Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Letters
Charles Robert

Sir:

It is satisfying to learn that articles written for this publication can prompt a response from a former colleague whose interest in Parliament has continued even after years away from the Hill.  In the summer 2003 issue of the Canadian Parliamentary Review Mr. Richard Jones took exception to my rejoinder (published in the Autumn 2002 issue) to an article on the Speakers Baton by Bruce Hicks in the Winter 2001 issue.

Apparently in disagreeing with Mr. Hicks, I have also managed to disappoint Mr. Jones. This is unfortunate, but it could not be helped. The fundamental purpose of my article was to contest the arguments put forward by Mr. Hicks who defended the introduction of the Speaker’s baton within the context of British parliamentary tradition as he understands it. I did not set the framework of the debate; Mr. Hicks did. In my assessment, his arguments are weak and unconvincing and my letter sought to explain why.

Mr. Jones is mildly chagrined that I did not seize the opportunity to appreciate the “imagery” and “symbolism” that is behind the creation of the baton. As he puts it, Jeanne Sauvé, the first woman Speaker of the House of Commons, who subsequently became the first Governor General of her gender, establishes an in-Canada heraldic authority which, in turn, devised a baton as a symbol of the Speaker’s office to be used in the coat of arms of John Fraser, the first man elected to hold that position by secret ballot. Upon leaving the Speakership, Mr. Fraser presented a real baton to be used by his successors. Whatever the merits of this sequence of events, its supposed “symbolism” is beside the point. More important by far is the baton itself as a symbol for the office of Speaker. Here, Mr. Hicks had it right. My objection, however, is to the invention of something that is inappropriate to the nature of the office of Speaker whatever the source, British or Canadian.

Would Mr. Jones be just as comfortable with a sword or a hockey stick instead of a baton? Probably not. A symbol to be effective has to have some meaningful relationship or association to the position or person it identifies. That is why I do not believe that a baton is the best choice as a symbol. It has no significance to the role or office of Speaker. The mace, on the other hand, does relate to Parliament and to the Speaker as I maintained in my letter. I have two examples to prove the point, one of which involves Madame Sauvé.

When Roland Michener became the third Canadian-born Governor General, he was, in accordance with established practice, granted a personal coat of arms. In recognition of the fact that he had been a Speaker of the House of Commons during the Diefenbaker era, his crest included a lion in profile holding, not a baton, but a mace in both paws. Madame Sauvé also had a coat of arms. In fact, there were two versions designed for her. The first, as the one for Roland Michener, was designed by the College of Heralds in London. The second, however, was prepared by the Canadian Heraldic Authority.  In both, there is the traditional mace in the shield, rather than the crest, signifying the fact that she too had been a Speaker of the House of Commons during her public career.

It is a pity that the examples of Roland Michener and Jeanne Sauvé were not followed when the Canadian Heraldic Authority set about designing a coat of arms for John Fraser. The departure from two Canadian precedents that should have been relevant guides was unnecessary and unwarranted. That an actual baton was subsequently made by Mr. Fraser, though purportedly a gift of the Queen as Mr. Hicks insists, was a misplaced gesture at best.  That its possible use could rival the significance of the mace, however, renders the baton absurd.

Charles Robert is Principal Clerk, Procedure, the Senate.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 26 no 3
2003






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Courrier des lecteurs
Charles Robert

Monsieur,

Il est gratifiant d'apprendre que des articles rédigés pour cette publication peuvent susciter une réponse d'un ancien collègue dont l'intérêt pour le Parlement se maintient malgré ses années d'éloignement de la Colline. Dans le numéro de l'été 2003 de la Revue parlementaire canadienne, M. Richard Jones s'est offusqué de ma réplique (publiée dans la livraison de l'automne 2002) à un article sur le bâton du président qu'avait fait paraître Bruce Hicks dans la publication de l'hiver 2001.

Il semble que, ne partageant pas l'opinion de M. Hicks, j'aie également réussi à décevoir M. Jones. C'est malheureux, mais il ne pouvait en être autrement. Mon article avait pour objet fondamental de contester les arguments de M. Hicks, qui défendait l'introduction du bâton du président d'après ce qu'il comprend de la tradition parlementaire britannique. Ce n'est pas moi qui ai fixé les paramètres du débat, mais bien M. Hicks. À mon avis, ses arguments ne sont pas convaincants et c'est ce que mon article essaie de prouver.

M. Jones se désole un peu que je n'aie pas saisi l'occasion d'apprécier l'imagerie et le symbolisme qui sous-tendent la création du bâton. À ce qu'il dit, Jeanne Sauvé, la première présidente de la Chambre des communes, par la suite devenue la première gouverneure générale, a établi une autorité héraldique toute canadienne, laquelle a alors conçu un bâton comme symbole de la charge de président à utiliser dans les armoiries de John Fraser, le premier à avoir été élu à ce poste par vote secret. En quittant la présidence, M. Fraser a fait don d'un vrai bâton à l'intention de ses successeurs. Quels que soient les mérites de cette suite d'événements, son prétendu « symbolisme » n'a guère de pertinence. Ce qui est plus important, et de loin, c'est le bâton lui-même en tant que symbole de la charge de président, et M. Hicks l'a bien vu. Je conteste toutefois l'invention d'une chose qui ne convient pas à la nature de la fonction de président quelle que soit la source – britannique ou canadienne.

M. Jones accepterait-il aussi facilement une épée ou un bâton de hockey? Probablement pas. Pour être efficace, un symbole doit avoir un lien ou un rapport significatif avec le poste ou la personne qu'il identifie, et c'est pourquoi je ne crois pas que le bâton soit le meilleur choix. Il n'a aucune pertinence par rapport au rôle ou à la charge du président. La masse, par contre, a un rapport avec le Parlement et avec la présidence, comme je l'ai fait valoir dans mon article. Et j'ai deux exemples qui le prouvent, dont l'un a trait à Mme Sauvé.

Lorsque Roland Michener est devenu le troisième gouverneur général né au Canada, il a obtenu, selon la pratique établie, ses armoiries personnelles. Du fait qu'il avait été président de la Chambre des communes à l'époque Diefenbaker, son cimier comprenait un lion de profil tenant, non pas un bâton, mais une masse entre les deux pattes. Mme Sauvé a elle aussi eu des armoiries. En fait, deux versions ont été conçues pour elle. La première, comme pour Roland Michener, a été dessinée par le College of Heralds à Londres, mais la seconde est attribuable à l'Autorité héraldique du Canada. Dans les deux cas, on retrouve la masse traditionnelle sur l'écu, plutôt que dans le cimier, soulignant le fait qu'elle aussi avait été présidente de la Chambre des communes durant sa carrière publique.

Il est malheureux que l'exemple de Roland Michener et de Jeanne Sauvé n'ait pas été suivi lorsque l'Autorité héraldique du Canada a décidé de concevoir les armoiries de John Fraser. Cette déviation par rapport à deux précédents canadiens qui auraient dû servir de guides était inutile et injustifiée. Qu'un vrai bâton ait été confectionné sur l'ordre de M. Fraser, bien que M. Hicks insiste pour dire qu'il s'agit d'un cadeau de la Reine, était à tout le moins un geste malvenu. Mais que son utilisation possible puisse rivaliser en importance avec la masse rend tout simplement le bâton absurde.

Charles Robert


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 26 no 3
2003






Dernière mise à jour : 2020-03-03