Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Richard Simeon

Report of the Subcommittee on Certain Aspects of the Constitution, document presented to the Senate by the Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs, November 26, 1980, 44 p.

Few ideas have proved more seductive to would be constitution makers than reform of the Upper House. From the House of the Provinces, in proposals by the B.C. Government, the Ontario's Advisory Committee on Confederation and others, to the House of Federation in Ottawa's Bill C60, to the Provincial Council, proposed by the provinces in September 1980, virtually every recent set of recommendations for constitutional change has focussed on the role of the Upper House as an institution of federalism.

The impetus for such proposals varies. Most common is the belief that in a renewed federal system, there must be far more effective representation of the regions "at the centre". Provincially representative Second Chambers are the classic institution for doing this in federal systems.

But beyond this general concern to build a greater element of "intrastate federalism" into the present system, the suggestions for a new Upper Chamber have varied widely in their underlying assumptions, and therefore in their ideas with respect to its composition, appointment procedures, powers and legal status. In general, the idea has evolved from conceptions which build provinces or regions directly into Parliament itself, to those which see a new body as a separate, intergovernmental institution in which the two orders of government are brought together for more limited purposes.

Among the most interested observers of this debate, of course, are the members of the present Senate. Their very existence is in question. Therefore, it is not surprising that a subcommittee of the Senate's Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs, chaired by the Honourable Maurice Lamontagne, has carefully assessed the many proposals, and has developed a model which includes a new institution to meet the challenges of federalism, while retaining the existing Second Chamber virtually intact. The subcommittee's brief report, published in 1980, was virtually lost in the sound and fury of wider constitutional debate. That is a pity, since it provides a much needed clarification of a controversial idea.

The Lamontagne committee makes a basic distinction between two separate problems, which in most other proposals have been combined. The first problem is an intergovernmental one: the need to regulate relations between the two orders of government. To deal with that, it rejects the approach of Senate reform and instead recommends formalization of the federal-provincial conference as a "Federal-Provincial Council". The second problem is to assure that the central government itself is more representative and responsive to regional interests. This they address through moderate reform of the existing Senate.

The primary provincial constitutional grievance, the subcommittee argues, is the existence in the BNA Act of a number of broad, discretionary, federal powers which permit Ottawa to override the provinces and act in their jurisdiction. Reservation, disallowance, the declaratory power, the spending power and the emergency power are all instruments by which Ottawa can dominate or subordinate the provinces. All are inconsistent with the constitutional equality of the two orders of government, with the principle of non-subordination," and with provincial sovereignty in their assigned areas of jurisdiction. These are usually considered the essential characteristics of genuine federalism. The subcommittee would abolish the reservation and disallowance powers as obsolete. But, it argues that the other powers are likely to be retained. "So the problem remains of harmonizing the exercise of these overriding powers with the principal of non-subordination". The committee believes that the answer lies in securing the consent of both orders of government before such powers can be used. Both "federal" and "provincial" agreement are required. Clearly the existing Senate does not meet the test of provincial consent, nor could one whose members were elected, or jointly appointed, as suggested in Ottawa's Bill C-60 of 1978.

But equally repugnant to the Committee are proposals for a provincially appointed Upper Chamber within Parliament. That would meet the provincial test, but deny the federal one. It would introduce a "major confederal element into the system, and by making the members instructed delegates of provincial governments, it would introduce a provincial executive power into a federal legislative body. "It would make the federal Parliament a hybrid body amounting to a monstrosity".

The solution, the committee argues, lies in an intergovernmental rather than a parliamentary body. And there already exists an "old and unique Canadian mechanism that could easily provide a practical solution with a minimum of institutional disruption" the federal-provincial conference. Hence, the subcommittee's central recommendation is that the conference be reconstituted as the Federal-Provincial Council with specific powers and formal rules for decision-making. Its members would be the First Ministers, or their delegates, assisted by a permanent secretariat and an advisory committee of officials.

The Council would have three roles. First, it would be the forum for negotiation of future constitutional amendments. Here the voting rule would be whatever amendment formula is eventually adopted. Second, it would ratify use of the remaining federal overriding powers the declaratory power, the spending power, but only in reference to shared cost programmes, and the emergency power in peacetime. Federal initiatives in these areas would require approval of a majority of the provinces, representing a majority of the whole population. Third, the Council would play a broad co-ordinating role in areas like fiscal and economic policy. Here it would be a forum for discussion, and would not make binding decisions or take formal votes. In all cases where formal decisions were taken, they would have to be ratified by the various legislatures.

