Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Bookshelf: ReviewsParliamentary Bookshelf: Reviews
Tom Hooper

Adam M. Dodek, The Charter Debates: The Special Joint Committee on the Constitution, 1980-81, and the Making of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

In The Charter Debates, Adam M. Dodek has resurrected the forgotten history of the debates over the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. This book examines the activities of the Special Joint Committee of the Senate and House of Commons on the Constitution, 1980-81 (Joint Committee), which studied the proposed Charter for three months from November 1980 to February 1981. The Joint Committee held 106 meetings over 56 sitting days and spent 276.5 hours hearing from experts and witnesses representing various groups. According to Dodek, this was “the first time that ordinary Canadians became participants in constitutional change rather than mere observers or silent subjects of it.” (4) This in turn legitimized the process and set a precedent for future constitutional questions. Dodek’s main argument is that the deliberations of the Joint Committee matter. They matter not only to constitutional history, but they should also be considered by courts as legitimate sources of Charter interpretation.

Dodek argues that in the years following the adoption of the Charter, decisions by the Supreme Court of Canada dismissed this important part of Charter history. In the case of the BC Motor Vehicle Reference (1985), the Supreme Court severely limited the use of the minutes from the Joint Committee. In this case, the court decided that accepting the statements made in committee deliberations would in effect “freeze” the rights contained in Charter at the moment they were adopted. This “originalism” contrasted with the “living tree doctrine of constitutional interpretation,” which allows for the rights in the Charter to grow and adapt over time. Dodek views this as a “false dichotomy” (11). The author is not suggesting an originalist view of the Charter. Rather, he argues the debates of the Joint Committee should inform the court in a similar manner as do philosophers, social scientists, or foreign case law.

The Charter Debates is organized in two parts. In part one, Dodek contextualizes the broader history of the Charter deliberations. Chapter one explores the history leading to the creation of the Joint Committee, including the 1968 policy paper, A Canadian Charter of Human Rights, the extensive consultative work of the Molgat-MacGuigan Committee, and the ill-fated but prescient Victoria Charter. The 1978 white paper, A Time for Action, was later turned into a failed government bill. Among the proposals was to turn the Senate into a new House of the Federation. Although he had given up in 1979, Pierre Trudeau renewed his efforts at constitutional reform upon his return to government and the failure of sovereignty-association in the 1980 Quebec referendum.

Chapter two examines the cast of characters found at the Joint Committee. This includes the “contrasting mavericks” in the two co-chairs, Senator Harry Hays and then MP (now Senator) Serge Joyal. The Joint Committee had 25 members altogether. This included government Liberals who were likely picked in consultation with the Prime Minister’s Office, and the opposition Progressive Conservatives who opposed unilateral patriation while supporting measures aimed to strengthen some of the Charter provisions. Represented in part by rookie MP Svend Robinson, the NDP sought to expand the scope of the Charter’s protections. The Joint Committee heard from various government witnesses, including Minister of Justice Jean Chrétien and other senior members from the Department of Justice. They also heard from a variety of groups representing different parts of Canadian society, including women’s organizations, civil liberties groups, and Indigenous communities. Chapters 3 and 4 outline the narrative of the Joint Committee’s work, both during their deliberations and afterward.

In part 2, Dodek’s analysis gives way to a careful selection of transcripts taken directly from the minutes of the Joint Committee. Chapters 5 through 15 are divided into the particular sections of the Charter that aroused the greatest discussion, including legal rights, equality rights, and language rights, among others. Each chapter includes a brief contextual introduction and the precise text of the Charter, both before and after the Joint Committee’s deliberations. In highlighting the discussions between parliamentarians and the witnesses who appeared before the Joint Committee, Dodek provides insight into the role of experts and groups influencing the language of the Charter. At the same time, he notes that many groups were excluded from the process. There were also clear instances where the influence of witness testimony was limited. For example, gay activists Peter Maloney and George Hislop appeared before the Joint Committee to argue for the inclusion of sexual orientation in the equality rights section. Maloney argued that the protection with respect to “sex” was not sufficient to protect lesbians and gay men. Robinson later raised this question to Chrétien, who replied “that will be for the court to decide.” (268).

This book is an excellent resource for anyone interested in the history of the Charter. I also recommend Charter Debates for anyone wishing to gain insight in the deliberative process of parliament. Academics, legal researchers, teachers, and students will find this book insightful. Dodek’s argument is clear and written in language accessible to broad audiences. The legal concepts he explores will provoke insightful discussions among students in various programs in the social sciences and humanities. The use of primary source material makes this a treasure for historians wishing to explore the Charter in their classrooms.

Tom Hooper

PhD (History), Contract Faculty at York University


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 1
2019






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Tom Hooper

Adam M. Dodek, The Charter Debates: The Special Joint Committee on the Constitution, 1980-81, and the Making of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Dans The Charter Debates, Adam M. Dodek ressuscite l’histoire oubliée des débats s`ur la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Il y analyse les travaux du Comité mixte spécial du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes sur la Constitution du Canada (le Comité mixte), qui a étudié durant trois mois, de novembre 1980 à février 1981, le projet de Charte. Le Comité mixte a tenu 106 réunions en 56 jours de séance et consacré 276,5 heures à entendre des spécialistes et des témoins représentant divers groupes. Selon M. Dodek, c’était la « première fois que des Canadiens ordinaires participaient à l’évolution constitutionnelle plutôt que d’être de simples observateurs ou des sujets silencieux (p. 4). Cette situation a alors justifié le processus et établi un précédent pour les futures questions constitutionnelles. Le principal argument de M. Dodek tient au fait que les délibérations du Comité mixte revêtent une importance, non seulement pour l’histoire constitutionnelle, mais également pour les tribunaux, qui devraient les considérer comme des sources légitimes pour l’interprétation de la Charte.

