Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Ottawa-Quebec Parliamentary Exchange

From February 27 to March 2, 1984 three Senators and three members of the House of Commons visited Quebec as guests of Speaker Richard Guay. The purpose of the exchange was to offer some insights into Quebec's cultural, industrial and parliamentary life. Among other things the federal members had meetings and briefings with the Deputy Ministers of Culture and the Treasury Board. They visited Place des Arts, Place Royale, the old port of Quebec and Andrés wine makers. The mayors of both Montreal and Quebec City gave the parliamentarians a reception in their honour.

Federal members who took part in the visit were Senators Yvette Rousseau, L. Norbert Thériault and Heath Macquarrie along with the Speaker of the House of Commons, Lloyd Francis, Bud Cullen MP for Sarnia and Maurice Harquail MP for Restigouche.

Canadian Regional Council Meeting

The Council of the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association held its annual meeting in Ottawa on May 5, 1984. Visiting Speakers and observers were welcomed by the Speaker of the House of Commons, Lloyd Francis, and the Deputy Speaker of the Senate Gildas Molgat. The opening part of the meeting was chaired by the outgoing President of the Association, James Walding, Speaker of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly. Following a formula adopted in 1983 the President is drawn from the province that will host the next Canadian Regional Conference. Accordingly Speaker Arthur Donahoe of Nova Scotia took the chair for the remainder of the meeting. Other changes to the executive saw Quebec Speaker Richard Guay move from Second to First Vice-President and the addition of Speaker John Turner of Ontario as Second Vice-President. Other positions on the executive remain the same although an additional Regional Representative was added as result of changes to the CPA international constitution. Speaker Donahoe was named to fill this position. The Regional Representative whose term expires in a few months, Speaker Gerard Amerongen of Alberta, will be replaced by Speaker Guay after the international meeting in the Isle of Man.

The agenda for the Regional Council meeting consisted of some 19 items, a few of which were the subject of considerable discussion. In his report of the Executive Committee Speaker Walding noted the establishment of a $70,000 programme enrichment fund to be used to organize small CPA seminars in addition to the regular annual conference and seminar. Later in the meeting two specific proposals were considered, one from the Niagara Institute, the other from the Centre for Legislative Exchange.

The Council adopted a motion that only the interest and not the capital from the Programme Enrichment Fund should be used to organize activities. Neither of the specific proposals was adopted by the Council. Instead it was fell that at the next Council meeting branches wishing to draw from the fund should circulate proposals, well before the meeting, and the Council would decide which. if any, merited acceptance. In the meantime, to get the ball rolling, Keith Penner offered to raise the matter with the Chairman of the federal branch to see if some activity could be arranged in the coming year.

Other items on the agenda included a report by Mr. Penner on the report of a working party on CPA and its future; Deputy Speaker Doug Moore of New Brunswick reported on plans for the Atlantic Parliamentary Conference to be held in June 1984 in New Brunswick. Speaker Walter Davidson of British Columbia invited fellow Speakers to hold their Second Conference of Presiding Officers in British Columbia later this year. Speaker Turner said he thought Ontario would be willing to take Ottawa's place as host of the 1984 seminar in view of the increasing possibility of a federal election this fall. Finally, Speaker Amerongen reported on the preliminary results of a questionnaire he had circulated to all members of the Canadian region of CPA asking for their opinions on the operation of the Association. A final report will be circulated during the coming year

Twenty-Fourth Regional Conference

The twenty-fourth Regional Conference of CPA will be held in Nova Scotia from July 29-August 4, 1984. The conference will begin in Halifax but some of the sessions will take place at the Keltic Lodge in Cape Breton.

The topics on the agenda include: Censorship versus Free Speech: the Impact of the Charter; the Case For and Against Balanced Budgets; Party Discipline and the Possibilities for more Free Voting in a Parliamentary System; the Role of Provinces in International Affairs; and the Protection of the Rights of Visible Minorities. One session will also be devoted to CPA matters including the report of the working party on the future of CPA.

New Governor General

On May 14, 1984 Jeanne Sauvé was sworn in as Canada's 23rd Governor General replacing Edward Schreyer whose term had expired. The appointment marked the culmination of a distinguished public career which began in 1972 when she was elected to represent Laval-Des-Rapides in the House of Commons. Shortly thereafter she became the first female cabinet minister from Quebec and in 1980 the first woman to be elected Speaker of the House of Commons.

Born in Prud'homme, Saskatchewan where her father had a contract to build a Roman Catholic Church, her early education was at a private girls school in Ottawa. Mme. Sauvé studied economics at the University of Montreal and arts at the University of Paris. Following her return to Canada she worked as a freelance broadcaster for the French and English networks of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation as well as other networks becoming one of the best known television commentators in Quebec.

Prior to serving as Speaker she had held three different ministerial portfolios: Minister of State for Science and Technology, Minister of the Environment and Minister of Communications.

