Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Looking Back on 200 Years at Province House
David McDonald

More than 200 years ago work began on a building that would become a central part of Nova Scotia’s political and administrative future. Province House was not only a functional place where parliamentary debate could take place and government business could get done, but also a work of art. In this article, the author tells the story of its construction and how the province is celebrating its bicentennial.

The year is 1818. Halifax is bustling with a major construction project on the site of the Governor’s original residence. Two men, John Merrick and Richard Scott, watch proudly as Thomas Laidlaw lays the last stone on the building, which they have spent the last eight years trying to complete. This capstone on top of the west pediment is being laid not long after sculptor and carver David Kinnear mounted the arms of George III on the pediment of the east side of the building at the end of March 1818. Merrick and Scott know the amount of work that was put into this magnificent building and they are fully aware of all of the barriers that were overcome to get the project started and to complete it. They know that approval to erect a legislative building was first received in 1787, but Governor Prevost’s demand in his 1811 throne speech to build a Province House set their work in motion. They have reason to be proud because their joint project – A Province House – for the citizens of Nova Scotia has just been completed.

John Merrick, a native Nova Scotian and a master painter and glazier, submitted a design in the Palladian style1 to the joint legislative committee, struck in 1809, to procure plans for the erection of a Province House. His design for a building 140 feet in length, 70 feet in breadth, and 42 feet in height was chosen over Richard Scott’s. Prior to working on Province House, he decorated the interior of Government House and the old Legislative Council Chamber. He also worked on the design for St. Matthew’s Church and St. George’s Church.

Richard Scott was born in Scotland and immigrated to Nova Scotia in 1809. A master mason who supervised the construction of the Halifax County Courthouse, he was appointed by the committee to build Province House according to Merrick’s plan. Scott also owned the sandstone quarry in Remsheg (present day Wallace) which was the source for all of the sandstone used in Province House.

Imagine Scott and Merricks’ excitement as they watched from the crowd as Lieutenant Prevost lay the cornerstone on August 12, 1811 as a part of the masonic ceremony. What were their thoughts when the masons surrounded the excavated site and the Lieutenant deposited a box of coins from the era and a manuscript listing the officers of the day – the commissioners, including Merrick, and the architect, Scott – in a cavity of the cornerstone? What would they have felt when the stone was plumbed, levelled, and squared? When the Lieutenant poured corn, wine, and oil over the stone? And when he stated, “May the building that shall arise from this foundation perpetuate the loyalty and the liberality of the Province of Nova Scotia”?

These two men couldn’t have known that in less than a year Nova Scotia would be at war; as a result, they would have difficulty securing labour for their project. They also couldn’t have known that labour disputes would delay the construction of their building and costs would therefore balloon to £52,000 instead of the budgeted £20,000.

During the course of the project, the commission and Scott advertised for skilled and unskilled workmen and numerous supplies, including 30,000 feet of spruce boards. As construction continued, the number of workers skyrocketed. In 1811 the original estimate called for seven Masons, three carpenters, an undisclosed amount of labourers, and for Scott to be on site. The estimated amount spent on labour was £31/week. In 1814, there were actually 50 masons, six carpenters, and an undisclosed amount of labourers plus Scott on site. The project was costing £139 to £160 per week in labour alone. By 1815, the original £20,000 was expended. Thankfully, each subsequent yearly budget included extra sums for finishing Province House.

What were Scott and Merrick feeling on October 4, 1817 when the roof of the building was raised and the Royal Standard was flown to celebrate the occasion? How proud they must have been when they read in the Halifax Journal a couple of days later,

We understand the sum voted by the Legislature, at its last Session … is nearly expended. We should be extremely sorry if the means are not provided to enable the Commissioners to proceed in the completion of the House …

The Building is particularly well calculated for all Public Purposes; will be a credit to the Province, and a very great ornament to the Town. – We sincerely hope no delay will take place in the finishing of it.

Fortunately, for Scott and Merrick, the money was granted to finish the building.

Two years later, Merrick and Scott’s building was complete, but the interior was not finished. It was, however, ready for the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council to meet there on February 11. We don’t know if Merrick and Scott were present on that opening day, but they would have read the newspaper account of Lord Dalhousie’s speech:

The circumstances of meeting you for the first time in this place, leads me to congratulate you on now occupying this splendid Building – erected for the reception of the Legislature, the Courts of Justice, and all the Public Offices. It stands, and will stand, I hope, to the

latest posterity, a proud record of the Public Spirit, at this period of our History: And as I do consider this Magnificent work equally honorable and useful to the Province, I recommend it to your continued protection.

To read these words must have provided a huge sense of pride to these gentlemen.

