Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Sketches of Parliament and Parliamentarians Past: Shining a Light on Ontario’s Parliamentarians - Chandeliers in the Legislative Chamber
Susanne Hynes

Look up! Look way up in Ontario’s legislative chamber and you’ll be able to marvel at some magnificent chandeliers dating back to the 1890s. Tracing changes from gasoline to electricity, to more modern considerations such as broadcast requirements and energy efficient LED bulbs, the author shines a light on this interesting aspect of parliamentary history.

Lighting in the Ontario Legislative Chamber is provided by four magnificent chandeliers dating back to 1893 and 10 smaller fixtures, in a similar style, added in 1985-86. The chamber, which is 65 feet wide, 80.5 feet long (north, south) and, at its highest, 71.5 feet above the chamber’s floor, requires a lot of candle power to serve the needs of the legislators who occupy it.

1893

In 1893 when the building opened, lighting was provided by the four chandeliers, 22 bracket lights, and east, south, and west-facing windows above the public galleries and the Press Gallery.

In late 1892 the Bennett and Wright Company of Toronto designed the light fixtures to specifications of the building’s architect, Richard Waite. The four chandeliers, referred to as “gasoliers,” and 22 matching bracket lights were manufactured in the United States by the Central Gas Fixture Company of New York. Each chandelier cost $700 and weighed 408 kilograms. They provided illumination through 24 electric lights on spokes that reached out and down from the central decorative globe and 24 gas lights resembling candles and arranged in 6 clusters of four above the globe. Each chandelier is 18 feet in height with an 8.5 foot diameter and hangs 32 feet from the ceiling. Dual electric/gas lighting was necessary at the time of installation since the supply of electricity was unreliable. Gas, supplied through a pipe connecting the chandelier to the ceiling, was ignited by an electric charge that ran down wires on the fixtures, “turning on” the “candles.”

Modifications

Over the next 100 years, the chandeliers were modified a number of times. Records are very sketchy but existing photographs show three significant changes.

Sometime before 1915, the downward spokes carrying electric bulbs were removed and metal bands were attached to hold the new downward-facing electric lights. The candelabra were wired for electricity around this time while the wall brackets installed in 1893 are not visible in 1912-13 photographs. The 1924 annual report of the Department of Public Works lists “the removal of the very strong glare in the lighting fixtures” as one of the maintenance jobs from the previous year. At some point between 1915 and 1968 the somewhat utilitarian metal bands were replaced by art deco rings that could accommodate lighting units both above and below the rings. The original central globes, their pendants and the candelabra have remained part of the fixtures to this day.

Broadcast Requirements

The chandelier lighting originally designed for ambient and task lighting had to be upgraded to accommodate televised sessions that began in 1985-1986. The Television Lighting System was designed to use the ceiling of the Chamber as a reflector and Ontario is the first Assembly in Canada to have indirect television lighting (direct lighting causes glare and discomfort). Ten new chandeliers, in a similar style, were added to the chamber to light the various galleries at this time.

The television lighting is located within the existing chandeliers as independent units. Fixtures in the four chandeliers were upgraded to increase the lighting levels. Recently, the ambient and task lighting was upgraded to LED technology. A study is currently underway to look at converting the TV lights to LED technology.

The current TV bulbs are high intensity metal halides generating a high amount of heat and they use a lot of power.

Changing the Light Bulbs

Changing the light bulbs and performing maintenance on chandeliers suspended more than 40 feet above the floor of the chamber would be quite a challenge if attempted on ladders. The solution was part of the original design: each chandelier, using a hand windlass system located in the attic above the chamber’s ceiling, was lowered once a year to be cleaned before the session began. Today electric winches have replaced the windlasses.

Energy Efficiency

During debate on Bill 21, the Energy Conservation Responsibility Act, 2005, Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk–Brant) discussed the energy efficiency of the illumination provided by the Chamber’s chandeliers.

