentary Democracy organized by the Quebec National Assembly to mark the Bicentennial of Representative Government in that province.

How would you describe the value of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association to a newly elected member?

Mr. Donahoe: The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is the parliamentary wing of the Commonwealth with members in some 120 national and state legislatures. Its conferences and seminars provide an excellent vehicle for the professional development of new members. It provides a way for new, and indeed, veteran members to familiarize themselves with the issues and individuals in various legislatures in the Commonwealth.

How do you respond to criticism that CPA is essentially a vehicle to allow parliamentarians to travel to exotic places?

Mr. Donahoe: I have heard this argument but I do not accept it. Most activities are centered around a serious agenda and members generally participate in the discussions. I think it is just as important for the professional development of public officials as it is for similar associations in the private sector.

We should not discount the important opportunity CPA provides to meet individuals from other cultures and races. Participation in CPA can be a very educational experience.

What are some of the things that you personally have learned?

Mr. Donahoe: At the most fundamental level, I learned that every parliament and legislature is different. Yet there are common threads throughout the Commonwealth.

I was also impressed by the way the parliamentary system can flourish in all types of societies regardless of the background of individuals. This is important when so many countries are emerging from other forms of government and looking around for new models.

How is one chosen Secretary-General?

Mr. Donahoe: It was an extensive process. When the former Secretary-General, David Tonkin, announced he was retiring, notice was given to all branches. An advertisement was placed in most of the national newspapers in countries throughout the Commonwealth.

The CPA is organized into eight geographic Regions and preliminary interviews were held in each Region. One person per Region was selected to be interviewed in London in April 1992. The final Selection Committee had representatives from each of the Regions.

I was fortunate enough to be chosen and my appointment was put before the General Assembly at its annual meeting in October for final approval.

Is there any way to prepare for an interview like this?

Mr. Donahoe: Not really. I thought about my experiences with CPA in the more than 10 years in which I was Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly. I knew the organization was looking to improve certain things and I tried to familiarize myself with the thinking of the current executive. Otherwise I just tried to be myself and answer the questions as best I could.

Did you have any qualms about accepting the position?

Mr. Donahoe: No. But the decision to apply was not taken lightly. I gave it a lot of thought because I knew that if successful it would change my life completely.

It would mean moving from a relatively small city in Eastern Canada to one of the largest metropolitan areas in the world. It would mean a change in focus from being a lawyer and a member of a fairly small legislature to looking at questions of international nature.

So, I did not make the choice lightly but having made it I am excited and look forward to my term in office. I hope to make the CPA an even better organization and look forward to the help and cooperation from many people in CPA both in Canada and around the world.

What do you see as some of the potential areas of action during your term?

Mr. Donahoe: In addition to continuing our education role by means of conferences, seminars, exchanges and publications, I think the Association wants to play a role in election monitoring.

We have in our membership a body uniquely qualified to play a role in this area. We could establish an inventory of members and former members willing to advise or assist countries in organizing or monitoring elections.

Would you describe the administrative structure of CPA?

Mr. Donahoe: Overall policy rests with the Executive Committee and General Assembly. My job is to see that policy is implemented smoothly.

The Secretariat in London consists of thirteen people from different parts of the Commonwealth. A recent study of the organization has led to a number of changes including the establishment of a position of Head of Administration. This position was filled by Radjah Gomez of Sri Lanka who was recruited at the same time as me.

So, I will be entering a new administrative structure and will be watching carefully and analyzing it to see if it obtains the objectives envisaged.

What is the relationship between the Commonwealth Secretariat and the CPA?

Mr. Donahoe: The Commonwealth Secretariat is a governmental body. The CPA is a parliamentary organization.

I understand that relations have been strained in the past but have improved recently. At the last Heads of Government meeting a declaration was adopted recognizing the CPA as the parliamentary wing of the Commonwealth.

My objective is to build on this recognition and to develop a good working relationship in the area of election monitoring for example. I think we have to make the Heads of Government more aware of the work of CPA.

Does this mean CPA might be adopting resolutions?

Mr. Donahoe: This is a longstanding debate in the Association at the policy level. The present practice is to have wide-ranging discussions rather than try to make people accept or reject a given point of view or resolution. We meet as a parliamentary organization and not as representatives of governments or countries.

