Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Third Canadian Parliamentary Seminar

Delegates from seven of the eight Regions of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association gathered in Ottawa from November 23 to 29, 2003, for the Third Canadian Parliamentary Seminar.  The host of the Seminar was the Chair of the Canadian Branch Sarmite Bulte, MP. The following delegates were in attendance from the various Regions of the CPA.

Africa Region: Hon. Fluksman Samuehl, MP of Namibia and Hon. M.M.A. Nyama, Deputy Speaker and Hon. Justice Piitso, MLA from Limpopo Branch (formerly Northern Province of South Africa).

Indian Region: Shri Simranjit Singh Mann and  Dr. (Smt.) V. Saroja, MP of the federal Branch and Speaker Shri Satbir Singh Kadian from the Haryana State Branch.

Australian Region: Joanne Duncan MP, John Vogels, MLC from the Victoria Branch and Jaye Radisich MLA  and Hon. Barry House MLC from the Western Australia Branch.

British Isles and Mediterranean Region:  Nanette Milne MSP and Alasdair Morrison MSP from the Scottish Parliament and Jeff Cuthbert AM from the Welsh Assembly.

Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic Region: Dr. Neil McGill from Jamaica and Senator Dana Seetahal and Kelvin Ramnath, MP from Trinidad and Tobago.

Canadian Region:  Doug Martindale, MLA and Leanne Rowat, MLA of Manitoba and Richard Brown, MLA and Fred McCardle, MLA of Prince Edward Island.

Also in attendance representing the Secretariat of the CPA in London was Ms. Christina Ngwira.

During the week long seminar the following sessions were held:

  • The Commonwealth and the Role of the CPA, Bob Speller, MP
  • The Role and Operation of the Canadian Parliament, Audrey O’Brien, Deputy Clerk of the House of Commons
  • The Canadian Political Scene, Bev Desjarlais, MP, John Reynolds, MP, and Suzanne Tremblay, MP
  • Political Recruiting and Women in the Political Process, Eleni Bakopanos, MP, and John Reynolds, MP
  • The Role of Party Caucuses, Werner Schmidt, MP, and C.E.S. Franks, (Queen’s University)
  • Engaging Citizens:  Resources and Tools, Sue Barnes, MP, and Dr. Carolyn Bennett, MP
  • Connecting with Constituents Representing Pluralistic Constituencies, Madeleine Dalphond- Guiral, MP, and John McKay, MP
  • How an MPs Office Works, Dale Johnston, MP, and Paddy Torsney, MP
  • Dealing With the Media, John Harvard, MP, and Susan Murray, CBC News
  • Parliament and Civil Society, Senator Raynell Andreychuk, and Sean Moore, (Public Policy Advisor, Gowling, Lafleur, Henderson)
  • Parliament and Committees, Charles Caccia, MP, and John Williams, MP
  • Parliament and Lobbyists, Marlene Jennings, MP, and John Chenier, (Publisher of The Lobby Monitor)

The final session was devoted to topics suggested by the delegates and this included:  Bilingualism, Balancing Competing Interests Within One's Electorate, Mentoring newer MP Colleagues, Caucus Discipline, The Role the Commonwealth in the Development of the African Continent, the Implications for Civil Rights as result of Sept. 11,  and the Issue of HIV and AIDS.

Although Parliament was not is session due to prorogation there were a number of opportunities to meet MPs and Senators including the Speaker of the House Peter Milliken who hosted a reception for the visitors. Speaker Dan Hays of the Senate also met with them.  There was an address by Hugh Segal, President of the Institute for Research on Public Policy who spoke on Failing Legitimacy:  the Challenge for Parliamentarians.

The 21st Conference of Canadian Presiding Officers

Speakers and other presiding officers from every provincial and territorial legislature except Nunavut gathered in Ottawa for their annual conference which was held from January 7-9, 2004, in the Senate Chamber.

The co-hosts, Senate Speaker Dan Hays and Peter Milliken, Speaker of the House of Commons welcomed several new Speakers: Michel Bissonnet (Quebec), Alvin Curling (Ontario), Harvey Hodder (Newfoundland and Labrador), Greg Deighan (Prince Edward Island), Ted Staffen (Yukon), and David Krutko (Northwest Territories)

The following five working sessions were held.