This formulation is a great improvement over earlier "House of Provinces" solutions, because it does not hopelessly blur legislative and executive roles, or greatly complicate the accountability of each government to its own electorate. The proposal is aimed squarely at a central issue in debate the equality of the two orders of govern merit and does address the critical question of how federal and provincial governments can better harmonize their activities. It implies that in thinking of institutional change, we need to bear in mind three sets of institutions those of the federal government, those of the provinces, and those of the federation itself. The last group includes the Constitution, the Supreme Court, the amendment procedure, and with this proposal, the Federal-Provincial Council. The Council could provide the vehicle for policy co-ordination, and the policing mechanism for federal intrusions into areas of provincial authority, and perhaps vice versa.

The Council as proposed by the Senate Sub-Committee, would be smaller and play a much more limited role than the Federal Council, based on the same principles proposed by the Quebec Liberal Party's Beige Paper. The provincial common stand" of September 1980, also differed from the committee's proposal, in that it did not include formal federal representation, required a two-thirds majority of provinces for approval of federal initiatives and included ratification of major appointments. Undoubtedly, some provinces would feel that the subcommittee's majority rule would not provide sufficient protection of their interests against federal use of the declaratory or emergency powers. But both these proposals are based on the same logic as the subcommittee's.

Thus, within the broad conception of an intergovernmental body as proposed by the committee, a number of variants are possible. It offers considerable promise. But the FederalProvincial Council, argues the committee, would be no substitute for the existing Senate. The Report presents a defence of its role, focussing on its effectiveness in revising complex, detailed legislation and investigating major social problems. It agrees that its role in representing regions, especially less populous ones has been 1ess significant than anticipated in 1867. It cites several examples of apparent defense of regional interests, but admits it could have done more". Nor, the members agree, has it done much to protect linguistic minorities. But that. the committee argues. calls for improvement. not abolition.

But how? Radical change is rejected. The reformed Senate would continue to be appointed by Ottawa. But every second appointment would be from a list of provincial nominees. The political weight of an elected Senate, it is argued, would rival that of the Commons, and create insurmountable problems within the parliamentary system. The Senate would be enlarged to 126 members, giving greater weight to the West. Members would serve for 10 years, with an additional five years on the recommendation of a special committee. The Senate's present unlimited power to veto legislation, unwarranted in a democratic society would be dropped; its legislative role of sober second though would be met by a six-month suspensive veto. This might well increase the Senate's activity, since a suspensive veto is much less draconian than an absolute one. The Senate would also have an expanded role in examining regulations made under delegated legislation.

It would be made a more effective reflection of regional and linguistic interest by the establishment of all party regional caucuses and by the creation of a Standing Committee on Regional Affairs and Official Languages. It would also continue to supply cabinet ministers for regions unfortunate enough to be unrepresented in the governing party in the Commons. The subcommittee ignores the flurry of debate about whether the Senate should continue to have a veto over constitutional change, since that argument developed after its work was completed. But its recommendation for only a six month veto on legislation implies that the same would apply to constitutional changes.

A number of other reforms an elected Speaker, a standing committee on human rights, regular conferences to resolve differences between Senate and Commons and the like are also proposed. While these changes would no doubt improve the Senate's effectiveness somewhat, they fall far short of a revitalization of the Federal Parliament's capacity to represent regional interests and act as the arena for compromise among them. The Achilles heel of federal appointment remains virtually intact. In no other federal system are the members of the Upper Chamber federally selected. Senators would still lack an effective political base. Nor are 10 to 15year terms likely to lead to greater dynamism than the present tenure. Regional caucuses, and a regional affairs committee could be a useful sounding board, but it is unlikely provincial governments or private interests would see them as an effective new avenue for influencing Ottawa. While helpful as ameliorative steps, these devices would not solve the underlying problem.

Thus, the Committee is more effective in addressing the intergovernmental issue than it is addressing the broader questions of the representativeness of the central government. That must come primarily through changes in the institutions of popular representation the parties, the Commons, and the cabinet.

It is easier to state the challenge than to meet it. It depends fundamentally on the reestablishment of countrywide political parties, on changes in the Committee system to provide a more concentrated focus on regional and federal-provincial issues, and perhaps on some modification of the rigidities of party discipline.