New Lieutenant Governor

In Quebec City Gilles Lamontagne was sworn in as the province's 24th Lieutenant Governor since 1867 on March 28. A graduate of Jean-de-Brébeuf College and the École des hautes études commerciales, Mr. Lamontagne was a pilot with the 425 Bomber Squadron (Les Alouettes) during the Second World War. His aircraft was shot down in 1943 and he spent two years as a prisoner of war.

In 1946 Mr. Lamontagne settled in Quebec City where he went into business. He was elected to city council in 1962 and became mayor in 1965, a position he held for the next twelve years.

First elected to the House of Commons in a 1977 by-election, Mr. Lamontagne was re-elected in 1979 and 1980. During his years in Parliament he served as Postmaster General and later Minister of National Defence.

Appointments

Craig H. James was appointed Clerk Assistant of the Saskatchewan Legislative Assembly in March. A native of Saskatchewan, he studied at the University of Regina and received a Master of Library Science from the University of Wales. Mr James had served in the Saskatchewan Legislative Library for six years as government documents librarian and reference librarian prior to joining the Table. He was greeted by the Members as a librarian extraordinaire. In addition to Table duties, he will be Clerk to various committees including the Public Accounts Committee. Mr. James replaces David Mitchell who accepted a position with the private sector in British Columbia. On behalf of the Members of the Assembly Speaker Herb Swan presented Mr. Mitchell with a painting by a Saskatchewan artist as a token of appreciation for his contribution to the Assembly for the past three years.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 2
1984






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Réunion du conseil régional

Le Conseil régional du Canada de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a tenu sa réunion annuelle à Ottawa le 5 mai 1984. Le président de la Chambre des communes, M. Lloyd Francis, et le vice-président du Sénat. M. Gildas Molgat ont accueilli les présidents d'assemblées et les observateurs invités. Le président sortant de l'Association M. James Walding, président de l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba, a présidé la première partie de la réunion, Conformément à la formule adoptée en 1983. le président de l'Association vient de la province qui est l'hôte de la prochaine conférence de la région du Canada. C'est pourquoi, le président Arthur Donahoe de la Nouvelle-Écosse a présidé le reste de la réunion. Les changements suivants sont aussi survenus au bureau : le président de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec, M. Richard Guay, est passé du poste de deuxième vice-président à celui de premier vice-président. Il a été remplacé dans ses anciennes fonctions par le président de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario, M. John Turner. Les titulaires des autres postes du Bureau sont demeurés les mêmes, mais un poste supplémentaire de représentant région ai a été ajouté à la suite des modifications apportées à la constitution internationale de l'APC. M. Donahoe a été nommé à ce poste, M. Gérard Amerongen, de l'Alberta, dont le mandat de représentant régional expire dans quelques mois, sera rempIacé  par M. Guay après la tenue de la réunion internationale à l’lle de Man.

L'ordre du jour de la réunion du Conseil régional comportait dix-neuf points dont quelques-uns ont fait l'objet de longues discussions. Faisant lecture du rapport du Bureau, le président Walding a souligné la création d'un fonds d'enrichissement de 70,000 dollars devant servir à organiser de petits colloques de l'APC qui §ajouteront à la conférence et au colloque annuels. Plus tard au cours de la réunion, deux propositions à cet éclairci ont été étudiées, l'une venant de l'Institut Niagara et l'autre du Centre d'échanges législatifs. Le Conseil n'a adopté ni l’une ni l'autre de ces propositions.

On a adopté une motion proposant que seuls les intérêts obtenus, et non le fonds même d'enrichissement, servent à organiser des activités. À la prochaine réunion du Conseil, les sections désirant obtenir des fonds devront soumettre bien à l'avance leurs propositions au Conseil qui décidera lesquelles mériteront d'être financées. Entre-temps, pour mettre l'affaire en train  M. Keith Penner a offert de soulever  la question avec le président de la section fédérale pour voir si certaines activités ne pourraient pas être organisées au cours de l'année prochaine.

Autres points à l'ordre du jour : M. Penner a rendu compte du rapport soumis par le groupe de travail sur l'avenir de l'APC, et M. Doug Moore du Nouveau  Brunswick a fait état des plans touchant la conférence parlementaire de l'Atlantique qui doit avoir lieu en juin 1984 au Nouveau Brunswick. M. Walter Davidson de la Colombie Britannique a invité ses collègues à tenir leur deuxième conférence des présidents d'assemblée en Colombie Britannique l'an prochain. M. Turner a dit que l'Ontario accepterait d'être l'hôte du colloque annuel de 1984 en remplacement d'Ottawa, étant donné la forte probabilité d'élections fédérales cet automne. Finalement, M. Amerongen a informé les membres des résultats préliminaires d'un questionnaire qu'il avait envoyé à tous les membres de la région du Canada de l'APC pour leur demander leur avis au sujet du fonctionnement de l'Association. Le rapport final sera envoyé aux membres au cours de l'année.

