Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
C.E.S. Franks

Jules Léger, Governor General of Canada, 1974-1979: A Selection of His Writings on Canada by Jacques Monet s.j. (ed.), Montreal, Les Éditions La Presse, 1982, 237 p

Of all the parts of our constitution, the Crown is the least written about and the least well-understood. The Crown exists in two worlds: the metaphysical world of constitutional law where it as sovereign summons and dissolves Parliaments, chooses Prime Ministers, issues orders and regulations, assents to legislation, whose servants cabinet ministers are in theory the most powerful post in the country and the real world of the Governor General, sequestered in Rideau Hall, doing the government's bidding, and performing a narrow, dignified, ceremonial role as head of state.

Jules Léger, Governor General from 1974 to 1979, was the fourth Canadian appointed to the post. This book includes excerpts from his speeches and an extended essay he wrote after leaving the post reflecting on the position. and his experiences as incumbent. As he is the only recent Governor General to have written extensively about the position, the book is a unique and valuable addition to knowledge about Canadian government.

The introductory essay by Jacques Monet gives a succinct description of the position, and of Jules Léger's background and distinguished career in the public service and diplomatic corps. Like many outstanding Canadians his background was modest his father was a shopkeeper in rural Quebec but he rose to the highest position in the country. Here, perhaps, is an answer to one of the paradoxes of Canadian politics: our parliamentary system is derived from a British original based on an established monarchy and nobility in a stratified and deferential society, but Canadian politics and society place little significance on rank or title. Jules Léger was immensely able. He had inner resources of dignity and humanity, and he knew and loved the variety, strengths and quiddities of Canada. He was a natural, not a hereditary, aristocrat, whose abilities were recognized even in a country whose egalitarianism often extends to the point of willfully denying greatness in living citizens. This book is testimony to the qualities he brought to the office of head of state in Canada.

Many of the excerpts from Jules Léger's speeches in this book are written in the exalted, hortatory, style of secular proselytizing appropriate to the office of Governor General: they express a vision of national unity, progress, diversity. and quality. They reflect what he believed and stood for. and offer a sense of the excellence possible that is often lacking in our politics. They are splendid examples of this kind of stately writing in both French and English and could be quoted with profit on public occasions. One speech, on "The Decisive Influence of the Press. is written in a less lofty style. I found it an interesting and perceptive discussion of an important and not well understood aspect of modern politics.

The third section, Jules Léger s reflections on the position and his tenure. is useful: we learn that he deliberated before dissolving Parliament in 1974.. we learn a little about his meetings as Governor General on a regular basis with the Prime Minister and less frequently with other politicians including the Leader of the Opposition: and we learn some of the details of his duties and the limits of his autonomy. He proposes a longer term, eight years. for a Governor General, and makes a good case for the value of state visits abroad by the Governor General, as opposed to visits by politicians. He also suggests that the Governor General might become chairman of a revamped Senate, and might preside over meetings of the Privy Council when Orders-in-Council are actually signed. Neither of these changes is likely to happen. The Governor General is part of the dignified, not the efficient. side of our constitution structure, and whatever his private role is. his public role will be ceremonial.

Jules Léger's reflections are extremely discreet. I wish they had more flesh and blood. One can hope that someday a Governor General will be as indiscreet a diarist as Mackenzie King was as Prime Minister. In the meantime. this is as close to an insider's portrait of the position as we are likely to get.

The stroke that Governor General Léger suffered early in his term obviously limited what he could make of the position. The speeches in this book came largely from his first few months in office. the reflections from after its conclusion. They are the best writing we have from. and about. the position. The French and English texts are of comparable quality except for his reflections on the office, where I found the French version preferable.

C.E.S. Franks, Associate Professor, Department of Political Studies, Queen s University,Kingston


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 6 no 2
1983






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
C.E.S. Franks

Jules Léger, Gouverneur général du Canada, 1974-1979 : textes et réflexions sur le Canada de Jacques Monet s.j. (éditeur), les éditions La Presse, Montréal, 1982, 237 pages.

