Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Canadian Regional Council Meeting

The Canadian Regional Council of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association held its annual meeting in Ottawa on May 8, 1982. The program for the Twenty-second Regional Conference was outlined by Don Stewart, Speaker of the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly, who will be host of the conference. The Council approved an agenda which will deal with such topics as "Constitutional and Political Development in the Territories", "The Importance of Mega-projects for Economic Development Across Canada", and "The Social and Local Impacts of Major Resource Development Projects".

In other matters the Council agreed to help to defray some of the expenses of Gerald Ottenheimer of Newfoundland during his term as chairman of CPA's international Executive Committee. The Council felt Mr. Ottenheimer will be representing not only CPA but Canada as a whole and that he should be able to rely on the Canadian Region for any expenses not covered by CPA international.

On a motion by Quebec, the Council agreed to establish a task force to study the growing number of organizations devoted to promoting exchanges among legislators and which are asking for financial assistance to carry out their programs. The committee will report as to whether there is duplication of effort between these organizations and the Canadian Region of CPA and what, if any, should be the relationship between CPA and these extra-parliamentary organizations. The task force will consist of Speakers Claude Vaillancourt (Quebec), John Turner (Ontario), Harvey Schroeder (British Columbia), Arthur Donahoe (Nova Scotia) and Mr. Keith Penner (Ottawa), Chairman of the Canadian Branch of CPA. They are to report their findings at the next Regional Council meeting.

The Council confirmed that the eighth Canadian Regional Seminar would be held in Ottawa from October 31 to November 4, 1982. The Twenty-third Regional Conference will be held in Manitoba from August 8 to 11, 1983.

Zimbabwean at the Table in Saskatchewan

Under the auspices of the Saskatchewan Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Mr. Austin Zvoma, Assistant Secretary to the Parliament of Zimbabwe, is spending a three-month attachment with the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan.

Zimbabwe, formerly Rhodesia, became an independent black-ruled country two years ago. The country's new parliament has been sending newly-hired staff outside of Zimbabwe on training programs. While in Saskatchewan Mr. Zvoma will observe the entire operation of the provincial legislature through the office of the Clerk of the House. He has also visited the Legislative Assembly of Alberta and plans to spend a week in Ottawa before returning home to Zimbabwe.

New Speaker in Manitoba

The new Speaker of the Manitoba legislature is James Walding. An optician by profession, Mr. Walding came to Winnipeg from England in 1961. A former Commissioner of both the Manitoba Telephone System and the Manitoba Centennial Corporation, he first rant for office in the 1969 provincial election and was defeated by the narrow margin of 23 votes. In 1971 he won a by-election in St. Vital and has represented that riding ever since. Mr. Speaker Walding is a former Deputy Chairman of Committees. He was Chairman of the New Democratic Party Caucus from 1974-1982. During his tenure in the legislature he has also chaired the following committees: Municipal Affairs, Privileges and Elections, Public Utilities, Public Accounts, Private Bills, and Statutory Regulations and Orders. Mr. Walding was sworn in as Speaker on February 25, 1982.

Appointments

Marian J. Powell has been appointed as the new Legislative Librarian for the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. Mrs. Powell succeeds Christine MacDonald who retired April 30, 1982, after 36 years of service. Mrs. Powell was born in Saskatchewan and received her B.A. with Distinction from the University of Saskatchewan, Regina. She then graduated from the University of British Columbia with a Bachelor of Library Science degree. Since 1970, Mrs. Powell had been employed with the University of Regina's library. As Legislative Librarian her mandate will include implementation of the recommendations of the recent Report of the Special Committee on the Review of the Legislative Library.

Also in Saskatchewan Elizabeth Bourns has been appointed Clerk Assistant (Administrative). Ms. Bourns, who was born in Hamilton, Ontario, holds a B.A. (Honours) from McMaster University and an M.P.A. from Queen's. She had worked for the provincial government of Alberta before coming to Saskatchewan where she served with the Department of Intergovernmental Affairs. Her new responsibilities as Clerk Assistant (Administrative) include advising the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly on personnel, financial and administrative matters. She will administer Members' services for the Saskatchewan legislature and also serve as secretary to the Board of Internal Economy.

The new Sergeant-at-arms in Manitoba is Mr. Ernest Diack. A retired police man. Mr. Diack. was active in the Canadian Legion. He replaced Edward Laing at the beginning of the present session of the legislature.

On March 1. a new Assistant Clerk was appointed to the Ontario Legislative Assembly. Mr. Simirle Forsyth. a barrister and solicitor, was formerly a Clerk of Committees, a position he held since July. 1978, He served as Clerk of the Standing Committees on Administration of Justice. Regulations and Other Statutory Instruments and on Procedural Affairs and as Clerk of the Select Committee on Constitutional Reform.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 2
1982






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Réunion du Conseil régional canadien Ottawa

Le Conseil canadien de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. présidé par M' Jeanne Sauvé, a tenu sa réunion annuelle à Ottawa le 8 mai 1982. Le programme de la 22e conférence régionale est présente par M. Don Stewart, président de 1 Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-ouest et l'hôte de la conférence  Le Conseil approuve l’ordre du jour de la conférence qui traitera de sujets comme Le développement constitutionnel et politique des Territoires, «L'importance des mégaprojets pour le développement économique du Canada, et l’incidence sociale et locale des grands projets de mise en valeur des ressources au Canada.

