Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Arnold Tulsa

The Right of Legislative Secretaries to ask questions during Question Period, Speaker Arnold Tusa, Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly, August 6, 1987.

Background: On July 30 the Member for Saskatoon Riversdale (Roy Romanow) raised a point of order concerning the admissibility of questions from legislative secretaries. The right of such members to ask questions has been an issue in Ottawa and in other legislatures. The Speaker outlined some reasons why House of Commons precedent does not necessarily apply to a provincial legislature.

The Ruling (Speaker Arnold Tusa): Oral questions are a relatively new element in the parliamentary process, particularly so in Saskatchewan where we have had our current form of time-limited Question Period only since 1975. It is not surprising then that this House has no specific rules or precedents to guide the Chair in this matter. With this in mind, I listened with interest to the comments made by various members on the point of order.

Before dealing with the specific issue respecting legislative secretaries I want to clarify the broader issue respecting the rights of government private members in Question Period. In raising the point of order the Member for Saskatoon Riversdale indicated that Question Period was not the appropriate forum for "government Members who have easy access to members of the cabinet, both in caucus meetings and in other forums." I want to make it very clear that government backbenchers have the same rights as backbenchers of other parties to ask questions. This is based on the fundamental right of every Member to be heard and is supported by precedents in this House. I refer Honourable Members to a ruling of the Chair dated December 9, 1975, which states that "It is the right of any Private Member to ask oral questions." While in practice the number of questions is always firmly weighted to the opposition side of the House, it is important to remember that the rules of parliamentary procedure do not require or assume hat all Members of one party speak with the same voice. Moreover, it is important to give Private Members the opportunity to raise in the House issues which concern their constituents.

Now I want to turn to the question of whether it is appropriate for legislative secretaries to ask questions in Question Period. In this Assembly, since May of 1983, at least eight questions have been asked by legislative secretaries in Question Period. In all cases, except for the one last week, the questions were allowed and no points of order were raised. None of them were put to the legislative secretary's own minister, except for the last one asked on July 30, 1987 by the member for Kelvington Wadena, and in this case it should be noted that the member is the Legislative Secretary for the Premier, as the President of the Executive Council, while another member is Legislative Secretary for the Premier, as Minister of Agriculture.

The practice of the Canadian House of Commons was referred to in the point of order and in the ensuing discussion, and therefore, it may be useful to trace how the House of Commons practice in this area has evolved.

Initially, parliamentary secretaries were allowed to ask questions as well as to answer them. On March 6, 1973, Speaker Lamoureux ruled that parliamentary secretaries had the same right as other Members to ask questions, although he expressed some reservations about the propriety of this in certain situations. Despite this ruling, it appears that it was not considered appropriate for a parliamentary secretary to ask a question of his own minister.

On November 5, 1974, Speaker Jerome ruled that "those who are clothed with the responsibility of answering for the government ought not to use the time of the Question Period for the privilege of asking questions of the government." Since that time it has become the accepted practice that parliamentary secretaries are not permitted to ask questions in Question Period.

In Saskatchewan the role of legislative secretaries, while still evolving, does not and has not, in practice, included the role of answering for, or acting for the minister in the House in the minister's absence. Thus, the House of Commons situation where parliamentary secretaries were able both to ask and to answer questions does not arise here. A further distinction between legislative secretaries and ministers should also be made. A legislative secretary is responsible only to his or her minister for subjects within the minister's area of responsibility, unlike cabinet ministers who are collectively responsible for the operation and policies of government as a whole.

In view of these differences in practice, I find it would be inappropriate to apply the current House of Commons practice rigidly to this Assembly. Based on our more restricted role for legislative secretaries, based on our past practice, and based on the realization that Question Period is more than just a forum for seeking information, it is my view that, on rare occasions, legislative secretaries could be recognised to ask questions in Question Period. However, such questions should only be directed at ministers other than the one for which the Member serves as legislative secretary. The duties of a legislative secretary, and the special relationship that exists between a legislative secretary and his or her minister and department make it highly inappropriate for the time of Question Period to be used by a legislative secretary asking questions of his or her own minister.

While this ruling may be appropriate under current circumstances, this practice may need to be further restricted as the role of legislative secretaries evolves.

 

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 3
1987






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
Arnold Tulsa

Du droit des secrétaires parlementaires provinciaux de poser des questions au cours de la période des questions orales, une décision du Président Arnold Tusa, Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan, le 6 août 1987.

Contexte : Le 30 juillet, le député de Saskatoon Riversdale a invoque le règlement au sujet de l'admissibilité des questions posées par les secrétaires parlementaires provinciaux. Cette question a déjà été soulevée et discutée à la Chambre des communes et dans d'autres assemblées législatives.

Décision du Président Arnold Tusa : Les questions orales sont un élément assez nouveau du processus parlementaire, surtout en Saskatchewan où la période limitée des questions n'existe, dans sa forme actuelle, que depuis 1975. Il ne faut donc pas s'étonner que cette Chambre ne dispose d'aucune règle précise ni d'aucun précédent dont puisse s'inspirer la présidence à cet égard. Cela dit, j'ai écouté avec intérêt les observations faites par divers députés sur le rappel au Règlement. Je les remercie de leur contribution.

