Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Randy Colwell

The Party That Changed Canada: The New Democratic Party, Then And Now, Lynn McDonald, M.P., Macmillan of Canada, Toronto, 1987, 265 p.

Commentators on the Canadian political scene have applied a variety of labels to the party system. For some, the extended periods of Liberal governments led them to conclude that Canada has a one party dominant system. Others recognise that the Conservative party, both in and out of government, has made a significant contribution to Canada's party system and have preferred to describe Canada as a two party system. Analysts unsatisfied with these two categories have variously described our party system as a two party plus or multi party system.

Lynn McDonald, in her The Party That Changed Canada , would no doubt assert that Canada has a fully developed three party system. It is Lynn McDonald's central thesis, as the title claims, that the NDP (and its forerunner the CCF) has had a profound impact on shaping the political, the social, and economic affairs of Canada, even though it has never formed either the government or the official opposition at the national level.

According to McDonald, programs such as medicare, old age pensions, job creation and unemployment insurance, civil rights legislation, and cultural entities including the CBC, trace their origins to the CCF, not the parties which were in power when these measures were introduced. In fact, McDonald claims these programs, which have indeed "changed Canada", were resisted by the implementors and adopted only because cynical Liberal and Conservative prime ministers saw the electoral capital. These claims are the most contentious parts of McDonald's book and will certainly not go unchallenged by studious readers.

The book is easy to read and is not bogged down in unnecessary detail. The author's style and the organisation of the chapters carry the reader quickly through the origins of the CCF on the Canadian prairies and moves quickly into its lengthy "list" of accomplishments as an opposition party. Although many of the passages are long on rhetoric there is a generous supply of documentation to buttress the author's claims.

The third chapter (Virtue Is Its Own Reward?) outlines the several explanations for the CCF/NDP's failure to gain the necessary votes to form the national government. McDonald disposes of the many traditional arguments which purport to explain the electoral failures of the CCF/NDP. Arguments such as the NDP is not far enough to the left; it is too far to the left; it is dominated by organised labour, etc., are examined and found wanting. McDonald devotes a lot of attention to the media and argues that the Canadian media has not given the CCF/NDP fair coverage. Although she admits that flagrant bias is rare (p. 103) she argues that the media in general over-simplifies the NDP messages and all too often portrays the NDP as fiscally irresponsible. In response, McDonald outlines the fiscal successes of NDP provincial governments, with Saskatchewan shown as the model. McDonald's closing criticism of the media centers on television, which she sees as a numbing experience which contributes to a sense of powerlessness and helplessness in the minds of Canadians.

One of the central premises of the NDP's social democratic philosophy is that the state ought to play an activist role in social and economic affairs. Many Canadian social democrats view, almost with a sense of envy, the successes of social democratic parties in European countries and point to these countries as models for the NDP to follow. McDonald examines these countries too, and attributes the successes of social democratic parties to high levels of unionisation and long histories of participation within the political system. Comparison between social democratic parties in Europe and elsewhere and Canada is a difficult venture at best and McDonald does not give enough attention to the differences in political culture and historical development which distinguish Canada from Europe.

Perhaps the most thoughtful chapter is Chapter 6, where McDonald "demystifies" the budget and outlines the NDP's economic program. McDonald shows that not only are Canadian social programs affordable, but when compared to tax exemptions and subsidies to the corporate world, there is room for improvement and expansion.

Unlike many books written about politics in Canada, McDonald's is not written for the political junkie who seeks insight into processes and personality. McDonald's book seems to be pitched to the electorate at large. The book will probably find its biggest readership among the rank and file. New Democrats will use its arguments to try to convince the undecided voter to cast their ballot for the NDP.

Public opinion polls indicate that the NDP has gained considerable ground as a political party. The party, which is comparatively younger than the Liberals and the Conservatives still has a long way to go before it can form a national government. If the optimism which permeates McDonald's book translates into seats in the House of Commons, there may be more opportunities for the NDP to change Canada in the coming years.

Randy Colwell ,Parliamentary Intern, Ottawa Ontario


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 2
1987






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Randy Colwell

The Party that Changed Canada: The New Democratic Party, Then and Now, Lynn McDonald, députée, Toronto, Macmillan of Canada, 1987, 265 pages.

Les observateurs de la scène politique canadienne ont appliqué diverses étiquettes au système de partis. Le long règne des gouvernements libéraux successifs a fait dire à certains que le Canada était dirigé par un seul parti dominant. D'autres reconnaissent que le Parti progressiste conservateur, tant au pouvoir que dans l'opposition, a largement contribué au système de partis du Canada, et préfèrent décrire celui-ci comme un régime bipartite. Certains analystes, que ces deux catégories laissent insatisfaits, ont tour à tour parlé d'un système qui était plus que bipartite sinon multipartite.

