Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
James Ross Hurley

Governments Under Stress: Political Executives And Key Bureaucrats In Washington, London and Ottawa, Collin Campbell, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1983, 388p.

Colin Campbell suggests that this book, which treats a number of issues concerning the relationship between central agencies and executive leadership in the United States, the United Kingdom and Canada, may appeal to the latent chief executive in many of its readers by asking. "If you were president or prime minister, how would you try to get it 'right' from the start"?

In seeking an answer to this question, Dr. Campbell developed a useful framework of analysis to study executive government in three political systems which have common roots as well as significant differences: two are parliamentary and one congressional, two are federal and one is unitary. In each of the systems, there was at least one change of government during the period of study, so that comparisons can be made not only among the three countries but also between successive governments in each.

The arm-chair executive may be awed at the influences or constraints that face a newly elected president or prime minister in a complex industrialized society. Colin Campbell, in analyzing the interaction of these influences, leadership styles and the organization and operation of central agencies, has made a major contribution to our understanding of how a new incumbent must cut his or her cloth to fit the circumstances. Among the influences he cites are those that may persist far into the future (the bipolar nature of global politics); those which may sustain themselves at least through more than one mandate (stagflation); those that occur during a mandate and relate principally to the legislative and electoral calendars; the partisan situation of the incumbent; institutional resources at the disposal of the incumbent, and the personality of the incumbent.

Campbell has chosen to focus on how these constraints or "influences" affect the way a president or prime minister pursues a particular style of leadership which in addition to the setting the tone of the government, may bring about changes in the resources, organization and operation of central agencies designed to achieve his or her goals. He suggests that there are four leadership styles: broker politics, where key policy decisions are made in the periphery through negotiations between units with competing expertise and authority. which are tracked and managed by central agencies, administrative politics. where single departments and agencies gain near hegemony over segments of policy management; planning and priorities, where units are challenged to propose crosscutting policy alternatives which central agencies are expected to bring together in a comprehensive strategy; and politics of survival where, under severe political stress, many matters previously decided at the periphery, are brought to the centre for decision.

Interviews with 265 career and politically appointed senior officials in central agencies in Washington, London and Ottawa provided the basis for analyzing the interaction of influences, executive leadership and central agencies. This approach has its limitations. The degree to which officials are at liberty to discuss all relevant matters is restricted and, as Dr. Campbell discovered in London. access to officials or even to organization charts may be difficult. Concentration on central agency staff also leads to a somewhat formal analysis of how a new president or prime minister tries to get it "right" from the start and perhaps places insufficient emphasis on some of the other influences that may bear on leadership style and on policy development or evaluation (elected members and party "brass", friends in the City or. formerly. Transport House, Canadian senators who may be unofficial policy advisors. transition teams, etc.). Placing the emphasis on formal structures lessens the degree of consideration given to informal structures. such as shadow committees of senior officials, which may play in part central agency functions (although Dr Campbell does refer, for example, to DIM 5 and DM 10).

Notwithstanding these limitations, Campbell has provided a highly interesting examination of central agency performance in three areas: strategic planning, the development and integration of economic and fiscal policies; and the allocation and management of human and physical resources The study weaves together a rich variety of facts, information on organization, operations and resources, as well as assessments and opinion. A number of observations appear to arise out of his study: collective decision-making in parliamentary cabinet government may be more effective in pursuing a government's goals than the centralization of executive authority in the hands of the president; the United States has fallen behind other systems in its machinery for co-ordinating interdepartmental decision-making and in selecting policy advisors; the capacity to delegate and to avoid becoming enmeshed in detail through the effective use of gatekeepers may contribute to "successful" governance by a president or prime minister; institutional and constitutional factors limit the degree to which a U.S. president can pursue an active priorities and planning style of leadership.

Dr. Campbell concludes with some prescriptive counsel for presidents and prime ministers who want to get it right from the start while acknowledging that, in the last analysis. executive leadership is an art. There is much food for thought. but some of his recommendations stray from factual assessment and deal with perception. The practitioners of the art will have to determine how appropriate his counsel is in the light of their own circumstances. One would hope that, in a subsequent study, Dr. Campbell might interview some former practitioners (presidents, prime ministers and members of cabinet) to seek their assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of central agencies and how best a chief executive might get it right' from the start.