  • Roundtable on the Neutrality of the Speaker in his/her role as a Member chaired by Speaker Hays with presentations by Speaker Milliken, Speaker Bissonnet and Speaker George Hickes (Manitoba).
  • Briefing of New Speakers and other Chair Occupants chaired by Speaker Myron Kowalsky (Saskatchewan) with a presentation by William Corbett, Clerk of the House of Commons.
  • Oral Question Period Revisited — Public Written Questions chaired by Speaker Murray Scott (Nova Scotia) with a presentation by Robert Vaive, Deputy Clerk of the British Columbia Legislative Assembly.
  • The Casting Vote chaired by Speaker Bev Harrison (New Brunswick) with a presentation by Patrick Michael, Clerk of the Yukon Legislative Assembly.
  • Judicial Protection Regime of the Members of the Quebec National Assembly chaired by Speaker Staffen with a presentation by François Côté, Secretary General of the Quebec National Assembly.

In addition to the Presiding Officers Conference a short meeting was held of the Canadian Region Council of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association to finalize arrangements for the CPA conference to be held in Canada later this year.

The Canadian Presiding Officers Conference was timed to coincide with the 17th Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers Conference which took place from January 9-12, 2004.  Following adjournment of the Canadian Conference all the Presiding Officers were transported to Montebello for the start of the Commonwealth meeting.

Next year the Canadian Presiding Officers Conference will be held in Nova Scotia.

17th Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers Conference

More than 100 Presiding Officers and parliamentary officials from thirty-four Commonwealth countries joined Canadian federal, provincial and territorial speakers for two days of discussions at the Chateau Montebello. The countries represented included Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Botswana, Cameroon, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Fiji, The Gambia, Ghana, Guernsey, India, Isle of Man, Jamaica, Jersey, Keyna,  Lesotho, Malawi, Malta, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, United Kingdom and Zambia.

The keynote address was given by the Chief Justice of Canada, Beverley McLachlin.

There were four items of business on the agenda with Plenary and workshop sessions devoted to each.  The topics and lead presenters were as follows:

  • Parliamentary Committees:  Making the Committee system more effective  (India)
  • Time Management in the House:  New approaches to an old Problem (United Kingdom)
  • The Public Image of Parliamentary Government (Australia)
  • The Role of Parliament in Promoting cohesion of the country (Singapore)

In addition to the business sessions a number of optional activities such as curling, snowshoeing and dog sledding were available to delegates who wanted to sample the way Canadians manage to amuse themselves during the long winters.

New Speaker in the NWT

The new Speaker of the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly is David Krutko. He was chosen by acclamation on December 11, 2003.

First elected in 1995 and re-elected in 1999  Mr. Krutko has served as chairman and member of a number of Standing and Special Committees. During the 14th Assembly, Mr. Krutko held the position of Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committee of the Whole. He also served as Deputy Chair of the Rules of Committee.

Mr. Krutko has worked as a negotiator on the Dene Metis Land Claim Agreement and was a senior negotiator on the Gwich’in and the Sahtu Agreements. Mr. Krutko has served as the Vice-President of the Metis Nation of the Northwest Territories, Vice-President of the Mackenzie Delta Tribal Council (now the Gwich’in Tribal Council), President of the Fort McPherson Metis Local, President of the Fort McPherson Hunters and Trappers Association, Councillor for the Fort McPherson Indian Band (now the Tetlit Gwich’in Council), Councillor for the Hamlet of Fort McPherson, Director of the Mackenzie Delta-Beaufort Sea Regional Planning Commission, member of the Gwich’in Land and Water Board, member of the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board, Director of the Metis Development Corporation and co-chairman of the Northwest Territories Tourism Training Group. Mr. Krutko also worked in the oil and gas industry in the Beaufort Sea and in Norman Wells in the 70s and 80s.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 1
2004






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Troisième Colloque parlementaire canadien

Des délégués de sept des huit régions de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth se sont réunis à Ottawa du 23 au 29 novembre 2003 lors du troisième Colloque parlementaire canadien. Le Colloque avait pour hôte la présidente de la section canadienne, la députée fédérale Sarmite Bulte. Y étaient délégués les représentants des sept régions de l’APC dont les noms suivent.

Région de l’Afrique : l’hon. Fluksman Samuehl, député de Namibie, l’hon. M.M.A. Nyama, vice-président, et l’hon. Justice Piitso, député à l’Assemblée législative de la section de Limpopo (anciennement la province du Nord de l’Afrique du Sud).

