Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Interview: Sam Johnston, MLA


On July 15, 1985, Sam Johnston was elected Speaker of the, Yukon Legislative Assembly. The first native Canadian to occupy a Speaker's Chair in Canada, he was interviewed by the editor for the Canadian Parliamentary Review in August, 1986, at the Canadian Regional Conference of CPA in Toronto.

Tell us a bit about your background before going into politics.

I worked at all kinds of things, in lumber mills, survey parties and as a guide for big game outfitters. During the winter months I worked the trap lines. I was always able to find a job. During the 1970s and early 1980s I served as Chief of the Teslin Indian Band. The Chief is elected every two years. It used to be more of a ceremonial office but the position took on more administrative aspects as we organized new programs and took over existing ones administered by the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. I was the first of our Band Chiefs to have administrative responsibilities.

I remember organizing a walkathon to raise money for the Band. We raised about $600 and that was the start of our fund. The Chief had to account for every cent but I had no training in administration. The public health nurse helped me to keep the books. I also took some training as Band manager. That was the only way to earn money since the Chief was not paid but the manager was. As we took over more responsibility from the federal government the office of Chief became a fulltime one.

How were the Tlingits traditionally governed?

There are two main clans, the Wolf and the Crow, and out of these two main clans are subclans which have different names. In my particular little clan, called the Ishkeetan, everything falls on the mother's side and we are a subclan of the Crow clan. In the small village of Teslin there are five different clans among our people and, out of those clans, there are five different leaders plus the Chief. Even though I am not the Chief anymore I am still the leader of my clan. We are the leaders of our own people and, therefore, we are the key spokesmen for our clans. Any time there are issues that come up, such as a potlatch where my people need to have their voice heard then it is up to me to stand up and speak. If there is good to be said you say it, if you feel you are affected by the other clans, if there is something they have done that has affected your clan, then you speak to that too.

During potlatches, which are not done now as formally as before, you have opportunities for a lot of speeches, especially a year after the burial when we put up the gravemarker. Many of those speeches would be about how pleased everyone is that a loved one has finally been put to rest properly. At this time, too, if there was something that was bothering your clan about anything another clan had done or not done, that is when something could be said. For example, it might be about a violation of someone else's hunting or fishing area which used to be quite clearly understood. There is not the same respect for those areas today. In the past everything was based on survival and we were taught respect for the land and animals. We would never take any more than we needed because it is wrong to be wasteful. We followed the salmon, we followed where the birds migrate. We would go to the mountains for our winter's meat. All that has changed now and you do not see too many of the native people solely living off the land anymore.

How did you get into politics?

When I retired as Band Chief in 1982 I had no thought of getting into the legislature. I spent some time working the trap lines and was earning good money. The market for long haired lynx and wolverine is very good and a person can earn $30,000 or more for a few months work. A good trapper has to really work the lines and study the game. He must be a self-made game biologist.

Before the 1985 election the person who held the seat for Campbell in the Assembly moved to Watson Lake. He said jokingly that he thought I should be the next MLA. In fact, because of my experience as Chief, I was approached by all three parties to see if I was interested in running.

Why did you go into politics?

With the coming of the land claims, I felt it was time that the native people started getting into the government and what better place to start. My thought was that I would be able to start opening doors for those who follow me. They will be thinking If Sam can do it, why can't I?" There are a lot of decisions made in this House that affect the Indian people, especially when it conies to renewable resources. I felt it was time for the Indian people to start getting into the government where we can participate in decision-making rather than being on the outside looking in.

Was there any particular issue that made you choose the New Democratic Party?

It was not so much an issue as a question of geography. You see there are three main areas in the constituency Teslin, Ross River and Upper Laird. The Conservatives nominated somebody from Ross River over a person from Teslin. This meant that if Teslin was to have a chance to be represented in the Legislature it would have to be with one of the other parties. I opted for the New Democratic Party and won the election by about sixty-five votes.

Tell us a bit more about your constituency?

It is one of the larger ridings in the Yukon. Teslin, in the centre, is about eight hours by road from Ross River and about three hours from Liard. There are about 600 voters in the riding and I probably know most of them personally. It is important to represent all three communities and I try to visit them once a month. We do not have any constituency offices so I stay with friends for four or five days and make sure that I contact the community clubs, band chiefs, the RCMP and any individuals who might want to see me.

