Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Gary Levy

Election Canada by Derek Black, Broadmoor Press, Sackville, New Brunswick, 1982, 163 p.

Everyone, or so it seems, wants to write a book. Unfortunately not every budding author can find a publisher, at least not among the major commercial publishing houses. As a result, some good manuscripts are left unpublished while in other cases authors entrust their work to small publishers who may be less critical or have fewer resources to check material submitted. The latter appears to be the case for this book.

Despite its title the book is not about elections as much as Prime Ministers. The first fifty pages are devoted to information, in point form, about every Canadian Prime Minister since Confederation. The usual facts such as date of birth, education, occupation, marriage, military service and previous political experience is augmented by a few unusual headings such as the publications of each Prime Minister. This initiative, like the book as a whole, was a good idea but was not researched carefully enough to make much sense. For example, why list Lester Pearson's memoirs but not those of John Diefenbaker?

The second chapter consists of maps showing the distribution of seats after all federal elections since 1967. Provincial governments at the time of the elections are also listed. Another section of the book, lists the Premiers of all provinces since they joined Confederation. Provincial election results since 1967 are given in chapter 4.

The most interesting parts of this book are chapter 5 which gives some "quotable quotes" attributed to each Prime Minister and chapter 6 entitled "Comparative Statistical Data". The latter is really a gold mine for trivia buffs. It lists such things as the oldest Prime Minister when taking office, which Prime Ministers had sons who became Members of Parliament and numerous other odd bits of Canadiana.

One cannot become very enthusiastic about this book because of the incredible number of mistakes both minor and major. The names of Sir John A. Macdonald (not MacDonald), Alexander Mackenzie (not MacKenzie) and William Lyon Mackenzie (not MacKenzie) King are mispelled throughout. Laurier's given name is Wilfrid (not Wilfred). There are factual mistakes too. Members are appointed (not elected) to the Privy Council and the Imperial Privy Council. The definitions in the Glossary, (most of which are not even used in the Book) are unclear to say the least and a few, like private bill, are simply wrong.

The book contains no date of publication but the title leads one to believe it was published in 1982 and much of the information is updated to that year. So why is Tommy Douglas still listed as sitting in the House of Commons (p. 87) when he retired in 1979? Why is Pierre Trudeau listed as having only two children (p. 1116)? In fact nearly every page has some typographical, spelling or factual error!

The author wished to make Canadians more knowledgeable of their political heritage and more appreciative of those who have held political office in Canada. That is a noble, although difficult objective. Surely more harm than good would be done by a wide diffusion of such careless or mistaken information.

The Editor


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 6 no 2
1983






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Gary Levy

Élection Canada de Derek Black, Broadmoor Press, Sackville, Nouveau-Brunswick, 1982,163 pages.

Bien des gens voudraient, un jour ou l'autre, pouvoir écrire un livre. Mais les jeunes auteurs ne trouvent malheureusement pas tous un éditeur, du moins parmi les grandes maisons d'édition. En conséquence, de bons manuscrits demeurent inédits ou, à l'inverse, les auteurs confient leur travail à des petites maisons dont le sens critique est moins développé ou qui sont moins à même de vérifier les documents qui leur sont soumis. C'est peut-être bien ce qui s'est produit dans le cas du livre à l'étude.

Contrairement à ce que laisserait croire son titre, cet ouvrage ne traite pas tant d'élections que de premiers ministres. Les cinquante premières pages donnent de l'information, en style télégraphique, sur chacun des premiers ministres du Canada depuis la Confédération. Aux données habituelles : date de naissance, formation, profession, mariage, service militaire et expérience politique antérieure, viennent s'ajouter quelques titres habituels, par exemple les publications de chaque premier ministre. Cette idée, comme l'ensemble du livre, procède d'un bon mouvement mais n'est pas appuyée par des recherches assez poussées pour être valables. Par exemple, comment expliquer que les mémoires de Lester Pearson sont mentionnés mais non ceux de John Diefenbaker?

Dans le deuxième chapitre on trouve des cartes sur la répartition des sièges après toutes les élections fédérales depuis 1967. Les gouvernements provinciaux en place au moment des élections y figurent également. Dans une autre partie du livre, on trouve une liste des premiers ministres de toutes les provinces depuis leur entrée dans la Confédération. Les résultats des élections provinciales depuis 1967 sont également recensés au chapitre 4.

Les parties les plus intéressantes de cet ouvrage sont le chapitre 5, qui répertorie quelques « citations célèbres » de chacun des premiers ministres et le chapitre 6 intitulé : « Données statistiques comparées ». Ce chapitre est une véritable mine d'or pour les amateurs de curiosités. On y apprend par exemple quel était le premier ministre le plus âgé au moment d'entrer en fonctions, quels premiers ministres ont eu des fils qui furent élus députés et une foule d'autres anecdotes.

Le nombre incroyable d'erreurs, petites et grandes, tempère cependant tout enthousiasme pour ce livre. D'un bout à l'autre de celui ci les noms de Sir John A. Macdonald (et non MacDonald), Alexander Mackenzie (et non MacKenzie) et William Lyon Mackenzie (et non MacKenzie) King sont écrits avec une faute. Le prénom de Laurier est Wilfrid (et non Wilfred). Il y a des erreurs factuelles également. Les membres du Conseil privé et du Conseil privé impérial sont nommés (et non élus). Le glossaire contient des mots qui ne sont même pas utilisés dans l'ouvrage et les définitions manquent de clarté, c'est le moins qu'on puisse dire, certaines, comme celles d'un projet de loi privé, sont tout simplement fausses.

Aucune date de publication n'apparaît sur l'ouvrage, mais à en juger par son titre, on est porté à croire qu'il a été publié en 1982 et qu'une grande partie des renseignements ont été mis à jour cette année-là. Alors pourquoi lit-on que Tommy Douglas siège encore à la Chambre des communes (p. 87), alors qu'il a pris sa retraite en 1979? Pourquoi dit-on que Pierre Trudeau n'a que deux enfants (p. 1116)? On trouve presque à chaque page des erreurs typographiques, orthographiques ou factuelles de ce genre.

L'auteur voulait aider les Canadiens à mieux connaître leur passé politique et les amener à apprécier davantage ceux qui les représentent. Objectif fort louable mais difficile à atteindre. Une large diffusion d'un texte comportant autant d'erreurs ferait sûrement beaucoup plus de mal que de bien.

Gary Levy


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 6 no 2
1983






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15