Avant d'aborder la question concernant les secrétaires parlementaires provinciaux, permettez-moi de tirer au clair celle plus vaste des droits des simples députés du parti ministériel relativement à la période des questions. En invoquant le Règlement, le député de Saskatoon Riversdale a fait remarquer que la période des questions n'était pas la tribune appropriée pour l'intervention de ces députés qui ont facilement accès aux membres du Cabinet, tant au cours des réunions de caucus qu'à d'autres occasions. Je tiens à préciser que les simples députés du parti ministériel peuvent comme leurs collègues des autres partis, poser des questions. Il s'agit du droit fondamental de tout député à être entendu, droit que viennent appuyer des précédents établis dans cette Chambre. Je prie les députés de se reporter pour cela à une décision de la présidence du 9 décembre 1975 qui dispose que tout député a le droit de poser des questions orales. Bien qu'en pratique, ce soient les membres de l'opposition qui posent le plus grand nombre de questions, il importe de se rappeler que les règles de la procédure parlementaire n'exigent pas, ni ne supposent, que tous les députés d'un parti partagent le même avis. En outre, il faut donner aux députés l'occasion de soulever à la Chambre des questions qui intéressent leurs électeurs.

Permettez-moi maintenant de passer à la question de savoir s'il est bon que nos secrétaires parlementaires puissent poser des questions à la période réservée à cette fin. Depuis mai 1983, au moins huit questions ont été posées dans cette Assemblée par des secrétaires parlementaires au cours de la période de questions. Toutes, à l'exception d'une seule la semaine dernière, ont été admises et personne ne s'y est opposé. Aucune d'elles ne s'adressait au ministre dont relève le secrétaire parlementaire, si ce n'est la dernière, posée le 30 juillet 1987 par le député de Kelvington–Wadena et, dans ce cas, il faut remarquer que le député en question est le secrétaire parlementaire du premier ministre en sa qualité de Président du Conseil exécutif, alors qu'un autre député joue le rôle de secrétaire parlementaire du leader du gouvernement en sa qualité de ministre de l'Agriculture.

Dans le rappel au Règlement et dans la discussion qui s'est ensuivie, on a fait allusion à la pratique établie à la Chambre des communes du Canada. Il serait donc utile de rappeler l'évolution de cette règle à la Chambre fédérale.

Au début, les secrétaires parlementaires pouvaient poser des questions et répondre à celles qu'on leur adressait. Déjà, en 1973, le Président Lamoureux avait déclaré que les secrétaires parlementaires avaient le droit, tout comme les autres députés, de poser des questions, même s'il a exprimé des réserves sur la convenance de ce droit dans certaines situations. Malgré cette décision, on jugeait néanmoins maladroit qu'un secrétaire parlementaire pose des questions à son propre ministre.

Le 5 novembre 1974, le Président Jerome déclarait que : « Ceux qui ont assumé la responsabilité de répondre au nom du gouvernement ne devraient pas utiliser le temps de la période des questions orales pour poser des questions au gouvernement ». (Débats de la Chambre des communes, 5 novembre 1974, p. 1060). Depuis lors, il semble de tradition qu'on interdise aux secrétaires parlementaires de poser des questions pendant la période réservée à cette fin.

En Saskatchewan, le rôle des secrétaires parlementaires provinciaux, même s'il continue à évoluer, n'inclut pas, en pratique, celui de répondre à l'Assemblée législative au nom du ministre lorsque celui-ci est absent. Ainsi, la situation propre à la Chambre des communes où le secrétaire parlementaire peut poser des questions et répondre à celles qu'on lui adresse n'intervient pas ici. Il faut également faire une autre distinction entre un secrétaire parlementaire provincial et un ministre. Le premier ne rend des comptes à son ministre que pour les sujets relevant de la compétence de celui-ci, à la différence des ministres du cabinet. qui sont collectivement responsables du fonctionnement et des politiques générales dans son ensemble.

Compte tenu de ces différences d'ordre pratique, il serait à mon avis inapproprié de suivre rigoureusement dans l'Assemblée la tradition de la Chambre des communes. En raison du rôle plus restreint des secrétaires parlementaires provinciaux de notre propre tradition et du fait que la période des questions est plus qu'une simple tribune pour obtenir des renseignements, j'estime qu'on ne peut, sinon rarement, autoriser nos secrétaires parlementaires à poser des questions au cours de la période des questions orales. Celles-ci ne devraient cependant être adressées qu'à des ministres autres que celui dont le député est le secrétaire. Les fonctions de ces secrétaires, et le lien spécial qui existe entre eux, leur ministre et leur ministère, rendent la période des questions tout à fait inappropriée à un interrogatoire de leur propre ministre.

Bien que cette décision puisse convenir dans les circonstances, il se peut qu'on doive restreindre cette pratique à mesure qu'évoluera le rôle des secrétaires parlementaires provinciaux.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 3
1987






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03