Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
New and Notable Titles


A selection of recent publications relating to parliamentary studies prepared with the assistance of the Library of Parliament (May 2017-July 2017)

Bowden, James W.J. “Reforming prorogation.” The Dorchester Review, 7 (1): 64-8, Spring/Summer 2017.

The House of Commons has no authority to regulate prorogation. Proposed amendments to the Standing Orders would either be ineffectual or unconstitutional as a means of regulating the Prime Minister’s prerogative over prorogation.

Hazell, Robert. “Pre-appointment scrutiny hearings: parliament’s bark delivers a stronger bite than MPs realise.” The Constitution Unit Blog, 3p, July 20, 2017.

For the past decade House of Commons select committees have held pre-appointment scrutiny hearings with preferred candidates for some of the most senior public appointments. Many select committee chairs and members consider these to be a waste of time because there is no power of veto. However, new research suggests that they have much more influence than committees realise.

Ihimaera-Smiler, Jessica. “Members’s bills.” New Zealand Parliamentary Library, 2017/01, 15p, February 2017.

This paper contains a description of members’ bills, their purpose, and the process by which they are created and pass through Parliament. It examines the number of members’ bills passed since 1984 and also looks at other ways in which members’ bills can have an impact on legislation, such as through adoption by the Government.

Klinck, Jennifer. “Modernizing judicial review of prerogative powers.” Alberta Law Review 54 (4): 997-1037, 2017.

Despite judicial pronouncements that the source of government power, whether statutory or prerogative, should not affect judicial review, Canadian courts respond much more tentatively when asked to review exercises of prerogative powers than exercises of statutory powers. This article proposes that courts reform judicial review of the exercise of prerogative powers.

Ling, Justin. “Is there a duty to consult in the legislative process?” National Magazine Blog, 3p, May 25, 2017.

...what if Parliament were required to consult Indigenous peoples on legislation it plans on adopting?

McCormick, John (Chair). “Report on Scottish Parliament – Your Parliament, your voice.” Commission on Parliamentary Reform, 106p, 20 June 2017.

The report’s recommendations are aimed at increasing the effectiveness and efficiency of the Scottish Parliament as a single chamber, elected body keeping faith with its founding principles. Taken together they reinforce the crucial role of the committees and the chamber in scrutinising legislation and holding government to account and seek to improve the participation of people across the country.

Moore, Christopher. “A very, very modest proposal [book review]: Can a microscopically small-ball approach accomplish political reform?” Literary Review of Canada 25 (5): 11-12, June 2017.

Review of Turning Parliament Inside Out: Practical Ideas for Reforming Canada’s Democracy and The Unbroken Machine: Canada’s Democracy in Action. The MPs writing in Turning Parliament Inside Out mostly accept it would be impossible, even illegal, for them to do what is needed: wield control over their parliamentary leaders.

Purser, Pleasance. “Overseas Parliamentary News – May 2017.” New Zealand Parliamentary Library, 6p.

New South Wales - Former office space has been converted into a parents’ room for members and staff. The room, which cost $15,000 to fit out, is equipped with cots, change tables, armchairs for breastfeeding, a TV and toys. Currently three women MPs have children under one year old. The Speaker said the room might be a small step for more women coming into Parliament.

Strickland, Pat, Joanna Dawson and Samantha Godec. “The Wilson Doctrine.” UK House of Commons Library, 4258, 18p, June 12, 2017.

The Wilson Doctrine is a convention that UK MPs’ communications should not be intercepted by the intelligence services. There have been a number of controversies concerning the doctrine in recent years. The most recent one centres on the Snowden leaks concerning the way in which GCHQ has been collecting metadata – the ‘who, when, where and how’ of a communication.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 3
2017






Last Updated: 2017-11-08

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Nouveaux titres d’intérêt


Sélection de publications récentes sur des études parlementaires, produite en collaboration avec la Bibliothèque du Parlement (mai à juillet 2017)

Bowden, James W.J. « Reforming prorogation ». The Dorchester Review, 7 (1): 64-8, Printemps/Été 2017.

La Chambre des communes n’a pas le pouvoir de réglementer les prorogations. Les modifications proposées au Règlement s’avéreraient être un moyen inutile ou inconstitutionnel pour réglementer le pouvoir que le premier ministre a en matière de prorogation.