Unfortunately, it would take a little longer for all of the decorations in the interior to be installed. Thirty-one crates full of ornaments were shipped from Scotland in 1819 and installed by James Wilson, who was “a mason and plasterer of unusual skill … [and] designed much of the work about”2 the building. Fine details in woodwork to the original House of Assembly Room were completed in 1820 by James Ives, a very well-respected carpenter. Much of the stucco work in the Legislative Council Chamber was finished by Mr. Robinson from England.3

Merrick died in 1829. Unfortunately, he wouldn’t witness some of the greatest events to happen in his building. However, Scott, who died in 1867, would have known that in 1835 Joseph Howe defended a criminal libel charge in the court room which he built; he also would have been aware that the first responsible government in the British Colonies would be formed in his building in 1848; and he would have known that the Supreme Court that he built was transformed into the beautiful Legislative Library by Henry F. Busch in 1862.

Both men would be happy to know that Province House survived a fire in 1832 and narrowly escaped another one in 1841. It also survived the 1917 Halifax Explosion with only small amounts of damage to paintings, masonry, and windows. They would also be proud to know that four governors general of Canada were sworn in at Province House.

If they were alive today they would see that very little has changed on the exterior of the building. Since 1819, shutters have been replaced, the chimneys on the north side of the building have been removed, and the doors on the north and south side of the building have been filled in and replaced with wooden blocks and windows, which removed interior hallways and provided more office space. But not much else has changed. Andwhy should it? In 1832, a British travel writer declared Province House “the most splendid edifice in North America.”4

The interior has been modified to suit the changing needs of the times. What were their thoughts in 1824, when the Supreme Court ceiling was lowered to accommodate committee rooms? Would they be satisfied with the major renovations that took place between 1886 and 1889 to install a heating system to replace 38 fireplaces and stoves? Would they be shocked to know that during this construction, the current visitors’ gallery in the assembly chamber was built and the orientation of the assembly chamber changed from east-west to north-south? These changes meant the assembly chamber was no longer the same size as the council chamber. Perhaps Merrick might be a little upset that the building has lost its interior symmetry, which is a major characteristic of Palladian architecture, but hopefully this disappointment would be assuaged by the knowledge that these changes over time allowed the public to view the happenings of the House of Assembly and thus strengthened the democratic institution of the Nova Scotia Legislature.

Now, the year is 2019 and Province House is celebrating the 200th anniversary of its opening. A lot has happened in the last 200 years in Province House. I believe Merrick and Scott would be happy with our celebrations and knowing how thankful we are for their contributions to building a magnificent structure. Here’s hoping for another 200 years and more.

For more information on the history of Province House, please visit:

https://nslegislature.ca/about/history/province-house

Notes

  1. Palladian style takes its name from Venetian architect, Andrea Palladio (1508-1580). The style emphasizes symmetry and is based on Greek and Roman Temple design. Some key features in Province House are the fanlight over the door, the Venetian window in the library, all of the important rooms being on one main floor (piano nobile), a hierarchy of stories, and central doorways with triangular pediments.
  2. Piers, Harry. Biographical review: Nova Scotia. Boston: Biographical Review Publishing Co., 1900, p. 104.
  3. Morning Herald, July 4, 1881.
  4. McGregor, John. British America : vol II. Edinburgh: William Blackwood, 1832, p. 77.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 1
2019






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Retour sur 200 ans à Province House
David McDonald

Il y a plus de 200 ans ont commencé les travaux de construction de l’édifice qui allait devenir le cœur de l’avenir politique et administratif de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Province House ne se résume pas à un lieu fonctionnel où se tiennent les débats parlementaires et où les affaires du gouvernement sont menées à bien : il s’agit aussi d’une œuvre d’art. Dans cet article, l’auteur relate l’histoire de sa construction et la manière dont la province souligne son bicentenaire.

L’année est 1818. Halifax est une ville en ébullition du fait d’un projet de grande ampleur : la construction de la première résidence du gouverneur. Deux hommes, John Merrick et Richard Scott, observent avec fierté Thomas Laidlaw posant la dernière pierre à l’édifice qui leur aura pris huit ans à ériger . Cette ultime pierre, qui couronne le fronton ouest, est posée peu après que le sculpteur David Kinnear installe les armoiries de George III sur le fronton est de l’édifice à la fin de mars 1818. MM. Merrick et Scott savent la somme de travail nécessaire à cette magnifique œuvre et tous les obstacles qu’il aura fallu surmonter pour lancer le projet et le mener à bien. En effet, l’autorisation d’ériger un édifice législatif remontait à 1787, mais c’est à la demande du gouverneur Pr é vost dans son discours du Trône en 1811 que l’ouvrage est mis en branle. Ces messieurs ont de quoi être fiers, car leur projet de construction commun – la « Province House » des Néo-Écossais – vient de s’achever.