Were you surprised to be chosen Speaker of the Assembly after the election?

I sure was. The election results were very close with eight NDP, six Conservatives and two Liberals. After the ministers had been appointed there were only three government backbenchers: Norma Kassi, Art Webster and myself. When the Government Leader asked me to be Speaker I declined but he asked me to think it over. That weekend the newspaper ran a picture of the Speaker's chair with a story about who was going to fill it. I decided to accept although I had never laid eyes on the Assembly in my life. I wished I had at least visited the House so that I would have had some idea of what I was getting into.

Do your constituents ever complain about their member being the Speaker?

At the start I think there was a bit of a misunderstanding. My constituents thought that they had elected a member and were now losing him with my election as Speaker. After a while I think that attitude changed a bit and I think as Speaker I may have even better access to ministers than I would have had otherwise. Also, in our House, the rules do allow me to attend and speak in the Committee of the Whole. Although the Speaker should never make partisan speeches it is possible, in that situation, to speak on behalf of my electoral district. I always try to be very careful and not to say anything unless it is absolutely necessary.

What did you find to be the greatest difficulties as a result of your lack of experience in the House and in the Chair?

It is very difficult sitting in that big chair with the galleries full and all members looking at you. I had to get used to certain formalities like calling members by their constituency. As far as procedure was concerned I had to rely on the Clerk who prepared an outline for me to follow each day. One of the big problems for me is Question Period. I find that I may easily miss something and it can be embarrassing when a member raises a point of order about a question or answer. I guess it takes time until you can pick up on all the fine points.

What is your reaction to un-parliamentary language?

It is the job of the Speaker to ensure that the language used does not get out of control. I am perhaps a bit more sensitive to the language used in the House. Through my past experience as Chief of the Teslin Band I found that you can never deal with any situation in anger. You should come prepared to talk and you cannot accomplish anything by yelling or insulting anyone. Respect and good intentions are needed.

Have you tried to make the office reflect your status as the first native Speaker?

One of the first things I did was order a new Speaker's robe. It was made of a light blue material donated by a local craft store. It has a raven on the back. On the front is a howling wolf on one side and a flying raven on the other. I wear this robe on Mondays and use the traditional black one the rest of the week. When I leave the Speakership I intend to leave the robe behind and hope it will be used by future Speakers. I also devised a new prayer for the Assembly which I think is more appropriate for persons coming from different religious denominations. It goes like this:

"O Great Spirit, Creator and Leader of all People, we are thankful to be gathered here today. 0 Great Spirit, I ask you to touch and bless each and everyone in this House. Grant that we the elected members will make only strong, fair and sound decisions On behalf of the people we represent throughout the Yukon".

Did you consult with the House Leaders?

No, I did not approach it that way. When I was first going into the House, realizing that I would be the first native Speaker, I thought that I should bring in something that was different, more on the native side, but would cover everybody. I showed it to different people and it was not changed much from what I had first written. I wanted something that was not only Christian or anything else, I wanted something that would speak for everybody. I think some members were a bit shocked at first because it was different from what they had been used to. I contacted a few members on each side after I first used it and asked their reaction and was told there was nothing wrong with it. So I have continued to use it.

You were elected President of the Yukon Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association shortly after being elected as a Member of the Assembly. What do you feel about the value of the CPA? Have you learned anything that helps you as a Member or as a Speaker?

It has been very interesting to meet Speakers from other legislatures and jurisdictions. I am glad to be part of it because we are all doing much the same job and participating in the sessions and conferences has been very educational. Although some of the legislatures are much larger than ours I find many of the subjects we talk about to be similar such as Question Period, whether Speakers should attend caucus meetings and, if so, under what conditions and how to handle un-parliamentary language.

Is a political career detrimental to family life?

Every politician must have an understanding spouse. When you make commitments to the people it takes you away from home. Without a spouse who understands, it could be very difficult.

I was a single parent for five years so my children were used to the idea that I had to be away. However, because of my involvement in politics they are much more knowledgeable about public life than I was at their age.

Outside of politics I am leader of the Teslin Tlingit Dancers. We perform at different functions and have travelled to Saint John, New Brunswick, for the Canada Games and to Vancouver for Expo 86. There are twenty-one dancers in the group ranging from my eighty-eight year old father to my two year old daughter. Such activities keep our culture alive and our family together.