M. Dodek fait valoir que, dans les années suivant l’adoption de la Charte, la Cour suprême du Canada a fait fi de ce pan important de l’histoire de la Charte dans certains de ses arrêts. Dans le Renvoi sur la Motor Vehicle Act (C.B.) (1985), la Cour suprême a grandement limité le recours aux procèsverbaux du Comité mixte. Dans cette affaire, elle a décidé que de considérer comme recevables les déclarations faites dans le cadre des délibérations du Comité « figerait » les droits exprimés dans la Charte à l’époque de son adoption. Une telle théorie de la préservation du document d’origine contrastait avec la « métaphore de l’arbre vivant » de l’interprétation de la Constitution, selon laquelle les droits inscrits dans la Charte évoluent au fil du temps. Or, M. Dodek y voit là une « fausse dichotomie » (p. 11). L’auteur ne dit pas qu’il faut regarder la Charte de façon à favoriser le document originel, mais croit plutôt que les débats du Comité mixte devraient servir à éclairer la Cour de la même manière que le font les philosophes et les sociologues et la jurisprudence étrangère.

The Charter Debates est divisé en deux parties. Dans la première partie, M. Dodek explique le contexte historique plus large dans lequel s’inscrivent les délibérations de la Charte. Le premier chapitre explore les événements ayant mené à la création du Comité mixte, notamment le document d’orientation Une Charte canadienne des droits de l’homme, datant de 1968, le vaste travail de consultation du Comité Molgat-MacGuigan ainsi que la Charte de Victoria, vouée à l’échec, mais prémonitoire. Le Livre blanc de 1978, Le temps d’agir, devenu plus tard un projet de loi avorté du gouvernement, proposait notamment de transformer le Sénat en une nouvelle Chambre de la Fédération. Bien qu’il ait renoncé à ce projet en 1979, Pierre Trudeau a renouvelé ses efforts pour réformer la Constitution à son retour au pouvoir et après l’échec de la souveraineté-association lors du référendum québécois de 1980.

Le deuxième chapitre porte sur les personnalités qui ont siégé au Comité mixte, dont les coprésidents, le sénateur Harry Hays et le député (aujourd’hui sénateur) Serge Joyal, deux anticonformistes complètement à l’opposé l’un de l’autre. Le Comité mixte comptait 25 membres au total, des députés du Parti libéral, alors au pouvoir, probablement choisis de concert avec le Cabinet du premier ministre, et des députés du Parti progressiste-conservateur, formant l’opposition, qui s’opposaient au rapatriement unilatéral de la Constitution tout en appuyant les mesures visant à renforcer certaines dispositions de la Charte. Incarné en partie par le nouveau député Svend Robinson, le Nouveau Parti démocratique cherchait à étendre la portée des protections de la Charte. Le Comité mixte a entendu plusieurs témoins du gouvernement, notamment le ministre de la Justice Jean Chrétien et d’autres hauts fonctionnaires du ministère de la Justice. Il a également entendu plusieurs groupes représentant divers segments de la société canadienne, dont des organisations de femmes, des groupes de défense des libertés civiles et des communautés autochtones. Les troisième et quatrième chapitres présentent le contexte historique dans lequel s’inscrivent les travaux du Comité mixte, pendant et après ses délibérations.

Dans la seconde partie, l’analyse de M. Dodek fait place à des témoignages triés sur le volet, tirés directement des procèsverbaux du Comité mixte. Les chapitres 5 à 15 portent chacun sur une section de la Charte ayant suscité moult débats, notamment les garanties juridiques, les droits à l’égalité et les droits linguistiques. Chaque chapitre comprend une brève présentation contextuelle et le texte de la section en question de la Charte, avant et après les délibérations du Comité. En mettant en lumière les discussions entre les parlementaires et les témoins ayant comparu devant le Comité mixte, M. Dodek nous permet de mieux comprendre le rôle des spécialistes et des groupes ayant orienté le libellé de la Charte. Parallèlement, il fait observer que de nombreux groupes ont été exclus du processus. Dans certains cas, les témoins n’ont de toute évidence eu que très peu d’influence. Par exemple, les militants homosexuels Peter Maloney et George Hislop ont témoigné devant le Comité mixte en faveur de l’inclusion de l’orientation sexuelle dans la section des droits à l’égalité. M. Maloney a fait valoir que la protection concernant le « sexe » n’était pas suffisante pour protéger les homosexuels et les lesbiennes. M. Robinson a plus tard porté cette question à l’attention de Jean Chrétien, qui a répondu que « ce sera aux tribunaux de trancher » (p. 268).

Ce livre est une excellente ressource pour quiconque s’intéresse à l’histoire de la Charte. Je le recommande également à quiconque souhaite mieux comprendre le processus de délibération du Parlement. Universitaires, juristes, enseignants et étudiants trouveront cet ouvrage fort instructif. L’argumentaire de M. Dodek est clair et rédigé dans une langue accessible au grand public. Les notions juridiques qu’il explore susciteront des discussions intéressantes parmi les étudiants en sciences sociales et humaines. Enfin, pour les historiens désireux de présenter la Charte dans leur cours, les documents originaux sont un véritable trésor.

Tom Hooper

Doctorat (histoire), Faculté de contrat à l’Université York


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 1
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15