While this study represents a major achievement in the area of comparative executive government, he has perhaps concentrated too heavily on the executive branch. References to Congress and Parliament abound in his book, but the importance of congressional relations or parliamentary House planning is not highlighted. It is significant that the Office of the President of the Privy Council is not listed as a Canadian central agency. Questions arise: how do caucuses, congressional leadership. meetings of House leaders and the prevailing situation in Congress or Parliament affect executive strategic planning and, indeed. leadership style? How do or should central agencies take account of these "influences" in developing strategic plans?

It there are aspects of this study that could be further developed or fleshed out Colin Campbell has nonetheless provided a good framework for analysis and has manipulated a mass of information to produce a coherent work that establishes a benchmark and will stimulate further study. Although this may be considered an academic" work. the style of writing and the presentation do no intimidate: the book should appeal to the latent executive as well as to political practitioners, officials and students of government.

James Ross Hurley, Federal Provincial Relations Office, Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 2
1984






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
James Ross Hurley

Governments Under Stress: Political Executives and Key Bureaucrats in Washington, London and Ottawa, Colin Campbell, Toronto, Presses de l’Université de Toronto, 1983, 388 pages.

Colin Campbell estime que ce livre, qui traite d'un bon nombre de questions concernant les relations entre les organismes centraux et le pouvoir exécutif aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni et au Canada, peut éveiller le chef qui sommeille chez un bon nombre de ses lecteurs en leur demandant : « Si vous étiez président ou premier ministre, comment feriez vous pour partir du bon pied? »

En cherchant à répondre à cette question, M. Campbell a mis au point un cadre d'analyse utile pour étudier l'exécutif de trois systèmes politiques de gouvernement qui ont des racines communes mais qui présentent des différences importantes : il s’agit dans deux cas, de régimes parlementaires et dans le troisième, d'un régime présidentiel avec un congrès; deux États sont fédéraux et l'autre est unitaire, Dans chacun des pays, au moins un changement de gouvernement est survenu pendant la période considérée, de sorte qu'il est possible de faire des comparaisons non seulement entre les trois pays, mais également entre leurs gouvernements successifs.

Le politicien en chambre se sentira désemparé devant les influences ou les contraintes auxquelles est soumis un nouveau président ou un nouveau premier ministre dans une société industrialisée et complexe. En analysant l'interaction de ces influences, les façons d'exercer le pouvoir ainsi que l'organisation et le fonctionnement des organismes centraux, Colin Campbell lève le voile sur la façon dont un nouveau titulaire de gouvernement doit s’y prendre pour s’adapter aux circonstances. Parmi les influences citées par l'auteur, il y en a qui peuvent se prolonger très longtemps (la nature bipolaire des politiques globales); d'autres peuvent persister pendant plus d'un mandat (la stagnation inflation); et d'autres encore se produisent au cours d'un mandat et ont principalement trait au calendrier législatif et électoral, à la situation du titulaire par rapport à son parti, aux ressources institutionnelles dont il dispose et à sa personnalité.

Colin Campbell porte son attention sur la façon dont ces contraintes ou « influences » jouent sur le choix par un président ou un premier ministre d'un style particulier d'exercice du pouvoir qui, en plus de donner le ton du gouvernement, peut susciter des changements dans les ressources, l'organisation et le fonctionnement d'organismes centraux conçus pour atteindre ses objectifs. Il laisse entendre qu'il y a quatre styles d'exercice du pouvoir : la politique de courtier, où les principales décisions d'ordre politique sont prises dans la périphérie au moyen de négociations entre des unités dont l'expérience et l'autorité sont concurrentes, el qui sont dirigées et surveillées par des organismes centraux; la politique administrative, où des ministères et des organismes isolés atteignent presque l'hégémonie sur des secteurs déterminés de gestion politique; la planification et les priorités, où les unités sont mises au défi de proposer des solutions de politique de recoupement dont les organismes centraux doivent faire la synthèse sous forme de stratégie globale; et la politique de la survie où, sous une extrême tension politique, de nombreuses questions déjà tranchées, au niveau périphérique, sont ramenées au centre décisionnel.

