Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

New Dimensions of Canadian Federalism by Gregory S. Mahler, Associated University Presses, Cranbury, New Jersey. 1987, 195 pages.

During the 1960s Professor Donald Smiley noted that a mild state of chaos was the normal condition of the Canadian federation. This is even more true in 1988. A Constitutional Accord (signed by the Prime Minister and Premiers of ten provinces but not yet approved by the legislatures), a free trade agreement negotiated but not yet implemented with the United States, and a Supreme Court beginning to interpret legislation in light of the 1982 Charter of Rights and Liberties have added to the regularly scheduled chaos that derives from federal-provincial negotiations on various issues.

To some extent this book has been overtaken by events since it was published before the Meech Lake Agreement which envisages a number of changes in the nature of Canadian federalism including the method of appointing Senators and Supreme Court Judges.

Nevertheless the book does provide a brief and well written overview of some traditional themes of Canadian federalism and compares it with other federal systems, mainly Australia, the Federal Republic of Germany and Switzerland.

For an American, teaching at an American University, the author demonstrates admirable ability in understanding and summarizing the complicated series of events that led to the 1982 patriation of the Canadin constitution. He then moves on to three chapters examining the way policy issues are handled in Canada. He looks specifically at health policy, foreign policy and energy policy. In all three instances he finds that in Canada debate seems to focus more on process than on policy. For example "at times in the recent past more attention has been paid to the question of which level of government will make energy-related decisions than to the question of what policies those decisions ought to recommend" (p. 146).

The final chapter offers a comparative perspective in which he attempts to explain why Canada is less efficient in making social policy than the other federations. His explanations are grouped into four categories: historical patterns of behaviour, the constitutional balance of powers, governmental institutions and attitudes of political leaders. In each case he makes at least one astute observation. For example he suggests, perhaps too politely, that Canada suffers "from certain ambiguities in its constitution which were not addressed during the 1982 constitutional changes."

His conclusion that Canada has its own brand of federalism "and it is unlikely that anything is going to happen of a radical or drastic nature... " will offer food for thought to both the proponents and opponents of Meech Lake.

Gary Levy,


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 11 no 2
1988






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

New Dimensions of Canadian Federalism, par Gregory S. Mahler, Associated University Presses, Cranbury, New Jersey, 1987, 195 pages.

Au cours des années 1960, le professeur Donald Smiley faisait remarquer que l'état d'anarchie bénigne caractéristique de la fédération canadienne faisait partie de l'ordinaire. C'est encore plus vrai en 1988. L'accord constitutionnel (signé par le premier ministre du Canada et les premiers ministres des dix provinces, mais qui n'a pas encore été approuvé par les assemblées législatives), l'accord de libre-échange avec les États-Unis et les premiers efforts de la Cour suprême en vue d'interpréter les lois en fonction de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés de 1982 ajoutent au chaos qui succède nécessairement à toutes négociations fédérales-provinciales.

Dans une certaine mesure, ce livre est dépassé par les événements étant donné qu'il a été publié avant l'Accord du lac Meech qui prévoit un certain nombre de changements dans la nature du fédéralisme canadien, y compris les nominations au Sénat et à la Cour suprême. L'auteur, dans un très bon style, nous donne un bref aperçu de quelques-uns des thèmes traditionnels du fédéralisme canadien et les compare à d'autres systèmes fédéraux : l'Australie, la République fédérale d'Allemagne et la Suisse. Tout Américain qu'il soit, enseignant dans une université américaine, l'auteur comprend et résume admirablement bien la série compliquée d'événements qui ont conduit au rapatriement de la Constitution canadienne en 1982. Il consacre ensuite trois chapitres à l'établissement et à l'élaboration des politiques au Canada. Il examine particulièrement celles de la santé, des affaires extérieures et de l'énergie.

Dans les trois cas, le débat semble, selon lui, avoir porté davantage sur le processus plutôt que sur la politique. Par exemple, « il est arrivé dernièrement qu'on se soit attaché davantage à déterminer à quel palier de gouvernement incomberaient les décisions en matière d'énergie qu'à élaborer les politiques que ces décisions devraient appuyer. » (p. 146)

Dans le dernier chapitre, il tente d'expliquer par une analyse comparative pourquoi le Canada parvient moins bien que les autres fédérations à formuler sa politique sociale. Il cherche une réponse dans les modèles historiques de comportement, l'équilibre constitutionnel des pouvoirs, les institutions gouvernementales et les attitudes des chefs politiques. Dans chaque cas, il fait au moins une observation perspicace comme lorsqu'il laisse entendre, peut-être trop poliment, que la Constitution du Canada souffre d'une certaine ambiguïté qui n'a pas été corrigée par les changements constitutionnels de 1982.

Sa conclusion selon laquelle le Canada a son propre fédéralisme et qu'il est peu vraisemblable qu'on y apporte des changements radicaux ou draconiens donnera matière à réflexion tant aux adversaires qu'aux partisans de l'Accord du lac Meech.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 11 no 2
1988






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03