Lors de l’étude de la rubrique Divers, le Conseil convient de prendre à sa charge une partie des dépenses faites par M. Gerald Ottenheimer de Terre-neuve, pendant son mandat comme président du Comite exécutif international de l’APC, Le Conseil estime que M. Ottenheimer représentera non seulement I’APC mais tout le Canada, et que la région canadienne devrait donc l'indemniser des dépenses non couvertes par la section internationale de l'APC.

Sur proposition du Québec le Conseil convient de créer un groupe de travail pour étudier la question de la multiplication des organismes chargés de promouvoir les échanges entre législateurs et qui demandent de l'aide financière pour la réalisation de leurs programmes. Ces organismes et la région canadienne de l'APC font ils double emploi? Quelle devrait être la relation, le cas échéant, entre l'APC et les organismes non parlementaires poursuivant les mêmes objectifs? Le groupe de travail comprendra les présidents Claude Vaillancourt (Québec). John Turner (Ontario), Harvey Schroeder (Colombie-Britannique) et Arthur Donahoe (Nouvelle-Écosse), ainsi que M. Keith Penner (Ottawa), président de la Section canadienne de l'APC. Le groupe fera rapport de ses conclusions à la prochaine réunion du Conseil régional.

Le Conseil confirme que le 8e Colloque régional canadien aura lieu à Ottawa du 31 octobre au 4 novembre 1982 et que la 23e conférence régionale se tiendra a Manitoba du 8 au 11 août 1983.

Un ressortissant du Zimbabwe au bureau du greffier de la Saskatchewan

M. Austin Zvoma, secrétaire adjoint au Parlement du Zimbabwe. est détache pou une période de trois mois auprès de l'As semblée législative de la Saskatchewan sous les auspices de la Section de la Saskatchewan de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth

Le Zimbabwe, ex Rhodésie du Sud est devenu il y a deux ans un pays indépendant avec un gouvernement à majorité noire, Le nouveau parlement du pays en voie les nouveaux membres de son personnel se former a l’ étranger Pendant son séjour en Saskatchewan, M. Zvoma observera le fonctionnement de l’Assemblée législative provinciale à partir du bureau du greffier de l'Assemblée législative. Il a aussi visité l'Assemblée législative de l’Alberta et prévoit passer une semaine à Ottawa avant de rentrer au Zimbabwe.

Nouveau président de l'Assemblée au Manitoba

M. James Walding est le nouveau président de l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba  Opticien de profession, M. Walding émigre d'Angleterre à Winnipeg en 1961. Ancien commissaire du Manitoba phone System et de la Manitoba Centennial Corporation, il se porte candidat pour la première fois aux élections provinciales de 1969, où il est battu par 23 voix seulement.

En 1971, il est élu député lors d'une élection complémentaire dans la circonscription de Saint vital, qu'il représente depuis lors à l'Assemblée législative. M. Walding est un ancien vice-président des comités, et il a été aussi président du caucus du Nouveau parti démocratique, de 1974 à 1982. A l'Assemblée législative, il a également présidé les comités suivants :affaires municipales, privilèges et élections, services publics, comptes publics, projets de lois privés et textes réglementaires.

Nominations

Marian J. Powell a été nommée bibliothécaire législative à l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan, en remplacement de Christine MacDonald qui a pris sa retraite le 30 avril 1982 après 36 ans de service. Née en Saskatchewan, où elle a obtenu un baccalauréat avec distinction (à l'université de la Saskatchewan à Regina), Mme Powell est diplômée de l'université de la Colombie Britannique en bibliothéconomie. Elle travaillait depuis 1970 à la bibliothèque de l’université de Regina. Dans le cadre de son mandat de bibliothécaire législative, elle devra veiller à la mise en œuvre des recommandations contenues dans le récent rapport du comité spécial sur la bibliothèque législative.

Elizabeth Bourns a été nommée greffier adjoint (Administration) à l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan. Née à Hamilton (Ontario), Mme Bourns est titulaire d'un baccalauréat avec spécialisation de l'université McMaster et d'une maîtrise en administration publique de I*université Queen's. Elle a été employée par le gouvernement provincial de l'Alberta avant de venir travailler en Saskatchewan pour le ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales. Dans le cadre de ses nouvelles fonctions, elle assistera le greffier de l'Assemblée législative pour les questions touchant au personnel, aux finances et à l'administration: elle administrera aussi les services aux membres de l'Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan et fera office de secrétaire de la Commission de l'économie interne,

Le 1er mars, M. Smirle Forsyth a été nommé greffier adjoint à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario. Avocat de profession, il était depuis juillet 1978 secrétaire des comités; c'est ainsi qu'il a travaillé pour deux comités permanents de même que pour le Comité spécial sur la réforme constitutionnelle.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 2
1982






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03