Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Conrad Winn

Institutional Reforms For Representative Government, Peter Aucoin, Research Co-ordinator, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 1986, 159 pages.

This is a difficult book to assess. It has many of the ingredients of success. It is an outgrowth of the fruitful and generally successful research and publications programme of the Royal Commission on the Economic Union. The title of the volume pinpoints two vital issues, institutional reform and representativeness. The research co-ordinator is a respected public administration specialist at Dalhousie University. Three of the four contributors are major scholars John Courtney (Saskatchewan), William Irvine (Queen's), and Vincent Lemieux (Laval). The fourth contributor, Peter Dobell, is a long-time observer and participant in parliamentary affairs. Judged individually, each of the four chapters is good to very, very good. However, the value of the book as a whole seems to be a little less than the value of the sum of its parts.

Professor Courtney, a known advocate of a large House of Commons, provides a broad, systematic overview of the issue of the "Size of Canada's Parliament." He discusses the question of Parliamentary size from the vantage of Canada's obligations to under-populated regions of the country, British political experience, representativeness, the autonomy of individual MPs, the size of the Commons chamber, the style of Parliamentary debate, and the actual financial cost of a larger Commons.

In a chapter entitled "Some Comments on Parliamentary Reform," Peter Dobell offers a personal view on selected aspects of free votes in the Commons, private members' bills, the role of the Opposition in Commons' committees of inquiry, and the benefits of horizontal committees.

Professor Irvine, a long-time known advocate of proportional representation, offers a clear sighted encyclopedic overview of the many proposals for electoral system reform in Canada. This will be a useful source for many years to come. But, Irvine can be faulted for downplaying the powerful cross-national literature critical of the impact of PR on the renewal of party elites and the effectiveness of government. Even if Irvine is in the end right, it might have been helpful to show why his opponents (mainly non Canadian) are wrong.

Professor Lemieux provides an elegantly written and well organized overview of referenda both abroad and among the Canadian provinces. This too will remain a useful source of baseline information and thought for some time to come. If Lemieux can be faulted, it can be for not enough attention given to the process by which referendum questions are worded. He does note the similarity between polls and referenda, but misses the opportunity to explore their interplay.

It is difficult to know to what extent the authors and research co-ordinator should be commended or faulted because it is unclear under what constraints they laboured. The book would have benefitted from a strong introductory chapter explaining why these four themes were selected from among the myriad of potential issues in institutional reform. The mandate of institutional reform and representativeness could lead to many studies of Parliament alone, not to mention studies of public service appointments and accountability, the powers of regulatory agencies, the mass media, freedom of information, lobbying, citizen-government relations, and so forth.

A strong introductory chapter might also have explained why the authors were chosen for their particular tasks. Three of the contributors were already parti pris on at least some of the issues which they explored. Would the book have been more useful to readers if it had contained structured rebuttals?

A strong introductory chapter might also have shed light on the mode of analysis which contributors were expected to adopt. Were the chapters to be written for an audience of specialists or a lay audience? At least two of the chapters were suitable for specialists while one of the chapters had some of the character of an undergraduate primer. Were the chapters to be rigorously structured around specific reform issues or were they to be discursive essays? Were the chapters to be systematically cross-national or essentially Canadian with occasional British or American anecdotes? Answers to these questions might have made a good book still better.

Conrad Winn, Professor of Political Science, Carleton University


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 2
1986






Last Updated: 2019-11-29

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Conrad Winn

Institutional Reforms For Representative Government, Peter Aucoin, Research Co-ordinator, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 1986, 159 pages.

Cet ouvrage est difficile à recenser. Il a, semble-t-il, tout ce qu'il faut pour faire sa marque. Tout d'abord, il est l'aboutissement du programme fructueux et en général positif de publications et de recherche de la Commission royale sur l'union économique. Son titre accroche deux questions d'importance vitale, à savoir la réforme des institutions et la représentativité. Le coordonnateur de la recherche est un spécialiste respecté en administration publique de l'Université Dalhousie. Trois des quatre collaborateurs sont des chercheurs de premier rang : John Courtney (Saskatchewan), William Irvine (Queen's) et Vincent Lemieux (Laval); le quatrième, Peter Dobell, participe et s'intéresse de près aux affaires parlementaires. Enfin, pris individuellement, chacun des quatre chapitres se classe de bon à excellent. Et pourtant, la valeur d'ensemble du livre est inférieure à celle de la somme de ses parties.