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 4
1986






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Entrevue : Sam Johnston


Le 15 juillet 1985, M. Sam Johnston a été élu président de l'Assemblée législative du Yukon. Il est le premier Amérindien à occuper un fauteuil présidentiel au Canada. Il a été interviewé par la Revue parlementaire canadienne en août 1986, lors de la Conférence de la Région du Canada qui a eu lieu à Toronto.

Dites-nous un peu ce que vous faisiez avant d'entrer en politique.

J'ai travaillé un peu partout, dans les scieries, pour des équipes d'arpenteurs et comme guide pour les chasseurs de gros gibier. Durant les mois d'hiver, je faisais du piégeage. J'ai toujours réussi à trouver du travail. Au cours des années 1970 et au début des années 1980, j'étais chef de la bande d'Indiens Teslin. Le chef est élu tous les deux ans. Ses fonctions, qui étaient au début honorifiques, sont devenues de plus en plus administratives puisque nous devions mettre sur pied de nouveaux programmes et prendre en charge ceux qui étaient administrés par le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien. J'ai été le premier des chefs de bande à assumer des charges administratives. Je me souviens d'avoir organisé une marche pour recueillir des fonds pour la bande. Nous avons récolté environ 600 $, et cette somme nous a servi de mise initiale. Le chef devait rendre compte de chaque cent, mais je n'avais aucune formation en administration. L'infirmière m'aidait à tenir les livres. J'ai aussi pris une certaine expérience comme administrateur de bande. C'était la seule façon de gagner de l'argent, étant donné que le chef n'était pas rémunéré mais que l'administrateur l'était. Les fonctions du chef devenaient de plus en plus accaparantes à mesure que le gouvernement fédéral nous attribuait des responsabilités.

Quel était le mode de gouvernement traditionnel des Tlingit?

Il y a deux clans principaux, celui des Loups et celui des Corbeaux, qui se subdivisent en sous-clans, portant différents noms. Dans mon petit clan particulier, qui s'appelle Keeshkeetan, tout relève du côté maternel et nous sommes un sous-clan des Corbeaux. Dans le petit village de Teslin, il y a un dirigeant pour chacun des cinq clans plus un chef. Je ne suis plus chef, mais je dirige encore mon clan. Parce que nous sommes les dirigeants de notre propre peuple, nous sommes les principaux porte-parole de nos clans. Chaque fois qu'il se présente des questions, comme par exemple lors d'un potlatch, et que mon peuple veut se faire entendre, il m'incombe de parler en son nom. S'il y a de bonnes choses à dire je les dis; et s'il me semble que d'autres clans nous ont lésés de quelque manière, je le dis également.

Au cours des potlatchs, qui ne se déroulent plus avec le faste d'autrefois, l'occasion nous est donnée de prononcer de nombreux discours, surtout un an après un enterrement lorsqu'il s'agit d'installer la pierre tombale. Plusieurs discours portent sur la joie que tous éprouvent enfin devant le lieu où repose la personne aimée. Mais si, à ce moment, votre clan s'inquiète au sujet d'un geste ou d'une omission d'un autre clan, c'est aussi l'occasion d'en parler. Il peut s'agir, par exemple, de la violation de territoires de chasse et de pêche autrefois clairement établis. On n'a plus le même respect pour les territoires aujourd'hui. Tout était jadis fondé sur la survivance et on nous inculquait le respect des animaux que nous n'utilisions que dans la mesure de nos besoins, car il était mal de gaspiller. Nous suivions le saumon et les oiseaux migrateurs et nous nous rendions dans la montagne l'hiver pour y trouver la viande dont nous avions besoin. Aujourd'hui, tout a changé et nous ne voyons que très peu d'Autochtones vivre exclusivement des produits de la chasse et de la pêche.

Comment êtes-vous entré sur la scène politique?

Lorsque j'ai pris ma retraite comme chef de bande en 1982, je n'avais aucune intention d'entrer à l'Assemblée législative. Je faisais un peu de piégeage et je gagnais très bien ma vie. Il existe un marché ferme pour le lynx à long poil et le glouton. Il est possible, en quelques mois, de gagner 30 000 $ ou plus. Un bon trappeur doit connaître son métier : il doit pratiquement devenir un biologiste accompli.