Région de l’Inde : Shri Simranjit Singh Mann et (Smt.) V. Saroja, député de la section fédérale, et le président Shri Satbir Singh Kadian, de la section de l’État de Hariana.

Région de l’Australie : Joanne Duncan, députée, John Vogels, M.C.L. de la section de Victoria, Jaye Radisich, députée à l’Assemblée législative, et l’hon. Barry House, M.C.L. de la section de l’Australie-Occidentale.

Région des Îles britanniques et de la Méditerranée : Nanette Milne et Alasdair Morrison, députés au Parlement écossais, et Jeff Cuthbert, député à l’Assemblée du pays de Galles.

Région des Caraïbes, des Amériques et de l’Atlantique : Neil McGill, de la Jamaïque ainsi que la sénatrice Dana Seetahal et le député Kelvin Ramnath de Trinité-et-Tobago.

Région du Canada : Doug Martindale et Leanne Rowat, députés à l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, et Richard Brown et Fred McCardle, députés à l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Était également présente comme représentante du Secrétariat de l’APC à Londres, Mme Christina Ngwira.

Le colloque d’une semaine a comporté des sessions sur les thèmes suivants :

  • Le Commonwealth et le rôle de l’APC, Bob Speller, député
  • Le rôle et le fonctionnement du Parlement canadien, Audrey O’Brien, sous-greffier de la Chambre des communes
  • La scène politique canadienne, Bev Desjarlais, députée fédérale, John Reynolds, député fédéral et Suzanne Tremblay, députée
  • Le recrutement politique et la femme dans le processus politique, Eleni Bakopanos, députée et John Reynolds, député
  • Le rôle des caucus des partis, Werner Schmidt, député et C.E.S. Franks (Université Queen’s)
  • Favoriser la participation des citoyens : ressources et outils, Sue Barnes, députée, Carolyn Bennett, députée
  • Créer des liens avec les commettants représentant des circonscriptions pluralistes, Madeleine Dalphond- Guiral, députée et John McKay, député,
  • Le fonctionnement du bureau du député, Dale Johnston, député et Paddy Torsney, députée
  • Traiter avec les médias, John Harvard, député, Susan Murray, (CBC News)
  • Le Parlement et la société civile, Raynell Andreychuk, sénatrice et Sean Moore, (conseiller en politique publique, Gowling, Lafleur, Henderson)
  • Le Parlement et les comités, Charles Caccia, député et John Williams, député
  • Le Parlement et les lobbyistes, Marlene Jennings, députée et John Chenier, (éditeur, The Lobby Monitor)

La dernière session a été consacrée aux sujets suivants, suggérés par les délégués : Le bilinguisme, Équilibrer les intérêts concurrents au sein de son électorat, L’encadrement des nouveaux députés, La discipline du caucus, Le rôle du Commonwealth dans le développement du continent africain, Les implications des attentats du 11 septembre 2001 sur les droits de la personne, et la question du VIH et du sida. Le Parlement n’était pas en session en raison de la prorogation, mais les délégués ont eu un certain nombre d’occasions de rencontrer des députés et des sénateurs, dont le président de la Chambre des communes, Peter Milliken, qui a donné une réception en l’honneur des visiteurs. Le président du Sénat, Dan Hays, les a aussi rencontrés. Hugh Segal, président de l’Institut de recherche en politiques publiques, a prononcé une allocution sur le thème « La remise en question de leur légitimité : un défi pour les parlementaires ».

La 21e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada

Les présidents et autres présidents d’assemblée des législatures de toutes les provinces et des territoires, à l’exception du Nunavut, se sont réunis à Ottawa à l’occasion de leur conférence annuelle, qui a eu lieu du 7 au 9 janvier 2004 dans la salle du Sénat.

Les hôtes conjoints, Dan Hays et Peter Milliken, respectivement président du Sénat et président de la Chambre des communes, ont accueilli plusieurs nouveaux présidents, à savoir Michel Bissonnet (Québec), Alvin Curling (Ontario), Harvey Hodder (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), Greg Deighan (Île-du-Prince- Édouard), Ted Staffen (Yukon) et David Krutko (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Des séances de travail ont eu lieu sur les cinq thèmes suivants :

  • Table ronde sur la neutralité du président d’assemblée dans son rôle de député, par le président Hays avec des exposés des présidents Milliken, Michel Bissonnet et George Hickes (Manitoba).
  • Séance d’information à l’intention des nouveaux présidents et autres présidents d’assemblée, présidée par le président Myron Kowalsky (Saskatchewan), avec un exposé de William Corbett, greffier de la Chambre des communes.
  • Le point sur la période des questions — Les questions écrites du public, par le président Murray Scott (Nouvelle-Écosse), avec un exposé de Robert Vaive, sous-greffier de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique.
  • La voix prépondérante, présidée par le président Bev Harrison (Nouveau-Brunswick) avec un exposé de Patrick Michael, greffier de l’Assemblée législative du Yukon.
  • Le régime de protection judiciaire des députés à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, présidée par le président Staffen (Yukon), avec un exposé de François Côté, secrétaire général de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec.