Each chandelier has, gosh, something like 32 lights, as I recall. There are four of them. There are 128 light bulbs right there. They’re not the twisty light bulbs. I don’t know whether these are energy-efficient light bulbs or not. I offer a challenge to this government: If these four chandeliers and these 128 light bulbs are not efficient, and we have speaker after speaker admonishing, lecturing and suggesting to the public how important it is for them to change their light bulbs to something a little more energy-efficient, they might take a look 40 feet up and decide whether those light bulbs have been changed or not.

… There are a number of smaller chandeliers in this room, and this is one room in the Ontario Legislature, albeit a very large room. This room is actually as high as my barn, and granted, it will take a fair bit of electricity, if this is old-fashioned technology, to light this particular room.

Hansard, November 22, 2005

Fortunately video camera equipment available in 2016 that is more light-sensitive than earlier equipment and the availability of LED lighting for high intensity fixtures are enabling the Assembly to provide more efficient Chamber lighting. And, as has been done many times over the past 123 years, Chamber lighting is being studied and modified to meet the current needs of the Legislature.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Last Updated: 2017-08-24

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Esquisses des parlements et de leur passé : Les lustres de la Chambre de l’Assemblée législative
Susanne Hynes

Levez les yeux! Regardez bien haut dans la Chambre de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario et vous pourrez admirer de magnifiques lustres datant des années 1890. L’auteure retrace le passage du gaz à l’électricité, et aborde des considérations plus modernes telles que les besoins liés à la télédiffusion et les ampoules DEL à faible consommation d’énergie. Elle met en lumière cet aspect intéressant de l’histoire parlementaire.

À la Chambre législative de l’Ontario, l’éclairage est fourni par quatre lustres majestueux datant de 1893 et 10 luminaires plus petits, de style semblable, qui ont été ajoutés en 1985 et en 1986. La Chambre, qui mesure 65 pieds de largeur, 80,5 pieds de longueur (orientation nord-sud) et dont le point le plus élevé est à 71,5 pieds de hauteur, nécessite beaucoup de lumière pour éclairer les législateurs qui y travaillent.

1893

À son ouverture en 1893, l’édifice est éclairé par 4 lustres, 22 lampes murales, ainsi que des fenêtres exposées à l’est, au sud et à l’ouest, au-dessus des tribunes du public et de celle de la presse.

À la fin de 1892, la Bennett and Wright Company de Toronto conçoit les luminaires conformément aux spécifications de l’architecte de l’édifice, Richard Waite. Les quatre lustres à gaz et les 22 lampes murales de style semblable sont fabriqués aux ÉtatsUnis par la Central Gas Fixture Company de New York. Au coût de 700 $ l’unité, les lustres pèsent 408 kilogrammes chacun. Ils illuminent les lieux à l’aide de 24 lumières électriques fixées le long des rayons qui se courbent vers le bas à partir du globe décoratif central, ainsi que de 24 lumières à gaz ayant l’allure de chandelles et disposées en six grappes de quatre lumières au-dessus du globe. Les lustres mesurent 18 pieds de hauteur, 8,5 pieds de diamètre et sont suspendus à 32 pieds du plafond. À l’époque, l’éclairage mixte est nécessaire étant donné que l’approvisionnement en électricité n’est pas fiable. Le gaz, acheminé par un tuyau qui connecte le lustre au plafond, est déclenché par une décharge électrique qui descend le long des fils sur les lustres, ce qui « allume » les « chandelles ».

Modifications

Au cours des 100 années suivantes, les lustres sont modifiés un certain nombre de fois. Les dossiers sont très incomplets, mais des photos montrent trois grands changements.