This does not mean we cannot improve how we deal with topics at our conferences or seminars. For example, instead of having only parliamentary participants, I think there is something to be said for having experts to outline the nature and background of certain issues. There is some resistance to the involvement of outside "experts" but sometimes you can have a more informed discussion than might be possible otherwise.

As for the use of resolutions I think it is up to the Executive Committee to decide. I think we have functioned fairly well without resolutions and any move in that direction would probably have fairly profound consequences for the Association.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 15 no 4
1992






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Entrevue : Arthur Donahoe, secrétaire général de l'APC


Le 1er janvier 1993, M. Arthur Donahoe est devenu le premier Canadien à accéder au poste de secrétaire général de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC), en remplacement de M. David Tonkin, ex-premier ministre de l'Australie-Méridionale. Élu pour la première fois à l'Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1978, M. Donahoe en a assumé la vice-présidence pendant trois ans avant d'occuper le fauteuil du Président en 1981, fonction qu'il a exercée pendant plus de dix ans. M. Donahoe a déjà été représentant régional canadien de l'APC et a participé à de nombreuses activités nationales et internationales de l'Association. Nous l'avons interviewé à Québec en septembre 1992, durant le Symposium international sur la démocratie organisé par l'Assemblée nationale du Québec pour marquer le bicentenaire du gouvernement représentatif dans cette province.

Comment décririez-vous l'utilité de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth à un député nouvellement élu?

M. Donahoe : L'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth représente l'aile parlementaire du Commonwealth et regroupe des députés de quelque 120 Assemblées législatives nationales et d'État. Les conférences et colloques qu'elle organise fournissent aux nouveaux membres un excellent outil de perfectionnement professionnel. Elle offre aux nouveaux députés, voire aux députés de longue date, la possibilité de connaître les grandes questions qui préoccupent les diverses assemblées du Commonwealth et d'en rencontrer les membres.

Que répondez-vous aux critiques selon lesquels l'APC est essentiellement un moyen pour les parlementaires de s'envoler vers des destinations exotiques?

M. Donahoe : J'ai déjà entendu ce genre d'affirmations, mais je n'y souscris pas. La plupart des activités gravitent autour d'un programme solide, et les membres participent en règle générale aux débats. Il est tout aussi important, à mon avis, de permettre aux représentants élus de se perfectionner qu'aux professionnels du secteur privé.

Nous ne devrions pas écarter d'emblée l'importante possibilité qu'offre l'APC de rencontrer des personnes d'autres cultures et d'autres races. Être membre de l'APC peut être fort enrichissant.

Qu'en avez-vous tiré personnellement?

M. Donahoe : Fondamentalement, j'ai appris que toutes les assemblées législatives et tous les parlements diffèrent. Pourtant, ceux du Commonwealth présentent des traits communs.

La façon dont le parlementarisme peut prospérer dans tous les genres de société, indifféremment des antécédents de chacun, m'a aussi impressionné. Le fait a son importance quand on voit les nombreux pays qui écartent d'autres formes de gouvernement et qui se cherchent de nouveaux modèles.

Comment devient-on secrétaire général?

M. Donahoe : Ce fut long. Lorsque l'ex-secrétaire général, M. David Tonkin, a annoncé qu'il prenait sa retraite, un avis a été envoyé dans toutes les régions. Une annonce a été placée dans la plupart des journaux nationaux des pays membres du Commonwealth.

L'APC se divise en huit régions géographiques. Des entrevues préliminaires ont eu lieu dans chacune des régions. Un candidat par région a été retenu pour une entrevue à Londres, en avril 1992. Le comité de sélection finale comportait des représentants de toutes les régions.

J'ai eu l'immense honneur d'être choisi. Ma nomination a été soumise à l'approbation des membres de l'Assemblée générale, lors de la réunion annuelle d'octobre.

Y a-t-il moyen de se préparer pour des entrevues du genre?

M. Donahoe : Pas vraiment. Je me suis remémoré les expériences que j'avais vécues au sein de l'APC durant les longues années où j'étais président d'assemblée en Nouvelle-Écosse. Je savais que l'Association cherchait à apporter certaines améliorations et j'ai donc tenté de mieux connaître la pensée des membres du Comité exécutif actuel. Enfin, j'ai essayé de demeurer moi-même et de répondre de mon mieux.

