Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Interview: Christine Wilson and Micheline Martineau


Whose faces appear on television screens the most during Question Period? It is not Brian Mulroney, John Turner, Ed Broadbent or even Speaker John Bosley. That distinction belongs to Christine Wilson on the English channel and Micheline Martineau on the French network. They are the ladies who appear in the upper right hand corner of the screen to provide simultaneous sign language interpretation of Question Period for the deaf. They discussed their unique occupation in an interview with the Canadian Parliamentary Review in April 1986.

Tell us a bit about your background?

WILSON: I was born in Ottawa. Although not deaf myself I learned sign language because both my parents were deaf. It was the first language I learned and friends tell of the amusing sight of a toddler gesturing madly with its hands. I eventually studied to be a registered nurse and later worked in a centre for mentally retarded adults. I have also worked for the Canadian Hearing Society and served on their board of directors. I obtained my Comprehensive Skills Certificate from the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf and have passed the Secretary of State examination. I started a sign language program at Algonquin College and taught there for seven years. All together I have worked as an interpreter, part time, for 18 years.

MARTINEAU: I was born in Hull and lived in Farm Point before going to Montreal to attend l'Institute des Sourd Muettes for twelve years. When I started to work in 1973 there were virtually no French sign language interpreters in Ottawa. I have been with for the CBC Parliamentary Network since sign language interpreting began in 1979.

Have you always been interested in politics?

MARTINEAU: Most people do not realize how difficult it is for deaf people to follow the news. For one thing little emphasis is given to teaching politics in schools. There is little opportunity to watch translated or captioned television in Canada. Services for the hearing handicapped are available to a much greater extent in the United States. Like most deaf people I tend to watch more American programs than Canadian ones.

WILSON: I used to watch question period and always found it fascinating. Since I have been interpreting I follow the news very carefully to prepare myself for work. I have noticed that the press reports do not always reflect what happens in the House and I find this particularly frustrating.

What exactly is sign language?

MARTINEAU: The deaf, like any cultural group, have their own way of perceiving things and it is not the same as for those who are able to hear. American Sign Language (or the French equivalent Language des Signes Québécois) has a grammatical structure of its own and does not necessarily follow the English sentence structure. Body language and facial components are very important and are used to express emotion. Some questions and answers are sad, funny or angry but most are not. Hearing people think that the deaf learn American Sign Language or Language des Signes Québécois in school but that is not the case, it is something that we teach each other.

Sign language is a series of hand 'signs" representing words, concepts and ideas. It includes finger-spelling whereby proper names and places, are spelled, letter for letter. Unlike spoken languages where there is a comparable word for each word of another language, sign language is actually limited in the extent of vocabulary, having fewer signs than a spoken language has words. But signs can represent different concepts when used in different ways and the interpreter must understand the concept and context of what is being said.

WILSON: A sign language interpreter must really "interpret", not just translate. for example, when the Speaker says "The Hon. Member for Sudbury", it is not signed because the member is identified on the screen. When the questioner says "Through you, Mr. Speaker, to the Minister of Transport", as most questions begin, we sign "Question Minister Transport". This type of interpreting gives us time to finish up the previous question and answer, as carefully as possible, before beginning the next question. It does take some mental gymnastics. I often finish five or six seconds after the person is speaking. The hearing impaired audience do not get the audio clues that signal changes in speakers so the interpreter must visually demonstrate these changes by "resting" between speakers. Incidentally, the interpreter also "signs" the laughter and uproars that we "hear" off-camera and occasionally the catcalls too. A good understanding of the topic covered by the speaker must exist before the interpreter chooses appropriate signs to explain the idea being expressed.

Many are foreign names and often spoken less than clearly. It is sometimes impossible to interpret fully when visitors are recognized by the Speaker who may say, for example, "A delegation from Zimbabwe on International Relations, headed by Mr. so and so". This might be interpreted as "welcome to a group from Zimbabwe, here to discuss international relations". The deaf are unfamiliar with terms such as parliamentary privilege so I try to explain what they mean.

MARTINEAU: Often some completely new name comes up like Chernobyl and I have to check newspapers the next day to see if I spelled it correctly.

How do you deal with the use of French and English in debate?

MARTINEAU: They are completely separate sign languages. The meaning and structure are different just as different languages have different grammar. There are also regional differences. For example some sign interpreters would spell out names such as Mulroney. Others might adopt a simplified sign by pointing to the chin.

