Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


CPA Conference in Fredericton

The 30th conference of the Canadian Region of CPA took place in Fredericton, New Brunswick from August 22-27, 1990. Approximately 91 delegates from every Canadian jurisdiction attended the conference. Also attending were legislators from Zimbabwe, the Isle of Man, the British House of Commons and a representative of the Headquarter's Secretariat.

Following the official opening by the Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick, the delegates considered the impact of free trade on the Canadian economy and Canada's sovereignty.

The second business session featured two panels both with guest speakers. Christopher McCormick of the Native Council of Canada spoke on Problems in achieving a practicable native self-government in one panel. The other featured Lorne Bozinoff, Vice President of Gallup Canada and John Godfrey, Editor of the Financial Post. They addressed the question of pollsters and the interpretation of polls in influencing public opinion.

Two other sessions also featured guest speakers. Senator Joyce Fairbairn and Dr. James Downey, President of the University of New Brunswick spoke on the subject of combatting illiteracy in the educational system. The transitional role of women in public life was addressed by three guest speakers: Judge Gladys Young of the Provincial Court of New Brunswick, Constable Patricia Thibodeau of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Elizabeth Weir leader of the New Brunswick New Democratic Party.

Other topics on the agenda included: The state of the fishing industry in Canada; effective environmental management of solid, toxic and nuclear waste; the independent role of the private member within traditional party discipline; the future of Canada's health care system; teen suicides; the powers of the Senate in theory and practice; and Canadian identity, a multicultural Canada versus a common Canadian culture.

The conference featured a number of memorable social events including a lobster feast and a dinner cruise on a paddle wheeler. Delegates were unanimous in their praise for the conference host Speaker Frank Branch of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly and the secretariat headed by David Peterson, Clerk of the Legislature, for the thoughtfulness and attention to detail that went into making the conference a success.

 

New Lieutenant-Governors

New Lieutenant-Governors have been appointed recently in Quebec and Prince Edward Island. In Prince Edward Island the new Lieutenant-Governor is a former Speaker, Marion Reid. She was educated at North Rustico, Stella Maris School and Prince of Wales College where she graduated with her First Class Teacher's License at age seventeen. She taught for some twenty years on the North Shore of Prince Edward Island. During her tenure she was awarded a sabbatical to return to university (1972-73) where she earned her Teacher's Certificate.

She was first elected in a 1979 by-election and re-elected in 1982. After serving as Deputy Speaker from 1979 to 1982 she was elected Speaker at the opening of the 56th Legislature on March 8, 1983. She held that position until 1986.

The new Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec is Martial Asselin. A lawyer, he was born in La Malbaie, where he later became Mayor from 1957-1963. He was first elected to the House of Commons in 1958 and, althought defeated in 1963 was re-elected in 1965 and 1968. Mr. Asselin was appointed to the Senate in 1972. He was Deputy Speaker of the Senate from 1984 to 1988 and played an active role in the International Association of French-Speaking Parliamentarians.

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 13 no 3
1990






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Conférence de l'APC à Fredericton

La Trentième conférence de la section canadienne de l'APC s'est déroulée à Fredericton, au Nouveau- Brunswick, du 22 au 27 août 1990. Environ 91 délégués de toutes les régions du Canada y ont assisté, de même que des législateurs du Zimbabwe, de l'Île de Man et des Communes britanniques et un représentant du Secrétariat de l'APC.

Après les cérémonies d'ouverture, présidées par le lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, les délégués ont examiné l'incidence du libre- échange sur l'économie et la souveraineté du Canada.

La deuxième séance de travail mettait à contribution deux groupes de discussion avec conférenciers invités. M. Christopher McCormick, du Conseil national des autochtones, a pour sa part parlé à un des groupes de la difficulté qu'ont les autochtones à réaliser l'autonomie gouvernementale. Par ailleurs, MM. Lorne Bozinoff, président de Gallup Canada, et John Godfrey, rédacteur en chef du Financial Post, ont entretenu l'autre groupe de la question des sondeurs et de l'influence de l'interprétation des sondages sur l'opinion publique.

Les participants ont eu l'occasion d'entendre des conférences à deux autres séances de travail. D'une part, le sénateur Joyce Fairbairn et M. James Downey, président de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, ont traité de la lutte contre l'analphabétisme dans le système d'éducation. D'autre part, l'évolution du rôle public des femmes a été discutée par trois conférencières invitées : le juge Gladys Young, de la Cour provinciale du Nouveau- Brunswick, l'agent Patricia Thibodeau, de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, et le chef du Nouveau Parti démocratique du Nouveau- Brunswick, Elizabeth Weir.

Le programme de la conférence comportait également des séances sur la situation des pêches au Canada, la gestion écologique efficace des déchets solides, toxiques et nucléaires, l'indépendance du simple député dans le cadre de la discipline traditionnelle du parti, l'avenir des soins de santé au Canada, le suicide chez les adolescents, les pouvoirs du Sénat en principe et dans la pratique, et l'identité canadienne – un Canada multiculturel ou une culture canadienne commune.

La conférence fut agrémentée d'un certain nombre d'activités mémorables, dont un festin aux homards et un dîner-croisière à bord d'un bateau à aubes. Tous les délégués ont félicité l'hôte de la conférence, le président Frank Branch de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, et le secrétariat dirigé par le greffier de l'Assemblée, M. David Peterson, pour leur attention aux détails qui a fait de la conférence un si grand succès.

Lieutenant-gouverneurs

Le Québec et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont depuis peu un nouveau lieutenant- gouverneur. À l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, il s'agit d'une ancienne Présidente de l'Assemblée législative, Marion Reid. Mme Reid a fait ses études à North Rustico, à l'école Stella Maris et au collège Prince of Wales, où elle a obtenu dès l'âge de 17 ans son brevet d'enseignement de première classe. Elle a enseigné pendant une vingtaine d'années sur la côte nord de l'Île, et c'est au cours de cette période (en 1972-1973) qu'elle a acquis un certificat d'enseignement à l'université à la faveur d'un congé sabbatique.

Elle a été élue pour la première fois en 1979, lors d'une élection partielle, et a été réélue en 1982. Vice-présidente de l'Assemblée législative de 1979 à 1982, elle fut élue à la présidence au début de la 56e législature, le 8 mars 1983, et occupa ce poste jusqu'en 1986.

Le nouveau lieutenant-gouverneur du Québec est Martial Asselin, avocat originaire de La Malbaie ; il fut d'ailleurs maire de l'endroit de 1957 à 1963. Élu à la Chambre des communes pour la première fois en 1958, il fut défait en 1963 mais réélu en 1965 et 1968. Nommé au Sénat en 1972, M. Asselin en a été le vice- président de 1985 à 1988. Il a également joué un rôle actif au sein de l'Association internationale des parlementaires de langue française.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 13 no 3
1990






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-11-29