Vingt-quatrième conférence de la Région

La 24e conférence de la Région aura lieu en Nouvelle Écosse du 29 juillet au 4 août 1984. La conférence débutera à Halifax et certaines séances de travail auront lieu à Keltic Lodge au Cap Breton.

Les sujets à l'ordre du jour comprennent : la censure et la liberté d'expression; l'incidence de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, les arguments pour et contre l'équilibre budgétaire; la discipline de parti et la possibilité de permettre plus de votes libres dans un système parlementaire; le rôle des provinces dans les affaires internationales, et la protection des droits des minorités visibles. Une séance sera aussi consacrée à l'étude des affaires de l'APC, y compris le rapport du Groupe de travail sur l'avenir de l'Association.

Échange Ottawa Québec

Du 27 février au 2 mars. une délégation de trois sénateurs et de trois députés de la Chambre des communes ont visité le Québec à l'invitation du président de l'Assemblée nationale, M. Richard Guay. L'objet du voyage était de faire connaître d'avantage certains aspects culturels, industriels et parlementaires du Québec. Les invités ont assisté à deux séances d'information données par sous ministres des Affaires culturelles et du Conseil du Trésor. Ces séances ont porté sur le développement de la culture et de l'économie au Québec. Les maires de Québec et de Montréal ont reçu la délégation à l'occasion de réceptions en leur honneur. Des visites ont donc été organisées à la Place des Arts, à Place Royale, au Vieux Port de Québec et chez les fabricants de vin Andrés.

Ont participé à cet échange les sénateurs Yvette Rousseau, Norbert Thériault et Heath Macquarrie, le président de la Chambre des communes, M. Lloyd Francis ainsi que MM. Bud Cullen, député de Sarnia et Maurice Harquail, député de Restigouche.

Nouveau gouverneur général

Assermentée le 14 mai 1984, Madame Jeanne Sauvé est devenue le 23e gouverneur général du Canada, remplaçant ainsi M. Edward Schreyer, dont le mandat a expiré. Cette nomination marque le couronnement d'une brillante carrière publique qui a commencé en 1972 lorsque Madame Sauvé a été élue pour représenter la circonscription de Lava 1des Rapides à la Chambre des communes. Peu après, elle devenait la première femme ministre originaire du Québec et en 1980, la première femme à accéder à la présidence de la Chambre des communes.

Née à Prud'homme, en Saskatchewan, où son père avait obtenu un contrat pour la construction d'une église catholique, elle a fait ses premières classes dans une école privée à Ottawa. Elle a étudié les sciences économiques à l'Université de Montréal et les Lettres à l'Université de Paris. De retour au Canada, elle a travaillé comme journaliste libre pour les réseaux français et anglais de Radio Canada et pour d'autres réseaux; elle est vite devenue l'un des commentateurs de la télévision les plus connus du Québec.

Avant de présider la Chambre, elle avait détenu trois différents portefeuilles ministériels : ministre d'État chargé des Sciences et de la Technologie, ministre de l'Environnement et ministre des Communications.

Nouveau lieutenant gouverneur

Assermenté à Québec le 28 mars, M. Gilles Lamontagne est devenu le 24e lieutenant gouverneur de la province depuis 1867. Diplômé du collège Jean de Brébeuf et de l'École des Hautes Études commerciales, M. Lamontagne a été pilote au 425e escadron de bombardiers, (les Alouettes) durant la Seconde guerre mondiale. Son appareil ayant été abattu en 1943 et il a été prisonnier de guerre pendant deux ans.

En 1946, M. Lamontagne est installe à Québec où il a fondé une société d'importation. Il a été élu échevin en 1962, puis maire en 1965, poste qu'il a occupé pendant douze ans.

Élu pour la première fois à la Chambre des communes à l'occasion d'une élection complémentaire en 1977, M. Lamontagne a été reconduit en 1979 et en 1980. Durant ce temps, il a été tour à tour ministre des Postes, puis ministre de la Défense nationale.

Nouveau greffier adjoint de l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan

Craig H. James a été nommé greffier adjoint de l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan en mars, à la suite de la démission de David Mitchell. Natif de la Saskatchewan, M. James a étudié à l'université de Regina et a obtenu une maîtrise en bibliothéconomie de l'université de Galles. Avant de se joindre au personnel du Bureau, M. James a travaillé à la bibliothèque législative de la Saskatchewan pendant six ans comme bibliothécaire des documents gouvernementaux et bibliothécaire de référence. Les députés ont bien accueilli la nomination de celui qu'ils ont qualifié de «bibliothécaire extraordinaire>,. Outre les fonctions qu'il occupera au Bureau, M. James sera greffier de divers comités dont le Comité des comptes publics.

M. James remplace M. David Mitchell qui a accepté un poste dans le secteur privé en Colombie Britannique. Au nom des membres de l'Assemblée, le président, M. Herb Swan, a présenté à M. Mitchell une toile d'un peintre de la Saskatchewan en signe d'appréciation pour les services qu'il a rendus à l'Assemblée au cours des trois dernières années.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 2
1984






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03