Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Heather MacIvor

Whelan: The Man In The Green Stetson, Eugene Whelan and Rick Archbold, Toronto, Irwin Publishing, 1986, 322p; and The Rainmaker: A Passion For Politics, Senator Keith Davey, Toronto, Stoddart, 1986, 383p.

American humorist Kin Hubbard once said that 1f there's any literary ability in a feller, gettin' bounced out of a good government job will bring it out faster'n anything." Since the Liberal defeat of 1984, Canadian bookstore shelves have borne out the truth of this remark. Three members of the Trudeau Cabinet have rushed into print, along with a former member of the PMO and an old backroom boy. Their books sold well or badly depending on the public profile of the author or the apparent relevance of their content to the political dramas of the moment. Regrettably, the stampede to read Senator Keith Davey's indictment of John Turner led many people to overlook the most readable and satisfying book of the whole crop: Whelan: The Man in the Green Stetson. This engaging portrait of a political maverick does much to justify Whelan's complaints that he is constantly underestimated. This, of course, is the theme of every political memoir ever written, but Whelan is an education in the limits of slick imagemakers with their patronising attitude toward little people", notably farmers. Whelan is a clever man and a canny politician, and a good storyteller besides.

Whelan begins in rural Ontario with an absorbing account of a large family struggling through the Depression. The first few chapters, which take Whelan from school to his first public office, his marriage and his entry into Liberal politics, are funny and gracefully written (the latter due in some measure to co-author Rick Archbold). Chapters Four through Seven describe Whelan's years as a backbencher under Pearson. The pages are studded with generous tributes to political luminaries, but there are also shrewd assessments of personal failings. In these chapters the book's major flaw appears: a tendency to self congratulation which mars the account of Whelan's battles in Ottawa. He is far from the worst offender among the political memoirists - and why write an autobiography if not to indulge in a little crowing or perfect hindsight? But watching an author pat his own back is a distasteful experience. Happily, the book usually overcomes this flaw and retains its interest and charm.

The chapters covering Whelan's years under Trudeau, first as parliamentary secretary and then as Minister of Agriculture, provide an unexpected bonus: an often excellent account of how a Cabinet Minister does his or her job - in the department, in caucus, in Cabinet and committees, and on the road. This kind of material is rare in Canada, where too little is known about the daily operations of government. Whelan is an invaluable addition to the academic speculations about the executive at work.

These middle chapters contain many entertaining digressions. One of these is an account of the Cabinet's failure to bail out Quebec dairy farmers in the spring of 1976, an episode which, according to Whelan, gave the Parti Québécois the rural votes it needed for its first majority. (So much for the tons of paper consumed by the academic debate on political ideologies in Quebec!). The tone of the writing starts to sour during the chapter on Trudeaus last decade in power, and the following chapter on Whelan's foreign travels is a welcome relief. He is not afraid to applaud Castro's Cuba, Ariel Sharon's initiatives as Israeli Agriculture Minister, or Princess Anne's earthier remarks. The section about his drinking contests behind the Iron Curtain is wonderful, and the pages about Mikhail Gorbachev revealing and poignant. The story about Gorbachev's meeting with Peter Lougheed is worth the price of the book.

Although Whelan has received far less than its share of attention, the final chapter did raise a few media ripples, It concerns Whelan's quixotic run for the Liberal leadership, his firing by John Turner, and his shabby treatment by the new Conservative government. The book makes clear that there was never any love lost between Whelan and Turner, although the bitterness of the early Turner anecdotes may be partly due to recent events. However, the reasons for Whelan's removal from Turner's Cabinet remain vague. Whelan accuses Turner's aides of convincing the leader that "Big Gene" was a political liability, but doesn't explain. Perhaps Whelan's misquoted remark about Africans not wearing hats, widely interpreted as racist, hurt him more than he likes to admit. Or it may have been his support for Chrétien at the leadership convention. Whatever the reason, Whelan, like practically everyone else concerned, claims to have counselled Turner against an early election call. (If all of these people really did have this much foresight, Turner's judgement must be seriously doubted). The book ends with a plea for a more small-"I" Liberal Party and a veiled incitement to Liberal delegates to vote for a leadership review and bring the party back to the left of centre. These few paragraphs are much gentler, hence less newsworthy, than Davey's frontal assault on Turner, and reflect much better on the author's character and discretion.