En plus de la Conférence des présidents d’assemblée, le Conseil de la Région du Canada de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth a tenu une brève réunion pour mettre la dernière main aux préparatifs de la conférence de l’APC, qui aura lieu cette année au Canada.

La Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada avait été organisée de manière à coïncider avec la 17e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Commonwealth, qui s’est déroulée du 9 au 12 janvier. Après l’ajournement de la Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Canada, tous les présidents d’assemblée ont été amenés à Montebello pour le début de la Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Commonwealth.

L’année prochaine, la Conférence des présidents d’assemblée aura lieu en Nouvelle-Écosse.

17e Conférence des présidents d’assemblée du Commonwealth

Plus de 100 présidents d’assemblée et dirigeants parlementaires de 34 pays du Commonwealth se sont joints aux présidents d’assemblée fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada pour deux jours de discussions au Château Montebello. Y étaient représentés l’Afrique du Sud, l’Australie, les Bahamas, le Bangladesh, la Barbade, le Botswana, le Cameroun, les Îles Cook, Chypre, les Fidji, la Gambie, le Ghana, l’île Guernesey, l’Inde, l’Île de Man, la Jamaïque, Jersey, le Kenya, le Lesotho, le Malawi, Malte, la Namibie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Nigéria, l’Ouganda, le Royaume-Uni, la Sierra Leone, Singapour, le Sri Lanka, le Swaziland, la Tanzanie, les Tonga, Trinité-et-Tobago et la Zambie.

La juge en chef du Canada, Beverley McLachlin, a prononcé le discours-programme.

Il y avait quatre points à l’ordre du jour, et chacun a fait l’objet d’une plénière et d’ateliers. Les voici, suivis de leurs principaux présentateurs :

  • Les comités parlementaires : Rendre le système des comités plus efficace (Inde)
  • La gestion du temps à la Chambre : Des solutions nouvelles à un vieux problème (Royaume-Uni)
  • La perception du gouvernement parlementaire par le public (Australie)
  • Le rôle du Parlement dans la promotion de la cohésion d’un pays (Singapour)

En plus des séances administratives, le programme prévoyait un certain nombre d’activités libres. En effet, les délégués désireux de faire l’expérience de certaines façons dont les Canadiens arrivent à traverser leurs longs hivers ont pu jouer au curling et faire des randonnées en raquettes ou en traîneau à chiens.

Nouveau Président des TNO

Le nouveau Président de l'Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est M. David Krutko. Il a été choisi par acclamation le 11 décembre 2003.

Élu pour la première fois en 1995 et réélu en 1999, M. Krutko a été président et membre de plusieurs comités permanents et spéciaux. Durant la 14e législature, M. Krutko a occupé la fonction de vice-président et de président du Comité plénier. Il a aussi été vice-président du Comité des règles.

M. Krutko a été négociateur dans la Revendication territoriale des Dénés et des Métis et négociateur principal dans les accord des Gwich'in et du Sahtu. Il a été vice-président de la Nation métis des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, vice-président du Conseil tribal du delta du Mackenzie (maintenant le Conseil tribal des Gwich'in), président de l'Association local des Métis de Fort McPherson, président de l'Association des chasseurs et trappeurs de Fort McPherson, conseiller de la bande indienne de Fort McPherson (maintenant le Tetlit Gwich'in Council), conseiller du hameau de Fort McPherson, directeur de la Commission de planification pour la région du delta du MacKenzie et de la mer de Beaufort, membre de l'Office des terres et des eaux des Gwich'in, membre de l'Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie, directeur de la Société métisse de développement et co-président du Groupe de formation du tourisme des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. M. Krutko a aussi travaillé dans l'industrie du pétrole et du gaz naturel, dans la mer de Beaufort et à Norman Wells dans les années 70 et 80.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 27 no 1
2004






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03