Avant les élections de 1985, le député qui détenait le siège de Campbell à l'Assemblée a déménagé à Watson Lake. Il disait en badinant que je devrais être le prochain député à l'Assemblée législative. En fait, l'expérience que j'avais acquise comme chef a poussé les trois partis à me demander si j'étais intéressé à entrer en lice.

Pourquoi vous êtes-vous orienté vers la politique?

Avec l'approche des revendications territoriales, il m'a semblé que le temps était venu pour les Autochtones d'entrer sur la scène politique; et comment mieux faire que de se présenter comme député. J'estimais qu'en agissant ainsi, j'ouvrais la porte à d'autres qui me suivraient. Ils se diraient : « Si Sain a pu le faire, pourquoi pas moi? » Beaucoup de décisions prises dans cette Chambre concernent le peuple indien, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit des ressources renouvelables. Il était temps, selon moi, que la population indienne soit représentée au gouvernement pour participer à la prise de décisions, plutôt que de rester à l'extérieur comme simple observateur.

Quelle raison vous a incité à choisir le Parti néo-démocrate?

C'est plutôt la réalité géographique. Il y a, voyez-vous, trois régions principales dans la circonscription : Teslin, Ross River et Upper Laird. Les conservateurs ont nommé quelqu'un de Ross River plutôt que de Teslin. Dans ces conditions, Teslin ne pouvait être représenté à l'Assemblée législative que par un des autres partis. J'ai choisi le Parti néo-démocrate et remporté l'élection par quelque 65 votes.

Parlez-nous un peu plus de votre circonscription.

C'est l'une des plus grandes du Yukon. Teslin, situé en plein centre, se trouve à quelque huit heures de route de Ross River et à environ trois heures de Laird. La circonscription compte environ 600 électeurs, et je puis dire que je les connais presque tous personnellement. Il est important de représenter les trois collectivités et je m'efforce de leur rendre visite une fois par mois. Nous n'avons pas de bureau de circonscription. Aussi, je loge chez des amis pendant quatre ou cinq jours durant lesquels je m'efforce d'entrer en rapport avec les clubs locaux, les chefs de bande, la GRC et toutes les autres personnes qui souhaitent me rencontrer.

Avez-vous été surpris d'être choisi comme président de l'Assemblée après l'élection?

Très surpris. Les résultats de l'élection étaient très serrés : huit néo-démocrates, six conservateurs et deux libéraux. Après la nomination des ministres, il ne restait que trois simples députés : Norma Kassi, Art Webster et moi-même. Lorsque le leader du gouvernement m'a offert le poste de président, j'ai refusé mais il m'a prié d'y penser. En fin de semaine, on a publié dans le journal une photo du fauteuil du président, suivie d'un exposé au sujet de celui qui y siégerait. J'ai décidé d'accepter le poste, sans avoir jamais vu de ma vie l'Assemblée législative. J'aurais bien aimé avoir au moins visité le Parlement pour savoir un peu à quoi je m'engageais.

Vos électeurs se plaignent-ils parfois de ce que leur représentant soit président?

Il y a eu au début, je crois, un léger malentendu. Mes électeurs croyaient qu'ils avaient élu un député et qu'ils le perdaient du fait que j'étais élu président. Après un certain temps, cette attitude a un peu changé et je crois qu'à titre de président je puis avoir plus facilement accès aux ministres qu'il en aurait été autrement. En outre, le Règlement de la Chambre m'autorise à assister au Comité plénier et à y prendre la parole. Certes, le président ne devrait jamais prononcer de discours partisans mais il lui est possible, à cette occasion, de parler en faveur de sa circonscription électorale. J'essaie toujours d'être très prudent et de ne dire que ce qui est absolument nécessaire.

Quelles ont été les plus grandes difficultés que vous a causées votre manque d'expérience à la Chambre et comme président?

Il est très difficile de siéger dans ce gros fauteuil devant les tribunes remplies et sous les yeux de tous les députés. J'ai dû m'habituer à certaines formalités comme celle d'appeler les députés par leur circonscription. Quant à la procédure, j'ai dû m'en remettre au greffier qui me préparait chaque jour une marche à suivre. Ce qui me pose le plus de problèmes, c'est la période des questions. Je trouve qu'il est facile de perdre le fil et il peut être alors assez embarrassant de ne pouvoir répondre à un député qui fait appel au Règlement au sujet d'une question ou d'une réponse. J'imagine qu'il faut du temps avant de saisir toutes les subtilités.

