Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

The Parliamentarians: The History of The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, 19111985, Ian Grey, Gower Publishing Company Limited, Hants, England, 319 p.

In September 1986 the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association marked its 75th anniversary with publication of an official history by Ian Grey.

A first draft of this book was completed in 1974 by the British parliamentarian and historian Patrick Gordon Walker. The Executive Committee of CPA felt it gave inadequate coverage to more recent events. The Committee prevailed upon the Association's Editor of Publications to finish the job. Mr. Grey, author of several highly readable histories, mostly on Tsarist Russia, agreed but waited until retirement in 1983 to take on the job.

The twenty-three chapters each cover a distinct period in the life of the CPA. The organization of the material leaves no doubt as to Mr. Grey's mastery of the subject but the analysis is less successful. The post 1970 period is still unsatisfactory. It now reads much like a series of extracts from annual conferences or minutes of Executive Committee meetings. Indeed many paragraphs are recognizable from various reports and documents prepared over the past fifteen years.

The early period is somewhat more interesting. It is essentially a biography of Howard d'Egville. This rather remarkable character – a mixture of Machiavelli and Rasputin – wrote the original constitution of the Association in 1911, served as Secretary of the United Kingdom Branch until 1947 and was Secretary General of the Association until he retired, somewhat against his will, in 1959 at age 84. D'Egville's entire life and energy was devoted to the Association. We can only hope that some history student or professor will latch upon Howard d'Egville and complete the biography which Ian Grey has begun.

Howard d'Egville even spent the war years in Canada and was seriously thinking of emigrating. He realized the importance of Canadian-American relations and organized a number of exchanges with American Congressmen. When he finally decided to return to London no further Canada-United States parliamentary meetings were held for many years.

A book like this should have interested Canadian parliamentarians for a number of other reasons. Canada was one of the six original members of the Association and has played a leading role in transforming the organization from an Empire to a Commonwealth body after the War. Indeed Canada is now the only single country to form one of the Association's seven Regions. This has given Canadians a significant role in shaping the organization and has helped to give the Canadian Region (which consists of the federal, provincial and territorial legislatures) a fairly high profile among parliamentarians and non parliamentarians.

While Grey devotes considerable space to d'Egville and other members of the British secretariat he tends to ignore the influence of officials in other countries in the development of the Association. Arthur Beauchesne, for example, had a prominent role in Canada and no doubt there were other individuals in other countries. More significantly the whole book is written from a British perspective. One cannot help but think that the author would have benefitted by doing more of his research outside the CPA Secretariat in London.

The most important thing about an official history is to get it done. Having accomplished this perhaps it is now up to others to analyze and reflect upon the relative importance of CPA in the overall national and international political context.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 4
1986






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

The Parliamentarians: The History of The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, 1911-1985, Ian Grey, Gower Publishing Company Limited, Hants, England, 319 pages.

En septembre 1986, l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth marquait son 75e anniversaire avec la publication de son histoire officielle réalisée par Ian Grey.

Une première ébauche de ce livre avait été terminée en 1974 par le parlementaire et historien britannique Patrick Gordon Walker. Le bureau de l'APC trouvant qu'elle ne donnait pas assez d'importance aux événements plus récents réussit à convaincre M. Grey, responsable des publications de l'Association, de la mettre à jour. Auteur de plusieurs livres d'histoire fort intéressants, traitant surtout de la Russie tsariste, M. Grey releva le défi, mais ne se mit au travail qu'après avoir pris sa retraite en 1983.

Chacun des 23 chapitres de son livre couvre une période distincte de la vie de l'APC. M. Grey maîtrise bien son sujet en ce qui concerne la matière à organiser, mais son analyse des faits laisse un peu à désirer surtout pour la période après 1970. On a l'impression que l'auteur s'est contenté de mettre bout à bout des extraits des conférences annuelles ou des procès-verbaux des réunions du bureau. Certains passages reproduisent mot à mot des paragraphes de rapports ou de documents publiés au cours des 15 dernières années.

L'histoire des débuts de l'Association est plus intéressante, quoiqu'il s'agisse essentiellement d'une biographie de Howard d'Egville. Ce personnage singulier  mélange de Machiavel et de Raspoutine, a rédigé les statuts originaux de l'Association en 1911, a été secrétaire de la Section du Royaume-Uni jusqu'en 1947 et secrétaire général de l'Association jusqu'à sa retraite, qu'il prit un peu contre son gré en 1959 à l'âge de 84 ans. M. d'Egville a consacré toutes ses énergies et toute sa vie à l'Association. Espérons qu'un étudiant ou qu'un professeur d'histoire s'intéressera à lui et complétera la biographie si bien commencée par Ian Grey.

Howard d'Egville a passé les années de guerre au Canada et songeait alors sérieusement à émigrer. Il avait pris conscience de l'importance des relations Canada-États-Unis et avait organisé plusieurs rencontres avec des membres du Congrès américain. Lorsqu'il décida finalement de retourner à Londres, il fallut attendre de nombreuses années avant qu'une nouvelle rencontre de parlementaires canadiens et américains ait lieu.

Un ouvrage comme celui-là devrait intéresser les parlementaires canadiens pour plusieurs raisons. Tout d'abord le Canada est l'un des six pays fondateurs de l'Association et il a joué un rôle de premier plan, depuis la guerre, dans la transformation de cet organisme de l'Empire en association du Commonwealth. Par ailleurs le Canada est en ce moment le seul pays qui forme à lui seul une des sept régions de l'Association. Les Canadiens ont donc beaucoup influencé l'évolution de l'Association, ce qui a donné à la Région du Canada (qui comprend des représentants des assemblées législatives fédérale, provinciale et des territoires) d'être assez bien connue parmi les parlementaires et les non-parlementaires.

M. Grey accorde beaucoup de place à d'Egville et aux autres membres du secrétariat britannique, mais passe complètement sous silence le nom de responsables d'autres pays qui ont eu une influence sur le développement de l'Association. Arthur Beauchesne, par exemple, a joué un rôle clef au Canada à cet égard, et il est certain que d'autres ont eu un rôle semblable dans d'autres pays. Ce qui frappe surtout, c'est la perspective très britannique de l'ouvrage. On ne peut s'empêcher de penser que l'auteur aurait eu avantage à effectuer une plus grande partie de ses recherches en dehors du secrétariat de l'APC à Londres.

Ce qui importe sans doute le plus dans le cas d'une histoire officielle, c’est qu'elle soit écrite. Cela étant fait, il revient maintenant à d'autres d'analyser la situation et de réfléchir à l'importance relative de l'APC dans le contexte politique national et international.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 4
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15