Hazell, Robert. « Pre-appointment scrutiny hearings: parliament’s bark delivers a stronger bite than MPs realise ». The Constitution Unit Blog, 3 p., 20 juillet 2017.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, des comités spéciaux de la Chambre des communes ont tenu des auditions des candidats pressentis aux postes de certains des fonctionnaires les plus hauts placés en vue de leur nomination. Beaucoup de présidents et de membres de comités spéciaux estiment qu’il s’agit d’une perte de temps puisqu’ils n’ont pas le droit de veto. Cependant, certains travaux de recherche montrent que les comités ont beaucoup plus d’influence qu’ils ne le pensent.

Ihimaera-Smiler, Jessica. « Members’s bills ». Bibliothèque parlementaire de la Nouvelle-Zélande, 01/2017, 15 p., février 2017.

L’article donne une description des projets de loi d’initiative parlementaire, et explique leur but et la manière dont ils sont élaborés et adoptés au Parlement. Il examine le nombre de projets de loi d’initiative parlementaire adoptés depuis 1984 et se penche sur d’autres moyens permettant à ces projets de loi d’avoir un impact sur la législation, comme l’adoption par le gouvernement.

Klinck, Jennifer. « Modernizing judicial review of prerogative powers ». Alberta Law Review 54 (4): 997-1037, 2017.

En dépit des décisions judiciaires selon lesquelles l’origine du pouvoir du gouvernement, qu’il soit conféré par la loi ou en vertu d’une prérogative, ne devrait pas influer sur les révisions judiciaires, la réponse des tribunaux canadiens est beaucoup plus timide lorsqu’ils se penchent sur l’exercice du pouvoir découlant d’une prérogative comparativement à l’exercice du pouvoir découlant de lois. Le présent article propose que les tribunaux réforment la pratique de la révision judiciaire de l’exercice du pouvoir d’origine législative.

Ling, Justin. « Is there a duty to consult in the legislative process? » National Magazine Blog, 3 p., 25 mai 2017.

[…] Que se passerait-il si le Parlement devait consulter les peuples autochtones sur une mesure législative qu’il prévoit d’adopter? »

McCormick, John (Président). « Report on Scottish Parliament – Your Parliament, your voice ». Commission sur la réforme parlementaire, 106 p., 20 juin 2017.

Les recommandations formulées dans le rapport ont pour but d’accroître l’efficacité du Parlement écossais en tant que chambre unique et assemblée élective en phase avec ses principes fondateurs. Ensemble, elles renforcent le rôle essentiel que jouent les comités et la chambre pour examiner les mesures législatives, tenir le gouvernement responsable et améliorer la participation de la population dans tout le pays.

Moore, Christopher. « A very, very modest proposal [critique de livre]: Can a microscopically small-ball approach accomplish political reform? » Literary Review of Canada 25 (5): 11-12 juin 2017.

Critique de Turning Parliament Inside Out: Practical Ideas for Reforming Canada’s Democracyand The Unbroken Machine: Canada’s Democracy in Action. Les députés qui ont rédigé Turning Parliament Inside Out acceptent dans l’ensemble l’idée selon laquelle il serait impossible, voire illégal, pour eux de faire ce qu’ils devraient faire, à savoir détenir plus de pouvoir que leur leaders parlementaires.

Purser, Pleasance. « Overseas Parliamentary News – May 2017 ». Bibliothèque parlementaire de la Nouvelle-Zélande, 6 p.

Nouvelle-Galles-du-Sud – Un ancien bureau a été transformé en pièce dont l’usage est réservé aux , parlementaires et membres du personnel qui sont parents. La pièce, dont l’aménagement a coûté 15 000 $, est équipée de lits d’enfant, de tables à langer, de fauteuils pour allaiter, d’une télévision et de jouets. Actuellement, trois députées ont des enfants de moins d’un an. Selon le Président, l’aménagement de la pièce pourrait constituer une mesure modeste qui convaincra plus de femmes à devenir parlementaires.

Strickland, Pat, Joanna Dawson and Samantha Godec. « The Wilson Doctrine ». Bibliothèque de la Chambre des communes de la Grande-Bretagne, 4258, 18 p., 12 juin 2017.

La doctrine Wilson est une convention selon laquelle les communications entre les députés britanniques ne devraient pas être interceptées par les services de renseignement. Cette doctrine a fait l’objet d’un certain nombre de controverses au cours des dernières années. La plus récente tourne autour des fuites orchestrées par Edward Snowden sur la manière dont le quartier général des communications du gouvernement britannique (GCHQ) recueille des métadonnées, c’est-à-dire les données des messages indiquant les destinataires, la date, le lieu et le moyen de communication emprunté.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 3
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-08