Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Bruce Carson

Lawmaking by the People: Referendums and Plebiscites in Canada by J. Patrick Boyer, Butterworths, Toronto, 1982, 304 p.

This is the second in a series of five books by J. Patrick Boyer on the subject of Canadian election law. In addition to the book which is the subject of this review, this series is designed to breakdown the subject of elections into its legal framework. financing, federal and provincial election laws. and finally local and municipal elections in Canada.

Lawmaking by The People deals in a comprehensive manner with the law of referendums and plebiscites by reviewing the legislation presently in force in the central government and the provinces as well as the Yukon and Northwest Territories.

For purposes of discussion the book may be divided into two distinct parts. The first four chapters deal with the theory of the referendum and plebiscite. The author has chosen to deal with this topic from an historical vantage point. While it is interesting to have this information compiled into one volume, it is unfortunate that there are few original thoughts or conclusions presented in this section.

For example, the final chapter of this 1heory section" entitled "Advantages and Disadvantages of Referendums and Plebiscites" contains a one and a half page conclusion which is void of any value judgement on the effectiveness or propriety of referendums. Instead the author sums up by stating: "In the last resort, a plebiscite or referendum can give an aura of authenticity and a form of legal sanction to an otherwise informal and perhaps suspect opinion poll."

The second part of the book is composed of thirteen chapters each one dealing specifically and separately with the legislation covering plebiscites and referendums put in place by the central government, each province, and the two territories. The explanation of the operation of the legislation is clear and concise. If the particular government in question has had a history of the usage of either of these two devices, the chapter begins with this historical viewpoint. For example, the chapter dealing with the federal government commences with an analysis of the voting under the Canadian Temperance Act and the Dominion Plebiscite Act, 1942. These chapters are well organized and indexed, containing an excellent explanation of the subject legislation. They form the strongest part of the book but again there is very little critical analysis presented.

In conclusion, the positive aspects of this book for the legal profession and those involved in the mechanics of organizing referendums and plebiscites outweigh the negative ones. It is unfortunate that the author, after having completed this comprehensive study had not seen fit to provide a concluding chapter, presenting a comparative study of the legislation and a critical evaluation of the relative methods utilized.

Bruce Carson, Library of Parliament, Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 6 no 3
1983






Last Updated: 2020-09-14

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Bruce Carson

Lawmaking by the People: Referendums and Plebiscites in Canada, J. Patrick Boyer,  Butterworths, Toronto, 1982, 304 pages.

Il s’agit du deuxième livre, d’une série de cinq, sur la législation électorale canadienne écrit par J. Patrick Boyer. Cette série, y compris le livre faisant l’objet du compte rendu, décortique les élections, soit le cadre juridique, le mode de financement, les lois électorales fédérales et provinciales et, enfin, les élections municipales au Canada.

Lawmaking by The People traite de la législation sur les référendums et plébiscites de manière détaillée en examinant les lois appliquées actuellement par le gouvernement central, les provinces ainsi que le Yukon et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Aux fins de la discussion, le livre peut être divisé en deux parties. En effet, les quatre premiers chapitres portent sur la théorie des référendums et des plébiscites. L’auteur a choisi d’aborder le sujet dans une perspective historique. Il est intéressant que cette information ait été réunie dans un seul volume, mais la présentation d’opinions personnelles ou de conclusions fait malheureusement défaut dans cette partie.

Ainsi, le dernier chapitre de la partie théorique sur les avantages et les inconvénients des référendums et des plébiscites comporte une conclusion d’une page et demie qui ne porte aucun jugement de valeur sur l’efficacité ou le bien-fondé des référendums. L’auteur résume plutôt la situation en disant qu’en dernier recours, un plébiscite ou un référendum peut donner un air d’authenticité ou prêter un fondement légal à un sondage d’opinion informel et peut-être suspect par ailleurs.

La deuxième partie du livre se compose de treize chapitres qui traitent respectivement des lois sur les plébiscites et les référendums adoptées par le gouvernement central, les provinces et les deux territoires. Les explications sur le fonctionnement de la loi sont claires et concises. Si, au cours de son histoire, le gouvernement en question a eu recours à l’un ou l’autre de ces mécanismes, le chapitre débute alors par ce point de vue historique. À titre d’exemple, le chapitre qui traite du gouvernement fédéral commence par une analyse du vote en vertu de la Loi de tempérance du Canada et de la Loi de 1942 sur le plébiscite fédéral. Ces chapitres sont bien structurés et indexés, et fournissent d’excellentes explications sur la loi. Ils constituent la meilleure partie du livre, mais encore une fois, l’analyse critique s’y fait plutôt rare.

En conclusion, pour les avocats et ceux qui s’intéressent à l’organisation de référendums et de plébiscites, les aspects positifs du livre l’emportent sur les aspects négatifs. Après avoir réalisé un examen exhaustif, il est toutefois déplorable que l’auteur n’ait pas jugé pertinent de conclure par un chapitre renfermant une étude comparative des lois et une évaluation critique des méthodes utilisées.

Bruce Carson
Bibliothèque du Parlement
Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 6 no 3
1983






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03