WILSON: If a member is speaking French I must wait for the English translation which takes a second or two. Micheline who is in an adjoining studio, watches me on TV and then signs for the French Network. A French speaking spectator may actually be getting the question and answer fourth hand – from a French MP to an English interpreter to English signs to French signs.

Why is sign interpretation limited to question period?

WILSON: Sign language interpreting is very tiring. It is possible to sign for one or two hours when the assignment has breaks in it but the interpreter is quite exhausted if it is continuous. Question Period is generally quick paced but there are some breaks. If all parliamentary proceedings were to be interpreted, far more interpreters would be needed.

Do you interpret any other parliamentary debates?

WILSON: We did the last federal budget but it was very difficult. For one thing it is extremely hard to interpret so many abstract concepts, facts and figures. It also made me wonder how many deaf viewers could assimilate and understand this complex information particularly since we interpreted the Minister's Budget Speech but not the comments of the analysts who explained the budget to the hearing audience. If we had attended the pre-budget lockup and briefing perhaps it would have been easier but that was impractical since we would have had to leave at 2:00 for Question Period.

Do you think the interpretation service is appreciated by the handicapped?

WILSON: That is something that should be addressed to representatives of the handicapped. However, I do wonder sometimes if we are making the best use of limited resources for their benefit. For example, would there be more interest in spending the same amount of money in providing explanations such as John Warren gives before Question Period? Or perhaps it would be more interesting to provide more captioning for programs like the CBC National News (which is currently captioned), the journal or other public affairs programs. I would like to make a video glossary for signs relating to Parliament and political matters. But I think we have to ask the deaf what they want.

MARTINEAU: I agree, however, one tends to forget that when someone is deaf they have never "heard" the National News or many other programs so they have no way of knowing what they are missing. In such circumstances it is very difficult to say what are the most important programs to make available. Someone has made a decision that it should be Question Period. It is. of course, a very interesting show and both of us have become Question Period addicts.

Do you have any direct contact with Members of Parliament. Have you testified before committees concerning problems of the handicapped etc.

WILSON: During the year of the disabled I acted as interpreter for a number of groups which appeared before the Special Committee on the Handicapped. But I did not make any presentations to the committee myself. I am now chairperson of an organization called Total Communication Environment. We provide group homes for deaf multi-handicapped individuals and I speak on behalf of our clients to various government bodies. However, I keep my role as an interpreter separate from this advocacy role.

What do you see in the future for the hearing impaired?

WILSON: CBC has a mandate for captioning programs for the hearing impaired. If and when committees are televised perhaps there will be captions.

MARTINEAU: Very few deaf people are working in this area but I think the deaf are interested in informative and instructive television programming which is quite rare. I hope the CBC will continue and perhaps increase the services offered to this group of spectators.

 


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 3
1986






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Entrevue : Christine Wilson et Micheline Martineau


Qui voit-on le plus souvent sur nos écrans pendant la période des questions? Ce n'est ni Brian Mulroney, ni John Turner, ni Ed Broadbent, ni même le président John Bosley. Cet honneur revient à Christine Wilson au réseau anglais et à Micheline Martineau au réseau français. Ce sont elles les dames qui apparaissent dans le coin supérieur droit de l'écran pour interpréter simultanément en langage gestuel la période des questions à l'intention des malentendants. La Revue parlementaire canadienne les a rencontrées en avril 1986 pour discuter de ce travail très particulier.

Parlez-nous un peu de vous.

WILSON : Je suis née à Ottawa. Bien que n'étant pas sourde moi-même, j'ai appris le langage gestuel pour communiquer avec mes parents qui tous deux souffraient de déficience auditive. C'est le premier langage que j'ai appris et mes amis rient encore au souvenir du bout d'chou que j'étais gesticulant avec frénésie. Plus tard, j'ai obtenu mon diplôme d'infirmière et j'ai travaillé dans un centre pour handicapés mentaux adultes. J'ai aussi travaillé pour la Société canadienne de l'ouïe où j'ai siégé au conseil d'administration. J'ai obtenu mon certificat d'aptitudes générales du Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf et réussi les examens du Secrétariat d'État. J'ai lancé un programme d'enseignement du langage gestuel au collège Algonquin où j'ai enseigné pendant sept ans. Au total, je travaille à temps partiel comme interprète depuis 18 ans.