Whelan leaves a lasting impression of a shrewd, earthy populist trying to manoeuvre around over educated, out-of-touch bureaucrats and lawyer politicians. The real hero of the book is Whelan's wife Liz. His praise of her support, hard work and courage is frequent and generous, but barely enough for a quarter-century as a politician's wife - a role yet to be adequately studied or appreciated.

There are many contrasts between Whelan and another Liberal memoir, Senator Keith Davey's The Rainmaker: A Passion for Politics. Senator Davey's book failed to incite a revolt against John Turner in November 1986, so the topical interest which stimulated its early sales is no more. The book must now be judged solely' on its merits, which are meagre compared to Whelan. There is no absorbing account of a nascent politician; oddly enough, Christina McCall-Newrnan gave a much better portrait of the young Davey in Grits than Davey himself can muster. From the very first page, the tone of The Rainmaker wobbles uneasily between self-promotion, false humility and stabs at profundity. The writing has none of the charm of Whelan, the content is surprisingly dull, and the observations on Liberal ideology, often muddled.

In the midst of this, three things stand out. One is the large quantity of space devoted to pictures, most of Davey, the rest inscribed to Davey by various political notables. Another is the tendency to insert long lists of "maxims", "commandments" and ground rules", not to mention the names of Davey's favourite political commentators and lengthy quotations from Davey's own report on the media. This is both annoying and strangely pretentious for a man who claims nothing but scorn for pompous intellectuals. Finally, there is a surprisingly good chapter in defence of the Senate. It is heartening to see someone standing up for the valuable work which does occur in Senate committees and occasionally in debate. There are other virtues to the book, primarily some decent anecdotes, but little that is new or enlightening. The portraits of other political figures are especially disappointing, given Davey's intimate association with the great Liberal politicians of the last quarter century. He's too busy crowding the :spotlight, and the famous people he does present remain dim, shadowy figures in the background. Someone with Davey's career should have had a better book in him than this one.

In a way, these two memoirs represent what's right and what's wrong with the current spate of political books. There is great potential for revealing the actual workings of government, and breathing some life into academics' flow charts. There is the chance to enliven dry historical studies with personal anecdotes or a fresh perspective. But there are always the pitfalls of self-promotion, justifying past mistakes, or conducting a literary vendetta against old opponents. Politicians, being human, tend to succumb to these latter temptations.

Heather MacIvor, Parliamentary Intern Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 1
1987






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Heather MacIvor

Whelan: The Man in the Green Stetson, Eugene Whelan et Rick Archbold, Toronto, Irwin Publishing, 1986, 32:1 p.; The Rainmaker: A Passion for Politics, Ontario, Keith Davey, Toronto, Stoddart, 1986, 383 pages.

L'humoriste américain Kim Hubbard disait un jour que le fait d'être délogé d'un bon poste au gouvernement vous donne toutes les chances de faire valoir le moindre talent d'écrivain. Depuis la défaite essuyée par les libéraux en 1984, les rayons des librairies canadiennes ont confirmé la véracité de cette remarque. Trois membres du Cabinet Trudeau sont accourus chez les éditeurs, tout comme un ancien membre du bureau du premier ministre et un ancien expert resté dans les coulisses. Leurs livres se sont bien ou mal vendus selon la perception qu'avait le public de l'auteur ou l'apparente pertinence du sujet traité par rapport aux drames politiques du moment. Malheureusement, l'empressement de certains lecteurs à s'enquérir des accusations que le sénateur Keith Davey portait contre John Turner leur a fait délaisser l'ouvrage le plus intéressant et le plus agréable à lire de toute la récolte : Whelan: The Man in the Green Stetson. Cet attachant portrait d'un homme politique non conformiste donne raison à Whelan de s'être constamment prétendu sous-estimé. Thème qui se retrouve du reste dans tous les mémoires d'hommes politiques, mais Whelan montre jusqu'où peut aller l'étroitesse de ces astucieux créateurs d'images et leur attitude condescendante à l'égard des petites gens, notamment des fermiers. Whelan est un homme intelligent et un politicien futé qui, de surcroît, se révèle un bon conteur.