De tous les éléments de notre constitution, c'est la Couronne dont on parle le moins et que l'on comprend le moins bien. La Couronne se présente sous deux formes : la forme métaphysique du droit constitutionnel, où en tant que souveraine, elle convoque et dissout les parlements, choisit les premiers ministres, émet des ordonnances et des règlements et sanctionne les lois (les ministres du cabinet, ses humbles serviteurs, occupant théoriquement les postes les plus influents du pays); et la forme réelle en la personne du gouverneur général qui, reclus dans sa résidence, se plie au bon vouloir du gouvernement et joue, en tant que chef d'État, un rôle protocolaire, digne, mais étriqué,

M. Jules Léger, gouverneur général de 1974 à 1979, a été le quatrième Canadien nommé à ce poste. L'ouvrage qui lui est consacré comprend des extraits de ses discours et un long essai qu'il a écrit après son départ où il fait état de ses réflexions et de ses expériences durant son mandat. Comme il est le seul gouverneur général récent qui ait beaucoup écrit sur le sujet, ce livre ajoute une contribution précieuse et originale à nos connaissances du gouvernement canadien.

Dans son introduction, Jacques Monet décrit brièvement le poste de gouverneur général, les origines de M. Léger et son illustre carrière à la fonction publique et dans le corps diplomatique. Comme pour de nombreux autres Canadiens de marque, ses origines étaient modestes, son père tenait boutique dans une localité rurale du Québec mais il s'est hissé jusqu'à la magistrature suprême du pays. On trouve peut-être ici réponse à l'un des paradoxes de la politique canadienne. Notre système parlementaire est issu de modèles bien établis, coiffant une société très fiere et très respectueuse de l'ordre établi, tandis que la politique et la société canadienne accordent peu d'importance au rang ou au titre. Jules Léger était immensément doué. C'était un homme digne, profondément humain, qui connaissait et appréciait la diversité, les forces et l'essence même du Canada. C'était un aristocrate de nature, sinon de naissance, dont les capacités étaient reconnues même dans un pays où l'égalitarisme va souvent jusqu'au point de méconnaître la grandeur de quelque un de son vivant. Ce livre témoigne des qualités que M. Léger a su mettre au service des fonctions de chef d'État du Canada.

Bon nombre des extraits des discours de M. Léger évoquent le style exalté d'un prosélytisme séculier qui convient au poste de gouverneur général; ils expriment une vision de l'unité nationale, du progrès, de la diversité et de la qualité.  Ce sont de merveilleux exemples d'écrits pleins de dignité, rédigés en français et en anglais, et qu'on pourrait citer à profit dans les manifestations publiques. Un de ces discours, portant sur l'influence décisive de la presse, est rédigé dans un style moins sentencieux. À mon avis, c'est un exposé intéressant qui éclaire d'un jour nouveau un coin de la politique moderne, important et mal compris.

La troisième section qui contient les réflexions de Jules Léger sur le poste de gouverneur général et les fonctions qu’il a remplies à ce titre, est intéressante : nous apprenons qu'il s'est entouré d'avis avant de dissoudre le Parlement en 1974, nous découvrons comment se déroulaient les audiences qu'il accordait régulièrement au premier ministre et, moins fréquemment, à d'autres hommes politiques, dont le chef de I'opposition et nous sommes informés de quelques détails sur ses fonctions et les limites de son autonomie. Il propose que le mandat du gouverneur général soit porté à huit ans et défend le bien fondé des visites du gouverneur général à l'étranger, par opposition à celles d'hommes politiques. Il suggère également que le gouverneur général devienne le président d'un Sénat réformé et qu'il préside les réunions du Conseil privé lors de la signature des décrets du conseil. Ces suggestions ne se matérialiseront probablement jamais. Le gouverneur général représente l'aspect digne et cérémonial de notre structure constitutionnelle, non l'élément opérationnel. Quel que soit son rôle privé, en public il demeurera une figure protocolaire. Ses réflexions sont empreintes de beaucoup de discrétion et j'aurais souhaité qu'il les eût étoffées davantage.

On peut espérer qu'un jour, un gouverneur général sera aussi audacieux dans son journal que l'a été le premier ministre Mackenzie King. D'ici là, c’est probablement la description la plus fidèle que nous aurons de ce poste vu de l'intérieur.

L'embolie qui a frappé le gouverneur général Léger au début de son mandat a, de toute évidence, limité ses possibilités. Les discours reproduits dans ce livre datent en grande partie des premiers mois de son mandat, alors que les réflexions ont été écrites plus tard. Ce sont les meilleurs textes qu'un titulaire de ce poste nous ait laissés. Les textes anglais et français sont de qualité comparable, sauf les réflexions, dont la version française est à mon avis préférable.

C.E.S. Franks
Département des sciences politiques
Université Queen's
Kingston


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 6 no 2
1983






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15