MARTINEAU : Je suis née à Hull sans handicap. J'ai perdu l'ouïe des suites d'une méningite à six mois. J'ai vécu dans ma famille à Farm Point jusqu'à l'âge de cinq ans et demi. J'ai fréquenté l'Institut des Sourds Muets, rue Saint-Denis, à Montréal, durant 12 ans. Lorsque j'ai commencé à travailler en 1974, il n'y avait pas d'interprètes gestuels francophones à plein temps dans l'Outaouais. Je travaille pour le réseau parlementaire de Radio-Canada depuis qu'il a commencé à offrir l'interprétation gestuelle en 1979. J'enseigne le langage des signes québécois (L.S.Q.) aux adultes à Hull depuis cinq ans. J'ai aussi travaillé durant un an comme assistante spécialiste auprès des enfants sourds ou malentendants à l'école Côte du Nord de Hull.

La politique vous a-t-elle toujours intéressées?

MARTINEAU : La plupart des gens ne savent pas combien il est difficile pour les malentendants de suivre l'actualité. D'ailleurs, la politique est rarement enseignée dans les écoles. Il existe très peu d'émissions traduites ou sous-titrées au Canada. Les services offerts aux handicapés auditifs sont beaucoup plus diversifiés aux États-Unis. Comme la plupart des malentendants, j'ai tendance à regarder davantage la télévision américaine que canadienne.

WILSON : J'avais l'habitude de regarder la période des questions que je trouvais fascinante. Depuis que j'interprète, je suis l'actualité de très près pour me préparer à mon travail. J'ai constaté que la presse ne rapporte pas toujours très fidèlement ce qui se passe à la Chambre. C'est pour moi une source constante de frustration.

Qu'est-ce qu'on entend exactement par langage gestuel?

MARTINEAU : Comme tout groupe culturel, les malentendants ont leur façon bien à eux de percevoir la réalité et cette perception diffère de celle des personnes dont l'ouïe est normale. Le langage des signes québécois possède une structure grammaticale propre qui n'est pas nécessairement celle de l'anglais. Le langage corporel et les expressions physionomiques sont des composantes essentielles du L.S.Q. parce qu'ils expriment les émotions. Certaines questions et réponses sont tristes, drôles ou agressives, mais la plupart sont neutres. Les personnes à l'ouïe normale croient que les malentendants apprennent à l'école le langage gestuel américain ou le langage des signes québécois, mais ce n'est pas le cas. C'est quelque chose qu'ils s'enseignent entre eux.

Le langage gestuel consiste en une série de « signes » faits avec les mains qui représentent des mots, des concepts et des idées. Il comprend l'épellation digitale qu'on utilise pour épeler lettre par lettre les noms propres. Contrairement aux langues parlées où à chaque mot correspond un autre mot dans une langue étrangère, le vocabulaire du langage gestuel est restreint puisqu'il comporte beaucoup moins de signes qu'une langue parlée ne compte de mots.

WILSON : Un interprète gestuel doit réellement « interpréter » et non simplement traduire. Ainsi, lorsque le président dit: « l'honorable député de Sudbury, » l'interprète ne fait pas de signe parce que le député apparaît à l'écran. Lorsqu'un intervenant dit : « Par votre intermédiaire, monsieur le président, je m'adresse au ministre des Transports, » et c'est la façon dont la plupart des questions débutent, nous interprétons par signes « Question ministre des Transports. » Cela nous permet de terminer, aussi soigneusement que possible, l'interprétation d'une question et d'une réponse avant de passer à la question suivante. Notre travail exige une certaine gymnastique mentale. Je termine souvent mon interprétation cinq ou six secondes après la fin de l'intervention. Les malentendants ne perçoivent pas les signaux sonores annonçant un changement d'orateur de sorte que l'interprète doit signifier ces changements en faisant une « pause » entre chaque intervention. Disons, à ce propos, que nous interprétons aussi par « signes» les rires et le vacarme, qui ont lieu hors du champ de la caméra, et parfois même les huées. L'interprète doit bien comprendre le sujet abordé par l'orateur pour pouvoir choisir les signes permettant de faire passer son message.

Il faut aussi interpréter des noms étrangers souvent prononcés de façon presque inintelligible. Il est parfois impossible de le faire lorsque le président présente, par exemple, des visiteurs de cette façon : « Une délégation du Zimbabwe chargée d'étudier les relations internationales, présidée par M. X. » Nous interprétons alors : « Bienvenue à un groupe du Zimbabwe qui vient ici discuter de relations internationales. » Les malentendants ne sont pas familiers avec des termes comme privilège parlementaire et c'est pourquoi j'essaie de leur expliquer ce que cela veut dire.