Le récit de Whelan nous transporte d'abord dans l'Ontario rural et relate avec beaucoup d'intérêt les épreuves d'une grosse famille qui traverse la Crise. Les premiers chapitres nous font connaître Whelan depuis ses années d'école jusqu'à l'obtention de son premier poste politique, et nous racontent son mariage et son entrée sur la scène politique libérale avec humour et élégance (en partie grâce au coauteur Rick Archbold). Les chapitres quatre à sept décrivent les années passées par Whelan en tant que député de l'arrière ban sous le gouvernement Pearson. Les pages abondent en hommages reconnaissants à des sommités politiques mais on retrouve aussi des analyses perspicaces d'échecs personnels. C'est dans ces chapitres que se révèle le principal défaut du livre, soit une tendance de l'auteur à se louanger, qui ne réussit qu'à gâcher le compte rendu des luttes menées par Whelan à Ottawa. Mais il est loin de remporter la palme à ce titre. D'ailleurs, pourquoi rédiger ses mémoires si ce n'est pour s'offrir le luxe de vanter un peu ses mérites ou de faire montre d'une sagesse rétrospective parfaite? Reste qu'observer un auteur se féliciter constamment est assez désagréable. Heureusement, l'ensemble du livre fait oublier ce défaut et garde tout son intérêt et son charme.

Les chapitres décrivant les années que l'auteur a passées sous le gouvernement Trudeau, tout d'abord à titre de secrétaire parlementaire, puis de ministre de l'Agriculture, nous donnent en prime un compte rendu souvent excellent de la façon dont un ministre accomplit son travail au ministère, en caucus, au Cabinet et en comités ainsi que dans ses déplacements. Ce genre d'information est rare au Canada où l'on connaît trop de peu de choses sur les activités quotidiennes du gouvernement. Whelan apporte des réponses précieuses aux savantes spéculations sur le travail de nos dirigeants.

Ces chapitres du milieu contiennent de nombreuses digressions amusantes. L'une d'elles relate l'échec du Cabinet à tirer du marasme les producteurs laitiers québécois au printemps de 1976, épisode qui, à en croire Whelan, rallia au Parti québécois les votes des populations rurales qui lui étaient nécessaires pour obtenir sa première majorité. (Pourquoi alors les intellectuels ont-ils gaspillé tant de tonnes de papier à discourir sur les idéologies politiques du Québec si la question était aussi simple!) Le ton se gâte au chapitre où il décrit la dernière décennie du gouvernement Trudeau, mais le chapitre suivant sur les voyages de Whelan à l'étranger apporte un soulagement bienvenu. L'auteur ne craint pas d'applaudir le régime castriste de Cuba, les initiatives du ministre israélien de l'Agriculture, Ariel Sharon, ni les observations truculentes de la princesse Anne. Whelan raconte avec brio comment, mis au défi, il a réussi à boire tout autant d'alcool que ses hôtes derrière le Rideau de fer, et sa description de Mikhaïl Gorbatchev est révélatrice et émouvante. Enfin, le compte rendu de la rencontre entre Gorbatchev et Peter Lougheed vaut à lui seul le prix du livre.

Bien que l'ouvrage soit loin d'avoir obtenu l'attention qu'il mérite, le dernier chapitre a quand même eu quelques échos dans les médias. Il décrit le don-quichottisme d'un Whelan qui se porte candidat à la direction du Parti libéral, son renvoi par John Turner et la mesquinerie avec laquelle le nouveau gouvernement conservateur l'a traité. Le livre ne cache absolument pas l'antipathie qu'ont toujours eue Whelan et Turner l'un pour l'autre, même si l'âpreté des premières anecdotes concernant Turner est peut-être le fait d'événements récents. Les raisons du renvoi de Whelan du Cabinet Turner demeurent toutefois obscures.

Whelan accuse les acolytes de Turner d'avoir persuadé leur leader que le « gros Gene » était un poids mort en politique, sans toutefois s'expliquer. Peut-être que les propos mal rapportés qu'aurait tenus Whelan sur le fait que les Africains ne portent pas de chapeau ont été perçus par beaucoup comme racistes et lui ont fait plus de tort qu'il ne voudrait l'admettre. Ou peut-être est-ce l'appui qu'il a prêté à Chrétien au moment du congrès à la direction du parti. Quoi qu'il en soit, Whelan, comme presque tous les autres, prétend avoir déconseillé à Turner de convoquer des élections anticipées. (Si tous ceux qui l'ont fait étaient alors à ce point perspicaces, peut-être v aurait-il lieu de remettre sérieusement en question le jugement de Turner.) L'auteur termine en plaidant en faveur d'un Parti libéral moins prétentieux et en incitant subtilement les délégués libéraux à un changement de direction et à une réorientation du parti vers le centre-gauche. Ces quelques paragraphes, rédigés dans un style beaucoup plus doux, sont moins susceptibles de faire les manchettes que l'attaque directe lancée par Davey contre Turner, mais ils témoignent beaucoup mieux du tempérament et de la discrétion de l'auteur.