Lynn McDonald, dans The Party That Changed Canada, admet sans doute que le Canada possède un système tripartite bien développé. Elle affirme en effet, comme le titre de son ouvrage l'indique, que le Nouveau Parti démocratique (NPD), et son prédécesseur, la Fédération du Commonwealth coopératif (FCC) ont eu une profonde incidence sur l'évolution des dimensions politiques, sociales et économiques du Canada, même s'il n'ont jamais pris la tête du pays ni formé d’opposition officielle fédérale.

D'après l'auteure, des programmes comme l'assurance-maladie, les pensions de vieillesse, la création d'emplois, l'assurance-chômage et les droits de la personne, sans parler des entités culturelles telles que la Société Radio-Canada, tirent leurs origines de la Fédération du Commonwealth coopératif et non des partis au pouvoir à l'époque. En fait Mme Macdonald prétend que ces programmes, qui ont effectivement transformé le Canada, n'ont été instaurés par les législateurs que de mauvaise grâce et uniquement parce que les premiers ministres libéraux ou conservateurs en avaient cyniquement perçu la valeur électorale. Ces allégations sont parmi les plus controversées de l'ouvrage et des lecteurs sérieux ne manqueront certainement pas de les contester.

Le livre est facile à lire et n'est pas alourdi par des détails inutiles par son style et sa façon de structurer les chapitres, l'auteure transporte rapidement le lecteur des origines de la FCC, dans les provinces des Prairies, à la longue liste de ses réalisations en tant que parti d'opposition. Bien que bon nombre de passages soient longuement rhétoriques, l'auteure s'appuie sur une bonne documentation pour étayer ses affirmations.

Le troisième chapitre « Virtue Is Its Own Reward? » explique les diverses raisons pour lesquelles la FCC et plus tard le NPD n'ont pas réussi à obtenir suffisamment de voix pour former le gouvernement national. Mme McDonald réfute les nombreux arguments, qui ont de tout temps servi a expliquer les échecs électoraux de la FCC et du NPD entre autres que ce parti n'est pas suffisamment gauchiste ou qu'il l'est trop, qu'il est dominé par les syndicats, etc. Pour elle ce sont des arguments fallacieux.

L'auteure consacre beaucoup d'attention aux médias canadiens et prétend qu'ils n'ont pas donné à la FCC ou au NPD la couverture méritée. Tout en admettant que les préjugés flagrante sont rares (p. 103), elle prétend que les médias simplifient exagérément les messages du NPD et véhiculent trop souvent l'image d'un parti financièrement irresponsable. A cela, Mme McDonald rappelle les réussites financières de gouvernements provinciaux néo-démocrates, celui de la Saskatchewan plus particulièrement. Elle termine sa critique des médias en s'attaquant à la télévision qu'elle considère comme un instrument ankylosant qui suscite un sentiment d'impuissance et de désarroi chez les Canadiens.

La doctrine socio-démocrate du NPD repose sur le principe que l'État doit jouer un rôle actif sur les plan social et économique. Bon nombre de socio-démocrates canadiens suivent, presque avec envie, les succès de leurs homologues des pays européens en espérant que le NPD suivra leur exemple. Mme McDonald examine aussi la situation de ces pays et attribue les succès des partis socio-démocrates à un haut degré de syndicalisation et à une participation de longue date à la vie politique. Il est difficile, à tout le moins, de comparer les partis socio-démocrates d'Europe et d'ailleurs avec celui du Canada, et l'auteure n'insiste pas suffisamment sur les différences entre le développement politico-culturel et historique qui distinguent le Canada de l'Europe.

Peut-être le chapitre 6 est-il celui qui donne le plus matière à réflexion, car l'auteure y «démystifie» la question du budget et expose le programme économique du NPD. Elle prouve non seulement que le Canada peut se permettre d'appliquer des programmes sociaux, mais aussi qu'il y a place pour l'amélioration et l'expansion de ces programmes considérant les exemptions fiscales et les subventions accordées aux sociétés.

Contrairement à beaucoup d'ouvrages qui traitent de la politique canadienne, celui de Mme McDonald ne s'adresse pas aux mordus de la politique curieux des événements et des personnalités. En effet, il a été écrit, semble-t-il, pour l'ensemble de l'électorat et il intéressera probablement surtout le citoyen moyen. Les néo-démocrates se serviront sans doute des arguments qui y sont exposés pour essayer de convaincre les électeurs indécis de voter pour eux.

Les sondages d'opinion publique révèlent que la popularité du NPD a considérablement augmenté. Ce parti, comparativement plus jeune que les partis libéral et progressiste-conservateur, a encore beaucoup de chemin à parcourir avant de pouvoir gouverner le pays. Si l'optimisme qui transpire de l'ouvrage de Mme McDonald se traduit par un gain de sièges à la Chambre des communes, peut-être le NPD aura-t-il davantage l'occasion de transformer le visage du Canada dans les années à venir.

Randy Colwell
Stagiaire parlementaire


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 2
1987






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15