Comment réagissez-vous au langage non parlementaire?

Il incombe au président de veiller à ce que le langage utilisé ne se détériore pas trop. Je suis peut-être un peu plus exigeant pour le langage employé à la Chambre. Mon expérience de chef de la bande Teslin m'a appris qu'on n'arrive jamais à rien par la colère. Il faut plutôt être disposé à parler calmement, car les cris ou les insultes ne font bouger personne. Il faut faire preuve de respect et de bonne volonté.

Avez-vous essayé de témoigner dans vos fonctions que vous êtes le premier président autochtone?

Une des premières choses que j'ai faites a été de me commander une nouvelle toge de président. Celle-ci a été taillée dans une pièce de tissu bleu pâle donnée par un magasin d'artisanat local. Il y a un corbeau au dos et, sur le devant, un loup aux abois d'un côté et, de l'autre, un corbeau en plein vol. Je la porte le lundi et j'utilise la toge noire traditionnelle le reste de la semaine. Lorsque je quitterai la présidence, j'ai l'intention de ne pas l'apporter et j'espère qu'elle sera utilisée par les futurs présidents. J'ai aussi inventé une nouvelle prière pour l'Assemblée, qui à mon avis convient mieux à des personnes issues de différentes confessions religieuses. La voici :

Ô Grand Esprit, créateur et chef de tous les peuples

Nous te remercions d'être réunis ici aujourd'hui

Ô Grand Esprit, je te demande de toucher et de bénir chacun de ceux qui sont dans cette Chambre.

Veille à ce que nous, les députés élus, ne prenions que des décisions fermes, justes et éclairées au nom de la populations du Yukon que nous représentons.

Avez-vous demandé l'avis des leaders à la Chambre?

Non, je ne m'y suis pas pris de cette façon. Dès que je suis arrivé à la Chambre, bien conscient d'être le premier président autochtone, j'ai cru que je devais faire quelque chose de différent, à caractère plutôt autochtone, mais qui vaudrait pour tous. J'ai donc montré cette prière à différentes personnes qui n'y ont pas tellement apporté de changements. Je voulais une prière qui ne soit pas uniquement d'inspiration chrétienne ou autre, mais où tous se reconnaîtraient. Certains députés ont d'abord été un peu choqués parce que cela dérangeait leurs habitudes. Après l'avoir récitée pour la première fois, j'ai consulté quelques députés de tous les partis pour connaître leur réaction et ils m'ont dit qu'ils n'y voyaient rien de mal. J'ai donc continué à la réciter.

Vous avez été élu président de la section du Yukon de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth peu après avoir été élu membre de l'Assemblée. Quel jugement porteriez-vous sur l'APC? Y avez-vous appris quoi que ce soit qui vous aide dans vos rôles de député ou de président?

J'ai trouvé qu'il était très intéressant de rencontrer les présidents d'autres assemblées législatives. Je suis heureux d'en faire partie parce qu'en somme nous faisons passablement tous le même travail et j'ai trouvé très instructif de participer aux sessions et aux conférences. Certaines législatures sont beaucoup plus grandes que la nôtre, mais il n'empêche que nous abordons un grand nombre de sujets semblables tels la période des questions, la question de savoir si les présidents devraient assister aux réunions du caucus et à quelles conditions, et enfin, la façon de réagir au langage non parlementaire.

Estimez-vous que la carrière politique nuit à la vie familiale?

Tout homme politique doit avoir une épouse compréhensive. Lorsque nous prenons des engagements, nous devons nécessairement nous éloigner de notre foyer. Sans une épouse compréhensive, cette vie serait très difficile.

J'ai été chef d'une famille monoparentale pendant cinq ans, de sorte que mes enfants se sont habitués à me savoir au loin. Par ailleurs, mon engagement dans la politique les a rendus beaucoup plus au courant de la vie publique que je ne l'étais à leur âge.

En plus de la politique, je dirige la troupe de danseurs Teslin Tlingit. Nous nous produisons à différentes occasions et nous nous sommes même rendus à Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick) pour les Jeux du Canada et à Vancouver pour Expo 86. La troupe compte 21 danseurs dont l'âge varie entre 88 ans pour mon père, et deux ans, pour ma fille. De telles activités gardent notre culture vivante et notre famille unie.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 4
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15