Avez-vous hésité avant d'accepter le poste?

M. Donahoe : Non. Cependant, la décision de me porter candidat n'avait pas été prise à la légère. J'y avais mûrement réfléchi, car je savais que, si j'étais choisi, ma vie serait complètement bouleversée.

Il faudrait, entre autres, que je quitte une ville relativement petite de l'Est du Canada pour vivre dans une des plus grandes régions métropolitaines du monde. De simple avocat et membre d'une assemblée législative relativement petite, il faudrait que je m'occupe de questions à caractère international.

Mon choix a donc été réfléchi. Une fois fait, toutefois, je puis dire que le nouveau poste m'enthousiasme. J'espère pouvoir rendre l'APC encore meilleure et je sais pouvoir compter sur l'aide et la collaboration de nombreux membres de l'Association, au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Quels sont certains des projets que vous envisagez pour l'Association durant votre mandat?

M. Donahoe : En plus de poursuivre son rôle d'information au moyen de conférences, de colloques, d'échanges et de publications, l'Association voudra, je crois, aider à surveiller la tenue d'élections.

Nous comptons parmi nos membres un bassin de compétences particulièrement adaptées à ce genre de choses. Nous pourrions dresser une liste de membres et d'ex-membres disposés à aider des pays à préparer des élections ou à en assurer le suivi ou à les conseiller en ce sens.

Pouvez-vous nous décrire la structure administrative de l'Association?

M. Donahoe : La politique globale est l'apanage du comité exécutif et de l'Assemblée générale. Mon travail consiste à m'assurer que cette politique est mise en œuvre avec le moins de heurts possible.

Le secrétariat de Londres est composé de 13 personnes venant de tous les coins du Commonwealth. Une étude de l'organigramme faite récemment a mené à un certain nombre de réaménagements, y compris à la création du poste de chef de l'Administration. Le titulaire est Radjah Gomez, du Sri Lanka, qui a été recruté au même moment que moi.

Je m'insérerai donc dans une nouvelle structure que je suivrai de près et que j'analyserai afin de voir si elle répond aux objectifs visés.

Quel est le lien entre le Secrétariat du Commonwealth et l'APC?

M. Donahoe : Le Secrétariat du Commonwealth est un organisme gouvernemental, alors que l'APC est un organisme parlementaire.

Je crois savoir que les rapports entre les deux ont été tendus dans le passé, mais qu'ils se sont quelque peu améliorés récemment. Lors de leur dernière rencontre, les chefs de gouvernement ont adopté une déclaration reconnaissant l'APC comme aile parlementaire du Commonwealth.

Je me servirai donc de cette reconnaissance comme base pour établir de bonnes relations de travail dans le domaine de l'observation du processus électoral, par exemple. Il faut sensibiliser davantage les chefs de gouvernement au travail de l'APC.

Entendez-vous par là que l'APC pourrait commencer à adopter des résolutions?

M. Donahoe : L'Association débat de cette question depuis longtemps déjà, au niveau de son orientation. Actuellement, elle a pour pratique de débattre toutes sortes de questions plutôt que d'essayer de convaincre les membres d'accepter ou de rejeter une opinion ou une résolution. Nous nous réunissons en tant qu'organisme de parlementaires plutôt que comme représentants de gouvernements ou de pays.

Cela n'exclut pas que nous puissions améliorer la façon dont nous abordons les sujets lors de nos conférences et de nos colloques. Ainsi, plutôt que de débattre uniquement entre parlementaires, il ne serait pas mauvais d'entendre des experts nous expliquer la nature et le contexte de certaines questions. Certains s'opposent à l'idée de faire participer des « experts » de l'extérieur, mais, parfois, leur apport permet un débat plus éclairé.

Quant à la possibilité d'adopter des résolutions, je crois qu'il revient au comité exécutif de décider. Jusqu'ici, nous nous en sommes sortis passablement bien sans résolution. Tout changement en ce sens aurait probablement d'assez grandes répercussions sur l'Association.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 15 no 4
1992






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15