The Senators make a convincing defence of their utility. Their recommendations would make the Senate more useful, but they are only a tiny step towards restoration of the nation-wide legitimacy Ottawa must have if it is to wield effectively the authority it possesses, and to negotiate persuasively in a formalized Federal Provincial Council. But we should be grateful to the subcommittee for clarifying a debate, which it correctly argues had become hopelessly confused.

Richard Simeon

Director Institute of Intergovernmental RelationsQueen's University Kingston


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 1
1982






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Richard Simeon

Rapport du sous-comité sur certains aspects de la constitution, document déposé au Sénat par le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles, le 26 novembre 1980, 44 p.

La réforme de la Chambre haute est un sujet qui semble intéresser tout particulièrement les rédacteurs de textes constitutionnels. De la Chambre des provinces, proposée par le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique. le Comité consultatif sur la Confédération de l'Ontario et d'autres. à la Chambre de la Fédération. prévue dans le bill  C-60 déposé par Ottawa. en passant par le Conseil des provinces, suggéré par les provinces en septembre 1980 presque toutes les récentes recommandations de modification à la constitution ont porté sur le rôle de la Chambre haute.

Il y a plusieurs raisons à cela. La plus commune  vient de la croyance qu'un gouvernement central. dans un  système fédéral renouvelé, doit représenter beaucoup plus efficacement toutes les régnons, Les secondes chambres remplissent habituellement ce rôle dans les systèmes fédéraux.

Au delà de la préoccupation générale de doter le système actuel d'une plus grande part de fédéralisme inter gouvernementaux, les raisons sous jacentes à la création d'une nouvelle Chambre haute ont considérablement changé, ainsi que les suggestions relatives à sa composition. aux procédures de nomination, à ses pouvoirs et à son statut juridique. Nous pouvons noter une évolution des premiers concepts qui visaient à intégrer les provinces ou les régions au sein du Parlement, jusqu'aux dernières propositions où est préconisée la création d'un nouvel organisme, complètement indépendant, qui serait une institution intergouvernementale où les deux ordres de gouvernement seraient réunis à des fins plus limitées.

Les membres du Sénat sont évidemment ceux qui s’intéressent le plus à ce débat. Leur existence même y est remise en question. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que le sous comité du Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles, présidé par M. Maurice Lamontagne, ait étudié attentivement les nombreuses propositions et ait élaboré un projet qui comprend une nouvelle institution chargée de relever les, défis du fédéralisme tout en conservant pratiquement intacte la seconde Chambre actuelle. Le bref rapport du sous comité  publié en 1980, est malheureusement passé inaperçu dans la tourmente provoqué par le débat constitutionnel. Cela est bien dommage car il permettait de clarifier une idée très controversée.

Le Comité Lamontagne établit une distinction fondamentale entre deux problèmes indépendants qui se sont trouvés associés dans la plupart des proposition, Le premier problème traite de la question intergouvernemental c'est à dire la nécessité de réglementer les relations entre les deux paliers de gouvernement. À ce propos, le sous comité rejette l'idée d'une réforme d un Sénat et il recommande d'institutionnaliser les conférences fédérales provinciales au moyen d'un Conseil fédéral provincial. Le second problème est de s'assurer que le gouvernement central lui même représente mieux les régions et se préoccupe davantage de leurs intérêts. Le sous comité propose un légère réforme du Sénat pour résoudre cette question.

Le sous comité allègue que les principaux griefs constitutionnels des provinces concernent l'existence de pouvoirs fédéraux extraordinaires conférés à Ottawa par l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, et qui lui permettent de transcender les pouvoirs des provinces et d'intervenir dans des domaines de leur compétence. Le droit de réserve. le droit d'annulation, le pouvoir déclaratoire, celui de dépenser et le pouvoir d'urgence sont tous des instruments qui permettent à Ottawa de dominer ou de subordonner les provinces. Tous sont inconciliables avec les principes d'égalité constitutionnelle des deux paliers de gouvernement, de la non subordination et de la souveraineté des provinces dans leurs domaines de compétence. Ces principes sont habituellement les fondements essentiels d'un véritable fédéralisme. Le sous comité propose l'abolition des droits de réserve et d'annulation qu'il considère désuets. Il affirme par contre que les autres pouvoirs devraient être conservés. Il faut donc trouver le moyen de concilier J'exercice de ces pouvoirs transcendants avec le principe de la non subordination. Le comité croit que la solution réside dans l'obtention d'un accord entre les deux paliers de gouvernement avant que l'on puisse exercer de tels pouvoirs. c'est à dire qu'il faudrait l'accord du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux. Il est évident que le Sénat actuel ne répond pas à cette exigence, ni aucune autre institution dont les membres seraient élus ou nommés conjointement, comme c'est le cas dans le Bill C-60 proposé par Ottawa en 1978.