Le professeur Courtney, partisan déclaré d'une grande Chambre des communes, présente une vaste analyse systématique de la question de la taille du Parlement canadien. Il aborde la question sous l'angle des obligations du Canada à l'égard des régions sous peuplées du pays, de l'expérience politique britannique, de la représentativité, de l'autonomie de chacun des députés, de la taille de la salle des Communes, du style des débats parlementaires et des coûts financiers qu'entraînerait une Chambre plus grande.

Dans le chapitre intitulé : Réflexions sur la réforme parlementaire, Peter Dobell dit ce qu'il pense de divers aspects des votes libres aux Communes, des projets de loi d'initiative parlementaire, du rôle de l'opposition au sein des comités d'enquête des Communes et des avantages des comités horizontaux.

Le professeur Irvine, qui préconise depuis longtemps la représentation proportionnelle, analyse très lucidement les unes après les autres les nombreuses propositions de réforme du système électoral au Canada. Cet article servira de référence pour de nombreuses années à venir. On pourrait reprocher à l'auteur d'avoir minimisé les écrits convaincants de tous ceux qui, d'un bout à l'autre du Canada, soulignent que la représentation proportionnelle aurait d'énormes répercussions sur le renouvellement des élites des partis et l'efficacité du gouvernement. En fin de compte, même si le professeur Irvine a raison, il aura peut-être été utile qu'il montre en quoi ses adversaires (surtout des non Canadiens) sont dans l'erreur.

Le professeur Lemieux présente, dans un style élégant, une vue d'ensemble bien organisée de la question des référendums, tant dans les provinces canadiennes qu'à l'étranger. Cette contribution demeurera également un document de référence pour longtemps. Tout ce qu'on pourrait reprocher au professeur Lemieux, c'est de ne pas avoir suffisamment fait état du processus par lequel les questions de référendums sont libellées. Il note la ressemblance entre les sondages et les référendums, mais ne profite pas de l'occasion pour analyser leurs relations réciproques.

Il est difficile de savoir dans quelle mesure il faudrait féliciter ou critiquer les auteurs et le coordonnateur de la recherche parce qu'on ne nous dit pas clairement quelles contraintes ils ont dû respecter. Ce qui manque à ce livre, c'est une solide introduction expliquant pourquoi on a retenu ces quatre thèmes parmi la foule des questions touchant la réforme des institutions. Cette réforme et la question de la représentativité pourraient faire l'objet de très nombreuses études sur le Parlement lui-même, sans mentionner les études sur les nominations et la responsabilité dans la fonction publique, les pouvoirs des organismes de réglementation, les médias, la liberté d'information, le lobbying, les relations citoyens gouvernement, etc.

Une bonne introduction aurait pu aussi nous fournir les raisons pour lesquelles ces auteurs là avaient été choisis pour chacun des thèmes traités. Trois des collaborateurs, en effet, avaient des opinions déjà très arrêtées sur au moins certaines des questions explorées. N'aurait-il pas été plus utile pour les lecteurs que l'ouvrage renferme des répliques structurées à chacun des chapitres?

Enfin, une introduction bien faite aurait également donné des éclaircissements sur la méthode d'analyse adoptée par chacun des collaborateurs. Leur texte a-t-il été rédigé pour un public de spécialistes ou de non spécialistes? Deux au moins des chapitres s'adressent certainement à des spécialistes, tandis qu'un autre ressemble plutôt à un travail d'étudiant de premier cycle. Les chapitres devaient-ils être rigoureusement structurés autour de questions de réforme bien précises, ou s'agissait-il d'essais discursifs? Les auteurs devaient-ils tenir systématiquement compte des études faites à l'étranger ou n'examiner que des documents canadiens, agrémentés ici et là d'anecdotes tirées de la littérature britannique ou américaine? Si nous n'avions pas à répondre à ces questions, ce bon livre serait encore meilleur.

Conrad Winn
Professeur de sciences politiques
Université Carleton
Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 2
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03