Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Charles Robert

Speakers Of The Legislative Assembly Of Ontario 1867-1984, by Kathleen Finlay, Toronto, Legislative Library, Research and Information Services, 1985.

As explained in the forward of this book little is known about the men who have presided over the legislative life of the province" and this collection of biographies seeks to fill that gap. Unfortunately, the author has chosen to treat only "selective issues that have risen in connection with the Speaker's functions" and has paid "particular attention to the political careers of these men". The result is a book which presents brief sketches of thirty-one politicians who happened only incidentally to have served as Speakers.

John Stevenson, for instance, the first Speaker of the Ontario Legislative Assembly is described as a self-made man who had enjoyed success in lumber and shipping ventures before turning to politics as a moderate Reformer. Unexpectedly elected Speaker, he was apparently equal to the challenge, presiding over an often turbulent Legislature "with a mix of firmness and flexibility". The problems he had to face are mentioned only briefly, and do not seem exceptional, the hostility between the government and opposition parties and the demands of Members seeking action on their private bills. Nothing is said specifically to explain how he handled himself as Speaker. His successor, Richard Scott, is noted for having much less success in the Chair, occupying the position for barely, two weeks before resigning to accept an appointment as provincial Commissioner of Crown Lands. His resignation coincided with the collapse of the coalition administration of Sandfield Macdonald and gave rise to heated accusations of partisanship which did much to undermine the integrity of the Speakership. Those who followed, James Currie, Rupert Wells and Charles Clarke, were sufficiently competent to restore the prestige of the office. Again, however, the accounts about them do not adequately explain how they managed it. Currie'is basically described as 'popular", Wells "worthy" and Clarke "firm". And so the book continues.

Paradoxically, the ability of the author to write well adds to a sense of disappointment and frustration. The sketches of the Speakers are teasers and the reader is often left wanting to know more. The fact that so little is generally known about Ontario's past Speakers demands far more substantial treatment than the outlines presented in this book. If these Speakers are to be rescued from obscurity and oblivion, more information has to be presented about their tenure in the Chair.

Perhaps the most interesting anecdote concerns Speaker William Stewart. He is described as "a colourful character with an often impetuous temperament, something of an enigma to those who knew him well". His tenure as Speaker began in 1944 and was cut short abruptly in 1947, during his second term, when confronted by the Minister of Highways over the trivial issue of guest seating in the Speaker's Gallery. Offended by the Minister's ridicule, Stewart felt that he could no longer command the respect of the House and resigned on the spot.

Charles Robert, Table Research, House of Commons


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 8 no 4
1985






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Charles Robert

Speakers of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario 1867-1984, par Kathleen Finlay, Toronto, Bibliothèque de l'Assemblée législative, Services de recherche et d'information, 1985, 134 pages.

L'auteure signale dans l'avant-propos qu'il existe peu d'information sur les hommes qui ont présidé la vie législative de la province et elle explique que son recueil de biographies vise à combler cette lacune. Malheureusement, elle ne s'est penchée que sur quelques questions qui ont été soulevées au sujet des fonctions du président, et s'est surtout attachée à la carrière politique de ces hommes. Le livre nous présente donc brièvement trente-et-un hommes politiques qui, incidemment, ont occupé le poste de président de l'Assemblée législative.

L'auteur décrit par exemple John Stevenson, premier président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario, comme un homme qui ne doit sa réussite qu'à lui-même et qui a fait de bonnes affaires dans les secteurs du bois-d’œuvre et du transport avant de s'engager en politique comme réformateur modéré. Inopinément élu président, il a, semble-t-il, été à la hauteur de la tâche, assumant la présidence d'une assemblée législative souvent turbulente « avec un mélange de fermeté et de souplesse ». L'auteur ne mentionne que brièvement les problèmes auxquels il a dû faire face et qui ne semblent pas exceptionnels : l'hostilité entre le gouvernement et les partis d'opposition et les exigences des députés qui voulaient que leurs projets de loi soient étudiés. L'auteur ne dit cependant pas comment le président a résolu ces problèmes. Son successeur, Richard Scott, a connu beaucoup moins de succès, n'occupant le poste que deux semaines avant de démissionner et d'accepter un poste de commissaire des terres de la Couronne. Sa démission a coïncidé avec la chute du gouvernement de coalition Sanfield Macdonald et a donné lieu à de vives accusations de parti pris qui ont sérieusement porté atteinte à l'intégrité de la présidence. Les présidents suivants, James Currie, Rupert Wells et Charles Clarke, sont cependant parvenus à redonner au poste son prestige. Toutefois, l'auteur n'explique pas suffisamment comment ils y sont arrivés. Elle décrit Currie comme populaire, Wells comme digne et Clarke comme ferme. Et ainsi de suite.

La plus intéressante anecdote relatée est peut-être celle concernant le président William Stewart. L'auteure le décrit comme un personnage coloré au tempérament souvent impétueux et, en quelque sorte, une énigme pour ceux qui le connaissaient bien. Il a assumé les fonctions de président de 1944 à 1947, jusqu'à ce qu'il y ait confrontation entre lui et le ministre de la Voirie sur une question sans importance ayant trait à un invité se trouvant dans la tribune du président. Offusqué par les railleries du ministre, Stewart a jugé qu'il ne pouvait plus exiger le respect de la Chambre et a aussitôt donné sa démission.

Paradoxalement, la belle prose de l'auteure ne fait que nous décevoir et nous frustrer. La biographie de chaque président met l'eau à la bouche du lecteur qui voudrait souvent en savoir plus long. Comme il existe peu d'information sur les présidents de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario, il y a lieu de traiter ce sujet beaucoup plus en détail que ne le fait ce livre. Pour sortir ces présidents de l'obscurité et de l'oubli, il faudrait fournir plus de renseignements sur leur mandat respectif.

Charles Robert, Direction des recherches pour le bureau, Chambre des communes


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 8 no 4
1985






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03