Le comité rejette avec autant de vigueur les propositions visant à créer une Chambre haute au sein du Parlement dont les membres seraient nommés par les provinces. Elle répondrait aux exigences provinciales mais ne respecterait pas celles du fédéral. Elle introduirait un élément confédéral d'importance et permettrait l'introduction d'un pouvoir exécutif provincial au sein d'un corps législatif fédéral, puisque ses membres seraient des délégués des gouvernements provinciaux. "Le Parlement fédéral deviendrait ainsi un organisme hybride et quasiment monstrueux."

La solution selon le comité réside dans la création d'un organisme inter gouvernemental plutôt que parlementaire. Il existe déjà une vieille formule typiquement canadienne qui apporterait une solution simple et pratique sans révolutionner nos institutions,  il s'agit des conférences fédérales provinciale.,,. La recommandation principale du sous-comité est de faire de ces conférences un Conseil fédérale provincial doté de pouvoirs précis de règles officielles pour la prise de décision, Il serait formé des premiers ministres ou de leurs représentants, aidés d'un secrétariat permanent et d'un comité consultatif de fonctionnaires.

Ce conseil assumerait trois rôles. Premièrement, il serait chargé de négocier les modifications à apporter à la Constitution. Il rendrait ses décisions selon la formule d'amendement en vigueur à ce moment là. Deuxièmement. il sanctionnerait l'exercice des pouvoirs extraordinaires que conservait le gouvernement fédéral, notamment le pouvoir d'urgence et celui de dépenser. Toutefois, son contrôle se limiterait, pour le premier, aux mesures d'urgence en temps de paix, et pour le second, aux programmes à frais partagés. Les propositions du gouvernement fédéral dans ces domaines devraient être approuvées par une majorité des provinces représentant une majorité de la population. Troisièmement le conseil jouerait un rôle de coordination en matière de politiques fiscale et économique; il serait alors purement consultatif et ses conclusions ne seraient pas exécutoires. Lorsque des décisions formelles seraient prises il faudrait les faire approuver par les diverses assemblées législatives.

Cette formule présente un avantage considérable sur celles qui proposaient la création d'une Chambre des Provinces, car elle permet de ne pas confondre les rôles législatif et exécutif et ne complique pas l'imputabilité de chaque gouvernement envers son propre électorat. La proposition vise carrément à régler le problème essentiel, à savoir l'égalité des deux paliers de gouvernement. Elle vise également à concilier les activités des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux. Elle tient compte du fait que dans tout changement constitutionnel il faudra prendre en considération des groupes d'institutions, celles du gouvernement fédéral. celles des provinces et celles de la fédération elle-même. Ce dernier groupe comprend la Constitution, la Cou r suprême, les procédures d'amendement et selon cette formule. le Conseil fédéral provincial. Le conseil serait le véhicule de coordination des politiques et l'organisme surveillant les ingérences du gouvernement fédéral dans les domaines de compétence provinciale, et peut être vice versa.

Le conseil proposé par le sous comité serait plus petit et assumerait un rôle plus restreint que le Conseil fédéral proposé par le Parti libéral du Québec dans son Livre beige. La position commune" adoptée par les provinces en septembre 1980 était également différente de la proposition du Comité: elle ne prévoyait  officielle du gouvernement fédéral. et exigeait une majorité des deux tiers des provinces pour l'approbation des projets fédéraux et elle permettait la ratification des nomination importantes. Il ne fait aucun doute que  certaines provinces trouveront que L règle de la majorité proposée par le sous comite ne protège pas suffisamment leurs intérêts contre l'exercice di. pouvoir d'urgence ou du pouvoir déclaratoire du gouvernement fédéral, Et pourtant, ces deux propositions se fondent sur les mêmes principes que ceux du sous comité.

À I’ intérieur du grand concept d'un organisme intergouvernemental] proposé par le comité, de nombreuses variantes sont donc possibles. Il offre de nombreuses possibilités. Selon le comité, le Conseil fédéral provincial ne pourrait pas remplacer le Sénat actuel. Le rapport défend le rôle du Sériai en mettant l'accent sur son efficacité lorsqu'il s'agit d'étudier des projets de loi complexes ou d'enquêter sur des problèmes sociaux importants. Il admet que le Sénat n'a pas représenté les régions, surtout le  moins peuplées, autant que l’on avait espère en 1867, Il cite plusieurs exemples de défense des intérêts régionaux, mais admet qu'il aurait pu l'aire davantage. Il n’a pas non plus, de l'aveu même de ses membre,, fait grand chose pour protéger les minorités linguistiques. Mais, aux dires du comité, cela nécessite une amélioration. non une abolition pure et simple.