Des entrevues effectuées auprès de 265 hauts fonctionnaires de carrière et hommes politiques appartenant à des organismes centraux de Washington, Londres et Ottawa ont permis d'analyser l'interaction des influences, du pouvoir directeur et des organismes centraux. Cette méthode a ses limites. La mesure dans laquelle les hauts fonctionnaires sont libres de discuter de toutes les questions pertinentes est restreinte et, comme M. Campbell l'a constaté à Londres, l'accès aux hauts fonctionnaires ou même aux organigrammes est souvent difficile. Le fait de se concentrer sur le personnel des organismes centraux mène plutôt à une analyse quelque peu formelle de la façon dont un nouveau président ou premier ministre essaie de « partir du bon pied » et n'accorde peut-être pas assez d'importance à certaines autres influences qui peuvent toucher le style d'exercice du pouvoir et l'élaboration ou l'évaluation de la politique.

Quelles que soient ces limites, M. Campbell a examiné de façon extrêmement intéressante le fonctionnement d'un organisme central dans trois domaines : la planification stratégique, l'élaboration et l'intégration des politiques économiques et fiscales ainsi que l'affectation et la gestion des ressources humaines et physiques. L'étude rassemble tout un éventail de faits, de renseignements sur l'organisation, les opérations et les ressources, ainsi que des évaluations et des opinions. Il semble qu'on puisse en tirer un certain nombre de conclusions : la prise collective de décisions dans un gouvernement ministériel parlementaire peut être plus efficace pour atteindre les buts fixés par le gouvernement que la centralisation du pouvoir exécutif dans les mains du président; les États-Unis ont été dépassés par d'autres systèmes quant aux mécanismes de coordination des prises de décisions interministérielles et au choix des conseillers politiques; la capacité de déléguer et d'éviter de se perdre dans les détails en utilisant efficacement les « garde-barrières » peut contribuer au succès d'un président ou d'un premier ministre; certains facteurs institutionnels et constitutionnels limitent la mesure dans laquelle un président américain peut adopter, dans l'exercice du pouvoir, un style axé sur les priorités et la planification.

M. Campbell conclut en donnant certains conseils aux présidents et aux premiers ministres qui veulent « faire un bon départ, tout en reconnaissant qu'en dernière analyse, l'exercice du pouvoir est un art. Il y a vraiment dans ce livre matière à réflexion, mais certaines recommandations sacrifient parfois l'évaluation des faits à l'analyse de perceptions. Ceux qui pratiquent l'art de gouverner devront juger de la valeur de ces conseils en fonction de leur propre réalité. Il faut espérer que dans une étude ultérieure, M. Campbell pourra interviewer d'anciens hommes politiques (présidents, premier ministres et membres du Cabinet) pour connaître leur opinions sur les forces et les faiblesses des organismes centraux et sur la meilleure façon pour un chef de partir du bon pied.

Certes, l'ouvrage de Colin Campbell est une importante étude comparative des systèmes de gouvernement, mais l'auteur s’est peut-être trop concentré sur l'exécutif lui-même. Les allusions au Congrès et au Parlement abondent dans son livre, mais l'importance des relations au sein du Congrès ou de la planification à la Chambre n'est pas assez soulignée. Il est significatif que le bureau du président du Conseil privé ne figure pas parmi les organismes centraux canadiens. On peut se poser certaines questions. Comment les caucus, les leaders du Congrès, les réunions des leaders à la Chambre et la situation qui prévaut au Congrès ou au Parlement touchent-ils la planification stratégique de l'exécutif et même le style d'exercice du pouvoir? Comment les organismes centraux tiennent-ils compte de ces « influences » en élaborant leurs plans stratégiques?

S'il reste des aspects de cette étude qui peuvent être davantage développés ou mis en relief, Colin Campbell a néanmoins fourni un bon cadre d'analyse et s’est servi d'une masse de renseignements pour produire un travail cohérent qui représente un jalon vers d'autres études. Même si ce livre peut être considéré comme un ouvrage universitaire, le style et la présentation ne rebutent nullement : l'ouvrage devrait susciter l'intérêt des chefs latents ainsi que des hommes politiques en exercice, hauts fonctionnaires et étudiants en sciences politiques.

James Ross Hurley
Bureau des relations provinciales-fédérales
Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 2
1984






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03