Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
John Reynolds

Jurisdiction Over the Precincts of the Legislature, Speaker John Reynolds, British Columbia Legislative Assembly,

Background: In April, the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Skelly, raised a question of privilege relating to the public's right to demonstrate, by way of residency, on the grounds of the Legislative Building.

The Ruling (Speaker John Reynolds): Yesterday afternoon, the Honourable the Leader of the Opposition rose under the provisions of Standing Order 26 relating to a matter of privilege and described recent events which had taken place on the lawn in front of the Legislative Building.

Firstly, I wish to thank the Honourable Member for his courtesy in advising the Chair of this matter, prior to his raising it in the House. Honourable Members will appreciate that privilege belongs to Members of the Legislature, individually and collectively. The individual privileges are:

a) freedom of speech in debate; and

(b) freedom from arrest

The collective privileges are:

(a) access to the Crown;

(b) the right to provide for its due composition;

(c) the right to regulate its own proceedings;

(d) the power to punish for contempt;

(e) the power to summon witnesses; and

(f) those privileges enumerated in the Legislative Assembly Privilege Act

The distinctive mark of a privilege is its ancillary character. The privileges of Parliament are rights which are (and I stress) "absolutely necessary for the due execution of its power." They are enjoyed by individual Members because the House cannot perform its functions without unimpeded use of the services of its Members; and by each House for the protection of its Members and the vindication of its own authority and dignity. The question the Chair must address is whether or not the privileges enumerated above have been breached by the actions described by the Honourable the Leader of the Opposition yesterday.

The Chair must also observe that the Speaker's jurisdiction in British Columbia has never been clearly defined and the problems relating thereto were placed before this House in a report filed under the Legislative Procedure Review Act in 1984. In that report, at page 41, it was recommended that the legislative precinct be defined as the land the buildings bounded by Belleville, Government, Superior and Menzies Street, and further recommended that that definition be included in an Act establishing an Internal Economy Board.

The Chair feels the matter raised yesterday by the Honourable the Leader of the Opposition could have been examined by such a board and the experience in other jurisdictions of the Commonwealth lends support to that conclusion.

The right to demonstrate and protest are integral parts of a parliamentary democracy. The question the Chair, and indeed this Assembly, must address is whether or not they wish to circumscribe limits to these rights, particularly when the actions in question directly impact upon the precinct of this Legislative Assembly. The Speaker is, and will remain, the servant of this Assembly, but is placed in an invidious position when the extent of his jurisdiction remains uncertain. It is hoped that the Premier's statement relating to the formation of a Board of Internal Economy will hasten the resolution of many of these uncertainties.

The matter raised by the Honourable the Leader of the Opposition has brought into sharp focus these jurisdictional problems but the matter described does not, under the authorities, qualify as a prima facie breach of privilege.

For the further assistance of all Members, I refer them to a comprehensive treatment of this matter contained in Parliamentary Privilege in Canada by Joseph Maingot, and Sir Erskine May's Parliamentary Practice, 19th edition, at page 92, and Beauchesne's Parliamentary Rules and Forms, 5th edition, at page 11.

The Chair must make a further comment in relation to a fresh incident reported by the Honourable the Leader of the Opposition during this morning's sitting which, as the Chair understands it, amounted to a repeat of yesterday's incident on the lawn of the Legislative Assembly. As a result of this last-mentioned incident, the Speaker has issued instructions to the Sergeant-at-Arms that neither he, nor any of his staff, are to become involved in the forcible removal of persons or articles from the grounds of the Legislative Building. These instructions will remain in place until the Chair has been given different instructions by this House, or by a duly constituted Board of Internal Economy. Let me emphasise, this in no way derogates from the Chair's acknowledged responsibility for security matters within the walls of the Legislative Building, which will continue in accordance with the Standing Orders of this House and well-established custom and usage.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 2
1987






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
John Reynolds

Décision concernant le statut des terrains adjacents à l'édifice de l'Assemblée législative, rendue par le Président John Reynolds de l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique, le 9 avril 1987.

Contexte : Le 9 avril dernier, le chef de l'opposition, M. Skelley, soulevait une question de privilège concernant le droit de manifester en s'installant sur les terrains adjacents à l'édifice de l'Assemblée législative.

Décision du Président John Reynolds : Hier après-midi, l'honorable chef de l'opposition, se prévalant de l'article 26 du Règlement de l'Assemblée législative, soulevait une question de privilège relativement aux événements récemment survenus sur les pelouses situées devant l'édifice de l'Assemblée.