Le maître peintre et vernisseur John Merrick, originaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse, avait propos é des dessins dans le style palladien1 au comité l é gislatif mixte, chargé en 1809 de choisir les plans qui allaient servir à ériger Province House. Ce sont ses dessins, qui prévoyaient un édifice de 140 pieds de long, de 70 pieds de large et de 42 pieds de haut qui ont été préférés à ceux de Richard Scott. Il avait auparavant travaillé à l’aménagement de la Government House et de l’ancienne enceinte du Conseil législatif de même qu’à la conception des églises St. Matthew et St. George.

Richard Scott, né en Écosse, a immigré en Nouvelle-Écosse en 1809. C’est lui, maître maçon chargé de superviser la construction du palais de justice du comté d’Halifax, dont le comité a retenu les services pour construire Province House selon les dessins de Merrick. M. Scott possédait aussi une carrière de grès à Remsheg (Wallace de nos jours), d’o ù provient la pierre utilisée pour l’édifice.

Imaginez l’enthousiasme de MM. Scott et Merrick observant, dans la foule, le gouverneur Pr é vost déposer la pierre angulaire lors de la cérémonie maçonnique le 12 août 1811. À quoi pensaient-ils quand les maçons se sont regroupés autour de l’excavation et que le gouverneur a glissé un coffre rempli de monnaie d’époque et d’un manuscrit où figurait le nom des officiers de service – les commissaires, dont M. Merrick, et l’architecte Scott – dans une cavité de cette pierre? Qu’ont-ils ressenti quand la pierre a été mesurée, nivelée et équarrie? Quand le gouverneur a versé du maïs, du vin et de l’huile sur la pierre? Quand il a déclaré « Que l’édifice qui s’érige sur ces fondations perpétue la loyauté et le libéralisme de la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse » [TRADUCTION]?

Il aurait été impossible à ces deux hommes de deviner que la Nouvelle-Écosse connaîtrait la guerre moins d’un an plus tard; ils auraient eu autrement beaucoup de mal à embaucher la main-d’œuvre nécessaire à leur projet. Ils n’auraient pas non plus pu prédire que des conflits de travail retarderaient la construction de leur édifice et feraient exploser les coûts initialement fixés à 20 000 £ pour atteindre 52 000 £ .

Au cours du projet, la commission et M. Scott ont fait paraître des offres d’emploi pour des travailleurs qualifiés et des ouvriers ainsi que des annonces pour des matériaux, notamment 30 000 pieds de planches d’épinette. À mesure que les travaux avançaient, le nombre de travailleurs a gonflé . En 1811, les estimations de départ prévoyaient sept maçons, trois charpentiers, des ouvriers en nombre indéfini et la présence de M. Scott sur le chantier, et les dépenses en main-d’œuvre étaient évaluées à 31 £ par semaine . En 1814, on dénombrait toutefois 50 ma ç ons, six charpentiers, des ouvriers en nombre indéfini – en plus de M. Scott sur le chantier –, et la main-d’œuvre coûtait à elle seule entre 139 et 160 £ par semaine. Les 20 000 £ alloué es au départ s’étaient envolées dès 1815. Heureusement, le gouvernement a accordé tous les ans, dans son budget, des fonds supplémentaires pendant plusieurs années pour terminer Province House.

Quelle fut l’impression de MM. Scott et Merrick le 4 octobre 1817 quand le toit a été installé, l’étendard royal battant au vent pour l’occasion? Quelle fierté ont-ils éprouvé e lorsqu’ils ont lu quelques jours apr ès dans le Halifax Journal ce qui suit :

« Nous comprenons que la somme votée par l’Assemblée à la dernière session est pratiquement tout engag ée. Nous serions extrêmement désolés si les commissions ne disposaient pas des moyens nécessaires pour achever la construction de Province House. » [TRADUCTION]

« L’édifice s’avère particulièrement adapté aux fins publiques; il sera un atout pour la province et embellira formidablement la ville. Nous espérons sincèrement que rien ne retardera la fin du chantier. » [TRADUCTION]

Heureusement pour Scott et Merrick, les fonds nécessaires ont suivi.

Deux ans plus tard, l’édifice de MM. Merrick et Scott est enfin érigé. Malgré l’absence d’aménagement intérieur, il a été prêt à temps pour que l’Assemblée législative et le Conseil législatif s’y réunissent le 11 février. Il n’est pas dit si MM. Merrick et Scott étaient présents à l’ouverture, mais ils ont sans doute lu cet article de journal sur le discours de lord Dalhousie :

Les circonstances de notre première rencontre en ces lieux me conduisent à vous féliciter d’occuper ce splendide édifice, construit pour recevoir l’Assemblée législative, les cours de justice et toutes les fonctions publiques. Il symbolise et symbolisera je l’espère pour la postérité l’esprit public de cette période de notre histoire. Je considère ce travail magnifique comme à la fois honorable et utile pour la province et je le confie à vos soins.