Tout compte fait, la lecture de Whelan donne l'impression d'un populiste astucieux et lourdaud qui tente de manœuvrer parmi des bureaucrates et des avocats politiciens instruits à l'extrême et complètement hors du réel. Mais le véritable héros du livre est Liz, l'épouse de Whelan. Il la louange fréquemment et généreusement pour son appui, sa ténacité et son courage, sans exagérer toutefois, pendant les vingt-cinq années où il lui a fallu jouer le rôle de femme de politicien, rôle qui n'a pas encore été adéquatement étudié ou apprécié à sa juste valeur.

De nombreux contrastes opposent Whelan et les mémoires du sénateur libéral Keith Davey, auteur de The Rainmaker: A Passion for Politics. L'autobiographie du sénateur Davey n'a pas réussi à provoquer une révolte contre John Turner en novembre 1986; aussi, l'intérêt qui a stimulé les premières ventes n'a-t-il été que passager. Il faut donc maintenant juger le livre uniquement d'après ses mérites, qui sont plutôt faibles par rapport à ceux de Whelan. La lecture du récit des premières armes d'un politicien n'est nullement captivante; curieusement, Christina McCall-Newman a bien mieux esquissé le portrait du jeune Davey dans Grits que Davey lui-même. Dans la toute première page, le ton de The Rainmaker hésite maladroitement entre l'autovalorisation, la fausse humilité et la pseudo-profondeur. Le style n'a rien du charme de Whelan, le contenu est étonnamment dénué d'intérêt et les observations sur l'idéologie libérale sont souvent confuses.

Deux grandes faiblesses ressortent de ce récit, à commencer par le nombre de pages consacré a des photographies, la plupart de Davey, les autres dédicacées à Davey par diverses personnalités politiques. La seconde est la tendance de l'auteur à insérer de longues listes des maximes, de commandements de « règles fondamentales » sans parler des noms des commentateurs politiques favoris de Davey et de longs extraits du rapport qu'il a lui-même publié sur les médias. Cela est à la fois ennuyeux et étrangement prétentieux de la part d'un homme qui prétend n'avoir que du mépris pour les intellectuels pompeux. Enfin, Davey consacre un chapitre étonnamment intéressant à la défense du Sénat. Il est réconfortant de voir quelqu'un défendre le valeureux travail accompli au sein des comités sénatoriaux et, à l'occasion, durant les débats pléniers. À signaler aussi certaines anecdotes assez intéressantes mais rarement nouvelles ou éclairantes. Les portraits que brosse l'auteur d'autres personnalités politiques sont particulièrement décevants compte tenu des rapports étroits qu'a entretenus Davey avec les grands politiciens libéraux du dernier quart de siècle. Il semble trop occupé à s'accaparer les feux de la rampe et les personnages de renom qu'il nous présente demeurent dans l'ombre. Quiconque a eu une carrière comme celle de Davey aurait dû pouvoir écrire un meilleur livre.

D'une certaine façon, ces deux autobiographies reflètent les bons et les mauvais aspects de cette nouvelle avalanche d'ouvrages politiques. Ces bouquins pourraient nous apprendre bien des choses sur le véritable fonctionnement du gouvernement et rendre un peu moins arides les tableaux savants conçus par les spécialistes. Les rigoureuses études historiques deviendraient plus accessibles si elles étaient égayées d'anecdotes personnelles et présentées sous un angle original. Mais les dangers de l'auto-congratulation, la propension à justifier des erreurs passées ou à s'engager dans des vendettas littéraires contre d'anciens adversaires guettent toujours les auteurs. Les politiciens, tout humains qu'ils sont, résistent difficilement à ces tentations.

Heather MacIvor
Stagiaire parlementaire
Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 10 no 1
1987






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15