J'aimerais d'abord remercier l'honorable député d'avoir eu l'amabilité de me saisir de cette affaire avant de la soulever en Chambre.

Les honorables députés reconnaîtront d'abord qu'ils jouissent de certains privilèges, à titre individuel et collectif.

Leurs privilèges individuels sont :

a) la liberté de parole dans un débat; et

b) l'immunité d'arrestation.

Leurs privilèges collectifs sont :

a) l'accès à l'Assemblée;

b) le droit de décider de sa composition;

c) le droit de réglementer ses procédures;

d) le pouvoir de sévir contre ceux qui la méprisent;

e) le pouvoir de convoquer des témoins; et

f) les privilèges énoncés dans la Legislative Assembly Privilege Act.

Tout privilège est, de par sa nature, octroyé. Les privilèges du Parlement sont des droits (et j'insiste) qui sont absolument indispensables à l'exercice des pouvoirs du Parlement. Ils sont accordés à tous les députés parce que la Chambre serait dans l'incapacité de s'acquitter de ses fonctions si elle ne pouvait librement disposer des services de tous ses membres; ces privilèges sont également octroyés à chacune des chambres pour la protection de ses membres et la sauvegarde de son autorité et de sa dignité.

La présidence doit décider aujourd'hui si oui ou non les privilèges énoncés ci-haut ont été violés par ceux qui ont posé les gestes décrits par l'honorable chef de l'opposition hier.

La présidence doit également signaler que la compétence du Président de l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique en cette matière n'a jamais été clairement définie et que la Chambre a déjà été saisie de problèmes similaires qui lui ont été soumis dans un rapport déposé aux termes de la Loi sur la Réforme des procédures législatives en 1984. À la page 41 de ce rapport, on recommandait que les environs du Parlement soient définis comme étant les terrains et les édifices bornés par les rues Belleville, Government, Superior et Menzies et que cette définition soit incluse dans une loi créant un Conseil de la régie interne.

La présidence estime que la question soulevée hier par l'honorable chef de l'opposition aurait pu être examinée par ce conseil et que les précédents dans d'autres parlements du Commonwealth tendent à confirmer cette opinion.

Le droit de manifester et de protester est inhérent au principe de la démocratie parlementaire. La question qui se pose maintenant à la présidence, et donc à l'Assemblée, est de savoir si oui ou non il y a lieu de limiter ces droits, notamment lorsque les gestes posés ont pour cadre les terrains adjacents à l'Assemblée législative. Le Président, qui est et demeure au service de l'Assemblée, se voit placé dans une situation ingrate dans la mesure où sa capacité de trancher ce genre de décision n'est pas évidente. Espérons que la création d'un conseil de la régie interne, annoncée par le premier ministre, permettra bientôt de dissiper plusieurs de ces incertitudes.

La question soulevée par l'honorable chef de l'opposition a mis brusquement en lumière ces problèmes de compétence, bien que, d'après les textes faisant autorité, les faits décrits ne peuvent être qualifiés, à première vue, de violation de privilège.

Dans leur intérêt, j'invite tous les députés à se référer à une interprétation détaillée de la question donnée dans Parliamentary Privilege in Canada de Joseph Maingot, dans Parliamentary Practice de Sir Erskine May à la page 92 de la 19e édition de Parliamentary Practice et dans Parliamentary Rules and Forms de Beauchesne à la page 11 de la 5e édition.

La présidence se doit de commenter également un nouvel incident, rapporté par l'honorable chef de l'opposition au cours de la séance de ce matin, qu'elle interprète comme une répétition de celui survenu hier sur les pelouses de l'Assemblée législative. Après le premier incident, le Président avait ordonné au sergent d'armes de veiller à ce que ni lui ni ses agents ne participent à l'évacuation forcée des personnes ou des objets présents sur les pelouses de l'Assemblée. Ces instructions demeureront en vigueur tant que la présidence n'aura pas reçu d'autres ordres de la Chambre, ou d'un conseil de la régie interne dûment constitué. Cette procédure ne dispense nullement, et j'insiste là-dessus, la présidence de s'acquitter des responsabilités qu'elle reconnaît avoir en matière de sécurité dans l'enceinte des édifices parlementaires, responsabilités qu'elle continuera d'assumer conformément au Règlement de la Chambre et aux coutumes et pratiques parlementaires établies.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 2
1987






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15