MARTINEAU : Il arrive souvent qu'on mentionne dans la Chambre des noms tout à fait nouveaux comme celui de Tchernobyl et je dois vérifier le lendemain dans les journaux si je l'ai bien épelé.

Comment tenez-vous compte du fait que l'anglais et le français sont utilisés dans les débats?

MARTINEAU : Il s'agit de deux langages gestuels totalement distincts. Leur sens et leur structure diffèrent tout comme la grammaire de deux langues. Il y a aussi des différences régionales. Ainsi, certains interprètes gestuels épellent le nom Mulroney alors que d'autres utilisent un signe simplifié en pointant vers le menton.

WILSON : Si un député parle en français, je dois attendre d'obtenir la version anglaise qui prend quelques secondes. Micheline, qui se trouve dans un studio attenant, me regarde à la télévision et interprète ensuite pour le réseau français. L'interprétation gestuelle en français exige souvent le concours de quatre personnes : le député francophone, l'interprète vers l'anglais, l'interprète gestuel vers l'anglais et l'interprète gestuel vers le français.

Seule la période des questions est interprétée gestuellement. Pourquoi?

WILSON : L'interprétation gestuelle est épuisante. Il est possible de le faire pendant une ou deux heures lorsqu'il y a des pauses, mais l'interprète est épuisé(e) si les débats sont ininterrompus. Le rythme de la période des questions est rapide, mais il y a quelques pauses.

Interprétez-vous d'autres débats parlementaires?

WILSON : Nous avons interprété le dernier budget fédéral, mais c'était très difficile. Il est en effet extrêmement ardu d'interpréter tant de notions abstraites, de faits et de chiffres. Je me suis aussi demandée combien de malentendants pouvaient assimiler et comprendre ces renseignements complexes étant donné surtout que nous n'avons pas interprété les commentaires des analystes qui ont expliqué le budget aux spectateurs. Si nous avions pu assister à la séance d'information à huis clos qui a précédé le budget, notre tâche aurait peut-être été facilitée, mais ce n'était pas possible puisque nous aurions dû quitter la salle à 14 heures pour la période des questions.

Pensez-vous que les handicapés auditifs apprécient le service d'interprétation gestuelle?

WILSON : Il faudrait le demander à leurs représentants. Je me demande cependant si nous faisons le meilleur usage des ressources limitées qui leur sont destinées. Ainsi, il serait peut-être plus intéressant de consacrer le même argent à fournir des explications comme le fait John Warren avant la période des questions. Peut-être conviendrait-il davantage de sous-titrer les nouvelles nationales de Radio-Canada, le journal ou d'autres programmes d'affaires publiques. J'aimerais faire un glossaire vidéo sur les signes se rapportant au Parlement et aux questions politiques. Je crois cependant qu'il faut demander aux malentendants ce qu'ils veulent.

MARTINEAU : Je suis du même avis, mais on tend à oublier que le malentendant n'a jamais entendu les nouvelles nationales ou d'autres programmes, de sorte qu'il ne sait pas ce qu'il manque. Dans ces circonstances, il est très difficile de déterminer quels sont les programmes qu'on devrait offrir en priorité. Quelqu'un a décidé que ce serait la période des questions. C'est naturellement un spectacle très intéressant et nous sommes devenues toutes deux des fanatiques de cette période.

Avez-vous des contacts directs avec les députés? Avez-vous déjà témoigné devant des comités au sujet des problèmes des handicapés?

WILSON : Pendant l'année des handicapés, j'ai servi d'interprète à de nombreux groupes qui ont comparu devant le Comité spécial sur les handicapés. Je n'ai pas moi-même fait un exposé au Comité.

Que réserve l'avenir aux handicapés auditifs?

WILSON : Radio-Canada a reçu le mandat de sous-titrer des programmes à l'intention des malentendants. Lorsque les délibérations des comités seront télévisées, peut-être seront-elles aussi sous-titrées

MARTINEAU : Très peu de malentendants œuvrent dans ce domaine. Pourtant les malentendants s'intéressent aux émissions culturelles et éducatives, qui sont malheureusement assez rares. Il est à souhaiter que Radio canada puisse continuer et peut-être même augmenter les services offerts à cette catégorie de téléspectateurs.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 3
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15