Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
The NWT's Clan McLeod: There Can Be More Than One
Gerry Burla

With more than 25 years of Parliamentary service combined, the Northwest Territories’ McLeod brothers have dedicated a significant part of their lives to the people of the territory. The brothers were born and raised in the small, rural community of Fort Providence, and both self-identify as being of Métis heritage. Growing up in Fort Providence gave the McLeods a sense of community that stayed with them as they matured.

Both brothers have had the privilege of serving on the NWT Executive Council in various portfolios, and their territorial legislative service overlapped during the 16th Legislative Assembly (2007-2011) when both served on the Managing This Land Committee. Robert R. (Bob) McLeod has represented the people of Yellowknife South since 2007, and is the current Premier having been elected through the Territorial Leadership Committee process twice during the 17th and 18th Assemblies. Younger brother, Michael McLeod, was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of the NWT in 1999 representing the Constituency of Deh Cho until 2011. He was then elected as a federal Member of Parliament representing the Northwest Territories in 2015.

Bob and Michael McLeod have been active Parliamentarians during their careers and dedicated community members their whole lives. Whether they are sitting in the Legislative Assembly, or on local Boards in the community, Bob and Michael McLeod continue to serve the people of the Northwest Territories.

Gerry Burla

Legislative Librarian, Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Last Updated: 2019-10-21

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Le clan McLeod des Territoires du Nord-Ouest : Deux McLeod plutôt qu'un
Gerry Burla

Les freres McLeod des Territoires du Nord-Ouest cumulent a eux deux 25 ans de service parlementaire consacrés au bien des gens du territoire. Ils sont nés et ont grandi dans la petite localité rurale de Fort Providence, et ils s’identifient comme Métis. Ils y ont passé toute leur jeunesse, si bien qu’ils portent en eux depuis toujours un sentiment d’appartenance.

Les deux freres ont eu le privilege d’etre responsables de divers portefeuilles au sein du Conseil exécutif; ils ont d’ailleurs siégé en meme temps au Comité de l’administration des terres a la 16e législature (2007-2011). Robert R. (Bob) McLeod (a gauche), qui représente les habitants de la circonscription de Yellowknife Sud depuis 2007, a été élu a deux reprises premier ministre selon la procédure prévue par le Comité territorial chargé des postes de leadership aux 17e et 18e législatures. Michael McLeod (a droit), son frere cadet, a été élu une premiere fois a l’Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 1999 pour représenter la circonscription de Deh Cho, ce qu’il a fait jusqu’en 2011. Il a ensuite été élu député au Parlement du Canada dans la circonscription des Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 2015.

Parlementaires actifs tout au long de leur carriere, Bob et Michael McLeod ont consacré leur vie aux membres de leur communauté. Qu’ils siegent a l’Assemblée législative ou a des conseils d’administration locaux, ils continuent a servir les Ténois.

Gerry Burla

Bibliothécaire de l’Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 2
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-10-21