Ces propos ont certainement suscité un immense sentiment de fierté chez ces hommes.

L’aménagement intérieur a hélas un peu traîné. Trente et un caissons remplis d’ornements ont été envoyés d’ Écosse en 1819, et l’installation a été assurée par James Wilson, « un maçon et plâtrier d’exception […] ayant réalisé une bonne partie de l’aménagement2 » de l’édifice. James Ives, un ébéniste très respecté, a exécuté les fins travaux de sculpture de bois dans l’Assemblée législative originale en 1820, tandis que M. Robinson, venu d’Angleterre, s’est chargé des stucs dans l’enceinte du Conseil législatif3.

Merrick, qui est décédé en 1829, n’a pas vu de son vivant de grands événements qui ont eu lieu dans son édifice. Par contre, Scott, décédé en 1867, a sûrement appris que Joseph Howe y a assuré sa d é fense en 1835 lors de son procès pour diffamation criminelle, que le premier gouvernement responsable des colonies britanniques s’y est formé en 1848 et que la salle de la Cour supr ême bâtie par lui a été transformée en une magnifique bibliothèque par Henry F. Busch e n 1862.

Les deux hommes se réjoui raient de savoir que Province House a surv écu à un incendie e n 1832 et a échappé de peu aux flammes en 1841. L’édifice a également été épargné lors de l’explosion de 1917 à Halifax, mis à part quelques petits dommages aux peintures, à la maçonnerie et à la fenestration . Ils tireraient de la fierté du fait que quatre gouverneurs généraux du Canada y ont été assermentés.

S’ils étaient encore parmi nous aujourd’hui, ils constateraient que l’extérieur de leur édifice n’a guère changé. Depuis 1819, on a enlevé les cheminées du côté nord et on a remplacé les portes des façades nord et sud par des boiseries et de la fenestration pour aménager d’autres bureaux, sans compter qu’on a remplac é les volets. Autrement, l’édifice n’a presque pas changé. Pourquoi devrait-il en être autrement? En 1832, un rédacteur touristique britannique a déclaré Province House « l’édifice le plus splendide d’Amérique du Nord4 ».

Au fil du temps, l’aménagement intérieur a été adapté selon les besoins. Qu’ont pensé MM. Merrick et Scott en 1824 quand on a abaissé le plafond de la Cour supr ême pour faire des salles de comité? Auraient-ils été satisfaits des travaux majeurs entrepris entre 1886 et 1889 pour remplacer les 38 foyers et poêles par un système de chauffage? Seraient-ils surpris de savoir que, durant ces mêmes travaux, il y a eu la construction de l’actuelle tribune des visiteurs dans l’enceinte de l’Assemblée législative et le changement de l’axe est-ouest de l’enceinte de l’Assemblée pour l’axe nord-sud? Ces changements impliquent que les enceintes de l’Assemblée et du Conseil n’ont plus la même taille. Merrick serait probablement vexé de la perte de la symétrie à l’intérieur, l’une des principales caractéristiques de l’architecture palladienne. Mais son sentiment serait peut-être apaisé s’il apprenait qu’avec le temps, les changements ont permis au public d’accéder aux travaux de l’Assemblée, renforçant ainsi l’institution démocratique de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Nous sommes en 2019, et Province House fête son 200e anniversaire. Bien des événements y ont eu lieu. À mon avis, Merrick et Scott se réjouiraient des célébrations et de notre reconnaissance pour la construction de ce magnifique édifice. Que l’avenir nous apporte encore au moins 200 ans de bons moments ici.

Pour un complément d’information sur l’histoire de Province House, rendez-vous à

https://nslegislature.ca/fr/about/history/province-house

Notes

  1. Le palladianisme tire son nom de l’architecte vénitien Andrea Palladio (1508-1580), dont le style repose sur la symétrie et l’architecture des temples grecs et romains. Notons certaines caractéristiques de Province House comme l’imposte, la fenêtre vénitienne de la bibliothèque, le regroupement de toutes les pièces importantes sur l’étage principal (piano nobile ), une hiérarchie des étages et les embrasures centrales aux frontons triangulaires.
  2. Piers, Harry. Biographical review: Nova Scotia. Boston : Biographical Review Publishing Co., 1900, p. 104.
  3. Morning Herald, 4 juillet 1881.
  4. McGregor, John. British America : vol II. Édimbourg : éditions William Blackwood, 1832, p. 77.

Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 42 no 1
2019






Dernière mise à jour : 2019-07-15