Comment  procéder? Les changements radicaux sont à rejeter Les membre d'un Sénat reformer  seraient toujours nommes par Ottawa mais un membre sur deux serait choisi a partir d'une liste établie par les provinces. D'aucuns prétendent qu’un Sénat élu entraînerait une rivalité politique avec la Chambre des commune et créerait des problèmes insolubles dans un régime parlementaire. Le Sénat verrait le nombre de ses membres passer à 126 pour donner plus de poids à l'Ouest. Les membres seraient nommés pour dix ans et pourraient demeurer en poste cinq ans de plus sur la recommandation d'un comité spécial. Ou abolirait le pouvoir illimité que détient actuellement le Sénat d'opposer son veto à tout projet de loi, pouvoir inadmissible dans une société démocratique. Il pourrait avoir un droit de veto suspensif pour six mois, ce qui donnerait au gouvernement le temps de reconsidérer son projet de loi. Le travail du Sénat s'en trouverait probablement accru puisqu'un veto suspensif de six mois n'a pas autant d'effet qu'un veto absolu. Le Sénat jouerait également un plus grand rôle dans l'étude des règlements rédigés dans le cadre d'une loi déléguée.

La formation de caucus régionaux regroupant tous les partis et la création d'un Comité permanent des affaires régionales et linguistiques permettraient au Sénat de mieux représenter les divers intérêts régionaux et linguistiques. Il pourrait également représenter auprès du Conseil des ministres les régions qui ne sont pas représentées par un député du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes. Le sous comité ne traite pas de la question épineuse du droit de veto d u Sénat sur les changements constitutionnels, puisque la question ne fut soulevée qu'après le dépôt de son rapport. On peut cependant penser que sa recommandation relative au veto suspensif de six mois s'applique également aux changements constitutionnels.

Il propose aussi d'autres réformes, notamment un président élu, un comité permanent des droits de la personne et des conférences régulières pour résoudre les différends entre le Sénat et la Chambre des communes. Il ne fait aucun doute que ces changements pourront améliorer l'efficacité du Sénat, mais ils ne permettent cependant pas au Parlement fédéral de mieux représenter les intérêts régionaux et déjouer un rôle de catalyseur pour concilier ces divers intérêts. La nomination des membres par le gouvernement fédéral demeure le talon d'Achille de ce projet. Ce processus de nomination à la Chambre haute n'existe dans aucun autre système fédéral. Les sénateurs n'auront toujours pas de base politique réelle. Il est vraisemblable que des mandats de 10 ou 15 ans pour les sénateurs ne rendront pas cette institution plus dynamique. Les caucus régionaux et le Comité des affaires régionales permettront aux intérêts régionaux de se faire entendre, mais il est peu probable que les gouvernements provinciaux et les groupes d'intérêt privé les perçoivent comme un bon moyen d'influencer Ottawa. Ces moyens. tout en étant très utiles, ne suffiront pas à résoudre le fond du problème.

Le comité réussit mieux à traiter de la question intergouvernementale qu'à traiter des questions plus générales de la représentativité du gouvernement central. Ceci ne peut se faire qu'en apportant des changements majeurs aux institutions représentant la population, les partis. la Chambre des communes et le Conseil des ministres.

Il est plus facile d'énoncer les problèmes que de les résoudre. Il faudrait essentiellement rétablir des partis politiques à l'échelle du pays. modifier le système des comites pour mettre plus l'accent sur les questions régionales et fédérales provinciales et, peut être, assouplir la discipline des partis.

Les sénateurs ont défendu leur rôle avec conviction. Leurs recommandations rendraient le Sénat plus utile, mais elles ne représentent qu'un petit pas vers la restauration d'une légitimité nationale qu'Ottawa doit avoir pour exercer efficacement le pouvoir qu'il possède et pour négocier avec persuasion au sein d'un conseil fédéral provincial. Nous devons cependant être reconnaissants au sous comité d'avoir clarifié un débat qu'il a qualifié à juste titre de désespérément confus.

Richard Simeon Directeur Institute of Intergovernmental Relations Queen's University Kingston (Ontario)


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 1
1982






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15