Avant 1915, les rayons courbes sur lesquels sont fixées les ampoules électriques sont enlevés et des bandes de métal sont ajoutées pour tenir les nouvelles lumières électriques orientées vers le bas. Les candélabres sont reliés à l’électricité à cette période, mais si les lampes murales installées en 1893 ne sont pas visibles sur des photos prises en 1912 et en 1913. Le rapport annuel de 1924 du ministère des Travaux publics indique, dans les travaux d’entretien de l’année précédente, la tâche « d’enlever la source d’un reflet très éblouissant dans les luminaires ». Entre 1915 et 1968, les bandes métalliques assez fonctionnelles sont remplacées par des anneaux art déco compatibles avec les unités d’éclairage situées au-dessus et au-dessous des anneaux. Les globes centraux d’origine, leurs pendentifs et les candélabres font partie des lustres encore aujourd’hui.

Besoins liés à la télédiffusion

L’éclairage par les lustres est pensé, à l’origine, pour fournir un éclairage direct et ambiant. Cependant, à compter de 1985-1986, cet éclairage doit être mis à niveau afin de s’adapter aux séances télévisées. Le système d’éclairage de télévision est conçu de manière à utiliser le plafond de la Chambre comme réflecteur. L’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario est la première au Canada ayant un éclairage de télévision indirect (l’éclairage direct produit un reflet et est gênant). Dix nouveaux lustres de style semblable sont alors ajoutés à la Chambre afin d’éclairer les diverses tribunes.

L’éclairage de télévision est composé d’unités indépendantes dissimulées dans les lustres. Les luminaires des quatre lustres sont mis à niveau afin de fournir une meilleure luminosité. L’éclairage ambiant et direct a récemment été mis à niveau avec la technologie DEL. Une étude est en cours afin d’étudier la possibilité d’utiliser la technologie DEL pour l’éclairage de télévision.

L’éclairage de télévision actuel utilise des ampoules à halogénures métalliques de haute intensité qui génèrent une chaleur considérable et consomment beaucoup d’énergie.

Changer les ampoules

Il serait assez difficile de changer les ampoules et de faire l’entretien des lustres suspendus à plus de 40 pieds du sol avec comme seul outil, une échelle. La conception initiale avait prévu le coup : anciennement, une fois par année, chaque lustre était abaissé, à l’aide d’un système de treuil manuel situé dans le vide sous toit de la Chambre, pour être nettoyé avant le début de la session parlementaire. Aujourd’hui, des treuils électriques ont remplacé les treuils manuels.

Efficacité énergétique

Pendant le débat sur le projet de loi 21, Loi de 2005 sur la responsabilité en matière de conservation de l’énergie, Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk–Brant) a parlé de l’efficacité énergétique de l’éclairage fourni par les lustres de la Chambre.

« Si ma mémoire est fidèle, chaque lustre a à peu près 32 ampoules, et il y a quatre lustres. Cela fait 128 ampoules là seulement. Ce ne sont pas des ampoules torsadées et je ne sais pas si elles sont éconergétiques. Je lance un défi au gouvernement : si ces quatre lustres et leurs 128 ampoules ne sont pas éconergétiques, tous les intervenants qui se succèdent pour mettre en garde le public, lui faire la leçon et lui parler de l’importance de remplacer les ampoules par des ampoules un peu plus éconergétiques devraient peutêtre regarder 40 pieds audessus de leur tête et se demander si ces ampoules ont été changées.

Il y a plusieurs petits lustres dans cette seule pièce de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, qui est certes très vaste. En fait, cette pièce est aussi haute que ma grange et il est vrai qu’il faut beaucoup d’électricité pour l’éclairer puisqu’il s’agit d’une vieille technologie. »

Journal des débats, le 22 novembre 2005

Heureusement, grâce à l’équipement de caméra vidéo de 2016, qui est plus sensible à la lumière que l’équipement d’autrefois, et à la possibilité d’utiliser l’éclairage à DEL pour les dispositifs à haute intensité, l’Assemblée peut rendre l’éclairage de la Chambre plus efficace sur le plan énergétique. Par ailleurs, comme cela fut le cas à maintes reprises depuis 123 ans, l’éclairage de la Chambre fait l’objet d’un examen et de modifications afin de répondre aux besoins actuels de l’Assemblée législative.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 40 no 2
2017






Dernière mise à jour : 2017-10-03