Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Hugh Edihoffer

Premature disclosure of government policy, Speaker Hugh Edighoffer, June 10, 1986, Legislative Assembly of Ontario

Background: On June 5, the member for Brantford, Phil Gillies, rose on a question of privilege with respect to details of legislation being published in the press before disclosure in the House. He stated further that an assistant to the Minister of the Environment and an assistant to the Minister of Housing had violated their oaths of secrecy and had demonstrated contempt for the House by discussing with the press details of actual legislation and amendments before the House. When a question of privilege is raised, the duty of the Speaker is to decide whether the allegation could reasonably be held to constitute a breach of privilege and therefore take precedence over other business of the House. It is not the Speaker's duty to decide whether in fact a breach of privilege has been committed. This is a question that can only be decided by the House.

Ruling (Speaker Hugh Edighoffer): It may be useful for me to review the nature of parliamentary privilege once again. Parliamentary privilege relates to the rights and immunities that belong to Parliament, its members and others, which are essential for the operation of Parliament. These rights and immunities allow the Legislature to meet and carry out its proper constitutional role, members to discharge their responsibilities to their constituents and others properly involved in the parliamentary process to carry out their duties and responsibilities without obstruction or fear of prosecution.

The principal privileges of the House and of its members include the right of free speech in Parliament, immunity of members from arrest, detention or molestation for civil causes during defined periods, immunity of members from the obligation to serve on juries, the power to regulate its own proceedings by establishing its own rules or standing orders, the power to order the attendance at the Bar of the House of persons whose conduct has been brought before the House on a matter of privilege, and the power to order the arrest and imprisonment of persons guilty of contempt or breach of privilege.

It is only in very rare circumstances that a legitimate matter of privilege can come before the House on the basis of the real, accepted and traditional definition of parliamentary privilege.

I understand the distinction the honourable member has attempted to draw between announcing outside the House policy statements on matters which are not before the House and statements with respect to specific amendments and legislation before the House. However, it is clear from the precedents in this House and in other jurisdictions that parliamentary privilege does not extend and never has extended to requiring policy statements or announcements to be made in the House, regardless of the importance of the subject.

Further, in examining the authorities, no case can be found which indicates it is a breach of privilege for representatives of the government to publicly announce its intentions with respect to amendments and legislation before the House. Indeed, this practice has been a common occurrence for many years. As my predecessors and I have stated, such statements made outside the House may constitute a legitimate grievance and certainly involve a question of courtesy to or respect for the House and its members. However, they do not constitute a question of privilege.

Whether or not assistants to the ministers of the Environment and Housing have violated their oaths of secrecy is a question of law and a question upon which the authorities indicate the Speaker shall not give a decision. Such a matter could, if justified, give rise to an action in the courts.

In finding that no prima facie case of privilege exists, further consideration by, the House is not prevented. The effect is to refuse precedence to this matter as a question of privilege, but it does not prevent the presentation of this matter in different circumstances, for example, by setting it down as a private member's notice of motion.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 4
1986






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
Hugh Edihoffer

La divulgation prématurée de la politique gouvernementale. Président Hugh Edighoffer, 10 juin 1986, Assemblée législative de l'Ontario.

Contexte : Le 5 juin, le député de Brantford, M. Gillies, a soulevé une question de privilège au sujet de mesures législatives dont les détails auraient paru dans la presse avant d'être révélés à la Chambre. Il a également déclaré qu'un adjoint du ministre de l'Environnement et un adjoint du ministre du Logement avaient violé leur serment de discrétion et outragé la Chambre en discutant avec la presse les détails de lois et d'amendements dont la Chambre était saisie. Une fois qu'on invoque une question de privilège, le Président doit décider si les faits allégués peuvent raisonnablement constituer une atteinte au privilège et, de ce fait, avoir priorité sur les autres affaires de la Chambre. Il n'est pas de son ressort de dire s'il y a eu ou non atteinte au privilège, car c'est à la Chambre seule qu'il revient d'en décider.

Décision du Président Hugh Edighoffer : Il serait peut-être utile que je rappelle à nouveau la nature du privilège parlementaire. Le privilège parlementaire se rapporte aux droits et immunités du Parlement, de ses membres et d'autres personnes, droits essentiels au fonctionnement du Parlement. Ces droits et immunités permettent au Parlement de jouer son rôle constitutionnel, à ses membres de s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités envers leurs électeurs et aux autres personnes concernées par le processus parlementaire, de remplir leur devoir et leurs fonctions sans entrave ou crainte de poursuite.

Les principaux privilèges de la Chambre et de ses membres comprennent le droit de s'exprimer librement au Parlement, l'immunité des députés contre l'arrestation, la détention ou la molestation pour des affaires civiles durant des périodes déterminées, le droit de refuser de faire partie d'un jury, le pouvoir de la Chambre de se réglementer en établissant ses propres règles et règlements, le pouvoir de traduire devant la Chambre les personnes dont la conduite lui aura été signalée à propos d'une question de privilège et le pouvoir de faire arrêter et emprisonner les personnes coupables d'outrage ou d'atteinte au privilège.

Il arrive rarement que l'Assemblée soit saisie d'une question de privilège qui réponde à la définition réelle, reconnue et traditionnelle du privilège parlementaire.

Je comprends la distinction que l'honorable député a voulu faire entre les déclarations politiques faites à l'extérieur de la Chambre sur des questions qui n'y sont pas à l'étude et les déclarations qui se rapportent à des modifications précises et des lois déterminées, dont elle est saisie. Toutefois, il est clair, d'après les précédents établis dans cette Chambre et dans d'autres, que le privilège parlementaire ne s'étend pas et ne s'est jamais étendu à l'obligation de faire les déclarations ou les exposés de politique en Chambre, quelle que soit l'importance du sujet.

De plus, les ouvrages de référence ne mentionnent aucun cas d'atteinte au privilège parlementaire du seul fait que les représentants du gouvernement aient annoncé publiquement les intentions de celui-ci au sujet d'amendements ou de lois que la Chambre est en train d'étudier. De fait, cette pratique est déjà répandue depuis des années. Comme mes prédécesseurs et moi-même l'avons déclaré, pareilles déclarations, faites hors de la Chambre, peuvent constituer un grief légitime et il y entre à coup sûr un élément de courtoisie et de respect envers la Chambre et ses membres. Toutefois, elles ne constituent pas une atteinte au privilège.

Que les adjoints des ministres de l'Environnement et du Logement aient ou non violé leur serment de discrétion est une question de droit sur laquelle, selon les spécialistes, le Président ne doit pas se prononcer. Je suppose qu'une telle question pourrait donner lieu à un recours devant les tribunaux, si elle était fondée.

Tout en reconnaissant à première vue qu'il ne s'agit pas d'une question de privilège, la Chambre peut quand même étudier de plus près l'affaire, mais sans lui accorder la priorité qu'elle aurait eue si elle avait été une question de privilège, et rien n'empêche qu'elle soit présentée sous une autre forme, en faisant, par exemple, un avis de motion émanant d'un député.

J'espère que les députés tiendront compte de ce qui précède dans d'autres cas, car je me suis efforcé d'exposer ici en quoi consiste le privilège parlementaire.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 4
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15